View Full Version : Cork City 3-1 Malmo

jofyisgod
19/06/2004, 7:53 PM
Great win, great occasion. Well done lads.

19/06/2004, 8:02 PM
Fantastic result bit the edge is taken off by the away goal.
Tense times ahead, but at least City continue their excellent European record at home.

19/06/2004, 8:03 PM
Well done lads. The away goal is a blow, but City have the strikers to score in the second leg, and if you get a goal that should be enough. Either way, it's still a great result.

harpskid
19/06/2004, 8:04 PM
Well done tonight...great result for yis, and indeed the eircom League.

Fair play, and good luck for the second leg

19/06/2004, 8:04 PM
Nastily reminiscent of the CSKA game a few years back (remember the days when RTÉ actually had a live game from Russia?!?!), but a great win, especially against a team in summer soccer too!

19/06/2004, 9:05 PM
Mighty result lads, well done. As Slash said - ye have the strikers to score out there so I dont think the away goal will be too crucial.

Congrats again.

19/06/2004, 9:36 PM
Well done City! Great win tonight. Good luck in the 2nd leg and against Bohs on Tuesday.

adamcarr
19/06/2004, 9:40 PM
Great game, The lads played brilliant especially Mick Devine, Dan Murray Benno and Danny Murphy. I think Dan Murray has made up for the $h£l$ game ;) Fair play to FourFiveOne, the shed looked daycent. What a shock...........when they scored their goal :p . The difference between the two sides was we took our chances and we went into the game professionally! :)

Queenstown Ram
19/06/2004, 9:46 PM
Great win, great occasion. Well done lads.
fantastic result well done. GOOD LUCK in Sweden

19/06/2004, 9:54 PM
Congratulations lads. Great result,it would be even better if ye get through and heres hoping.

Well done. Only downside is that there will really be a chase from English sides for O'Flynn now.

19/06/2004, 10:14 PM
Fantastic you've done our league proud.!!!!!!

Good luck in the return - away goal or not 3-1 is a decent lead to take to Sweden.

ramblers
19/06/2004, 10:16 PM
Well done to City.

adamcarr
19/06/2004, 10:30 PM
Flynnys goal was great! Dispossesing the keeper and knocking it in the net, what a cheeky c*nt! :D

liam88
19/06/2004, 10:44 PM
Well done and good luck in the next leg and the rest of the tournie from the Cobh fans :D We're with you lads!

Go on and do Ireland proud :D

CorkCityFootie
19/06/2004, 10:50 PM
Excellent game, Fair play to City. I didnt think they would do it as well as they did. City played well. Malmo didnt get into the game until about a half hour into the first half. They didnt take their chances when they came.

George played class. Didnt put a foot wrong all night, except when he gave the ball away ONCE (the Donnie Forders went crazy over this, Dumb ****s).

Fenn played his best game all season IMO. Got stuck in and put in some good balls. Keep it up Fenn.

Doyle looks to be back to full fitness. He started on the right, and it also looks like Billy is injured.

Murphy played well. He was caught out on some occasions but overall a good performance. Our defence done us prowd. The Only week link in there is Lordan. He always puts the ball out of play instead of passing it to someone or trying to put it back in the attacking half.

Roll on Bohs Tuesday :D

adamcarr
19/06/2004, 10:52 PM
The Only week link in there is Lordan. He always puts the ball out of play instead of passing it to someone or trying to put it back in the attacking half.

I thought Lordan was outstanding! :confused:

Druss
19/06/2004, 10:57 PM
Great night. Worth 16 to 20 euros of anyones money. :D

Counting Crow
19/06/2004, 11:13 PM
Just back from the game ..... what a night!

Thanks to all the LoI fans from other Clubs who have posted here to wish us luck beforehand and congratulate us afterwards.
Was a topic of conversation before the game how united most clubs were in wanting Irish clubs do well.

Believe me this wasn't just a huge result for City but for the LoI as a whole.

Malmo are a big name but we made them look very ordinary tonight.

Pity more people couldn't have seen it.

3 sets of cameras in the gantry. Hope there was more than just Chorus ( but looking forward already to seeing it on Monday night ).

19/06/2004, 11:18 PM
Highlights will be on EL weekly, which is on thursday this week.

bert
19/06/2004, 11:42 PM
Abba, Volvo, Ikea, we gave your lads one hell of a beating :D

Counting Crow
20/06/2004, 12:06 AM
Not to mention

- SAAB, The Swedish Chef, S G Erikson, Ulrika Jonnson, Ingrid Bergman, Bjorn Borg, Annika Sorrenstam, F Lungberg and Carlberg.

It was more than a beating ....... it was a good ol' fashioned Swedish "whiping" :rolleyes: ;)

20/06/2004, 12:52 AM
great to see the rest of the LOI fans coming on here and supporting us

we will do the leaguie proud next week

sullanefc
20/06/2004, 1:48 AM
Glad to see fans of other LOI teams supporting us. Thanks a mill. We will no doubt return the favour when ye are competing in Europe. Great night for all LOI fans.

ger121
20/06/2004, 1:58 AM
well done boys, great result for you and the el. Good luck next week, except against Bohs that is :D

20/06/2004, 4:12 AM
well done l"u"ngers

amazin scoreline, u did ireland proud credit where its due

stonebaked"!

