View Full Version : LOI support for Ireland

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Red Army
20/05/2011, 1:50 PM
Just wondering how many league of Ireland fans here support Ireland actively on a regular basics? If you don't or stopped what was the reason? Or if you do how does the 'experience' differ if it does to following your local team. I gave up going to Ireland games a good few years back mainly due to international games been played mid week now along with increasing ticket prices although they have reduced the price a small bit lately.

20/05/2011, 2:17 PM
There was a big block booking of LoI fans. Repeated screwing around from the FAI and stupid ticket prices have seen the numbers fall off, but it's still there. It never seemed to quite work out as a singing section, and wasn't really facilitated that way.

peadar1987
20/05/2011, 2:38 PM
I'd love to go to games, but I simply can't afford to. If it's a choice between going to eight Bray games, or one Ireland international, Bray wins every time. I'm still interested in the team, and watch every game on the telly, true Barstool style, and I'm not the fickle type who'll stop supporting them because they lose to Italy, France, or Cyprus, but I couldn't be considered hardcore by any definition of the word.

Red Army
20/05/2011, 2:41 PM
How do you mean by 'never facilitated that way'?

20/05/2011, 2:49 PM
Used to follow Ireland - at world cup and a few home/away games. But Delaney and all the shenanigans within the FAI and the plastic support(ole ole brigade) have lost interest, and this was way before that France game. But since then i took up LOI football and i havent looked back at all - love the LOI, love the small but very vocal atmosphere at games, and dont think i could ever go back to following the national team as i find it boring.(unless they had a few LOi players - which is never i guess!)

Red Army
20/05/2011, 2:54 PM
Who do you support Bennocelt? I think Ireland have some kind of a singing section now in the south stand.

Spudulika
20/05/2011, 3:35 PM
I've been taken/going to Irish games since I was 3, but when I was in Uni I was more regular (my own income etc) and I block booked tickets back in 1992 (you had to buy 2 at a time). Then I couldn't attend one home game, against Latvia I think, and I lost my seat for the 2nd game. I went in person to complain and they told me I was in the wrong. I still go to the odd games, I was in Yerevan because it was close, and prefer to go to away games when possible. Though as Peadar said, and I'd be in line with his thinking, I'd rather spend my money on a bunch of LOI games than 1 Irish match, but I'll always watch on tv, or the net, no matter where I am. Oh, and I traveled on my own to the Iran playoff match in 2001, though to be fair I was based in Jeddah at the time and had seen Saudi vs Iran there, so I figured it'd be cool to travel. As it turned out Ireland played both teams in the campaign.

20/05/2011, 3:36 PM
How do you mean by 'never facilitated that way'?
I was thinking of stuff like the Carlsberg band being placed right in front of it, completely out of sync with the LoI singing, the experiment of placing the LoI drummers together not being replicated, and stewards pressing people to sit down there.

20/05/2011, 3:39 PM
Who do you support Bennocelt? I think Ireland have some kind of a singing section now in the south stand.

No LoI team in greater Westmeath:p
So follow any game I can when I'm home - which is about next week - so might see if i can get a lift to Mervue (V Longford), and home for the FAI cups games:D

SupaJon
20/05/2011, 10:18 PM
I feel dirty going to Ireland matches knowing that the amount of supporters there would never dream of passing through the turnstiles at a LOI game.

LOI >>>>>>> Internationals

21/05/2011, 12:01 AM
There was a big block booking of LoI fans. Repeated screwing around from the FAI and stupid ticket prices have seen the numbers fall off, but it's still there. It never seemed to quite work out as a singing section, and wasn't really facilitated that way.

to those that dont know the big block booking was dated back to the fran rooney era I was in that section myself.. it never really took off though!

Rasputin
21/05/2011, 8:51 AM
Nope.
The state of the average Irish supporter, embaressing is not the word with their stupid hats and inflatable hammers.
But what really gets me is the contempt with which LOI supporters have been treated by the FAI.
I have no interest in taking part in that mong fest.

