View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 20 May)

Ezeikial
19/05/2011, 4:51 PM
PRESS RELEASE
FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION OF IRELAND
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Airtricity League Previews

(All fixtures 7.45pm unless stated)

Friday, May 20
Airtricity League Premier Division
Bohemians v St Patrick’s Athletic, Dalymount Park. Referee: Derek Tomney.

Bohemians host a St Pat’s side that has lost just one league game since being held to a 0-0 draw by the Gypsies on April 1.

Pete Mahon’s Saints are three points behind Bohemians with a game in hand. St Pat’s last won in Dalymount Park on March 14th, 2008.

TEAM NEWS:

Bohemians keeper Barry Murphy remains injured while Mark Rossiter (hamstring) has also suffered a recurrence of a previous injury. Ger O’Brien is suspended but Glenn Cronin (cruciate) returns from long-term injury.

The Saints are still without captain Conor Kenna, though it is hoped that he will resume training on Saturday. James O’Brien remains sidelined with an ankle injury, and Dave Mulcahy will be given another week to recover from a hamstring injury.

QUOTES:

Bohemians boss Pat Fenlon: “Against Galway we had eight or nine amateurs in our squad of 18. We might have to get lads on amateur forms. We can give a great opportunity to lads who want to play for a big club like Bohemians. We have spoken to one or two lads we would like to play.”

St Pat’s boss Pete Mahon: “We rested Danny North and Daryl Kavanagh in the Leinster Senior Cup win over Athlone Town and they are likely to start. Like ourselves, Bohs have a young squad, but I am expecting a tough match as you would expect from any Bohemians team.”

Derry City v Bray Wanderers, Brandywell. Referee: Tom Connolly.

DERRY CITY host Bray Wanderers are the Brandywell knowing that an away with would see the Seagulls draw level with Stephen Kenny’s side.

After two defeats in a row, Bray got back to winning ways last time out against UCD. Both Derry City’s league defeats this term have been against Sligo Rovers but the Candystripes had no fixture last weekend due to the Setanta Cup Final.

TEAM NEWS:

The Candystripes were without the suspended Shane McEleney and Daniel Lafferty while Kevin Deery (calf), Thomas McBride (ankle) and Ruaidhri Higgins (knee) are injury concerns. Barry Molloy returns after a six week absence.

Bray Wanderers will be without Darren Quigley (arm), Stephen Brennan (thigh) and Gary Shaw (foot).

QUOTES:

Derry City boss Stephen Kenny: “I have been very impressed with Bray. They have a lot of pace in the wide areas and they usually play with three in midfield, which makes them very competitive. They've shown they are a good team this year and they have been strong so they will be tough opposition.”

Bray Wanderers Director of Football Pat Devlin: “I'm delighted to be going to Derry on the back of last week’s win and we will try and avenge the defeat they inflicted on us at the Carlisle Grounds earlier in the season. We know it will be tough."

UCD v Dundalk, UCD Bowl. Referee: Anthony Buttimer.

DUNDALK will bid to get over their Setanta Sports Cup Final loss to Shamrock Rovers by clinching a third league victory on the spin when they travel to UCD.

The Students have won three of their last five fixtures but were disappointed to lose 2-1 at Bray Wanderers last weekend.

TEAM NEWS:

UCD captain Michael Leahy (shoulder) while David O’Connor, Robbie Benson (hip flexor) and Mark Langtry (calf) also return. Robbie Creevy (ankle) is still out and Cillian Morrison (ankle) is just lacking in match fitness.

Dundalk’s Jason Byrne (hamstring) will not feature, while midfielder Stephen McDonnell (knee) would have missed out regardless of his one-match suspension. Stephen Maher (groin) and Eoghan Osborne (fractured tibia) remain out of action.

QUOTES:

UCD boss Martin Russell: “Dundalk will be disappointed that with their defeat in the Setanta Cup Final and will be looking to bounce back against us in the league. They have a good balance to their side, with a good mixture of youth and experience; they will be a decent challenge.

“We will be looking to bounce back ourselves from the Bray game, where we put in a solid first half display but let yourselves down in the second period.”