20/06/2004, 9:16 AM
well done to City, but reserving my congrats till ye get past the second leg!!! just being cautious! :)

eoinh
20/06/2004, 9:21 AM
The Only week link in there is Lordan. He always puts the ball out of play instead of passing it to someone or trying to put it back in the attacking half.

I thought he was brilliant. Citys man of the match.

trevy
20/06/2004, 12:07 PM
I checked aertel during the Holland v Czech Rep game and ye were 3-0 up!I was amazed to see that.Good luck in 2nd leg.It'd be great for the Eircom League if ye get through.

20/06/2004, 2:01 PM
full report at eleven-a-side (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euroclub/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=12025)

20/06/2004, 2:20 PM
well done to yez lads excellent result......best wishes for the next leg!

pconnor
20/06/2004, 2:36 PM
F**king brilliant!
Well done Cork.

Dr.Nightdub
20/06/2004, 3:42 PM
Fair dues lads, great result, good luck in the away leg. Youse are still ******s though! ;)

20/06/2004, 3:51 PM
Yeah. Well done to FourFiveOne. Heard the Shed looked v well. Made up a bit for poor crowd...a little bit.

20/06/2004, 4:54 PM
well done city, done the league proud....hit the tv a few times to make sure aertel wasn't playin tricks on me :D

just keep a clean sheet over there and roll on the next round :)

Duncan Gardner
20/06/2004, 5:10 PM
Excellent result for City :)

Can Ballymenahey match it in BK Odense?

I think not :(

kevincronin2000
20/06/2004, 5:15 PM
0-0 good result for them

20/06/2004, 6:14 PM
Great result for Cork
Great result for the League
Feck the barstool begrudgers!

Good luck in Sweden!

20/06/2004, 8:54 PM
RTE had highlights on 6.01 news...they may show it again on the news at 9.

Just to let ye know.

i have this as an mpeg file if anybody id interested

eddieohalloran
20/06/2004, 9:48 PM
Just wanted to congratulate you on a really great result, a credit to the LOI. Great to see John O'Flynn get on the score sheet. He is a really great player and deserves all the praise he gets. Was there for the Derry match and was very impressed with the professionalism of the Cork City setup, plus young Kearney got a goal worth the admission fee alone.

Best of luck in the away leg, hopefully you will get the result you deserve!

21/06/2004, 12:30 AM
i have sent this file to corkcityfootie.com who have contacted rte to see if they can use it

if all goes well,stay tuned for more goals being sent over to the website

Xlex
21/06/2004, 10:17 AM
Belated Congrats on a fine win. Goodluck in Sweden

21/06/2004, 10:27 AM
Great Result Lads.
Only got back from the hols yesterday morning but had regular texts coming from the Cross.
Hopefully we can get through to the next round.

21/06/2004, 12:03 PM
Just goes to show that the eL isn't all kick & run. eL clubs ain;t gonna get results in Europe unless they pass the ball & city probably had their best footballer son show saturday.

It is only the Inter Toto Cup but Malmo looked like serious opposition on paper (not much comparison but beat Portadown 6-0 on agg in last years Uefa Cup) plus they have summer season too (even if have berak for euro 2004) but city easily passed the ball as well as them. 3-1 a fair result but away goal a dampner.

21/06/2004, 1:57 PM
i have sent this file to corkcityfootie.com who have contacted rte to see if they can use it

Sure anyone who wants to see the sports news from Six One yesterday can paste this link into Real Player.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2004/0620/6news/6news56_8.smil
You should skip forward by 7 minutes and 20 seconds.
Poor quality image though.

ccfcgirl
21/06/2004, 4:03 PM
work was great to day everyone on about city results, great feeling .Its great seen so many loi fans also wishing city well thanks.the flags looked great in the shed well done to the lads ,i was surprised such a small crowd there loss.

eoinh
21/06/2004, 5:31 PM
to put our three goals in perspective. malmo have played 9 games in their league - they have conceded 5 goals in TOTAL

eastcork
22/06/2004, 7:28 AM
Great Night, Great Win....I thought the passion the players showed was amazing. It was the first night that i saw George really give it a go. He was my man of the match by a mile. He worked his socks off. Fair play.

22/06/2004, 12:08 PM
Wonderful result lads -- pathetic coverage in 'Irish' sports media. Stuff 'em in Sweden too, but take a breather in the meantime, will ya? :)

Mike1
22/06/2004, 1:11 PM
Volvo and Saab are no longer Swedish and isn't Carlsberg Danish?

Oh, and the biggest error of all was the Swedish Chef. He was an American creation. :D FS Lads!!

22/06/2004, 3:54 PM
Volvo and Saab are no longer Swedish and isn't Carlsberg Danish?!

I presume u mean the car companies not Swedish cos owned by foreign corporations? Would that mean Guinness not irish then? ;)