View Full Version : Connaught Gold Cup 2011

Back n the game
16/05/2011, 10:10 AM
Some interesting Results from the 1st Round, any match reports ???

Straide & Foxford Utd. ‘B’ 2 v 3 Mulranny Utd
Newport Town 0 v 1 Ballyhaunis Town
Glenhest Rovers 7 v 1Bangor Hibs. ‘B’
Fahy Rovers 'B' 2 v 0 Clew Bay Utd. ‘B’
Crossmolina ‘B’ 2 v 3 Conn Rangers ‘B’
Westport Utd. ‘C’ 3 v 4 Ballyheane ‘B’
Moy Villa 1 v 6 Swinford
Castlebar Celtic ‘B’ 2 v 3 Kiltimagh/Knock Utd
Ballinrobe Town 0 v 2 Claremorris
Manulla 6 v 0 Hollister
Killala 4 v 5 aet Charlestown Athletic
Urlaur Utd 1 v 3 Ballina Town
Fahy Rovers 3 v 1 Ballyvary Blue Bombers
Castlebar Celtic 2 v 1 Snugboro Utd
Achill Rovers 6 v 0 Moy Villa ‘B’
Iorras Aontaithe 6 v 1 Westport Utd. ‘B’
Manulla ‘B’ 5 v 4 Ballina Utd
Ballyglass 1 v 2 Partry Athletic
Claremorris ‘B’ 2 v 3 aet Kilmore
Conn Rangers 1 v 4 Straide & Foxford Utd
Crossmolina 3 v 1 Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’
Bangor Hibs 8 v 2 Swinford ‘B’
Westport Utd 5 v 1 Cross Celtic
Ballyheane 1 v 1 Clew Bay Utd.
won 7-6 on penalties

achillrover
16/05/2011, 12:42 PM
http://www.facebook.com/notes/achill-rovers/devastating-davitt-destroys-moy-hoy/115364885214954

theres your match report!

Round Tower
16/05/2011, 12:43 PM
Killala 4 - 5 Chsrlestown - AET

Very disapointing result. We were 2 goals up after 5 minutes, mid way in the first half they had a player sent off for 2 yellows,scored another and they pulled a goal back before h.t. They scored 3 goals in the secound half to go 4-3 up, they had a secound player sent off in the last couple of minutes for a prfessional foul which we scored from the peanalty spot too send the game into e.t. they scored the winner in the secound period. They deserved too win showed more hunger and determination, alot of injuries and picked another during the game. Have to pick ourselves for league game on Saturday night at against Ballyheane.

CCFC1924
16/05/2011, 3:42 PM
Isn't there a shield aswell this year?

the wise one
17/05/2011, 11:24 AM
any word on when the draws are being made

monkeydancer
17/05/2011, 12:25 PM
http://www.facebook.com/notes/achill-rovers/devastating-davitt-destroys-moy-hoy/115364885214954

theres your match report!

ye achill boys have nothing for doin. ;)

Seasider
17/05/2011, 6:51 PM
I don't think even J R R Tolkien had and imagination that was that detached from reality.

Thunderblaster
21/05/2011, 11:10 AM
Killala 4 - 5 Chsrlestown - AET

Very disapointing result. We were 2 goals up after 5 minutes, mid way in the first half they had a player sent off for 2 yellows,scored another and they pulled a goal back before h.t. They scored 3 goals in the secound half to go 4-3 up, they had a secound player sent off in the last couple of minutes for a prfessional foul which we scored from the peanalty spot too send the game into e.t. they scored the winner in the secound period. They deserved too win showed more hunger and determination, alot of injuries and picked another during the game. Have to pick ourselves for league game on Saturday night at against Ballyheane.

Entertaining game of football with a touch of Roy of the Rovers thrown in.

Explicit
22/05/2011, 5:43 PM
Whens the draw for the 2nd Round?

The Don
09/06/2011, 11:44 AM
Has the draw been made yet!

11/06/2011, 11:10 AM
Draw was made last night for Con Gold Cup (R2) and Con Gold Shield (R1).
http://a.snugboro.com/congold

conngunner
11/06/2011, 1:48 PM
why are all the teams not playing in either the cup or shield in this round, are there bye's

swinfordfc
11/06/2011, 2:07 PM
why are all the teams not playing in either the cup or shield in this round, are there bye's

Smart boy ...... yes they have bye's ... in order to have last 16 in each event.

