View Full Version : Team for Derry

18/06/2004, 12:01 PM
I would go:

Digger
Dillo,Barry,Maccer/Paiso,Prunts
Dessie,Kirbs,Deano,Byrne
Eric,Barrett

I would stick with Maccer in front of Paiso but the reason I put both of them down is because Maccer went off the other night and looked like he was in a bit of pain so if he is injured I would put Paiso in. I think Eric deserves a start after the way he has played over the last few matches when he has come on.

18/06/2004, 12:05 PM
i think sean prunty would be a waste at left full ,better at midfield imho :D
his pace is electrifying........................

18/06/2004, 7:15 PM
is there many travellin up for the game?

gheewhizz
18/06/2004, 10:28 PM
I'd say it will be almost the same team that played Dublin City,
Digger
Dillo Barry Maccer Paiso
Kirby pip murphy prunty
Barrett Lavine

18/06/2004, 11:22 PM
I will be heading up north but pretty early departing hq at midday in order to have a few beverages and food in letterkenny golf club before the game! :)

I would agree with gheewhizz on that team -the lineup seems very decent to me and hopefully Levine will find his touch which brings back memories of his goal last saeson!

Think Deano should be used sparingly and keep him fully fit for the European tie as he has a lot of euro experience from Shels and Portadown and Newry Town days.

Is the Gillingham game confrimed? it would be great to see Rose and Danny Spiller back to our ground and it will be a good rehearsel for the real euro tie!

20/06/2004, 2:33 PM
well it didnt go quite to plan for us but nevertheless a good result considering we played with ten men after 24mins. barry ferguson sent off for elbowing derrys alan murphy. cant really fault any of our players, they all played well but it was between digger and paisley for man of the match imo, digger brought off some fantastic saves and paisley was a class act. sean prunty also deserves a mention he had another exellent game.
barrett should have opened the scoring within the first few mins but his shot almost broke the crossbar and came back out. derry had some great chances to put us away but failed to do so.

techs
20/06/2004, 2:55 PM
Lets cut the crap. A nil all draw in the brandywell these days with ten men or not is a terrible result. They are strugglin down the bottom for feck sake. The fact that barry was sent off (yet again) shows the lack of discipline in the side. We again had to rely on only a couple of our players, where are the rest of them? they don't give a sh1t aslong as they get paid. I made the long journey up and to be quite honest i am more than p1ss*d of with what i have been seeing from the side. As a long time fan i have never seen such a talented bunch of players at the club but they look like they want to be some where else. As for Alan Matthews where did he learn to be a manager the guy hasn't a clue and it is becoming blatantly obvious. IF something isn't done quick it is a relegation dogfight for us this season. I think Alan Matthews has gone as far as he can with us and i for one want to see MATTHEWS OUT.. he is draggin us back into the gutter

Its a waste of money goin to see de town play these days particularly with the price hike..

20/06/2004, 4:34 PM
Fine then dont go.Its your choice. who do you suggest we bring in if Matthews goes..Kenny? Oh hang on a sec, they were thrashed at home by Dublin City "ten men or no ten men"..Rico? Roddy Collins? Don O' Riordan? Gavin Dykes?! Bullsh*t artists and failures all round..Maybe Pat Fenlon will resign from Shels and take the job?! Jimmy mcGeogh, nutcase..We're in no worse a position than we were at this stage last season and it turned out alright didnt it?
For fecks sake judge the man at the end of the season and if you're not prepared to say that his record with LTFC at least deserves that much then you my friend are not a supporter and I dont mind saying it, Its not that long since we were seeking re-election from the First Division yet some people think we have a divine right to challenge for the league on the second lowest budget in the division. Be realistic and wait and see what happens. The sending off is indicative only of the lack of discipline of Mr B Ferguson esq. and his pocket is going to be hit severely because of it, the manager didnt tell him to elbow anyone ffs. Cop on and give him a chance

20/06/2004, 4:48 PM
wouldn't call for the mans head but this season is like a rollercoaster, one good win, a lose a sending off and a draw, if we don't improve a big big chance will be missed by the club...we need european football every year to keep at this standard, i feel that should be our aim.

20/06/2004, 6:06 PM
here here Longfordian........in fairness a few wins and we are back up the table again! Alot of people last season, gave out bout Matthews and wanted him gone and oh look only our most sucessful season ever and he was the greatest in the world.......this season is not over by a long shot! lets see how it looks at the end

21/06/2004, 9:06 AM
My contempt for people calling into question Matthews at this stage of the season is beyond words. Disappear after a win and straight out after even a reasonable result (despite their poor form, Derry still haven't lost too often in the Brandywell this season).

