View Full Version : Alex O'Hanlon

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/07/2015, 4:48 PM
He's a very slight looking lad. He'll surely need to bulk up a bit.

03/07/2015, 12:08 AM
No more slight than some of City's other midfielders. Bulking up is what most English clubs would have him do though.

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/07/2015, 12:00 AM
http://www.dehuisaanhuis.nl/sport/48979/cambuur-wint-nipt-bij-dtd-en-ziet-byrne-uitvallen/

Injured already.

samhaydenjr
04/07/2015, 2:05 AM
http://www.dehuisaanhuis.nl/sport/48979/cambuur-wint-nipt-bij-dtd-en-ziet-byrne-uitvallen/

Injured already.

OH COME ON!!!! I guess that shows just how foolish I was, speculating as to whether he would be ready for the next World Cup Qualifiers, without taking into account the inevitable injury that had to befall him, as a talented young Irish footballer. Seriously it's become like a variation on an old Bill Hicks joke:
Keith O'Neill...injured; Richard Sadlier...injured; Terry Dixon...injured; Steven Reid...injured; Joey O'Brien...injured; Darron Gibson...injured; Robbie Brady...injured; Glenn Whelan...64 caps.

Bill Hicks version here, if you don't know it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXezjbuzh14

04/07/2015, 6:25 AM
My Dutch is rusty - what's the story?

04/07/2015, 9:10 AM
My Dutch is rusty - what's the story?
from Google Translate: https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dehuisaanhuis.nl%2Fsport%2F4897 9%2Fcambuur-wint-nipt-bij-dtd-en-ziet-byrne-uitvallen%2F&edit-text=

Jelsum - Cambuur is the training campaign season 2015/2016 started very convincing. In the traditional opening game was won only 1-2.Jack Byrne, just come over (on loan) Manchester City, only took a few minutes. The midfielder soon had an injury to the side after he came in the second half in the squad. The injury to his left ankle seems to fall along according to initial reports.
The scoring process was as follows: 0-1 Narsingh (also resting), 0-2 The Zone, 1-2 Kingma (penalty).
Tomorrow Cambuur visiting Drachtster Boys. The start of the second exhibition game of the Leeuwarden eredivisionist was set at 18.00.

Cambuur's twitter account stated but he was taken to hospital to get checked out: https://twitter.com/SCCambuurLwd/status/617058682363322368
(translated from the original Dutch)

The injury of Jack Byrne seems after closer examination in the hospital. More later

and according to this guy on twitter, it's not serious: https://twitter.com/058_FJK/status/617078628837404673

Quick checkup to hospital seem to show no serious injuries

04/07/2015, 3:19 PM
He needs to bulk up his ankles.

04/07/2015, 11:39 PM
diagnosis confirmed by Byrne: https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/statuses/617397667656794112

Good news from the scan today no major damage to the ankle and should be back on the pitch very soon thanks all the fans for the messages

TheOneWhoKnocks
07/07/2015, 5:09 PM
Disaster for Byrne.

https://twitter.com/EmeraldExiles/status/618361294215872512

Out for a week.

07/07/2015, 8:01 PM
Disaster for Byrne.

you're joking, right?

07/07/2015, 10:42 PM
He's finished.

18/07/2015, 11:10 AM
O'Hanlon moved into central midfield for Liverpool U21s friendly with Waterford, which they won 6-0. Liverpool's manager called him the best passer in English U21 football, and he will stay there for the upcoming season.
Conor Masterson and Corey Whelan also played
More here: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2015/07/18/13685362/liverpool-starlet-ohanlon-has-premier-league-quality-says

TheOneWhoKnocks
18/07/2015, 1:47 PM
I think Sam Allardyce said that Keith Treacy was the most gifted young player he ever managed. Treacy's career is possibly over at 26. Conor Clifford was touted as Frank Lampard's successor and ended up in the Conference during the tail end of last season.

The margins seem so small with young Irish players.

Aaron Doran looked a great player 5 years ago but would probably struggle to get a contract in League One.