11/06/2011, 4:37 PM
Connacht Gold Shield:
Byes - Straide & Foxford Utd B, Conn Rangers, Clew Bay Utd B, Castlebar Celtic B, Bangor Hibs B, Westport Utd C, Crossmoliina B, Moy Villa, Cross Celtic.
(All games on Saturday June 18th at 7pm)

Connacht Gold Cup
Byes - Achill Rovers, Fahy Rovers, Partry Athletic, Kiltimagh/Knock Utd, Straide & Foxford UTd, Manulla, Clew Bay Utd, Ballyheane B.
(All games on Sunday June 19th at 2.30pm)

Sheep Farmer
12/06/2011, 12:52 PM
As good a form Charlestown are in at the moment thay will have their work cut out for them against Claremorris in round 2, who are looking very strong this season in the league.. and hats off to them for that..

Back n the game
19/06/2011, 3:43 PM
As good a form Charlestown are in at the moment thay will have their work cut out for them against Claremorris in round 2, who are looking very strong this season in the league.. and hats off to them for that..
Ctown 2 - 0 Cmorris
SL side well beaten. To an outsider yo would be forgiven if you picked the home side as the team in the top flight. Cmorris were not allowed to play and got what they deserved, they looked like a side that just expected to turn up and win. No one will want the D1 side in the next round

pavillion.road
19/06/2011, 4:37 PM
Castlebar Celtic 8 - 1 Kilmore

Gavs Up
19/06/2011, 5:46 PM
Great win for Charlestown, fully deserved... Well done boys!

Back n the game
20/06/2011, 9:25 AM
Shield

Ballinrobe Town 4 v 1 Ballyglass
Swinford ‘B ’3 v 2 Killala
Claremorris ‘B ’4 v 3 Moy Villa ‘B’
Hollister 1 v 2 Snugboro Utd
Iorras Aontaithe ‘ 2 v 0 Urlaur Utd
Ballyvary Blue Bombers 2 v 6 Westport Utd. ‘B’
Newport Town 0 v 10 Ballyheane

Byes: Straide& Foxford Utd. ‘B’, Conn Rangers, Clew Bay Utd. ‘B’, Castlebar Celtic ‘B’, Bangor Hibs ‘B’, Westport Utd. ‘C’,Crossmolina ‘B’, Moy Villa, Cross Celtic.

Cup

Iorras Aontaithe 4 v 0 Swinford
Manulla ‘B’ A v A Fahy Rovers ‘B’
Castlebar Celtic 8 v 1 Kilmore
Conn Rangers ‘B’ 2 v 2 Bangor Hibs
Conn Rangers Won 5-4 on penalties

Glenhest Rovers 0 v 3 Ballyhaunis Town
Ballina Town 2 v 0 Mulranny Utd
Westport Utd 7 v 1 Crossmolina
Charlestown Athletic 2 v 0 Claremorris

Byes: Achill Rovers, Fahy Rovers,Partry Athletic, Kiltimagh/Knock Utd., Straide & Foxford Utd.,Manulla, Clew Bay Utd., Ballyheane‘B’

Great results for Conn Rangers 'B' and Charlestown, any other match reports?

swinfordfc
20/06/2011, 5:00 PM
Shield

Ballinrobe Town 4 v 1 Ballyglass
Swinford ‘B ’3 v 2 Killala
Claremorris ‘B ’4 v 3 Moy Villa ‘B’
Hollister 1 v 2 Snugboro Utd
Iorras Aontaithe ‘ 2 v 0 Urlaur Utd
Ballyvary Blue Bombers 2 v 6 Westport Utd. ‘B’
Newport Town 0 v 10 Ballyheane

Byes: Straide& Foxford Utd. ‘B’, Conn Rangers, Clew Bay Utd. ‘B’, Castlebar Celtic ‘B’, Bangor Hibs ‘B’, Westport Utd. ‘C’,Crossmolina ‘B’, Moy Villa, Cross Celtic.

Cup

Iorras Aontaithe 4 v 0 Swinford
Manulla ‘B’ A v A Fahy Rovers ‘B’
Castlebar Celtic 8 v 1 Kilmore
Conn Rangers ‘B’ 2 v 2 Bangor Hibs
Conn Rangers Won 5-4 on penalties

Glenhest Rovers 0 v 3 Ballyhaunis Town
Ballina Town 2 v 0 Mulranny Utd
Westport Utd 7 v 1 Crossmolina
Charlestown Athletic 2 v 0 Claremorris

Byes: Achill Rovers, Fahy Rovers,Partry Athletic, Kiltimagh/Knock Utd., Straide & Foxford Utd.,Manulla, Clew Bay Utd., Ballyheane‘B’

Great results for Conn Rangers 'B' and Charlestown, any other match reports?