Straightstory
21/05/2011, 8:59 AM
I'm going to see Ireland again after boycotting the 'Croke Park Years'. So many of the supporters are wan*ers, though - Barstoolers and event junkies. LOI fans a much finer bunch of people.

21/05/2011, 9:10 AM
Just wondering how many league of Ireland fans here support Ireland actively on a regular basics? If you don't or stopped what was the reason? Or if you do how does the 'experience' differ if it does to following your local team. I gave up going to Ireland games a good few years back mainly due to international games been played mid week now along with increasing ticket prices although they have reduced the price a small bit lately.

The reality is, there shouldn't be any difference. As Irish citizens and passport holders, we're obliged to support Ireland in any sport imo, for better or worse. My local club represents me in the LOI, my international team represents me and my identity as an Irishman on the world stage.

You saw how passionate people got about the team after Paris. Atm, supporting the Ireland football team isn't fashionable, mainly because of opinions formed after a bad hour at home to Russia. That'll all change when we qualify for our next tournament. The Ole Ole-ing, the "barstooling", and the ticket pricing whinging will be forgotten very quickly when we're at it, when the entire country looks for time off work to see us play in the finals again.

21/05/2011, 9:50 AM
Used to go the odd time but its a very expensive trip to go up on a week day so don't bother. Get off work early, petrol, food, drinks, match tickets and the fact I'd be arriving home late and have to be back up early for work doesn't make it appealing. The constant opening of the papers to see another story about Stephen Ireland or some English player that wants to claim for Ireland gets boring too.

I will watch Ireland on the telly at home when a match is on but rarely make the effort to go up to Dublin. The same goes for supporting the Irish Rugby team. The cost of going up makes is very off putting so very rarely go up to them.

21/05/2011, 10:08 AM
I feel dirty going to Ireland matches knowing that the amount of supporters there would never dream of passing through the turnstiles at a LOI game.

LOI >>>>>>> Internationals

What you said

21/05/2011, 11:03 AM
I do but am in the minority of Limerick fans - as evidence of the Thierry Henry chant last night and regularly from other LoI fans too.

21/05/2011, 11:10 AM
What chant is that gspain? Honestly never heard one (except from Linfield fans at Richmond)

In my experience nearly all 'older' LOI fans are regular ROI match goers (or at least actively support ROI) while it's hit and miss with younger fans. I don't think message boards are representative either with the 'silent majority' definitely supporting ROI

bluewhitearmy
21/05/2011, 11:45 AM
What chant is that gspain? Honestly never heard one (except from Linfield fans at Richmond)

In my experience nearly all 'older' LOI fans are regular ROI match goers (or at least actively support ROI) while it's hit and miss with younger fans. I don't think message boards are representative either with the 'silent majority' definitely supporting ROI

Its just Limerick fans chanting Thierry Henry and Allez les bleus to the FAI officials at games in support of France. No need to explain why surely.

Dont bother with Ireland games myself anymore but the complete lack of atmosphere put me off after a while sad really that more noise is made in Jackman then at Ireland games.

Strawberry
21/05/2011, 1:46 PM
I go whenever I can but being from Sligo and studying in Galway makes it a bit difficult. Used to have the block booked tickets with my dad but they were way too expensive for this campaign, still been to some of the games though.
I'd have to say though in comparison to LOI I find the atmosphere to be very boring, particularly in Croke Park. I think if we were performing better the Aviva would probably produce a decent atmosphere though, hopefully the restructuring of the ticket prices will have a positive impact too

21/05/2011, 2:32 PM
I'd have to say though in comparison to LOI I find the atmosphere to be very boring, particularly in Croke Park. I think if we were performing better the Aviva would probably produce a decent atmosphere though, hopefully the restructuring of the ticket prices will have a positive impact too

I find it weird reading through this thread where people say they don't support the national side. I just don't see how you can stop supporting your country. Does not compute!

However, in saying that I completely agree with Strawberry re the atmosphere in for the last few years. Bar the Italian and French games at home the atmosphere has been seriously flat at most games.

Rasputin
21/05/2011, 2:37 PM
I find it weird reading through this thread where people say they don't support the national side. I just don't see how you can stop supporting your country. Does not compute!
The fact that the Irish football team does not represent me.
Much the same as roasters cant understand why I cheer on who ever is playing the Sligo Gah team, because it doesnt represent me.
Even though we are constantly bombarded with ****e that the Sligo Gah team does in fact represent me or the Irish Football does represent me, I disgaree.

21/05/2011, 2:48 PM
theres a few on the Bohs board too who dont support the Irish team or are just ambivalent towards it. Dont get why myself. International football almost always gets the blood pumping. Im Irish and im Bohs. Though if it came down to Bohs v. Ireland, it would be Bohs.

bluewhitearmy
21/05/2011, 3:45 PM

However, in saying that I completely agree with Strawberry re the atmosphere in for the last few years. Bar the Italian and French games at home the atmosphere has been seriously flat at most games.

I was at that and bar singin Ole Ole Ole before the game and then after goals what atmosphere was there? That was my last game becasue i thought if there isn't going to be an atmosphere at a game like that there never will so no point travelling up when i could watch it on tele with the same atmosphere at home.

de bowez
21/05/2011, 4:01 PM
I went when the LOI singing section was formed when Brian Kerr took charge, within about 3 games the FAI took tickets off us for the Brazil friendly and it all collapsed from there, don't really follow the national team since then although Ill hop on the bandwagon if they qualify for something.

Besides Landsdowne is on the other side of the city to me and the standard of some of the other national teams is much higher, I dont see why I should support the team till they are winning world cups etc.

21/05/2011, 4:25 PM
I support Ireland in theory. As a football fan I want my country to do well, and get into the games when watching on tele.

I'm a barstooler though. When I was at home the cost involved just wasn't worth it. Ridiculous ticket prices plus the travel costs, staying over in dublin etc. I'd get a City season ticket for the price of one Ireland game.

Because of the cost/distance I never made the connection to the Irish team as I did with City. They're still my country, I still support them and hope they do well but it's really not the same. With City it's a community, and the whiole club was/is a major part of my life. With Ireland, they're lads playing for my country but that's about it.

21/05/2011, 4:48 PM
High Ticket prices and midweek games with no trains back to the likes of Longford just dont go well together.

21/05/2011, 6:22 PM

I'm no singer at club or country games, but that's not my reason for going. It's to see the team win. That's the bottom line. Atmospheres don't win leagues, improve world rankings or qualify for tournaments, results do. So a good result is worth the expense imo.

I support Ireland in theory. As a football fan I want my country to do well, and get into the games when watching on tele.

I'm a barstooler though. When I was at home the cost involved just wasn't worth it. Ridiculous ticket prices plus the travel costs, staying over in dublin etc. I'd get a City season ticket for the price of one Ireland game.

Because of the cost/distance I never made the connection to the Irish team as I did with City. They're still my country, I still support them and hope they do well but it's really not the same. With City it's a community, and the whiole club was/is a major part of my life. With Ireland, they're lads playing for my country but that's about it.

Not saying you do, but some of those complaining about the distance and the cost probably have no problem with paying a few hundred Euro and set out for EPL club games 12 hours before ko every weekend, to watch them play. When we played at home in the days before Lansdowne discovered electricity, people shut businesses early and people traveled there in their thousands to watch us in front of sell-out crowds. And tickets were (relatively) expensive then too.

21/05/2011, 6:50 PM

Doesn't mean we are any less Irish

bluewhitearmy
21/05/2011, 6:51 PM

More Irish then the team anyway.

21/05/2011, 8:16 PM

Who said you were any less Irish?

White Horse
21/05/2011, 9:45 PM
I want them to win but don't "support" them.

There isn't the same feeling of affinity as there is with my club side.

I would go more often if I could bring the kids, get parking, and have change out of €100.

22/05/2011, 6:00 AM
Not saying you do, but some of those complaining about the distance and the cost probably have no problem with paying a few hundred Euro and set out for EPL club games 12 hours before ko every weekend, to watch them play.
Really? Who? Doubt there's many on this thread anyway.

When we played at home in the days before Lansdowne discovered electricity, people shut businesses early and people traveled there in their thousands to watch us in front of sell-out crowds. And tickets were (relatively) expensive then too.