Dundalk midfielder Greg Bolger: “All we want to do is get back on the pitch and rectify it and get back to winning ways. I’m looking forward to the UCD game, obviously with them being my former club, and getting more minutes on the pitch. I’ve missed a lot so I’m just eager to get onto the pitch and put the disappointment of losing the cup final behind me.”

Shamrock Rovers v Drogheda United, Tallaght Stadium (8.00pm). Referee: Padraig Sutton.

MICHAEL O’NEILL’S Shamrock Rovers continue to lead the way after adding the Setanta Sports Cup trophy to their collection last weekend.

The champions and leaders will be expected to be too strong for struggling Drogheda United, who have just two wins in their opening 13 league games this term.

TEAM NEWS:

The Hoops have no injury concerns but Ken Oman and Pat Sullivan are suspended. Drogheda are without suspended duo Alan McNally and Mark Nolan. Jack Flynn is out for at least two months with ligament damage. Cillian Thompson is also out of the game through injury.

QUOTES:

Rovers boss Michael O’Neill: “We know we will be favourites for the game, but we never expect an easy time in any match in this league. Drogheda will come here with nothing to lose, and teams can be dangerous in that situation. We will be giving Drogheda the respect they deserve.”

Drogheda boss Mick Cooke: “In our position every game and every point is massive, the frustrating thing is that we have been playing well for long parts of games but just not being able to capitalise. However the lads are a credit to the club, the fact is there is not enough experience and the level is just too high for them at the moment. Most of the lads have come in from playing reserve football last year and I only have three players older than 22. I will be looking to try and bolster the squad with some experience in the July transfer window.”

Airtricity League First Division
Limerick v Finn Harps, Jackman Park. Referee: John Grimes.
New Finn Harps management duo Peter Hutton and Felix Healy will be aware that their side face a tough visit to Limerick. Harps have yet to win this season while Limerick have won three of their last four games. Limerick boss Pat Scully: “Although Finn Harps are bottom of the league we will treat them with the same respect we treat every team in the league. Finn Harps are a descent team and we know it'll be a tough game.”

Mervue United v Salthill Devon, Fahy’s Field. Referee: Darren Coombes.

Shelbourne v Longford Town, Tolka Park (8.00pm). Referee: Sean Grant.
Leaders Shelbourne host fourth placed Longford Town and former Town defender Stephen Paisley is the only absentee from the Reds squad with a hamstring injury. Shels were held to a 1-1 draw by fellow promotion-chasers Cork City last week while Longford – who are unbeaten in four games – had no fixture.

Wexford Youths v Cork City, Ferrycarrig Park (8.00pm). Referee: Phil Caschera.
Cork City will look to get back on winning ways after being held by leaders Shelbourne last week. Tommy Dunne’s side are still unbeaten but have drawn five of their ten league games. Derek O’Brien is doubtful with a thigh strain. Wexford suffered a surprise home defeat to Salthill Devon last weekend and will be bidding to secure their third win of the campaign.

SATURDAY, MAY 21
Airtricity League Premier Division
Sligo Rovers v Galway United, The Showgrounds. Referee: Rob Rogers.

SLIGO ROVERS will be hoping Connacht derby success at home to Galway United on Saturday will help maintain their pursuit of leaders Shamrock Rovers.

Paul Cook’s side recorded back-to-back wins over Bray Wanderers and Drogheda United last week with Eoin Doyle grabbing five goals in the two matches to move into pole position in the top scorers list in the Premier Division with eight goals.

Galway have not won a league game since the fourth week of the campaign and have lost seven games in succession.

TEAM NEWS:

Sligo Rovers have a fully fit squad once again. Galway remain without Gary Curran (broken metatarsal) and Joseph Yoffe (ankle) while Shaun Maher is out with an injured nose. Alan Murphy and Steve Feeney will undergo fitness tests ahead of the game. Stephen Walsh is suspended.

QUOTES:

Sligo assistant boss Gerry Carr: "We can not afford to take results for granted because we have had two wins. We did not go over the top when we lost a couple of games and we won't do it now when we are doing better.