Hopefully one of O'Hanlon, Cleary, Byrne or Manning can end up a regular PL player. Even that would be a success, sadly.

liamoo11
19/07/2015, 2:48 PM
O'Hanlon moved into central midfield for Liverpool U21s friendly with Waterford, which they won 6-0. Liverpool's manager called him the best passer in English U21 football, and he will stay there for the upcoming season.
Conor Masterson and Corey Whelan also played
More here: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2015/07/18/13685362/liverpool-starlet-ohanlon-has-premier-league-quality-says

Really hope alex gets loan soon. rob brady was not going anywhere really at united and took early loan at derby which really got him up the pecking order. Didnt know jamie aherne had signed for the pool great stuff best of luck to him

Olé Olé
20/07/2015, 8:54 AM
Really hope alex gets loan soon. rob brady was not going anywhere really at united and took early loan at derby which really got him up the pecking order. Didnt know jamie aherne had signed for the pool great stuff best of luck to him

Reading those quotes though, it looks like his position is problematic at the moment. A loan move might not iron that out. I'd have thought he needs a season playing regularly in the middle of the park for Liverpool's under 21 side. Not sure if a lower league side would take the risk of putting him in there. Maybe if he got a foreign move like Jack Byrne?

That article also mentions Daniel Cleary is on the first team's pre-season tour. A promising sign for him for the upcoming season: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/cleary-gets-callup-for-liverpool-tour-31368574.html

liamoo11
04/10/2015, 10:37 PM
Rodgers getting gate hopefully might help o Hanlon he didn't seem to b anywhere near the first team under Rodgers

liamoo11
30/11/2015, 10:33 PM
Alex o hanlon played well tonight against a good utd side with fellani in it well worth a look for highlights online really impressive passer as always. Really hope he gets a loan in Jan to kick on. Just dont know if he has the physical attrbutes to play the high tempo game Kloop will want. But then richie towell turned himself into an athletic specimen at dundalk which he never was at celtic/hibernian so athletic prowess can be developed technical class like o hanlons is rare.

DeLorean
01/12/2015, 9:17 AM
Alex o hanlon played well tonight against a good utd side with fellani in it well worth a look for highlights online really impressive passer as always. Really hope he gets a loan in Jan to kick on. Just dont know if he has the physical attrbutes to play the high tempo game Kloop will want. But then richie towell turned himself into an athletic specimen at dundalk which he never was at celtic/hibernian so athletic prowess can be developed technical class like o hanlons is rare.

I had a look but couldn't find any. Any ideas?

Maybe we remove Jack Byrne from the title of this thread now that he has his own one? (and tidy up O'Hanlon's name)

01/12/2015, 9:32 AM
done and done

28/03/2016, 1:32 PM
Training with the Liverpool senior squad (well the players not on international duty) in Tenerife at the moment: http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/03/liverpool-fc-squad-train-in-tenerife/

samhaydenjr
29/03/2016, 1:04 AM
Training with the Liverpool senior squad (well the players not on international duty) in Tenerife at the moment: http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/03/liverpool-fc-squad-train-in-tenerife/

Caoimhin Kelleher also there, although I think with twenty players on international duty, the phrase "Training with the Liverpool senior squad" might be a bit strong. More like "Jurgen took those who were left behind on a nice trip to Spain". Although, I guess there's still some value in getting the opportunity to work with Klopp and figure out how to fit into his system. Of course it would be great if our Liverpool contingent - Cleary, O'Hanlon, Kelleher, Masterson and Whelan - could all make the grade over the next few years and provide a great base on which to build the squad

liamoo11
29/03/2016, 11:28 PM
Caoimhin Kelleher also there, although I think with twenty players on international duty, the phrase "Training with the Liverpool senior squad" might be a bit strong. More like "Jurgen took those who were left behind on a nice trip to Spain". Although, I guess there's still some value in getting the opportunity to work with Klopp and figure out how to fit into his system. Of course it would be great if our Liverpool contingent - Cleary, O'Hanlon, Kelleher, Masterson and Whelan - could all make the grade over the next few years and provide a great base on which to build the squad

Yeah its a good shout dont think its any indication that o hanlon is anywhere in jurgens plans. O Hanlon is not even first choice in the pools 21s. If you take the midfield 3 where he plays most of the time he is behind rossitor,chirevella,stewart, brannagan as well as teixeira and ojo who play in that more forward of the midfield 3. Then if you look at the 2 wide positions behind the main striker that he can maybe also play he is behind ibe,kent, wilson as well as ojo,teixeira who also play there. He has been lucky in the last few months in that rossitor and stewart have missed alot due to injury but even still he has found himself subbing up a good bit. Liverpool also have a 19 year old brazilian centre mid allan who spent the season out on loan and have bought a highly rated 19 year old centre mid Grujic for 5 million. To me that means that liverpools reserves have 6 players the same age as o hanlon and 2 0lder (stewart and tex) so 8 in total who are ahead of o hanlon for a midfield 3 position. Add the established senior liverpool midfielders to that and the likley senior recruits jurgen will bring in this summer for the champions league and it looks a daunting task for O Hanlon.

