View Full Version : F.A.I. Cup 2011

Iorfa2MaccaJim
08/05/2011, 3:12 PM
Hi lads.

Tomorrow (Monday 9th May), the draw for the 3rd
round of this years F.A.I. Cup will be made live on
M.N.S tomorrow night.

Who do ye want ye're team to draw ?

On a side note, who are the non league teams taking place in the draw ?

born2bwild
08/05/2011, 4:03 PM
no comment!

PartySaint
08/05/2011, 4:04 PM
Non league team at home please

Doomofman
08/05/2011, 4:31 PM
Full list of teams in the draw

01. Athlone Town
02. Bohemians
03. Bray Wanderers
04. Cherry Orchard - Ballyfermot - Website (http://cherryorchardfc.ie/)
05. Cork City
06. Crumlin United - Website (http://www.crumlin-united.ie/)
07. Derry City
08. Drogheda United
09. Douglas Hall - Cork - Website (http://www.douglashallafc.com/)
10. Dundalk
11. Everton AFC - Cork - Website (http://www.evertonafc.league.ie/)
12. Finn Harps
13. Galway United
14. Greystones United - Website (http://www.gufc.ie/)
15. Limerick
16. Longford Town
17. Mervue United
18. Midleton - Cork - Website (http://www.midletonfc.com/)
19. Monaghan United
20. New Ross Celtic - Wexford - Website (http://www.newrossceltic.com/pages/home.jsp)
21. Pike Rovers - Limerick - Website (http://www.pikeroversfc.com/)
22. Sacred Heart - Tallaght - ???
23. St. Patrick’s Athletic
24. Salthill Devon
25. Shamrock Rovers
26. Shelbourne
27. Sheriff YC - Clontarf - ???
28. Sligo Rovers
29. U.C.D.
30. Waterford United
31. Wexford Youths
32. Youghal United - Cork - Website (http://www.youghalunited.com/)

bullit
08/05/2011, 4:37 PM
On a side note, who are the non league teams taking place in the draw ?

Teams & Numbers for the Draw
1. Athlone Town
2. Bohemians
3. Bray Wanderers
4. Cherry Orchard
5. Cork City
6. Crumlin United
7. Derry City
8. Drogheda United
9. Douglas Hall
10. Dundalk
11. Everton
12. Finn Harps
13. Galway United
14. Greystones
15. Limerick
16. Longford Town
17. Mervue United
18. Midleton
19. Monaghan United
20. New Ross Celtic
21. Pike Rovers
22. Sacred Heart
23. Saint Patrick’s Athletic
24. Salthill Devon
25. Shamrock Rovers
26. Shelbourne
27. Sheriff YC
28. Sligo Rovers
29. UCD
30. Waterford United
31. Wexford Youths

Just hope Dundalk can avoid a long haul away trip.

08/05/2011, 4:54 PM
Dundalk, Sligo or Greystones away please.

Failing that Pike would be a bit of craic.

08/05/2011, 5:08 PM
Greystones away would be about the most convenient game for me ever.

08/05/2011, 10:08 PM
12 v 7 please. Obvious reasons.

The Lilywhites
09/05/2011, 12:16 AM
Monaghan in Oriel.

09/05/2011, 2:33 AM

I think we've been embarassed enough this year already.

Hurt Locker
09/05/2011, 6:20 AM
Full list of teams in the draw

1. Athlone Town
2. Bohemians
3. Bray Wanderers
4. Cherry Orchard
5. Cork City
6. Crumlin United
7. Derry City
8. Drogheda United
9. Douglas Hall
10. Dundalk
11. Everton
12. Finn Harps
13. Galway United
14. Greystones
15. Limerick
16. Longford Town
17. Mervue United
18. Midleton
19. Monaghan United
20. New Ross Celtic
21. Pike Rovers
22. Sacred Heart
23. St. Patrick’s Athletic
24. Salthill Devon
25. Shamrock Rovers
26. Shelbourne
27. Sheriff YC
28. Sligo Rovers
29. U.C.D.
30. Waterford United
31. Wexford Youths
32. Youghal United

Sheriif street dublin? where is their pitch?

Rasputin
09/05/2011, 8:04 AM
Somewhere in Munster away.

Hurt Locker
09/05/2011, 8:14 AM
Pike Rovers something really fishy about these guys!

09/05/2011, 10:39 AM
Monaghan in Oriel.

Oh dear god no. In gortakeegan no problem to us but we never win in oriel.

Darkglasses
09/05/2011, 11:08 AM
Desperately want New Ross home or away. Failing that Sherriff YC away.

The Lep
09/05/2011, 11:50 AM
Who is the lowest ranked team left in ?

cornflakes
09/05/2011, 11:58 AM
New Ross and Pike both junior clubs, think the rest are intermediate

Hurt Locker
09/05/2011, 12:21 PM
New Ross and Pike both junior clubs, think the rest are intermediate

Whats the difference, junior clubs who dont own their pitch cant play intermediate?

poster
09/05/2011, 12:24 PM
Anything but Dublin away. Failing that anything but Tallaght unless we re-sign Paul McTiernan.

Doomofman
09/05/2011, 4:35 PM
Sheriif street dublin? where is their pitch?

Fairview Park is listed as their home. But there's no pitch there that can take spectators... It's literally just a park...

marinobohs
09/05/2011, 4:59 PM
Fairview Park is listed as their home. But there's no pitch there that can take spectators... It's literally just a park...

There are three (I think) football pitches in Fairview park. Two up on the top hill (backing onto train maintenance depot) and one below (a fourth pitch is too small for full sized pitch I think and used exclusively for schoolboy games). As stated above public park with no spectators facilities although schoolboy finals and junior matches etc have been played there with the pitch roped off. I imagine Sheriff would move the game if they got a decent draw. Tolka or Dalymount would probobly be the most likely venues on a geographical basis.