What about Swinford B win over Killala?

Sheep Farmer
20/06/2011, 7:52 PM
Very true Swinford, great win for Swinford B, congrats to all.. Did you see the match or any 1 got a report for this, could i say "shock" result

Explicit
30/06/2011, 9:14 PM
Fahy B 1 Manulla B 0

swinfordfc
30/06/2011, 10:24 PM
Fahy B 1 Manulla B 0

Great win for Fahy B ..... fair play

01/07/2011, 6:11 PM
http://snugboro.com/competitionFixtures/23959/con_gold_cup
10/7/11
Ballina Town vs Kiltimagh/Knock United 14:30 TBC Belleek Park
Ballyhaunis Town vs Achill Rovers 14:30 TBC Ballyhaunis Town
Castlebar Celtic vs Conn Rangers B 14:30 TBC Celtic Park
Charlestown Athletic vs Fahy Rovers 14:30 TBC Bellaghy Park Charlestown
Fahy Rovers B vs Iorras Aontaithe 14:30 TBC Moneen
Partry Athletic vs Clew Bay United 14:30 TBC Ballinern Partry
Straide & Foxford vs Manulla 14:30 TBC Green Road Foxford
Westport United vs Ballyheane B 14:30 TBC Sports Park

http://snugboro.com/competitionFixtures/24956/con_gold_shield
9/7/11
Ballyheane vs Snugboro United 19:00 TBC Pat Quigley Park
Castlebar Celtic B vs Ballinrobe Town 19:00 TBC Celtic Park
Claremorris B vs Westport United B 19:00 TBC Concannon Park
Crossmolina B vs Cross Celtic 19:00 TBC Abbeytown
Iorras Aontaithe B vs Straide & Foxford B 19:00 TBC Carnenash
Moy Villa vs Clew Bay United B 19:00 TBC Attymass Comm Grounds
Westport United C vs Swinford B 19:00 TBC Sports Park
14/7/11
Bangor Hibs B vs Conn Rangers 19:00 TBC Balybeg Park

Back n the game
10/07/2011, 9:57 AM
Ballyheane 0 v 2 Snugboro United aet

Castlebar Celtic B 1 v 7 Ballinrobe Town

Claremorris B 0 v 3 Westport United B

Crossmolina B 0 v 1 Cross Celtic

Iorras Aontaithe B 3 v 0 Straide & Foxford B

Moy Villa 4 v 1 Clew Bay United B

Westport United C 5 v 1 Swinford B

No major upsets here, all the winners as expected in my opinion.

Explicit
10/07/2011, 4:21 PM
Yard Dog,Thugs and a bent ref 4 Fahy 1

Fahy B 1 Erris 4

Explicit
10/07/2011, 5:05 PM
Straide & Foxford UTD 1-3 Manulla
Castlebar Celtic 11-1 Conn Rangers B
Partry Athletic 0-3 Clew Bay UTD
Ballina Town 9-0 Kiltimagh/Knock UTD
Westport UTD 1-0 Ballyheane B

swinfordfc
10/07/2011, 7:30 PM
Wow ... well done Ballyheane B .... give Westport a good work out

Back n the game
10/07/2011, 7:58 PM
Charlestown Athletic 4 v 1 Fahy Rovers aet

Brilliant win for the home side claming another higher division scalp, 0-0 at ht, but the home side totally dominated this affair and had a goal disallowed along with hitting the crossbar before firing in an excellent from their hatrick hero P.Mcdermott (5th on this season). Fahy scored from an uncleared ball in the box totally against the run of play to force extra time but they will admit that they were never allowed settle or get a foothold in the game at all. Charlestown should have finished this game in normal time but they got the chance to rack up a well deserved score line in what must be a humiliating defeat for the side top of the premier A. Good result heading into tonra cup final next week and now in the last 8 of the Mayo cup. Totally underated side playing in the wrong division and the ML are not aiding their cause by their determination to keep them there year after year.

