View Full Version : Weekend Sun 10th - Mon 11th
11/06/2011, 7:34 PM
Salthill 2-3 Monaghan OG Forde John Rocco Reilly's shot hits crossbar and in off keeper. G'wan!
11/06/2011, 7:40 PM
Salthill Devon 2-4 Monaghan United John Rocco Reilly
11/06/2011, 7:42 PM
Ooops sorry its now Salthill 2-5 Monaghan......thank you Michael Iscihei for getting your 2nd goal!
sullanefc
11/06/2011, 7:44 PM
balls.
GalwayRed
11/06/2011, 7:51 PM
The match had so much potential and all :(
11/06/2011, 7:57 PM
FT Salthill Devon 2-5 Monaghan United.
passerrby
11/06/2011, 8:12 PM
balls.
mainly in the salthill goal,
well done mons another great result
thomas72
11/06/2011, 8:33 PM
longford 1 limerick 2
great win that for limerick keeps them right up there missing there 2 first choice strikers it was a great win
CSFShels
11/06/2011, 9:02 PM
Is Stephen O' Flynn injured or suspended?
thomas72
11/06/2011, 9:10 PM
Is Stephen O' Flynn injured or suspended?
injuried for another five weeks pat purcell missing for next week aswell suspended really struggling we are doing well to be still in touch.
FT Salthill Devon 2-5 Monaghan United.
http://thinkerspodium.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/fuuuu.jpg
born2bwild
11/06/2011, 9:15 PM
Flynn & Purcell out? Ouch. They're Limerick's 2 best players...gonna be very tough for you next week.
CSFShels
11/06/2011, 9:16 PM
injuried for another five weeks pat purcell missing for next week aswell suspended really struggling we are doing well to be still in touch.
Excellent news for us.
Where is Colin Scanlon when you need him? :D
thomas72
11/06/2011, 9:21 PM
Flynn & Purcell out? Ouch. They're Limerick's 2 best players...gonna be very tough for you next week.
yip i agree but we seem to be picking up results should be a cracker next week
11/06/2011, 9:24 PM
Oh almost forgot, 11/1. Thank you very much Paddy Power!
So have you broken even for the season yet then?
sullanefc
11/06/2011, 9:26 PM
I see Sean Brosnan from Castleisland scored the winner tonight. I don't know him myself, but a guy I know who knows him (wouldn't be in to LOI) was asking me about him. I never saw him when he played underage for City, but that must be his first senior game in LOI. If there was anyone at the game, I'd be interested to hear how he got on. Did he look good/comfortable/poor etc. What position did he play?
thomas72
11/06/2011, 9:28 PM
I see Sean Brosnan from Castleisland scored the winner tonight. I don't know him myself, but a guy I know who knows him (wouldn't be in to LOI) was asking me about him. I never saw him when he played underage for City, but that must be his first senior game in LOI. If there was anyone at the game, I'd be interested to hear how he got on. Did he look good/comfortable/poor etc. What position did he play?
he scored two last week in the fai.
sullanefc
11/06/2011, 9:33 PM
he scored two last week in the fai.
Sounds promising. I'd imagine that the signing of Behan could force him out of the team again though. Pity for him. Hopefully he has a future in the game.
bullit
11/06/2011, 9:34 PM
If he had have looked further he would have got the 16/1 that was available with a couple of layers.
11/06/2011, 9:55 PM
In other news Harps beat Waterford 1-0 tonight in Finn Park. Better side all over the park, aside from a big push by Waterford in the last 15 minutes Harps we're well on top.
McHugh scored the goal after an assist from Aaron McElwee.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/06/2011, 10:42 AM
Maybe ye should sign more then 7 players
WindmillWarrior
12/06/2011, 10:48 AM
This is the only game i've backed all season chaps. Thanks for the concern though!
hoopy
12/06/2011, 11:44 AM
We didn't have a left back! After the red card - when McCabe really started waltzing down the right wing at will - we'd gone 3-4-2, with our left-back covering in central defence. Not surprisingly, Rovers spotted this and sent everything down the right wing, where McCabe was basically unchallenged for half an hour till we dropped Paul O'Conor back to right back and went 4-3-2. Bit of a weird tactical call there from Rusty.
Funny thing is that even though Rovers were obviously well worth their win, everything that could go against us did. The first came after Ger had just pulled off a great save, the third goal I'm fairly sure was a mile offside (McCabe who crossed, not the scorer), the fourth was a weak shot which took a massive deflection, and obviously the red card didn't help either. And I missed Meenan's superb goal cos I was tweeting Rovers' fifth! And all that after the first half an hour had been relatively evenly contested. But still, I'd rather everything went wrong against Rovers than against Drogheda/Galway, and it has to acknowledged that the better team will quite often make their own luck.
I actually thought that was going to be for Brian Lenihan, seeing as his dad played for the club.
I thought UCD were the better side until the main man scored.