09/05/2011, 5:28 PM
Whats the difference, junior clubs who dont own their pitch cant play intermediate?

Don't get this, what do you mean?

Pike are a Junior Club that play in Limericks Premier Junior League and Douglas Hall are an intermediate team and play in an intermediate league. Pike own their own pitch they just haven't stepped up to Intermediate. Its goes Senior, Intermediate and then Junior. Is this what you meant?

Pike will be a tough team for most to be honest. Especially the Intermediate and poorer first division clubs. They have Barry, Harnett, Ryan, Tierney, Cleary, Colbert and I'm sure I'm missing a few more that have all played LOI and a few still could.

09/05/2011, 6:52 PM
Midleton v Cork City.... brilliant !! ;)

09/05/2011, 6:53 PM
Sickned with the draw but a good chance of progression without knowing anything about Sacred Heart.

cornflakes
09/05/2011, 6:56 PM
Fecking Derry, at least we're at home

09/05/2011, 6:57 PM
Ford FAI Cup 3rd Round Full Draw

Salthill Devon v Sheriff YC
Drogheda United v Mervue United
Waterford United v Newross Celtic
Cherry Orchard v UCD
Monaghan United v Everton
Wexford Youths v Derry City
Crumlin United v St. Patricks Athletic
Greystones v Shelbourne
Sacred Heart v Limerick
Sligo Rovers v Pike Rovers
Bohemians v Douglas
Dundalk v Galway United
Longford Town v Finn Harps
Middleton v Cork City
Shamrock Rovers v Athlone Town
Youghal United v Bray Wanderers

The third round games will take place on w/e 5th June.

09/05/2011, 6:59 PM
Balls to that.

horton
09/05/2011, 7:12 PM
Can we trade with Longford? would guarantee a better gate!

juan
09/05/2011, 7:22 PM
Squad list for Sacred Heart

John Dorian
Christopher Turk
Perry Cox
T. Janitor
Ted Buckland
Jordan Sullivan
Doug Murphy
Elliot Reid
C. Espinosa-Turk
Keith Dudemeister
Todd Quinlan
Phillip Wen
Drew Suffin
Cole Aaronson

Manager: Bob Kelso.
Assistant: Laverne Roberts.

bluewhitearmy
09/05/2011, 7:42 PM
Squad list for Sacred Heart

John Dorian
Christopher Turk
Perry Cox
T. Janitor
Ted Buckland
Jordan Sullivan
Doug Murphy
Elliot Reid
C. Espinosa-Turk
Keith Dudemeister
Todd Quinlan
Phillip Wen
Drew Suffin
Cole Aaronson

Manager: Bob Kelso.
Assistant: Laverne Roberts.

Excellent Sweeper

pauliek
09/05/2011, 7:47 PM
Good to see the Shams draw was rigged

09/05/2011, 7:51 PM
Squad list for Sacred Heart.

Hey Juan, where did you find that info? Do they have a website?

juan
09/05/2011, 7:55 PM
Em....Sacred Heart FC (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_characters_on_Scrubs[url)

:P

09/05/2011, 8:31 PM

The term 'facepalm' comes to mind.

09/05/2011, 8:41 PM
The term 'facepalm' comes to mind.

Ahh, that'll be me speed reading again, i hadn't actually looked at the players names to be honest :)

09/05/2011, 9:06 PM
Pike are a Junior Club that play in Limericks Premier Junior League and Douglas Hall are an intermediate team and play in an intermediate league.Pike are an Intermediate club in all but name, they knocked out the Intermediate cup winners in the last round

09/05/2011, 9:29 PM
Pike are an Intermediate club in all but name, they knocked out the Intermediate cup winners in the last round

Can't argue with that. As I said they have a lot of ex-LOI players in their team. One or Two Limerick could do with.

09/05/2011, 10:11 PM
Cant believe we got the Foffees. Feck sake.

sheao
09/05/2011, 10:40 PM
Paul Deasy who was with us last year plays for Midleton now.

PartySaint
09/05/2011, 11:16 PM
Happy with that, Should be a decent crowd and also will probably be played in Richmond

MagicMon
09/05/2011, 11:26 PM
Cant believe we got the Foffees. Feck sake.

Sh*t draw :( Just pretend its a summer friendly? Might fool some Liverpool fans into coming out to support the Mons.

I'd like to think that United could get through and then get a big game v Derry or Rovers but after the junior side nightmares in the past I just don't want it to affect the league campaign.

09/05/2011, 11:44 PM
Yeah thats what I am hoping, we can sell it as the real Everton, dumb feckers in Monaghan who wouldnt even know what MNS is might believe us!

10/05/2011, 12:07 AM
very happy with our draw.. the last time we met harps in the cup was in stephen kennys days in the promotion season of 99/00. we drew 2-2 with them in mullogher and lost 7-1 away! the 1st game was a cracker!

10/05/2011, 8:20 AM
Happy with that, Should be a decent crowd and also will probably be played in Richmond

Careful now, I remember thinking something similar in the not too distant past.

Can't believe I might have to head to deepest darkest Dublin Jr to see our game...

On another aside come on the Cherryer!

10/05/2011, 9:40 AM
I'd say Waterford are not too happy to have drawn Ross Celtic. That one could turn into a blood bath, it's a serious local derby and the junior boys will be out to make a name for themselves.

10/05/2011, 11:01 AM
Want to concentrate on the league?

10/05/2011, 4:53 PM
Want to concentrate on the league?

Financial reasons, football is only a secondary concern at times.