Explicit
10/07/2011, 9:34 PM
ML are not aiding their cause by their determination to keep them there year after year.

Best off as low as possible for as long as possible. Kicked their way from start to finish. Ref thought he was god. Pulled back 2 when they we clear onside.

Bunch of yard dogs that belong in Div 1.

Back n the game
10/07/2011, 10:03 PM
Best off as low as possible for as long as possible. Kicked their way from start to finish. Ref thought he was god. Pulled back 2 when they we clear onside.

Shame ye dont teach respect in Fahy. 3 players booked b4 half time and Joe Keane even had to intetvene several times to tell yer players to shut up. Your reports are the exact same, everyone to blame but Fahy. Out played and hammered in Charlestown. Not one dirty tackle in the game only a side 2 divisions below ye taking ye to school. Ye should also teach the off side rule at one of yer training sessions...... and maybe a little respect for ref's too while yer holding class.......

Explicit
10/07/2011, 10:48 PM
Shame ye dont teach respect in Fahy. 3 players booked b4 half time and Joe Keane even had to intetvene several times to tell yer players to shut up. Your reports are the exact same, everyone to blame but Fahy. Out played and hammered in Charlestown. Not one dirty tackle in the game only a side 2 divisions below ye taking ye to school. Ye should also teach the off side rule at one of yer training sessions...... and maybe a little respect for ref's too while yer holding class.......

Booked 2 for dissent and 1 for fouls. Booked the fahy keeper for dissent.

Fahy no 11 was just outside the penalty area and the charlestown defender made no attempt to play the ball and brought him down. Was a disgrace.

How many yellow cards did charlestown get 1? if even that.

I'm not saying the Fahy didn't deserve to lose, made mistakes and were punished which is football, finishing wasn't there today either.

Took to school? Hammered? Modest much lad? Jesus Christ 1-1 at full time and 3 goals in 15 mins in extra time because fahy were chasing the game leaving gaps all over the place.

Back n the game
11/07/2011, 8:51 AM

Fahy no 11 was just outside the penalty area and the charlestown defender made no attempt to play the ball and brought him down. Was a disgrace.

I'm not saying the Fahy didn't deserve to lose, made mistakes and were punished which is football, finishing wasn't there today either.

Took to school? Hammered? Modest much lad? Jesus Christ 1-1 at full time and 3 goals in 15 mins in extra time because fahy were chasing the game leaving gaps all over the place.

This is far from the "Yard Dogs" in your original report. Teams that go behind every week have to chase games but this does'nt mean they ship 4 goals in doing so. Only 1 player booked from Charlestown for dissent (as per your own admission) is a far cry from the comment " Kicked their way from start to finish" ? if you are going to report on a game at least show respect to your opponent and try not to be a sore looser. Best team won by a mile and the fact that ye pulled 1 back to force extra time is something im sure ye wished ye hadn't now. 4-1 defeat is a hammering in anyone's book makes no difference when or how it happens,

CCFC
11/07/2011, 10:00 AM
Me-ow

Gavs Up
11/07/2011, 4:36 PM

This has to be one of the most pathetic posts ive seen on this forum. Shame ye are not as good at playing football as you are at disrespecting and insulting other clubs.

Build a bridge and get over it, otherwise shut your mouth, good lad!

Thunderblaster
11/07/2011, 9:33 PM
Fahy won't underestimate Charlestown like claremorris did. Hopefully it'll be a good scrap.

scrap2 Informal
n
a fight or argument
vb scraps, scrapping, scrapped
(intr) to quarrel or fight
[perhaps from scrape]

Yard Dog,Thugs and a bent ref 4 Fahy 1

Please refer to definition of scrap. Referee would have only got his normal payment.

Again, please refer to the definition of scrap. If they kicked their ways from start to finish, how come they only picked up one yellow card for dissent?

As for the kicking from start to finish comment, I remember some Westport United B v Fahy Rovers games and I commented on the style of football played by Fahy at the time and the Fahy boys took offence to what I posted back then. I have seen Charlestown play on four occasions this season and they are certainly no yard dogs, they are the best footballing side in the division. The remark on Charlestown should be kept as low as possible for as long as possible is an insult to all those who promote football in Charlestown and goes beyond the boundaries of sportsmanship and I'm sure that many would take exception to the bunch of yard dogs comment. I'm a bit miffed on the grammar concering the offside incident. As for calling the referee a God, I shall point out to you that Charlestown have not got any preferential treatment by referees. In the Killala game, they had two sent off.

