View Full Version : Hendo gone?

bluewhitearmy
27/05/2011, 9:00 PM
Story going around that Henderosn is gone from Waterford anyone got any info on this?

Enruoblehs
27/05/2011, 9:27 PM
Seems that he has been requested to meet with the Management Committee tomorrow at 1.30pm.

Waterford Chairman, John o'Sullivan to talk to Matt Keane on WLRfm between 12 and 2 tomorrow.

27/05/2011, 9:59 PM
Sunbed Steve sacked tonight.

27/05/2011, 11:06 PM
Sunbed Steve sacked tonight.
it was on the cards tbh.. him havin a column on extratime wasnt the wisest decision. do it if you are out of work. wonder who will be in for the job now? possible alan reynolds return anyone? what team is he managin in waterford now?

blue til i die
27/05/2011, 11:31 PM
it was on the cards tbh.. him havin a column on extratime wasnt the wisest decision. do it if you are out of work. wonder who will be in for the job now? possible alan reynolds return anyone? what team is he managin in waterford now?

How in the name of god does that make the slightest bit of difference?? :confused:

Fermoy Blue
28/05/2011, 12:31 PM
How in the name of god does that make the slightest bit of difference?? :confused:

Suppose cos it's typical of the man, he likes to talk the talk, he loves getting himself into the media, instead of walking the walk, in 3 years seasons he has taken that club from promotion challengers,EA Cup Finalists, and Cup semi finalists with a couple of thousand on the gate to a struggling 1st Division side with a couple of hundred on the gate, thats progress?? at least he will be in the media again this weekend!!

MagicMon
28/05/2011, 2:45 PM
When I saw on the MUFC website twitter about rumours of a bust-up between manager and chairman at half-time I just assumed it was Roddy. "A bit odd that he was fighting when Monaghan were 1-0 up, but hey-ho" I said to myself.

da bishop
28/05/2011, 9:05 PM
last i heard he was managing tramore,how about liam buckley?

28/05/2011, 9:14 PM
To be fair, nothing went right for them this season. Didn't exactly have the rub of the green. I still think he is a handy manager but you can see why Blahs sacked him. Best of luck to the guy, hope he picks something else up.

sheao
28/05/2011, 11:34 PM
They i always felt could go on a bit of a run .
Many tipped them to get on of the automatic promotion spots before the season began.

29/05/2011, 1:24 AM
Not as bad a start to season as we had though A Face!

The curse of the mons strikes again. How many managers have been sacked/walked after defeats to us now, must be almost double figures.:-D

29/05/2011, 11:33 PM
Not as bad a start to season as we had though A Face!

The curse of the mons strikes again. How many managers have been sacked/walked after defeats to us now, must be almost double figures.:-D

not us Im afraid sorry to disappoint you! Whats ex Waterford mgr Gareth Cronin doing now since he left us?

30/05/2011, 8:39 AM
Whats ex Waterford mgr Gareth Cronin doing now since he left us?

Good question actually, dont know if he is with any club now. Being an ex-City player you'd hear if he was linked with any one but hear nothing. Who else is a available to fill the void? Or has it been filled already, before Hendo got the sack.

The Lilywhites
30/05/2011, 10:58 AM
Seems to be problems at Waterford. The management's and some players cheques bounced on Friday.

da bishop
30/05/2011, 2:34 PM
Seems to be problems at Waterford. The management's and some players cheques bounced on Friday.that rules liam buckley out so.

bluemovie
30/05/2011, 3:17 PM
When I saw on the MUFC website twitter about rumours of a bust-up between manager and chairman at half-time I just assumed it was Roddy. "A bit odd that he was fighting when Monaghan were 1-0 up, but hey-ho" I said to myself.

Haha. Better put that rumour to bed. Defeat was so inevitable on Thursday and our performance so poor that fans had to come up with ways of putting down the second 45 minutes. Some of the lads decided to text an absentee (an occasional, but well-known poster on this site who was calling for Hendo to be sacked since, ooh, about two and a half years ago) and wind him up. They told him that the chairman and manager had a bust-up on the way out of the tunnel for the second half and had to be separated before they started throwing punches. Also said that fans walked out in disgust and that the Gardai intervened. A juvenile prank brought on by intense boredom. The absent fan leapt into action by posting it on the fans forum from where, I assume, it made it's way onto Monaghan's twitter. They broke the truth to him after ten minutes and he deleted the post. If anything, the chairman and Hendo were too friendly. Nobody was sure that he could ever bring himself to sack Hendo no matter how bad things would get. Just goes to show how a rumour can take off on the internet.

