View Full Version : Mascots

writerbk1969
31/05/2011, 11:54 AM
Some of the funniest stories I've heard on my travels have involved mascots. Some seem happy to pose for the kids, some are brilliant at winding up fans. I know the following have mascots and was just trying to get a list for the book (maybe even one big giant picture!)

Bray - Rocky I think he's called
Bohs - Dennis The Menace
Limerick - Leo The Lion
St Pats - Paddy The Panther
Rovers - Hooperman
UCD - Collee
Cork -Corky The Cheetah

I'm sure there is more - Sporting Fingal used to have a Fox, and for some reason we had Homer Simpson down here in Waterford for a while.

DeNiro
31/05/2011, 11:57 AM
Kildare had a horse mascot for a while. Don't Galway have one as well. Benny the Bull is in Sligo.

31/05/2011, 12:54 PM
Harps have Harper the Dog.
Galway have Terry the Tiger.
Derry have Mucker the Welfare Recipient.

writerbk1969
31/05/2011, 12:56 PM
Ah great stuff. There's a method to my madness in this trust me.

Rasputin
31/05/2011, 1:20 PM
Rovers - Hooperman
Classic Larry Murphy typo.

bullit
31/05/2011, 1:34 PM
Dundalks Lily the Panda

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-T4auaSRjS9U/TZZNatWuv-I/AAAAAAAAN0E/UQe5e2YwbtQ/s512/IMG_1454.JPG

Hitman
31/05/2011, 1:35 PM
Kildare had a horse mascot for a while.

I think it was Stevie Capall.

31/05/2011, 1:48 PM
Leo is banned :(

31/05/2011, 1:51 PM

In fairness, having him and Waterford United's "Gary the Lame Gazelle" at the same game was always likely to end badly.

Lessons were learned.

31/05/2011, 1:58 PM
It was actually more his zany antics with Martin Cambridge, Packie Holden, Freddie the Fingal fox, a hundred shels fans........

The gazelle thing was in his nature, you can't blame a lion for eating a gazelle anymore than you can blame Roddy Collins for being classless, a Cork fan for being groundlessly arrogant or a Galway team for losing.

poster
31/05/2011, 2:13 PM
Sligo Rovers - Benny The Bull. (If you need a pic..)

http://static.f-lex.com/pictures/9/e/b/t/Sligo_rovers_mascotte.jpg

El-Pietro
31/05/2011, 2:19 PM
It was actually more his zany antics with Martin Cambridge, Packie Holden, Freddie the Fingal fox, a hundred shels fans........

The gazelle thing was in his nature, you can't blame a lion for eating a gazelle anymore than you can blame Roddy Collins for being classless, a Cork fan for being groundlessly arrogant or a Galway team for losing.
its not groundless. we're better than you!

31/05/2011, 2:24 PM
its not groundless. we're better than you!

Being better than Limerick, is not grounds for arrogance

31/05/2011, 2:25 PM

This.

born2bwild
31/05/2011, 2:25 PM
Hmmmfile:///C:/Users/Sony/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png

El-Pietro
31/05/2011, 2:28 PM

hahah!!!

of course by you, i meant the person reading the comment. So everyone basically.

writerbk1969
31/05/2011, 2:37 PM
Was at the Limerick game last night but no Leo (though he is on the website advertising stuff) what the hell did he do to get banned? Wind up the crowd? Fight with Fingals fox?

31/05/2011, 4:55 PM
He was always a bit of a pr!ck to away supporters :D

31/05/2011, 6:08 PM
Mons have Football Head but he doesnt make many appearances.

writerbk1969
31/05/2011, 7:35 PM
Trying to get a picture of him (mind you its obvious). Love the name of the Kildare mascot.

31/05/2011, 7:37 PM
Oh and I loved your piece on the Mondogs and your bull run! Lol. Wish had seen that!

Mad Moose
31/05/2011, 7:49 PM
Sligo Rovers - Benny The Bull. (If you need a pic..)

http://static.f-lex.com/pictures/9/e/b/t/Sligo_rovers_mascotte.jpg

I'd not put aul Benny at a day under 60 at all. Nice enough fella mind.

eelmonster
31/05/2011, 7:54 PM

... since he started managing your first team.