Four bookings to one and one yellow was for a foul. Hardly resembles a violent game of football, does it?

If the referee didn't see what happened to No. 11, he's hardly going to give a freekick. From what I heard, Charlestown dominated the game and Fahy had very few opportunities. Of course mistakes cost goals.

Explicit
11/07/2011, 10:22 PM
Good points well made. I give up.

r.rover
12/07/2011, 10:45 AM
can i just say (speaking as someone who played the game) the views expressed above by explicit are not the views of our players in general, we went up to charlestown and got beat fair and squre, charlestown played some nice football and deserved their win, we all get beaten on days and id hate anyone to think were sore losers. were not. personally i thought some of the stuff the ref was at was absolutly crazy! e.g booking lads for calling for frees etc. if that deserves a booking then no mayo league match would ever finish because everybody would be sent off! however , regardless of how bad the ref was, well done to charlestown , lovely pitch and a good passin team, hope ye go on further in competition.

Gavs Up
12/07/2011, 3:52 PM
Would not read to much into explicits comments lads,was talking to fahy players in middle during the game and after and nearly everyone of them were gracious in defeat and in my opinion a sound bunch of lads. Their problem lied with the ref i think as he booked two for disputing an offside which admittedly was harsh but apart from that think he handled the game excellent and is one of the top refs in Mayo. As for saying the game was dirty that is baffeling a comment as i have ever heard on this forum. Best to take all thoes comments made with a pinch of salt...

GoodFootball
13/07/2011, 12:43 PM
Right enough said about last round.

When is the next round draw? :ball:

Back n the game
13/07/2011, 12:49 PM

Thought all the draws were pre done and each paring was given a number or letter and the subsequent winners were paired off based on the those details i.e winner of game A plays winner game D and so on.... or is there a draw for each round now.

achillrover
13/07/2011, 1:15 PM

Hold your horses buddy!
Ballyhaunis Town v Achill Rovers still to be played

Closing Time
13/07/2011, 1:20 PM
Draw for each round I think. Are you thinking of the Connacht cup draw?

Back n the game
13/07/2011, 3:39 PM
Draw for each round I think. Are you thinking of the Connacht cup draw?

Na. I remember a number of years in different locations and the complete draw for each round done on the 1st night..... In the AIB Castlebar 1 night and Chadwicks another if my memory serves me right.....I evrn think they cocked it up once too :-)

Sheep Farmer
15/07/2011, 6:39 PM
[QUOTE=achillrover;1508073]Hold your horses buddy!
Ballyhaunis Town v Achill Rovers still to be played[/QU

When is this due to be payed? Best of luck to ye and be careful ballyhaunis will be no push over..

Sheep Farmer
15/07/2011, 6:53 PM

Sorry for bringing this up again but just logged on and saw the above now.
Shocked really. I feel the better team won on the day. Yes it was no walk over, it was a though game but i think played in a good spirit. From reading some of the posts I think that you Explicit are one of these people who stand on the side line and comment on every negative aspect of a game ? and if you feel so hard done by why dont you put on a pair of boots and show us how its done !!!..

Sheep Farmer
30/07/2011, 7:44 PM
Achill; what happened v Ballyhaunis???

achillrover
02/08/2011, 11:58 AM
http://www.facebook.com/notes/achill-slobberers-r/bhaunis-town-3-1-a-rs/136823929735716

pavillion.road
02/08/2011, 1:08 PM
Draw for quarters made yet anyone know?

02/08/2011, 2:04 PM
Draw for quarters made yet anyone know?
This Friday (5/8) on Midwest.
http://www.midwestradio.ie/mwr/sport/3738-ballyhaunis-through-to-connacht-gold-cup-quarter-finals.html

Connacht Gold Cup Quarter Finalists:

Ballina Town
Ballyhaunis Town
Castlebar Celtic
Charlestown Athletic
Clew Bay Utd.
Iorras Aontaithe
Manulla
Westport Utd.

Connacht Gold Shield Quarter Finalists:

Ballinrobe Town
Conn Rangers
Cross Celtic
Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’
Moy Villa
Snugboro Utd.
Westport Utd. ‘C’
Westport Utd. ‘B’

The draws for the Quarter Finals will be held on the Midwest Radio Sports Talk Shop
on Friday 5th August with the fixtures scheduled for 13th/14th August.