yiddo
14/06/2004, 8:08 PM
Limerick won 2-0 after extra time. Whyte and O'Brien

cookie
14/06/2004, 8:19 PM
brilliant! well done limerick!

Storysham
14/06/2004, 8:29 PM
What was the team, that was a terrible result.

14/06/2004, 8:51 PM
some info here:

EIRCOM LEAGUE CUP QUARTER-FINALS
Limerick FC 2-0 Cork City *
Whyte 110 Murphy s/o 86
O'Brien 116 * after extra time
Kerley s/o 86

apparantly danny murphy decked somebody.

was only a matter of time really

adamcarr
14/06/2004, 9:00 PM
some info here:

EIRCOM LEAGUE CUP QUARTER-FINALS
Limerick FC 2-0 Cork City *
Whyte 110 Murphy s/o 86
O'Brien 116 * after extra time
Kerley s/o 86

apparantly danny murphy decked somebody.

was only a matter of time really

Does this mean Danny is suspended for a league game! :(

14/06/2004, 9:26 PM
that was a terrible result.

No it's not.
We've more than enough on our plate at the moment with the league and Europe, the league cup is only a nuisance.

Apparantly there was some other assholle abusing Dolan at the game tonight. The lads did their best to shut him up though. We can do without these negative old has been pr!cks.

CorkCityFootie
14/06/2004, 9:52 PM
IMO the League Cup would have been a nice asset and would have given the lads a bit of confidence for other competitions. Ah well, all is not lost.

14/06/2004, 10:57 PM
brilliant! well done limerick!

Cookie ... if we made a point of reminding you of all the Ramblers results, i'll say you are the one that would flip out altogether. Act your age for fooks sake.

14/06/2004, 10:59 PM
No it's not.
We've more than enough on our plate at the moment with the league and Europe, the league cup is only a nuisance.

Have to agree .... its only the league cup.

Apparantly there was some other assholle abusing Dolan at the game tonight. The lads did their best to shut him up though. We can do without these negative old has been pr!cks.

Dolan did well against him i thought :) fair play Pat. The guy was a muppet ... end of.

14/06/2004, 11:27 PM
we are gonna have enough to do with the backlog of games already with bohs and drogs being re-arranged

could do without anymore meaningless midweek games for the league cup

14/06/2004, 11:38 PM
Yes, Its only the league cup, but a bit of a trophy would have been great to get our hands on something other than the MSC.

There is still the league and the FAI Cup.

Still find it hilarious though, that some fellas would say at the end of the season that had we won the League Cup that - "well its a step in the right direction", but now that we are out that "its only the league cup"

14/06/2004, 11:56 PM
Still find it hilarious though, that some fellas would say at the end of the season that had we won the League Cup that - "well its a step in the right direction", but now that we are out that "its only the league cup"

To be fair ... we are not the only ones that say that :D !!

Snatch
15/06/2004, 12:00 AM
Any word on how Colin P played?

I'd love to see him make a successful return to the City colours. He was a City legend in the making. By the way, is he just with limerick on loan or what?

one_bounce
15/06/2004, 8:50 AM
Any word on how Colin P played?

I'd <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=love&v=55">love</a> to see him make a successful return to the City colours. He was a City legend in the making. By the way, is he just with limerick on <a href="http://www.ntsearch.com/search.php?q=loan&v=55">loan</a> or what?

yeah.. 1 year loan deal

backodanet
15/06/2004, 9:04 AM
weather its GAA or Soccer or Rugby or anything yee Cork shower are always the same..... Arrogant - yee can give noone credit for beating yee
if yee had won all the comments would have been "it's a great cup to win , its good for the fringe players, it keeps the good run going bla bla bla

UP LIMERICK & UP THE KINGDOM

15/06/2004, 9:05 AM
No it's not.

eh you won't win the league and i feel a trophy winning season is beyond your reach in europe so the league cup or fai or your only hope......

dolan has to win something soon or its bye bye time !!!

NorthoftheLee
15/06/2004, 9:16 AM
eh you won't win the league and i feel a trophy winning season is beyond your reach in europe so the league cup or fai or your only hope......

dolan has to win something soon or its bye bye time !!!

:rolleyes: and I suppose you'll be making that decision will you :rolleyes:

15/06/2004, 9:21 AM
Would be good if we won as be handy for fringe players but definitely not worth playing a full strength team. Still fair dues to Limerick that they beat out almost B team.

15/06/2004, 9:24 AM
:rolleyes: and I suppose you'll be making that decision will you :rolleyes:

maybe i will, max is all powerful after all, but a league cup win would ease the pressure on him and give him a little more time to develop the squad.

15/06/2004, 9:45 AM
What was the team, that was a terrible result.