31/05/2011, 9:57 PM
He was always a bit of a pr!ck to away supporters :DHe was always very nice to us.

http://images.kodakgallery.eu.com/photos276/2/20/57/77/60/28/2860775720233_0_ALB.jpg

31/05/2011, 10:16 PM
longford lion used to be our mascot up to a few years ago.. Rather embarrisingly I had to do it one night in the first season we went down after relegation in 2007.. never again..:ball::o

MagicMon
31/05/2011, 11:07 PM

He's a right head-the-ball

The Lep
31/05/2011, 11:41 PM

Leo was great craic :)

01/06/2011, 12:58 PM
I think someone stole the head of our Leo The Lion outfit :(

MMVIII
01/06/2011, 1:01 PM
I'd not put aul Benny at a day under 60 at all. Nice enough fella mind.

Aha boi!

writerbk1969
01/06/2011, 4:47 PM
So Ash, have Athlone mascot called Leo the Lion now then?

DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 6:50 AM
http://www.derrynews.net/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/3-lead-pic2.jpg
R. Mucker scoring a penalty past Gerard Doherty in the Brandywell.

http://www.derrynews.net/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/hpim1115-300x228.jpg
R. Mucker reading the Derry News. (Location uncertain; it's either the Brandywell office or on a capsizing ship.)

writerbk1969
02/06/2011, 8:00 AM
Bray - Rocky I think he's called
Bohs - Dennis The Menace (think thats the name anyway)
Limerick - Leo The Lion
St Pats - Paddy The Panther
Rovers - Hooperman
UCD - Collee
Cork -Corky The Cheetah
Derry City - R Mucker
Sligo - Benny The Bull
Monaghan - Football Head (the odd time)
Dundalk - Lily The Panda
Galway - Terry The Tiger
Finn Harps - Harper The Dog
Longford - Longford Lion (gone since 2007?)
Athlone - (Leo the lion again?)

ex-clubs
Kildare Country - Stevie Coppell
Sporting Fingal - Freddie The Fingal Fox

Great stuff lads.
As well as putting them into the book, I'm trying to organise the ever League of Ireland Mascot Race to coincide with the book being launched, which there are various options with at the moment. Once it was a LOI or ex-LOI mascot. It's good exposure but a nice way to raise money for charity as well, though I need some help doing this.

I know Waterford don't have one and very much doubt Salthill, Mervue of Wexford do, so that only leaves Shelbourne and Drogheda to find out about.

eelmonster
02/06/2011, 8:01 AM
R. Mucker reading the Derry News. (Location uncertain; it's either the Brandywell office or on a capsizing ship.)

So, the Brandywell office circa November 2009 then. :plane:

DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 8:10 AM
So, the Brandywell office circa November 2009 then. :plane:

Very good. That must be it.

sorbothegreek
02/06/2011, 10:27 AM
longford lion used to be our mascot up to a few years ago.. Rather embarrisingly I had to do it one night in the first season we went down after relegation in 2007.. never again..:ball::o

I was in Longford lion suit at a recent game between longford and Liverpool legends. I was giving out free bars of chocolate and sweets to kids (in my official capacity of course) when the crowd of kids got a little too large for me to handle. Some of them were a unhappy that my mittened hands couldn't pass out the freebies quick enough and startrd to hit me. This turned into quite an intensive beating and i couldnt see a thing out the f***ing head.
So about 15 kids (including some that were surely 16-17) years of age beat the living crap out of me, kicks included while i'm shouting profanities and there's a load of smaller children cryinging at the combo of the lion taking a beating and the stream of curses i was letting out.
Not one fu*ker helped me..

02/06/2011, 11:28 AM
I was in Longford lion suit at a recent game between longford and Liverpool legends. I was giving out free bars of chocolate and sweets to kids (in my official capacity of course) when the crowd of kids got a little too large for me to handle. Some of them were a unhappy that my mittened hands couldn't pass out the freebies quick enough and startrd to hit me. This turned into quite an intensive beating and i couldnt see a thing out the f***ing head.
So about 15 kids (including some that were surely 16-17) years of age beat the living crap out of me, kicks included while i'm shouting profanities and there's a load of smaller children cryinging at the combo of the lion taking a beating and the stream of curses i was letting out.

