View Full Version : LOI in Europe 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74

15/09/2011, 6:02 PM
Which came first? My Guess is the marriage!

Anyway hope you are better now :)

freewheel30
15/09/2011, 6:03 PM
What was the reason behind the 6 o'clock kick-off anyway?

15/09/2011, 6:04 PM
TV.

Im sure it hasn't helped matters.

bullit
Pat Dolan, Roddy Collins and Brian Kerr??

Gotta love TV3..

"The dream team" :) Pity Aidan Cooney & Paddy Mulligan did'nt show up !!

freewheel30
Ryan Thompson, Rene Higuita's heir?

Candystripe
15/09/2011, 6:05 PM
Wow.....good goal

Real ale Madrid
ach, fiddlesticks.

bullit
Great shot,keeper had no hope !!

15/09/2011, 6:06 PM
excellent.

15/09/2011, 6:07 PM
If Rovers get a goal they still have a chance, Kazan dont look great at the back.

writerbk1969
15/09/2011, 6:10 PM
Wonder do the FAI have any say in prices! 25 would seem steep but then again the extra few quid might cover the absentees.
Can imagine the barstoolers after 3 mins "Sure I told ya they were fookin useless"
Come on Rovers!

15/09/2011, 6:16 PM
Good night and good look

great quality to the goals.

Real ale Madrid
3-0 - these are a proper outfit.

Candystripe
Another nice goal.

Noting that Spurs have a lot of youngsters playing in Greece as well.

Candystripe
15/09/2011, 6:17 PM
Wow pen ;)

bullit
15/09/2011, 6:18 PM
Pen pen pen pen !!!

Candystripe
15/09/2011, 6:19 PM
crap :(

15/09/2011, 6:20 PM
poor penalty, should have waited till after the peno for substitution.

15/09/2011, 6:20 PM
Balls

Candystripe
15/09/2011, 6:21 PM
Think this could be 6 if Rubens try.

bullit
15/09/2011, 6:24 PM
Think that if rovers had any chance of a come back,it went with that pen miss :(

theworm2345
15/09/2011, 6:24 PM
What was the reason behind the 6 o'clock kick-off anyway?

TV.

Im sure it hasn't helped matters.
No, not TV, all matches are either 6 or 8:05 kickoffs.

athloneman
15/09/2011, 6:27 PM
jesus pat dolan is some condescending gobsh***!! he really loves his own voice and love talking rubbish!!! shocking commentator!!

15/09/2011, 6:32 PM
There it is.

15/09/2011, 6:38 PM
Poor from Turner. If he wasn't expecting it what was he doing in the six yard box?

15/09/2011, 6:39 PM
He was lost?

15/09/2011, 6:40 PM
Poor from Turner. If he wasn't expecting it what was he doing in the six yard box?

Trying to have a chat to Obafemi Martins?

15/09/2011, 6:41 PM
Trying to have a chat to Obafemi Martins?

Love it. :)

15/09/2011, 6:43 PM
It's Marteeeeeeeeeeeens.

15/09/2011, 6:49 PM
Dennehy's Cross is harmless.

It is in its f*** at 8 in the morning.

15/09/2011, 6:50 PM
Fair dues tonight. Never gave up.

Another proud night for the LOI.

15/09/2011, 6:56 PM

Not really - got hammered 3-0 in front of a sparse crowd of which quite a few were leaving on 86 minutes (according to Extratime).

One thing we can guarantee from the attendance tonight - the Spurs support will be a sizable one come that home game...

15/09/2011, 7:09 PM
Not really - got hammered 3-0 in front of a sparse crowd of which quite a few were leaving on 86 minutes (according to Extratime).

One thing we can guarantee from the attendance tonight - the Spurs support will be a sizable one come that home game...

Bull. The easiest thing for the team to do was drop the heads and it coulda been six. They didn't and made a fist of it.

legendz
15/09/2011, 7:19 PM
In fairness Rovers kept going until the end. A lot are on about the crowd. Look the supporters that turned up are what matter. Most of it will have been the core support that are backing Rovers all the way. They are the one who are important, not the numbers who did not come to the game.

It's great to see Rovers involved tonight. The players interviewed before the match mentioned how the qualifiers seemed like months ago. Usually once the group stages start Irish involvement is quickly forgotten. This time their is going to be coverage right until December. It's going to be tough with the games.

freewheel30
My TV3 stream froze at this point - anyone want to add a caption :D

Definite gulf in class but you'd fear for Rovers in this tournament unless they start taking chances. Their shocking in front of goal. For all the chat of Twigg, he's being shown up in this competition.

placid casual
15/09/2011, 7:20 PM
Not really - got hammered 3-0 in front of a sparse crowd of which quite a few were leaving on 86 minutes (...
Never mind. We'll try again in 2 weeks time.or maybe onr of the 4 other games afte that.