I'm a bit confused by this. People travel in their thousands now too, I'm ust not one of them as it's not worth the money imo.

SMorgan
22/05/2011, 7:28 AM
Somebody hit the nail on the head in that LOI fans were ****ed about by the FAI in the block-booking scheme. High prices, poor locations in ground, late posting out of tickets, cutting allocations and customer service that only Ryanair would be proud of. That was all well and good. The FAI could do that during the good times, but now that times are tough and they struggle to get crowds, people remember how they've been treated in the past. I went to the first match against Walse in Croke Park and it's the last Ireland match I've been to. To find bad seats in Croe Park is a difficult tasK, but the FAI managed it. The LOI fans was put in the back rows of the lower stand. It was like watching a football match through a letter box. I haven't been back..

22/05/2011, 9:02 AM
Somebody hit the nail on the head in that LOI fans were ****ed about by the FAI in the block-booking scheme. High prices, poor locations in ground, late posting out of tickets, cutting allocations and customer service that only Ryanair would be proud of. That was all well and good. The FAI could do that during the good times, but now that times are tough and they struggle to get crowds, people remember how they've been treated in the past. I went to the first match against Walse in Croke Park and it's the last Ireland match I've been to. To find bad seats in Croe Park is a difficult tasK, but the FAI managed it. The LOI fans was put in the back rows of the lower stand. It was like watching a football match through a letter box. I haven't been back..

People have no problem paying the money to the IRFU for their home internationals, (same seats, same stadium, same travel issues, more expense) as the team is relatively successful. They will be back quick when we start qualifying for tournaments again.

bluewhitearmy
22/05/2011, 11:11 AM
People have no problem paying the money to the IRFU for their home internationals, (same seats, same stadium, same travel issues, more expense) as the team is relatively successful. They will be back quick when we start qualifying for tournaments again.

Not any time soon so.

22/05/2011, 11:19 AM

The IRFU struggled to sell tickets since the AVIVA opened. I think they have had a max of three sell out games and poor crowds barr that. They where extremely overpriced though. A lot of people ended up getting free tickets to some Ireland matches to fill up some seats. The clubs returned thousands of tickets they couldn't sell.

I agree though, make a tournament and all of a sudden everyone will want to go. That goes for every sport though.

22/05/2011, 1:20 PM
I agree though, make a tournament and all of a sudden everyone will want to go. That goes for every sport though.

And it goes hand in hand with the value for money thing. People don't feel like it's value for money to pay the current ticket prices for poor games, with no atmosphere. Were we to qualify, there'd be a buzz about the games, it'd feel like more of an event and people would feel like it's more worthy of spending the money on.

It's no different to league football, we might get 2k at a run of the mill game but if there's a final at the cross the tickets would sell out in a day or so.

22/05/2011, 9:15 PM
I've been going to home games fairly solidly since I became a student. Living in Belfast at the time, it was fairly handy to head to the games, especially the Croke Park ones.

Back living in Derry now, and still get to most matches, though midweek games mean taking a half day in the afternoon and the next morning off work, so it's not ideal.
I can fully understand why people would give it a miss though, as the costs involved are high.
I usually drive down with 4 other Derry fans, so we share the petrol costs, but you're still talking about 55 to get to a game. It's a fair whack, especially if there's two matches on that week.

PartySaint
22/05/2011, 9:42 PM
I wouldn't consider myself a big fan of the national team but I do find myself going to most Ireland home matches (despite the fact they they are horrendous to watch, I think like when a woman gives birth she supposedly forgets the pain and thats how they can go through it again, I forget how bad Ireland are to watch and keep going) I have friends who consider themselves big big fans but rarely go to games but I suppose thats an Irish thing

When Pats lose it can ruin a weekend/week but when Ireland lose i lose no sleep over it, Would like to see them qualify for a major tournament but doesn't really bother me if they don't

22/05/2011, 9:59 PM
When Pats lose it can ruin a weekend/week but when Ireland lose i lose no sleep over it, Would like to see them qualify for a major tournament but doesn't really bother me if they don't

Well it should. If we qualify, the FAI gets more money, some of which can be re-invested in league prize money, ground facilities, and player development at grass roots level. International football is the top of the pyramid of the game, and the more money it makes, the more the rest of us benefit.