McNulty, O'Halloran(Fenn), Byrne, Murray, Murphy,Doyle, Sweeney(Behan), Mulconry, Kearney, O'Flynn, Nolan(Woods)

liamon
15/06/2004, 10:31 AM
That's not really a B eam. Fair few first team starters in there. Should have been good enough to win against Limerick. Fairpay to them, they've beaten us in the League Cup again.

Hope Limerick can put a run together now. The team need something like that in their current situation.

ccfcgirl
15/06/2004, 12:16 PM
i was at this game and i say city thought they had the game in the bag before they started ,and the end of the game city players looked a lot more tired than the limerick lads .woodys hurt himself but played on, when limerick scored a limerick man ran on the pitch and gave noel a smacker of a kiss in the cheek

15/06/2004, 1:10 PM
Fair play for comming up those of you who did and lads, it was not a "B" team ye had out no way. when ye went one down Behan, Fenn and Woods were rushed on. Up till then ye were going for penos. To explain the kiss. Noel walked out on us 2 weeks before season start last year which put us under huge pressure to survive. Big D promisedhed kiss noel if we scored and he did. Everyone laughed (except Noel) ref, linesmen, 4th offical, cork fans and of course us. But tere was a great atmos. The muppet who was abusing Dolan was a big fat dude with a tash (i think)...you all know him. he ahd a little side kick with him as well id say sponsored by the dept of social welfare. Eanna tried to shut him up and after the game (few pints taken) fat lad was shouting abuse at Eanna. Why we never heard such bad laungage in our lives up this side ;) but thankfully the ****** got lost. Under 21 Kearney wa ye're biggest threat all night but our under 19 Stephan O'Mahoney did a good job. Finnucane proved once again why he is the most stylish and cool central defenders in the country.

15/06/2004, 1:18 PM
Fair play to limerick on their win.

Would it have anything to do with a certain Swedish team visiting on Saturday that City were less than commited?

not being a sore loser but the two side are hardly comparable

15/06/2004, 1:39 PM
The only thing sweedish was the sweedish looking porn star ref Alan Kelly (from cork) with his blond higlights and fake tan lol ahhh the laughs! There was acertain maliaize about the cork team and im not looking at Dolan and O'Connor.....the same happened with the limerick hurling team when he was in charge of there fitness so dont be surprized if theres movement there at the end of season.

15/06/2004, 1:45 PM
Would be good if we won as be handy for fringe players but definitely not worth playing a full strength team. Still fair dues to Limerick that they beat out almost B team.
I presume you mean "our almost b team". Well, you can only play against what you are put up against, and this result proves one of two things: A:Ye are concentating on the inter-toto, coming up, in which case ye're rather stupid 'cos if its silverware ye want, then I think we all agree ye've got a better chance of the League Cup than the Inter-Toto or B:Ye displayed total ignorance and arrogance in underestimating what a Limerick team in any sport can do when sufficiently insulted.
Either way, ye got what ye deserved.
Best of luck in the Inter-Toto, and the rest of ye're league campaign.

Eric
15/06/2004, 2:45 PM
UP LIMERICK & UP THE KINGDOM

Bit of a cross breed are we???? :rolleyes:

liamon
15/06/2004, 4:58 PM
Finnucane proved once again why he is the most stylish and cool central defenders in the country.
When's he joining Cork City? ;)

15/06/2004, 5:06 PM
Still find it hilarious though, that some fellas would say at the end of the season that had we won the League Cup that - "well its a step in the right direction"

Well Pats won the LC last year and it was hardly a step in the right direction. In recent times the LC has become a competition for small clubs, look at the recent winners.... Pats and Limerick.
It's nothing more than a nuisance for big clubs like oursleves.
Fair play to Limerick all the same though.

a league cup win would ease the pressure on him

What pressure? :confused:

SSS
15/06/2004, 5:13 PM
Anyone whose response to last nights defeat is that we're better off without it is, IMO, nuts.
Any silverware is welcome ( I sure as hell enjoyed when we last won the League Cup) and with a squad of thirty players we are well placed to compete against teams like Limerick ( one league win this season) without stretching our top players at key times of the season. In addition, the game provided a chance for players like Doyle and Flynn to get a game under their belt before the Malmo game. Dolan's moaning about the game being scheduled 6 days before the euro tie is pure thick. What does he want, a fortnight off in Saipan!?!

When I heard the team being called out I felt we'd slaughter them - even without our first choice midfield and centrebacks. The players on the pitch were by no means inexperienced and should have destroyed Limerick.
FFS, their star player was a City player on loan!.

Our best player was Danny who, as always was well up for it.
Our worst player was Flynny who looked like he didn't give a s**t most of the time- it wasn't just lack of fitness or match practice. Shame on him, particularly as captain. I didn't go all the way to the game to watch him stroll around. He should have been subbed when it became apparent that he wasn't interested. The occasional bit of effort couldn't disguise this. Only hope is that by saving himself last night he'll do the business on Saturday.