Our only hope of regular European Football every season is the Cup. We don't have the crowds, hence we don't have the budget to compete with Bohs, Shels and Cork (before you get onto the "1st team fully pro" teams like Drogheda and Waterford). If we finish top half (for the third season running under Matthews :rolleyes: ) I'll be happy. It's a realistic target.

techs
21/06/2004, 5:43 PM
I duno what you are looking for to see that the man isn't up to it. Will it be time enough proof when we are back in the 1st division because thats where we are headin, hey macy take your head of the sky, a good win against dc? a reasonable result in derry? ye the league cup will do us the world of good down the bottom of the table. and longfordian it turned out ok last season i'll agree but just about. are you saying that that would be good enough again. i don't think so. are you sure your not on the commitee i'd have my suspicions because that comment is exactly what i would expect from them??? with the money that has been put into that team for matthews i think the results are just down right disgraceful. If its not Matthews fault then whose is fault is it?
He picks the team.
He is supposed to motivate them.
He has made the signings.
The results are backing up my comments so you can curse me at your will but the proof is being played every week!
And longfordian just because I feel this way doesn't lessen me as a supporter. You don't know me so don't judge me as a supporter because i have heart about the issue. I want the best for de town but Matthews isn't given it

21/06/2004, 6:43 PM
No i'm not on the committee, those that know me will tell you that. As far as I can see you've nothing positive to contribute to this debate,and as far as i remember anyother its just whinge whinge whinge what do you suggest we do about it? I'll spell this out for you..S.E.C.O.N.D L.O.W.E.S.T B.U.D.G.E.T. What do you know about what has been put into the team for Mathews? Nothing so keep quiet. And as for your comment of "thats exactly what I'd expect from them" ever occurred to you "they" might be right?! The people on that committehave done a hell of alot more for Longford Town than you will ever understand and its about time you gave the club a bit of f*ckin credit.. A Licence does that ring a bell? As for calling 4th in the league and winning the cup unacceptable.. if you think that you're an even bigger idiot than I thought. Just who do you think we are?...Macy pointed it out we dont have the money to compete with Bohs, Shels and Cork..You're the one that needs to stop livin in fantasy land.

You're the one who said going to see the Town was a waste of money, those are not the words of a supporter, a supporter will turn up week after week, year after year not just when we're winning, sadly we've too few supporters and too many spectators.."price hike" ffs its still second cheapest in the league and you're guaranteed a seat..All in all you're talking sh*te and I think you'll find most agree with me. Thats all I'm saying on this matter. If anyone else wants to agree/disagree with you fine but im finished on this thread

22/06/2004, 9:24 AM
it turned out ok last season i'll agree but just about. are you saying that that would be good enough again. i don't think so.
FFS, Just about alright? 2 Finals, winning one of them, Europe and 4th in League - barely acceptable for a club the size of ours? :rolleyes: I'd be delighted with the same result from this season, it would be a major achievment to do so, and at this stage they'd be at least 6 or 7 clubs that would take that type of season and hail it as a success.

Just about OK last season, unbelievable.

22/06/2004, 9:35 AM
i just feel we shouldn't go backwards, in the league of course, cups are always a bonus but the league should be our main focus, 4th is the aim, 3th would be amazing....

i'd say alan wished we didn't as well last season as its put a lot of pressure on the club to improve even more this season, we are a spoiled lot at the mo and need to get our feet back on the ground.

22/06/2004, 10:37 AM
i just feel we shouldn't go backwards, in the league of course, cups are always a bonus but the league should be our main focus, 4th is the aim, 3th would be amazing....
Yeah, 3th ;) would be amazing, and so Matthews shouldn't be judged until the end of the season.

techs
22/06/2004, 5:41 PM
Ok point taken judge him at the end of the season but don't start whingin when its too late cause its startin now.
BTW Longfordian your the idiot whats to say i don't know who you are????

22/06/2004, 8:00 PM
Ok, I'd like to say I went over the top a wee bit. There was no need for personal abuse, so I apologise. But I still stand over my opinions.Im sure you do too but I just cant see the logic in your argument..I genuinely think we'll be fine this season. A repeat of last season or even the season before would do me fine, I might be a little disappointed but you have to accept things dont always work out how you would like