In saying that he always looks a smashing player to me and thanks to LFC tv I see alot of 21s football. His biggest issue seems to be a lack of athletisism and physical presence even though he is not small and his workrate maybe dosent seem good enough. But his technique, vision and passing range is far superior to anything else in the pool 21s centre mids. I wonder if his contract is up this summer or next either way he needs to get away and play games somewhere. Athleticism and workrate can always be improved and surely a lad with his talent can still have a good career for club and country.

23/04/2016, 11:40 AM
not sure what's going on with O'Hanlon at the moment.
A week ago, he was on trial at Sheffield United, and scored against Ipswich's U21s: http://www.sufc.co.uk/news/article/sheffield-united-u21s-ipswich-town-3066328.aspx
Yesterday, he was playing for Sheffield Wednesday's U21s, ironically enough against Sheffield United: http://www.swfc.co.uk/news/article/under-21s-take-derby-honours-3075295.aspx

Wangball
23/04/2016, 7:06 PM
not sure what's going on with O'Hanlon at the moment.
A week ago, he was on trial at Sheffield United, and scored against Ipswich's U21s: http://www.sufc.co.uk/news/article/sheffield-united-u21s-ipswich-town-3066328.aspx
Yesterday, he was playing for Sheffield Wednesday's U21s, ironically enough against Sheffield United: http://www.swfc.co.uk/news/article/under-21s-take-derby-honours-3075295.aspx

He's out of contract and has turned down Liverpool's offer. Have heard from a friend of a friend he's got upwards of 20 offers

liamoo11
23/04/2016, 9:38 PM
He's out of contract and has turned down Liverpool's offer. Have heard from a friend of a friend he's got upwards of 20 offers

Well fair play to him if he has turned down another year at liverpool was never going to get a chance there. Really hope he gets a good club and we can see him playing first team football in Augest.

26/04/2016, 9:55 AM
Little more on the above about him rejecting a new contract at Liverpool: https://thenextgenkopites.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/liverpool-u21-midfielder-alex-ohanlon-set-to-leave-at-the-end-of-the-season/

Turned out for Sheffield Wednesday U21s again yesterday, but not mentioned in the report: http://www.swfc.co.uk/news/article/u21s-owls-lose-out-in-season-finale-3080206.aspx

Lineup here: https://twitter.com/OfficialBWFC/status/724562434820825088
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cg4pru7WYAA6CKX.jpg

Olé Olé
12/05/2016, 8:27 PM
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11669/10278130/liverpools-alex-ohanlon-attracting-sheffield-wednesday-bristol-city-and-nottingham-forest-sky-sources

Sky Sources reckon Sheff Wednesday (where he's been on trial, it appears), Nottingham Forrest and Bristol City, as well as Oxford United, are interested in O'Hanlon. Hopefully he goes somewhere he'll be afforded game time fairly immediately.

ForzaHoop
10/06/2016, 4:47 PM
Alex O Hanlon and Daniel Cleary released by Liverpool today

Wangball
12/06/2016, 7:25 PM
Have heard that O'Hanlon is joining Bristol City.

CraftyToePoke
19/09/2016, 6:08 PM
Has finally surfaced on trial at Huddersfield.

http://www.examiner.co.uk/sport/football/news/huddersfield-town-give-trial-former-11907403

But as a LB according to this

20/09/2016, 9:04 AM
Little more on the above about him rejecting a new contract at Liverpool: https://thenextgenkopites.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/liverpool-u21-midfielder-alex-ohanlon-set-to-leave-at-the-end-of-the-season/

Turned out for Sheffield Wednesday U21s again yesterday, but not mentioned in the report: http://www.swfc.co.uk/news/article/u21s-owls-lose-out-in-season-finale-3080206.aspx

Lineup here: https://twitter.com/OfficialBWFC/status/724562434820825088
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cg4pru7WYAA6CKX.jpg

Although born in Sheffield, Connor O'Grady must have some green roots. I'll keep a watching brief.

liamoo11
25/09/2016, 8:24 PM
Played his second 21 game for Huddersfield.http://www.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-under-23s-queens-park-rangers-match-report-3328378.aspx?site=desktop. Again left full it seems. He never really played there for Liverpool under 18s and 21 s but he did obviously sign for Liverpool as a left back. Joe Murphy Danny Kane and Radha Ryan all involved for Huddersfield.

