View Full Version : FAI Cup Third Round: Longford Town vs Finn Harps!

L.T.F.C.
09/05/2011, 6:51 PM
Draw is made and we got the Harps!

09/05/2011, 6:57 PM
Hmm, tough enough game I'd expect them to pick up in form with the new management team but hopefully since we're at home we can get through.

09/05/2011, 6:59 PM
I think it's a great draw as in we should beat them at home but not the crowd puller we might have hoped for.

09/05/2011, 11:24 PM
its a bit like when we met waterford in flancare last season.. this cup game will bring back memories of our last cup meeting in 99/00 season when we drew 2-2 in flancare and lost 7-1 away..

10/05/2011, 8:38 AM
its a bit like when we met waterford in flancare last season.. this cup game will bring back memories of our last cup meeting in 99/00 season when we drew 2-2 in flancare and lost 7-1 away..
As we know, there's no rain or high winds during the summer seasons, so there's zero chance of the Finn Park being in as bad a condition as it was for that game (iirc the condition of the pitch - that's the excuse I remember anyway!)

10/05/2011, 4:32 PM
Decent draw, who cares about crowd draws, I just want to win a few rounds

10/05/2011, 4:38 PM
The club can always use all the money it can get so in that way a money spinning tie would always be welcome. But we'll save that for the next few rounds!

10/05/2011, 5:00 PM
The club can always use all the money it can get so in that way a money spinning tie would always be welcome. But we'll save that for the next few rounds!

further we get the more money we get, screw getting 1k at a game and loosing, cup runs always good for getting people interested again anyway

10/05/2011, 6:11 PM
Not necessarily, if you were at home to a smaller club and advanced then got UCD away in the next round you wouldn't make anything. But in general I agree that we want to go as far we can.

11/05/2011, 6:32 PM
I thought when Waterford came out of the hat oh no not again but thankfully we were spared a trip to the rsc..

19/05/2011, 9:04 PM
it was confirmed at the supporters club meeting tonight that harps game will be on friday night at eight pm the week after next week! the reason its a friday is because the macedonia ireland game is on the followin nite!

19/05/2011, 9:20 PM
ah you're sh!ttin me? Hoorbags and other much worse names now being said out loud :(

19/05/2011, 9:58 PM
it was sent out in a club txt message thats how I know!

20/05/2011, 12:24 PM
We actually had a pretty good crowd going had it been the Sat. There was 2 bus loads organised that I know of, both are struggling to fill up for the Fri now.

howsyourtouch
20/05/2011, 1:11 PM
would the sunday not have made for sense in this case, friday night games have never been any use for us crowd wise, too much of the crowd dont work in longford nd its hard for people to get to friday night game, its very easy to get to sunday games!

Town Legend
20/05/2011, 1:44 PM
I'm sure the GAAAAAAAA season will be getting going by that stage so Sunday game might actually be worse than a Friday night game.

21/05/2011, 4:46 PM
ye if Longford beat Laois they be playing Dubs in Croker so that wouldnt work.

howsyourtouch
22/05/2011, 1:13 AM
ok, sorry, my bad, dont be keeping an eye really on the way the gaa falls!

02/06/2011, 8:32 PM
Keith Gillespie the latest name to go onto the long term injury list, he's pulled a hamstring according to extratime.

So that's lee, dowling, Brady, Gillespie,walsh,Morley and Ozzie all with injuries, good news is Ozzie isn't that fat away from been ok and will have another fitness test before Harps game.

Dowling is close to coming back apparrently while I don't think Brady and Walsh will bs out for too long but still an awful patch of injuries to go through.

L.T.F.C.
03/06/2011, 5:06 AM
Dowling will play I'd say.

03/06/2011, 9:49 AM
Hope so he's a great player, not affraid to attack from full back but he can defend as well which is something atacking full backs don't always have.

03/06/2011, 9:28 PM
that was without a doubt the most frustrating 90 minutes of football i have ever seen, bad football, shocking officiating and wasted chances leave us with a needless trip to Donegal on Monday with an already wafer light squad, i can see us losing up there tbh.

footnote: to the poster that said straight away last season that the roaches were muck, i take my hat off to you sir you spotted that before all of us.

03/06/2011, 11:17 PM
Btw lads we are trying to put on a bus to Harps this Monday but we need names asap so if your interested text marty or liam.

03/06/2011, 11:49 PM
Very frustrating. We badly missed Brady, Morley and Gillespie for that bit of composure. Skelly looked like he was playing injured but Don was at his wasteful worst. Agree that the replay is decidedly unwelcome and we should have finished them tonight. What on earth was McHugh whining about to get himself sent off for by the way?

04/06/2011, 1:15 AM
that was without a doubt the most frustrating 90 minutes of football i have ever seen, bad football, shocking officiating and wasted chances leave us with a needless trip to Donegal on Monday with an already wafer light squad, i can see us losing up there tbh.

Exactly - sweet jesus what a terrible game:mad:
ref was atrocious for both teams really albeit gave an awful lot to Harps
(note to self - must back him in next game he officiates for high card count!)
Longford shud have put harps away easy - not enough pace and drive - the midfield were rubbish (esp number 6 who just stayed in the centre half for the whole game). Cousins hasnt a clue, what a joke, and what a shame as I like Longford:(

04/06/2011, 11:47 AM
Exactly - sweet jesus what a terrible game:mad:
ref was atrocious for both teams really albeit gave an awful lot to Harps
(note to self - must back him in next game he officiates for high card count!)
Longford shud have put harps away easy - not enough pace and drive - the midfield were rubbish (esp number 6 who just stayed in the centre half for the whole game). Cousins hasnt a clue, what a joke, and what a shame as I like Longford:(

Cant Blame Cousins he did everything he could especially as we couldnt even field a full bench.

04/06/2011, 12:16 PM
Cant Blame Cousins he did everything he could especially as we couldnt even field a full bench.

I dont think so, Longford had the quality on the pitch to beat them, with an extra man, against a team who barely crossed the half way line. Cousins shud have shook it up in the middle of the pitch and tell them to get a move on, put some pace into the game FFS. Is Cousins really such a good manager? (honest question?)

04/06/2011, 1:59 PM
We didn't have any real midfield options to change things though, due to injuries. Not sure there was much he could do to shake things up.

Tallanted
04/06/2011, 2:08 PM
Dissappointing perfromance, not the end of the world, descimated squad last night. Wouldnt be getting too worked up about it, it hasnt happened much this season

Cabs88
04/06/2011, 2:48 PM
Bore draw last night, very disappointing game. Harps with ten men looked more likely to score than us. We persisted with long ball after long ball which clearly wasnt working and our only option was to hit don. Walsh never got a kick as the game bypassed him and he either wasnt pushed to impose himself on the game or else instructed against it. A draw and a trip to ballyboffey is not what we wanted, and they will fancy their chances up there

L.T.F.C.
04/06/2011, 3:58 PM
footnote: to the poster that said straight away last season that the roaches were muck, i take my hat off to you sir you spotted that before all of us.

People are starting to see the light!

04/06/2011, 6:19 PM
I dont think so, Longford had the quality on the pitch to beat them, with an extra man, against a team who barely crossed the half way line. Cousins shud have shook it up in the middle of the pitch and tell them to get a move on, put some pace into the game FFS. Is Cousins really such a good manager? (honest question?)

in fairness to him he was giving out plenty of instructions last night,animated as always trying to encourage the team, he just had no options on the bench.

And while I never use to believe in the saying it's up to the players once they cross the line I think that was the case last night they were very poor and lack luster.

For a team that Is suppose to be a good footballing side every time we got into the final third it was a long ball to don or Ozzie, we are asking far too much of them at times.

But like Tallanted said not the end of the world and while I absoutely love the cup there's no doubting the upcoming Limerick game is far bigger.

howsyourtouch
05/06/2011, 4:34 PM
l.t.f.c all is forgiven, them two lads are absolute muck....salmon in the middle had to try and do it all himself, craig walsh cant stamp is authority onto a game, and for a centre mid player he needs to do that, it just passes him by...not a lot of options to change things up but my God, if your going to hit long balls atr least have your target man close to another player so he can knock it on for the other striker or wingers, too often the two lads up front were 40 yards away from each other, was never goin to work, just seems like they had an off night because don and aussie are far better than they showed! ref ruined the game aswell...

05/06/2011, 4:42 PM
I agree that Walsh was poor Friday night but I would like to point out he was clearly carrying a knock and he almost broke down completely during the game so I dont think we saw the real him the other night and I believe he can play a large role yet.

L.T.F.C.
05/06/2011, 11:58 PM
I really should be a scout. One time seeing a player is all I need!

06/06/2011, 8:25 AM
Many of ye making the trip up today?
I'll be up in the corner of the seats with the other hooligans if anyone wants to come up and start a full blown riot?
Unfortunately our friend that wrote the complaint about us (and sent it to the Gardai + FAI) won't be in attendance as he vowed never to come back, so, one of ye lot will bare the brunt of our abuse for the duration of the match.

Your's in violence, Sam.

p.s. hope we win...........

06/06/2011, 9:52 AM
Full bus travelling up and loads driving from Longford, Dublin and beyond so once again we will outplay you on the pitch and outsing you off it

CMON DE TOWN - Cup specialists

Keen2win
06/06/2011, 11:16 AM
I wanna go!!!! Stupid irrelevant thing happening on Wednesday!

06/06/2011, 2:21 PM
I will be headin up too to it. I never take things to heart so to this day I still cant place that town fan of ours that did the complaint!

06/06/2011, 2:51 PM
Meh, none of us really took it to heart, it's nice to be noticed sometimes :) p.s. that man's name was made up imo, I'd nearly bet on who it was too.

A repeat result of the last FAI Cup replay in Finn Park between the sides would be just the tonic anyways.

fitzpatrick10
07/06/2011, 12:41 AM
I really should be a scout. One time seeing a player is all I need!

not to sure about that, as a wise man once said..""simple is a football game"" ;)...

07/06/2011, 1:15 AM
Good to get through. Sounds like we were fairly lucky, so much the better! Won a few quid on various bets on the game too, mainly on it being very low scoring, happy days!

L.T.F.C.
07/06/2011, 4:56 AM
not to sure about that, as a wise man once said..""simple is a football game"" ;)...
You must be bored.

07/06/2011, 10:26 AM
Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelighted!

Tallanted
07/06/2011, 10:35 AM
A below par performance but showed great character to score against the run of play. The ref was the same lad that did Friday night and gave us absolutly nothing for 82 minutes and then out of the blue gives us a dodgy lookin peno. Absolutley delighted to win up there, fantastic result in a very tough place to go.
Startin XI: Rouse, Deans, Hope, Cronin, Hyland, Salmon, Walsh, Roche, Skelly, Cowan
Hunt on for Rouse, Oladele on for Skelly, Dan Reilly on for Cowan
Rouse and Skelly went off injured early on and Cowan went off with a few mins left after looking like he was struggling from a knock, hopefully they arent too serious.
On another note its always nice to score against a teams whos fans sarcastically cheer every miss placed pass or shot off target by the opposition, me i prefer to cheer when the town score. Again delighted with the win Come On De Town

07/06/2011, 12:27 PM
Ozzie came into the stand for a while and he said he's not too bad he could just feel it getting ready to go so he came off before he could do any damage, hopefully hel be ready for Saturday......big big game.