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 11:59 AM
He played very well against Sacred Heart and was very unlucky not to get the hat-trick.
Found it tougher last night against a big strong Longford defence. Very clever though makes some very good runs and does the right things with the ball a lot. Did well for his goal last night he took the gamble that there would be a mistake and capitalised on it well. Looks like he could end up being a good player for us just needs to get a little bit stronger though. Impressed with this 2 games so far though. Playing as a striker.
12/06/2011, 12:25 PM
Maybe ye should sign more then 7 players
Most those players signed so far are underage players.
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 12:28 PM
Most those players signed so far are underage players.
All of them are for the 19s except that maybe Sheedy is good enough to go into the senior squad straight away.
12/06/2011, 6:58 PM
We absolutely battered Waterford, should have been 3 or 4 up at half time.
Since Felix came in, we look a much better side. We don't look like conceding and dominate most games. In our last 4 games we only conceded 2 goals and both of those were set pieces (a shocker penalty given against us and a free on the edge of the box).
13/06/2011, 8:30 AM
Bohs must be the most environmentally friendly club*, my match ticket said Bohemians Vs. Douglas Hall. Fair play to them for saving a few trees by re-using old tickets.
*Awaits a Shams fan to moan how we dont issue tickets at all.
redobit
13/06/2011, 1:46 PM
Bohs must be the most environmentally friendly club*, my match ticket said Bohemians Vs. Douglas Hall. Fair play to them for saving a few trees by re-using old tickets.
*Awaits a Shams fan to moan how we dont issue tickets at all.
Well on the upside - at least you will be able to see them teams play next pre-season. On the downside - could you be fecking arsed.
13/06/2011, 4:43 PM
We absolutely battered Waterford, should have been 3 or 4 up at half time.
Since Felix came in, we look a much better side. We don't look like conceding and dominate most games. In our last 4 games we only conceded 2 goals and both of those were set pieces (a shocker penalty given against us and a free on the edge of the box).
When you played Longford at Flancare it was one of the worst games I have ever seen in my life - Harps barely passed the half way line. Is that really an improvement?:)
First away game this year we didn't lose, so hell yeah that was an improvement.
13/06/2011, 5:39 PM
First away game this year we didn't lose, so hell yeah that was an improvement.
Fair enuff:)
GalwayRed
13/06/2011, 6:09 PM
That second drogheda goal was a cracker.
MeathDrog
13/06/2011, 6:11 PM
Keeper should have saved it blah blah blah. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
13/06/2011, 7:08 PM
Rovers - Derry
www.drive105.co.uk
13/06/2011, 7:16 PM
http://www.srfc.tv/blog/
And actual "TV" coverage here :0
Fester
13/06/2011, 7:29 PM
Shams 1 up
13/06/2011, 8:08 PM
Dundalk beating Pat's 1-0. Hawkins
Hibs4Ever
13/06/2011, 8:20 PM
Saints winning 2-1, Daly and North
Fester
13/06/2011, 8:25 PM
Derry equalise
13/06/2011, 8:36 PM
Very much agreed, sweet strike.
DaveyPats
13/06/2011, 8:42 PM
Saints win 2-1 in Oriel:D
13/06/2011, 8:57 PM
Shams 1-1 Derry. O'Neill and Kenny had to be separated at full time.
Shamrock Rovers will have to be dissapointed with that result. Coming to the half way point a win would have given them at least a 6 point gap at half way. Pats are the form team at the moment after a slow start. Kept pace for 3/4 of the way last season. Their squad might be slightly short on numbers as the season goes on though.
Not sure whether I'm disgusted by their lack of professionalism or inspired by their bravery in openly expressing their feelings in a notoriously homophobic sport.
Dont know what was said but at the full time whistle O'neill defo didnt look at Kenny when they shook hands
13/06/2011, 10:33 PM
Not sure whether I'm disgusted by their lack of professionalism or inspired by their bravery in openly expressing their feelings in a notoriously homophobic sport.
:D:D "Love Is In The Air"
Great result from Pats tonight. Actually think our squad is looking better than last year at this stage. Kavanagh a great addition up front and North has really found his scoring boots. Connor Kenna to come back too. Add this to Bradleys improvement,and if we see similar progress from McFaul it's looking very positive. Hell, even Daly scored at last (he's been a big disappointment so far, b ut you never know.) Some good youngsters on the periphery too in Keegan, Stewart and Carroll. Nice.
Very well deserved draw for Derry.
PartySaint
13/06/2011, 11:27 PM
Our game tonight had al ot of comparisons with the one on Friday, On Friday we dominated the first half with then Derry controlling most of the second half and a draw was a fair result, Tonight Dundalk dominated the first half and should have scored, I was delighted to go in 0-0 at half time, The second half we were a lot better, Pressing them better in the middle, Draw probably would have been fair but we took our chances
Up to second, great night