"It is of great credit to everyone at the club that we are up near the top of the table and we will try to continue that with a result against Galway. They've had a tough run but they always give us a hard game and we will be anticipating that on Saturday."

Galway United boss Sean Connor: "I'm really looking forward to it. It's a Derby game, with a big crowd and a great atmosphere. The Showgrounds pitch is in great condition."

"This game represents another big challenge for a lot of my young players, but these are the games you want to be involved in. As a manager, it's always nice to return to Sligo."

Airtricity League First Division

Athlone Town v Waterford United, Athlone Town Stadium (7.30pm). Referee: Keith Callinan.
After two successive victories the Blues suffered a disappointing 1-0 loss in Limerick last week while Mike Kerley’s young Athlone side will bid to bounce back from a 3-0 defeat by Monaghan United.

Trainee
19/05/2011, 10:05 PM
lads i would see loads of goals this weekend Rovers, Derry, and Sligo could easily score 12+ goals between them.

What is the record number of goals scored in prem league in one weekend?

20/05/2011, 10:02 AM
lads i would see loads of goals this weekend Rovers, Derry, and Sligo could easily score 12+ goals between them.

What is the record number of goals scored in prem league in one weekend?

Well that's cursed that then. Record numer of nil alls anyone?

gufc2000
20/05/2011, 1:51 PM
Top notch preview of the Mervue-Salthill game there

Conroy
20/05/2011, 6:51 PM
DUNDALK: Cherrie, Madden, Bennett, Hawkins, Hector, Kearns, Quigley, Gaynor, N Murphy, Bolger, Griffin.

SUBS: P Murphy, Guthrie, Ward, Breen, Kerr, Duffy.

UCD: Barron, Harding, Nangle, O'Connor, Leahy, Corry, Meenan, O'Conor, Belhout, Marshall, Russell.

SUBS: Boyle, Ledwith, Kavanagh, Benson, McGinley, Fallon, Doyle.

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 7:06 PM
Town missing 4 defenders for tonight.

Team vs Shels: Hunt, Brady, Cronin, Collins, Hope, Gillespie, Morley, Salmon, Hyland, Skelly, Cowan

20/05/2011, 7:16 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

20/05/2011, 7:21 PM
McEleney for City on '29.

gufc2000
20/05/2011, 7:31 PM
Mervue and Salthill remain scoreless after Jason Molloy missed a penalty

20/05/2011, 7:56 PM
bloody hell, what a horrible night of soccerball.

DaveyCakes
20/05/2011, 8:00 PM
We need someone from Sky to tell us how tense and dramatic it all is. Nerves LITERALLY shredded at every ground.

20/05/2011, 8:04 PM
Wexford score the second goal of the night...not their second of the night, the second goal of the night.

Finally.

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:04 PM
Well that's cursed that then. Record numer of nil alls anyone?

Put any money on??!!!!

20/05/2011, 8:14 PM
Rivers one up.

Derry 1-1 Bray

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:19 PM
Now we're talking....goals finally flowing!!

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:20 PM
Wexford 1-1 Cork
Bohs 0-1 Pats
UCD 0-1 Dundalk

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:21 PM
Shams 3-0 Drogs

20/05/2011, 8:21 PM
3-0 Rovers.

bullit
20/05/2011, 8:23 PM
Young Mark Griffin for Dundalk,well done lad .

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:34 PM
Shels 1-0 Longford Town

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:36 PM
Youths 1-2 Cork City

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 8:39 PM
UCD 0-2 Dundalk

20/05/2011, 8:47 PM
We need someone from Sky to tell us how tense and dramatic it all is. Nerves LITERALLY shredded at every ground.
They'll be dancing in the streets of St. Patrick's Athletic tonight!

Conroy
20/05/2011, 8:52 PM
Youth player Marc Griffin bagged 2 goals on his first start for Dundalk tonight.

20/05/2011, 9:18 PM
Should have beat shels.