That made me laugh a lot more than it possibly should have.

It's like a Barnado's ad or something, behind the happy exterior there's a poor abused soul, this Christmas please think of the suffering of mascots everywhere, even the smallest donation can make a big difference to providing a mascot with paws suitable for distributing sweets at a fast enough rate for the ever more demanding kids. Help us to help mascots and avoid more tragic, soul destroying kickings.

cornflakes
02/06/2011, 12:15 PM
I know Waterford don't have one and very much doubt Salthill, Mervue of Wexford do, so that only leaves Shelbourne and Drogheda to find out about.

Wexford Youths Pink Panther (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5hb1KSbNb4&feature=related)

PartySaint
02/06/2011, 12:41 PM
As well as putting them into the book, I'm trying to organise the ever League of Ireland Mascot Race to coincide with the book being launched

If its over a long distance, I would fancy Paddy the Panther to take it, He ran the Dublin Marathon a few years ago:)

02/06/2011, 1:01 PM
Bohs are currently looking for a new name 4 there mascot

from their fb page:

We posted this late last night, so in case anyone missed it...

The deadline for suggested names for the Bohs mascot has been extended to next Wednesday. If you click on the link, you can vote on some of the entries we've received so far - but we want even BETTER ones.

Suggestions so far - BFG (bohemians footballing giant), Dennis the Bohemians Menace, Lowgy (after johnny logan) and many just asking for Dennis the menace to be kept.

Eminence Grise
02/06/2011, 1:41 PM

In no particular order...
Ajai Chopra
Dennis the Penniless
The Nutsy Cracker Sweet Man
Gypsy Rose Lee (now that would do wonders for attendances if you got the right person in the suit getting out of the suit at half-time...)

02/06/2011, 1:54 PM

We were in shock!

The Lep
02/06/2011, 2:04 PM
Freddie is the current Mascot sprint champion as last seen on MNS also the dance champion after defeating Hooperman.
The Freddie V Leo face off and penalty shoot out at Morton was the funniest half time entertainment. Freddie on a bike was next best :).

writerbk1969
02/06/2011, 2:36 PM
Great - Wexford DO have one!

02/06/2011, 3:01 PM
We were in shock!
That's no excuse - you should've waited your turn for the chocolate.

02/06/2011, 3:04 PM
Freddie is the current Mascot sprint champion as last seen on MNS also the dance champion after defeating Hooperman.
The Freddie V Leo face off and penalty shoot out at Morton was the funniest half time entertainment. Freddie on a bike was next best :).

Sorry to go off topic but that just reminded me about the half time entertainment at the recent UCD-Pats game. The special Olympics team had a kick around and it was great fun as the Pats fans got really into it, loads of goal line efforts and mazy dribbles - was class (nearly as good as the real game!):D

marinobohs
02/06/2011, 3:36 PM

from their fb page:

We posted this late last night, so in case anyone missed it...

The deadline for suggested names for the Bohs mascot has been extended to next Wednesday. If you click on the link, you can vote on some of the entries we've received so far - but we want even BETTER ones.

Suggestions so far - BFG (bohemians footballing giant), Dennis the Bohemians Menace, Lowgy (after johnny logan) and many just asking for Dennis the menace to be kept.

There should only be one winner - Pineapple Stu ("the menace" could be optional) :D:D:D

02/06/2011, 3:45 PM

http://images.halloweencostumes.com/a-inflatable-caveman-club.jpg

Just put holes for arms, legs and eyes and call him "The Big Club."

03/06/2011, 12:04 AM

Hooperman settled that his own way :cool2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V05SHZ4mP9w

PartySaint
03/06/2011, 12:52 AM

Jaysus, If a fox can't beat him, then those women had no chance against Larry Murphy

Rasputin
03/06/2011, 8:45 AM

It seemed to have missed the point where Larry ripped Freddie the Fox's bra off and bound his arms behind his back and drove him into the wicklow mountains only to be halted from his usual friday night antics by two hunters, who ironically were hunting foxs.