In general interest, yes it is expensive to go to games, so are most sports events these days. A standard away LOI trip is roughly €50 per trip minimum in ticket, programme, refreshment, and travel costs. Not to mention the work/college time lost to get across the country and back on weeknights.

The quality of football played by the Ireland team isn't mouth-watering, but it's not supposed to be. Our aim is to get the next finals, that's what we're playing for, and if that means scrapping our way to get there, then that's ok.

1-0 in the Derby on Tuesday will be 3 points, and a step nearer winning some silverware. That will do me.

gufcfan
23/05/2011, 7:53 AM
If I lived in Dublin I probably would go to a lot of games, but not having much more than a passing interest in the Premier League, I don't really see the players very often so I don't care enough about it to bother travelling from Galway and paying what it costs to get the seat I would want.

Went to Argentina game, more to see the stadium than anything else. Annual visit for FAI Cup final will be the only time I'm seen there more than likely.

23/05/2011, 10:11 AM
I used to go regularly, and then was actually the contact for Longford when the LoI singing section thing started. I lost interest in going to matches when we were fecked around by Delaney - tickets taken off us, and then split around the ground in crap seats rather than the raison d'etre of the whole scheme of a singing section. I won't go back while Delaney is in charge (tournament qualification or not) - not just for that reason, but it's pretty high tbh, as it showed what he thought of the LoI and it's fans.

Red Army
23/05/2011, 10:53 AM
What's the story with the LOI block now is it near the signing section of the south stand or part of it? Are supporters giving much grief for standing up during games at Lansdowne Road now? I'd hate to buy a ticket and find out I'm surrounded by a load of Antos and their family all kitted out in Man U gear with everyone sitting. Do fans behind both ends still stand?

Brusher
23/05/2011, 12:31 PM
Stopped going in the '80's as I was sick and tired of the granny rule being over used and no involvement of any LOI players (ok bar the very odd friendly), I felt no affinity to any of the players. But also when I look at the thousands that do attend the internationals, it sickens me that if only each of these "fans" took an interest in an Irish club (even if they couldn't get to a LOI ground, they could purchase jerseys etc), we could have a growing league to be proud of.

23/05/2011, 12:44 PM
What's the significance of the LOI section - is it cheaper or do you just like being around other domestic fans?

People get a bit too worked up by our international attendances I think. In international terms, we've been one of the best supported teams for years, even when we're not qualifying for things. England don't always sell out Wembley despite the London metro area having three times Ireland's population.

gufcfan
23/05/2011, 12:57 PM
I wouldn't mind being in the singing section, but I don't like being behind the goal. I'd rather be high up and more central than relatively close and behind the goal.

23/05/2011, 3:26 PM
Well it should. If we qualify, the FAI gets more money, some of which can be re-invested in league prize money, ground facilities, and player development at grass roots level. International football is the top of the pyramid of the game, and the more money it makes, the more the rest of us benefit.
The quality of football played by the Ireland team isn't mouth-watering, but it's not supposed to be. Our aim is to get the next finals, that's what we're playing for, and if that means scrapping our way to get there, then that's ok.

Are u fXXXing serious, really!!:eek:

23/05/2011, 3:41 PM
Why wouldn't he be serious? Weren't there plenty of people giving out here when the prize money was reduced? Not sure how much they've invested in facilities but certainly they've spent a lot on improving the standard of coaching around the country.

23/05/2011, 4:20 PM
Why wouldn't he be serious? Weren't there plenty of people giving out here when the prize money was reduced? Not sure how much they've invested in facilities but certainly they've spent a lot on improving the standard of coaching around the country.

Yeah reduced but paying over 2 million for a crock of a manager (amongst other things). Obvious where the FAIs priorities lie.
Remind me how much delaney is on again!:rolleyes:
This grass roots idea is great - so when can we wait to see LOI players in the national team?