CSFShels
20/05/2011, 9:56 PM
Should have beat shels.
Easily could have beat us, should is a bit strong a word there. You weren't exactly dominant but Cowan was excellent and caused us nightmares all night. We're definitely a bit fortunate in victory alright.

born2bwild
20/05/2011, 10:00 PM
Easily could have beat us, should is a bit strong a word there. You weren't exactly dominant but Cowan was excellent and caused us nightmares all night. We're definitely a bit fortunate in victory alright.
I thought Cowan was much better in the first match in Longford. His control isn't great. I thought the two Centre halfs put manners on him for most of it. Don't know, Longford didn't offer that much: a draw would've been pushing it.

PartySaint
20/05/2011, 11:15 PM
Terrible game in Dalymount tonight but once again Daryl Kavanagh shows his class and wins the game for us, Not often we win in Dalymount

Bohs stewards being a bit pathetic before the game and not letting one of our fans in with a drum, Come on guys you need the money shouldn't be turning anyone away

20/05/2011, 11:56 PM
Nerves LITERALLY shredded at every ground.

Certainly not in Tallaght anyway...I think Drogheda can be counted out of the European spots after that result.

Could've been 6, 7, 8-0 in the end even allowing for the slow and non-eventful 45 minutes.

21/05/2011, 9:28 AM
Oh sweet fanny addams, 7 away trips this season and all defeats, only 1 goal scored. 3 points from 11 league games. Looonnnnggggg season. :(

21/05/2011, 9:35 AM
Oh sweet fanny addams, 7 away trips this season and all defeats, only 1 goal scored. 3 points from 11 league games. Looonnnnggggg season. :(

and in fairness ye weren't bad in a lot of positions. I wouldn't think there is any chance ye will finish even in the bottom 3 not to mind last.

PartySaint
21/05/2011, 10:09 AM
Pete Mahon's interview, Kavanagh's goal and Bohs peno shout from last night
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4KtK1GhJCQ&feature=player_embedded#at=82

harleyleeds
21/05/2011, 10:45 AM
Terrible game in Dalymount tonight but once again Daryl Kavanagh shows his class and wins the game for us, Not often we win in Dalymount

Bohs stewards being a bit pathetic before the game and not letting one of our fans in with a drum, Come on guys you need the money shouldn't be turning anyone away

If he had hit someone with it then it woold be "Bohs stewards stupid enough to let someone in with drum"

PartySaint
21/05/2011, 10:56 AM
If he had hit someone with it then it woold be "Bohs stewards stupid enough to let someone in with drum"

Who hits someone with a drum??

L.T.F.C.
21/05/2011, 11:30 AM
We played well, deserved a point at least. Missing three of our starting back four was hard but Hope was immense! Who made that tackle on Cowan in injury time? Should have been red.

bluewhitearmy
21/05/2011, 11:35 AM

Took a great save from Barry Ryan when McHugh was through on goal to make sure we got all 3 points.

We have gotten better this year at grinding out the results at home dont think we would have won last 2 games last year. Shane Tracys delivery this year has been excellent at times.

John Frost is class.

Delighted to see Kav doing well for Pats too.

eelmonster
21/05/2011, 11:49 AM

That's quite incredible to see Pat's and Bohs wearing their red shirts considering the lengths some referees (in particular, Anthony Buttimer) go to in this league to avoid a clash of colours. It's common sense, of course, and it should prevail when we play Pat's (neither Arsenal nor Spurs have to wear their away shirts in the North London derby), Rovers (it's only in the last 5/6 years or so that a change has been called for by jobsworth officials), Derry, Sligo and Bray.

hoopy
21/05/2011, 11:56 AM
Have to say, and it probably won't be any consolation to Drogheda fans, but although they were 3 down, although they were in danger of being totally hammered, and although they would know themselves that most players they play against every week are better than them, fair play to Drogheda players for giving a **** and trying their best until the final whistle last night. A lot of better players and better teams have/will drop the heads and go missing, fake injuries to go off etc, but they didn't and it says a lot for their honesty.

Rasputin
21/05/2011, 2:34 PM
Ok, we get it, your a plant.

21/05/2011, 2:40 PM
Who hits someone with a drum??

http://static.nme.com/images/magazine/monotonix_DN_27.jpg

i think it was their overall appearance PS.

Fair play to Pats. I thought with 20 left that we would nick it but it turned out it was you guys who grabbed the winner. One of those games i suppose. Good crowd from both sides too which is good. I miss the Bohs - Pats derbies, not for the quality of course!