Now, wait til I tell you what I heard about Imogen Thomas.........

Seems to be problems at Waterford. The management's and some players cheques bounced on Friday.

The chairman/mini Sugar Daddy was away. Usual transfer between accounts hadn't been done apparently. All sorted within 24 hours. That said, without the aid of the chairman, we would be in financial difficulty. The chairman's own cheques won't be bouncing anytime soon. I gather his account would be quite healthy.

30/05/2011, 4:40 PM
not us Im afraid sorry to disappoint you! Whats ex Waterford mgr Gareth Cronin doing now since he left us?

Was asking someone about Cronnin a while back and they told me he doesn't have the proper badges to be able to manage in the LOI, not sure if thats still the case.

trevy
31/05/2011, 7:23 PM
Suppose cos it's typical of the man, he likes to talk the talk, he loves getting himself into the media, instead of walking the walk, in 3 years seasons he has taken that club from promotion challengers,EA Cup Finalists, and Cup semi finalists with a couple of thousand on the gate to a struggling 1st Division side with a couple of hundred on the gate, thats progress?? at least he will be in the media again this weekend!!

He was the manager who brought the club to EA Sports Cup final and FAI Cup final in his first season at the club. They finished 4th in league that year, 2nd last year which would have been good enough for promotion this season. This season it has gone badly wrong. 2 of his pre season signings Quinn and Rafter left the club before he did. The football and results have been poor and I think its the right decision that he has been sacked but lets be fair and give the facts.

31/05/2011, 10:37 PM
Was asking someone about Cronnin a while back and they told me he doesn't have the proper badges to be able to manage in the LOI, not sure if thats still the case.

that sounds right thats was the exact reason why he wasnt kept on with us ..

02/06/2011, 1:17 PM

Its a shame cause hes a good manager IMO.

Ezeikial
02/06/2011, 2:02 PM

That was not what was claimed at the time by Cronin.

The Longford Leader reported that Cronin had been offered an extended contract for the 2010 season and had accepted it, but then decided against it when he had no further communication from the club about his budget.
http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/longford_town_fc_searching_for_a_new_manager_as_ga reth_cronin_quits_1_1957091

"Here we are in December and I just got the call about next season. It's five weeks since the season ended. Even Athlone had their manager in place and have signed players," he said.
"Pre season usually starts on the 20th of January. After the Mervue game when we were secure, we should have sat down that Sunday and gone through the budget for next year.
"I could have signed the likes of Tom King and Liam Lynch immediately. Imagine the night of the Player of the year function in Flancare it would have been nice to tell people I'd signed six players and I'd be more signing more in the next couple of weeks."
Chairman Jim Hanley approached Cronin about staying on at the club following the final game of the season against Limerick. He had no qualms about accepting the job for another season, even with a reduced budget to work with, but contact from the club was limited.

They are nice people but there's too many of them and nobody takes responsibility," a disappointed Cronin continued.

This appears to be supported by what the club said at the time

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/kenny-signs-four-to-boost-derry-cause-exlongford-boss-cronin-in-tribes-link-1971764.html

"Gareth Cronin has informed the executive committee of Longford Town FC that he is no longer interested in the manager's position at the club. The committee would like to thank Gareth for his hard work during last season and wish him the best of luck in his future career," the club said today in a statement.

03/06/2011, 12:27 AM
Well Im not sure wheter or not that had anything to do with his departure from us at the time but if he has the appropriate badges he would have got a job by now as he was/has been linked with many.

Ezeikial
03/06/2011, 1:21 AM
Well Im not sure wheter or not that had anything to do with his departure from us at the time but if he has the appropriate badges he would have got a job by now as he was/has been linked with many.

Surely you are not suggesting that Longford were telling porky pies in that club statement?

I understand that a part of Gareth Cronins dissatisfaction with the club was their refusal to contribute towards the cost of his coach badge. But as painful as it may be for you to acknowledge, it does appear as though Cronin walked away from Longford rather then him being sacked / released / let go etc

03/06/2011, 11:18 PM
Wouldn't blame them the price of those badges are unreal