25/09/2016, 11:17 PM
Played his second 21 game for Huddersfield.http://www.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-under-23s-queens-park-rangers-match-report-3328378.aspx?site=desktop. Again left full it seems. He never really played there for Liverpool under 18s and 21 s but he did obviously sign for Liverpool as a left back. Joe Murphy Danny Kane and Radha Ryan all involved for Huddersfield.
how did you miss Tadhg Ryan on the bench??

10/10/2016, 12:32 PM
another appearance for the Huddersfield U23s: http://www.htafc.com/news/article/2016-17/under-23s-beaten-at-west-brom-3352946.aspx
Still no word on a contract

liamoo11
11/10/2016, 6:52 PM
http://mobile.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-under-23s-crystal-palace-match-report-3357807.aspx
anothet match for o Hanlon . Goal in the game for warde. Surely it would be bit mean of Huddersfield to not offer o Hanlon a contract after him playing all these games for them!

samhaydenjr
12/10/2016, 1:14 AM
http://mobile.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-under-23s-crystal-palace-match-report-3357807.aspx
anothet match for o Hanlon . Goal in the game for warde. Surely it would be bit mean of Huddersfield to not offer o Hanlon a contract after him playing all these games for them!

Well, that's the 21st century labour market for you - all unpaid internships with no guarantee of a paid position at the end of it

13/10/2016, 3:50 PM
Irony if there ever was http://liverpoolfc.wikia.com/wiki/Alex_O'Hanlon

"O'Hanlon is tipped to have a bright future in the game, as evidenced by the fierce competition for his signature from some of Europe's premier footballing sides. His proficiency on the left flank in both an attacking and defensive role has seen him frequently likened to Tottenham star Gareth Bale.

On 10 June 2016, O'Hanlon was released from the club after his contract expired".

liamoo11
17/10/2016, 6:08 PM
Came on as sub today http://mobile.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-sheffield-united-under-23s-match-report-3368525.aspx. Must be nearly due a testimonial at this stage!

22/10/2016, 4:17 PM
another start in defence for the Huddersfield U23s, and an assist in their 3-0 win yesterday: http://www.htafc.com/news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-under-23s-match-report-barnsley-3376041.aspx

liamoo11
21/11/2016, 6:42 PM
http://mobile.htafc.com//news/article/2016-17/huddersfield-town-leeds-united-under-23s-match-report-terriers-3429285.aspx played again and got a bit of praise. Article says he is still on trial which seems crazy he must have played 10 games at this stage. Coughlon made his comeback after long injury . 4 of our lads on Huddersfield side. 2 on Leeds side

Nagger
09/01/2017, 12:33 PM
St Patrick's Athletic have signed Alex O'Hanlon

http://www.stpatsfc.com/latest_news.php

DeLorean
09/01/2017, 12:54 PM
I don't know if I'm more deflated by that transfer or the gap between the apostrophe and the H in the title of the thread.

09/01/2017, 12:55 PM
Thanks, he'd mentioned pre season training on his twitter yesterday - https://twitter.com/AlexOHanlon1/status/818198078478053377 - so I was wondering where he had signed

Wangball
09/01/2017, 12:58 PM
Heard he's signed for Pats

Edit:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/st-pats-add-former-liverpool-prospect-to-their-squad-ahead-of-2017-season-35353140.html

And there it is!

10/01/2017, 12:51 PM
just hope he doesn't go the same way as the last highly rated Liverpool academy player who moved back to Dublin to play in the League of Ireland

Olé Olé
10/01/2017, 1:06 PM
John Paul Kelly? Is he playing at the moment?

10/01/2017, 1:21 PM
yeah, Joxer. Last I heard of him, he was released by Drogheda.

10/01/2017, 5:10 PM
Didn't he end up in prison or something?

forza
10/01/2017, 5:20 PM
Didn't he end up in prison or something?

Do you mean Paul Dunphy?

10/01/2017, 5:42 PM
Do you mean Paul Dunphy?

No, there was definitely some highly promising lad with a double barreled name who ended up in prison or something despite early potential.

I could be totally wrong though, but I thought it was John-Paul Kelly.