WindmillWarrior
21/05/2011, 3:43 PM
Certainly not in Tallaght anyway...I think Drogheda can be counted out of the European spots after that result.

Could've been 6, 7, 8-0 in the end even allowing for the slow and non-eventful 45 minutes.

What was a non-event of a first half for you was a f*cking great performance for us! With a better final ball on a couple of occasions we might have even taken the lead :shock:
What we didn't need was to concede an early 2nd half goal, and of course thats exactly what we got. As you say it could have been anything after that. Our goal keeper and our centre half Victor are particularly bad.

gufc2000
21/05/2011, 4:16 PM
Galway Utd Team News for tonight:

Injured: Shaun Maher, Joe Yoffe, Gary Curran
Suspended: Stephen Walsh

Alan Murphy and Steve Feeney are doubtful, and are to undergo fitness tests before the match. Not expecting to get anything out of the game, but we need a positive performance before the Drogheda match in Terryland next Thursday.

21/05/2011, 7:04 PM
1 nil Rovers Doyler with his 8th in 4 games now two up Russell . Galway are dire

gufc2000
21/05/2011, 8:34 PM
Full-Times:

Sligo 3-0 Galway

Athlone 0-3 Waterford

sligo23
21/05/2011, 9:20 PM
Easy for us tonight. Great to see Doyler hitting form.

legendz
21/05/2011, 10:16 PM
Season 2011
21 May 2011 Sligo Rovers 3 - 0 Galway United The Showgrounds
20 May 2011 Shamrock Rovers 3 - 0 Drogheda United Tallaght Stadium
20 May 2011 UCD 0 - 2 Dundalk UCD Bowl
20 May 2011 Derry City 1 - 1 Bray Wanderers The Brandywell
20 May 2011 Bohemians 0 - 1 St Patrick's Athletic Dalymount Park

Good win for Shamrock. It's a bit boring they'll have to play the Drog's twice more but sure that's the system the LoI have in use. Dundalk are coming into a bit of form in the league. They a were a bit low down the table there for a while. A draw was a good result for Bray away to Derry. Bray seem to have carried over their fine form from the end of last season. While they are unlikely to finish in the top half, it seems likely they'll be 7th with 3 clubs below them.
Boh's have slipped a bit after a good start. It was always going to be a tough season for them. Currently 6th it might be where they'll finish this season but they can have ambitions for the top half. Good result for Sligo as well. It was an expected win in fairness and not much of a derby.
I don't see any reason why the top 3 can't keep their positions for the season. I can't see St. Pat's finishing in the top 3 but would not discount it. I'd expect a bit more from Dundalk. If they can push on a bit, they can look to mount some challenge.

legendz
21/05/2011, 10:21 PM
Season 2011
21 May 2011 Athlone Town 0 - 3 Waterford United Athlone Town Stadium
20 May 2011 Wexford Youths 1 - 2 Cork City Ferrycarrig Park
20 May 2011 Shelbourne 1 - 0 Longford Town Tolka Park
20 May 2011 Mervue United 0 - 0 Salthill Devon Fahy Field
20 May 2011 Limerick 1 - 0 Finn Harps Jackman Park

Good win for Waterford away to Athlone. Last season I'd have expected the win but after their indifferent start, I'd have thought it'd have been a draw. I wasn't sure on Cork away form either but fair play, they've picked up a win away from home and keep up the pressure on Shel's. Shel's have been good at grinding out the wins. It's early days yet but the signs are promising for them. The Galway derby was not a basement battle for one. 7th and 10th remained 7th and 10th after a scoreless draw. Limerick picked up a good 1-0 win at home to Harps. What is happening to the Harps. 0 wins in 11 games is shocking. Where is it all going wrong?

BohsFans
22/05/2011, 1:00 AM

and Fenlon's reaction (http://youtu.be/G_XbEdurz-k)

Rasputin
22/05/2011, 10:00 AM
The absolute state of Galway, easily as bad as Drogheda.

harleyleeds
22/05/2011, 10:43 AM
Ok, we get it, your a plant.

do you mean plank?