I pity you having to suffer the indignity of watching your biggest rivals test themselves against new opposition,while your own club can barely raisr a whimper against the fying of its light.
Now im off to find me travel bag for the trip to landaan town

freewheel30
15/09/2011, 7:22 PM
Extratime put a 7,000 estimate on the crowd, which is okay when you consider the kick-off time.

Kazan looked the real deal all right, Spurs will do well to finish ahead of them, especially when they look like they're not gonna be taking the competition very seriously.

bullit
15/09/2011, 7:24 PM

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=1786&stc=1&d=1316114145

O'Neill: "Would ya ever fcuk away off Roddy yee waster,now weeeeers that boddle o' Scotch i was promised" !!!

15/09/2011, 7:43 PM
O'Neill: Any chance ye have your flask Roddy, need a swig!

15/09/2011, 7:47 PM
Roddy: from one w@nker to another, lads, my tip is to cup the balls with the left and rub furiously with the right.

Candystripe
15/09/2011, 7:48 PM
http://http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=1786&stc=1&d=1316114145

Roddy "bla bla bla bla bla"

Kerr thinking "jeezus I hope Roddy gets a wif of this he he"

MON thinking " right I've been here 5 feckin minutes and Roddy hasn't shut the fk up and what is that smell"

MagicMon
15/09/2011, 7:54 PM

"So I put me hand up there and could feel the calf was pointing the wrong way- I tell ya it's amazing the things ya have to do as Monaghan manager"

dong
15/09/2011, 8:10 PM
Definite gulf in class but you'd fear for Rovers in this tournament unless they start taking chances. Their shocking in front of goal. For all the chat of Twigg, he's being shown up in this competition.

Bit unfair on Twigg if you don't mind me saying. Fair enough he has a poor record at European level but Shams have a lot less of the ball against the teams in this competition and I feel he's left a bit isolated a lot of the time. Won them a penalty tonight in fairness to him.
Twigg is a top quality LoI player but I don't believe anybody really thinks he could cut it at a much higher level. If he could he would be elsewhere by now.
Not having a go at him, he seems to be a Shamrock Rovers legend and rightly so in my opinion.

15/09/2011, 8:13 PM

Not much pride in 3-0 home defeats in fairness.

Nothing to be ashamed off either as they're far above the opposition that regularly beat Irish sides.

The achievement by Rovers to get here can't be understated, but no point in trying to claim tonight was a 'proud night for the league'

legendz
15/09/2011, 8:18 PM
The night in Belgrade was a proud night for the league. While disappointed with the defeat, it was a good night in terms of seeing an Irish club involved. Hopefully things will get better.

15/09/2011, 8:32 PM

Hi Réiteoir, you've not been around much lately. Good to see your return. Just in time to see Rovers in Europe. :)

15/09/2011, 8:46 PM
Not much pride in 3-0 home defeats in fairness.

Nothing to be ashamed off either as they're far above the opposition that regularly beat Irish sides.

The achievement by Rovers to get here can't be understated, but no point in trying to claim tonight was a 'proud night for the league'

I was trying to get the positivity quota up before the usual nay-sayers came on. They did do the league proud considering what they were up against.
They were beaten by 2 great goals. And one shocking one. Eep.

freewheel30
15/09/2011, 8:48 PM
http://http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=1786&stc=1&d=1316114145

Kerr thinking "jeezus I hope Roddy gets a wif of this he he"

They eat a lot of fish in the Faroes, which could make for a potent aroma . . .

15/09/2011, 8:57 PM
Never mind. We'll try again in 2 weeks time.or maybe onr of the 4 other games afte that.

I pity you having to suffer the indignity of watching your biggest rivals test themselves against new opposition,while your own club can barely raisr a whimper against the fying of its light.
Now im off to find me travel bag for the trip to landaan town

Played well, should have scored one, possibly two, but the early goal jinx struck us again. In both halves this time. Most teams are usually vulnerable late in the game, we seem to be most vulnerable at the start for some reason.

Interesting scanning the newswires since the game. Most foreign agencies are writing measured, balanced reports. The Irish media by contrast, are firmly sticking the boot in. :rolleyes: