View Full Version : Gagging Orders across the water

legendz
25/04/2011, 9:51 PM
The gagging order obtained across the water stopping Imogen Thomas telling all, can that stop Irish papers from printing the name of the player involved? Would there be implications for any Irish forum if the player is named?

25/04/2011, 10:07 PM
what does it rhyme with?

stann
26/04/2011, 6:17 AM
Don't know if there'd be a legal basis for a prosecution over here, but there's no need to test it on here in any case, as a google search will instantly tell you all you need to know.
Though in the footballer's case I must admit I was surprised (fella who told me about it was dropping massive hints in completely the wrong direction)!

26/04/2011, 8:15 AM
Was quite surprised to hear also, if it is him in question. A player I always admired, both on and off the field.

26/04/2011, 8:36 AM
Ah jaysus lads spill the beans, in an obvious but not so obvious way. Or do ye just want us to guess it?

26/04/2011, 8:57 AM
Ah jaysus lads spill the beans, in an obvious but not so obvious way. Or do ye just want us to guess it?

Try Google. I feel we're already on slightly dodgy ground discussing it here.

dcfc_1928
26/04/2011, 9:15 AM
http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23superinjunction

Eminence Grise
26/04/2011, 10:09 AM
A friend texted me t'other day that Imogen Thomas is an anagram of Monogamist Eh and Enigma Ho Most. Which, he reckons, describes both parties.

26/04/2011, 12:20 PM
Moved to Current Affairs. I don't see how a British gagging order can apply here, but I don't see why we should give oxygen to this kind of nonsense anyway.

26/04/2011, 1:17 PM
That twitter link is funny - having watched Long Way Down not surprised that Ewan McGregor did the dirty on his wife, she was a right pain on that show

26/04/2011, 2:48 PM
Andrew Marr (http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2011/apr/26/andrew-marr-superinjunction) outs himself.

26/04/2011, 3:53 PM

google will tell all - same nationality as the lovely Imogen.

26/04/2011, 8:44 PM
Was quite surprised to hear also, if it is him in question. A player I always admired, both on and off the field.

Wow. funny I had this conversation only last week about how he is a model professional and never got into any of that messing about. Funny that.

peadar1987
26/04/2011, 10:37 PM
Wow. funny I had this conversation only last week about how he is a model professional and never got into any of that messing about. Funny that.

I'd like to think that if I was a professional footballer, I'd be above all that sort of stuff as well, but I've never had the problem of an endless stream of beautiful women throwing themselves at me, so I'm not quite sure how I'd react.

27/04/2011, 2:30 AM
The gagging order obtained across the water stopping Imogen Thomas telling all, can that stop Irish papers from printing the name of the player involved? Would there be implications for any Irish forum if the player is named?
The gagging order wouldn't strictly apply but since most Irish papers are available north of the border, the newspaper would be assaulted by the paper's lawyers. It's a moot point though because no Irish paper would have the money to buy her story and without any proof/testimony would be subject to our own libel laws which are arguably more strict than the UK's draconian variety.

27/04/2011, 8:35 AM
There are some amusing stories of him and Lee Sharp getting into trouble as teenagers (picture a furious Alex Ferguson appearing on the doorstep of a house party to collect them), but I've heard nothing like that since all right.

27/04/2011, 10:42 AM
There are some amusing stories of him and Lee Sharp getting into trouble as teenagers (picture a furious Alex Ferguson appearing on the doorstep of a house party to collect them), but I've heard nothing like that since all right.
Can't say I'm that shocked, tbh. Not to say he was into larging it up like some players, but he would've been out and about. Never effected his football, so not sure how that makes him a non-model pro, perhaps more a non model husband.

On the gagging orders, I'm not sure really. It's not really the fault of the family, so why should they be exposed, but at the same time the fault lies with those with their pants down. Is there really a Public Interest angle in a footballer? Probably not. Is there one with a Politician - yes, there probably is and this is where gagging orders and privacy laws fall down.

27/04/2011, 11:13 AM
I keep waiting for some newspaper to turn around and say "you know what, she threw herself at a married man, the brazen hussy. She'll get hers in hell", or words to that effect. Not for one minute saying she's totally to blame, but she's not innocent either. The media has a case to answer here too, would this happen as often as it does if the end result was not a nice pay off from a paper for a kiss-and-tell, but say public condemnation?

Sidebar, a friend of mine asked that, if during coverage of a game featuring a player with a superinjunction, the crowd started chanting about the alleged incident with the player and the lady in question, would the broadcaster be in violation of said superinjunction?

27/04/2011, 2:04 PM
I keep waiting for some newspaper to turn around and say "you know what, she threw herself at a married man, the brazen hussy. She'll get hers in hell", or words to that effect. Not for one minute saying she's totally to blame, but she's not innocent either. The media has a case to answer here too, would this happen as often as it does if the end result was not a nice pay off from a paper for a kiss-and-tell, but say public condemnation?
The media will turn around and suggest you suck their profit margin. They pay for that stuff because the public buys it. If people didn't give a crap who some footballer was shagging, it would not be published, much less paid for. In short, humanity mostly gets the papers it deserves.

Eminence Grise
27/04/2011, 2:37 PM

I had exactly the same conversation with my wife last week too. Being old and cynical, that makes me believe all the more that it is our unnamed friend. Can you remember the source that inspired the conversation? I can't. Yet people are holding him in high esteem just now, and not just for football reasons - which is all the more odd given the good season he's having. What better way to deflect attention than a carefully controlled media leak about just how steady and sensible and family oriented the player is? Paddy Haverford is the Man U press officer - he's a very, very shrewd operator who used to work for Prince Charles, so he knows a thing or two about managing reputations.

bluemovie
27/04/2011, 3:33 PM
I'd like to think that if I was a professional footballer, I'd be above all that sort of stuff as well, but I've never had the problem of an endless stream of beautiful women throwing themselves at me, so I'm not quite sure how I'd react.

I remember a conversation with some friends a few years back where we were complaining about certain players' attitude. At first, we were very moralistic making out that they should all be Denis Irwin-type heads-down, hard-working gentlemen. Then we agreed that if we could, we'd sign a five year multi-million contract, live the highlife, ride every girlband member available then do a Winston Bogarde on it and refuse to move.

By the way, great goal last night.

28/04/2011, 2:15 AM
Well I didn't know Imogen Thomas was a singer, but apparently she's been doing gigs for months. :p

28/04/2011, 3:22 AM
I copied that from someone on twitter, dunno if this slightly modified version works better.
"I think Imogen Thomas may be planing on a new career as a singer, I overheard someone say she has been doing gigs for months."

Also found another version on twitter which is probably better:-

I didn't know Imogen Thomas was a singer? Apparenty she started doing gigs a few months ago.

28/04/2011, 12:18 PM
Harverson actually left United to work for Prince Charles I think. He's not there now anyway, their spokesman is Philip Townsend accompanied by some recently appointed PR firm whose name escapes me, John Tibbs & Associates perhaps.
Apparently the unnamed player has been putting it about a bit over the years and his wife isn't a saint either. A lot of footballers wives know the score when they get involved and are willing to let things slide now and again provided they're kept in the manner to which they're accustomed. See Mrs Rooney.

I had exactly the same conversation with my wife last week too. Being old and cynical, that makes me believe all the more that it is our unnamed friend. Can you remember the source that inspired the conversation? I can't. Yet people are holding him in high esteem just now, and not just for football reasons - which is all the more odd given the good season he's having. What better way to deflect attention than a carefully controlled media leak about just how steady and sensible and family oriented the player is? Paddy Haverford is the Man U press officer - he's a very, very shrewd operator who used to work for Prince Charles, so he knows a thing or two about managing reputations.

28/04/2011, 1:35 PM
Apparently the unnamed player has been putting it about a bit over the years
And it's made the papers in the past too (google the unnamed player and hollyoaks for an example). As I said earlier, not sure how it would make him a non model pro anyway, but I'm shocked at the level of shock - it was either the PR coup people are suggesting or posters who are simply too young to remember.

28/04/2011, 5:50 PM
The media will turn around and suggest you suck their profit margin. They pay for that stuff because the public buys it. If people didn't give a crap who some footballer was shagging, it would not be published, much less paid for. In short, humanity mostly gets the papers it deserves.

Dont agree with that - manufacturing consent and all that?

09/05/2011, 6:49 AM
http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1384757/Your-Secret-Life-So-mention-wife-Hugh---fact-drives-Volvo.html.

dcfc_1928
09/05/2011, 6:57 AM
"But then Hugh’s devotion to wife Lulu is so strong it is understood he is known to fellow thespians as the Ryan Giggs of the showbusiness world, after the famously family-orientated footballer..." :D

http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1384757/Your-Secret-Life-So-mention-wife-Hugh---fact-drives-Volvo.html.

Spudulika
09/05/2011, 4:51 PM
Put it this way, who cares? If I were to go all human development, then we're all a step down from apes (as in down from the trees) and the sole purpose of the male is to procreate with a willing, suitable (or just willing) female, have a child, stay until the child is 2 then head off to impregnate the next female. Now, in saying that we've been conditioned by church and law into trying to stick it out for longer than a few years with one partner. It's not the media's fault that this nonsense goes on, it's not the woman's or the man's fault, they're all just doing what is natural. The fault is that the public are so desperate for some kind of news because we've moved so far away from one another that crap like this actually becomes news. So we feed the machine which scans for scandal and packages it for our morning break.

peadar1987
09/05/2011, 5:59 PM
Well, the dads who stuck around to look after the kids they spawned, their kids had a better chance of surviving to pass on those more dependable genes, so it's not just a cut and dried case of dump your genetic material in the nearest female and move on!

Spudulika
09/05/2011, 9:25 PM
Peadar I agree with you, I just put forward the basic point, and I'm grateful my own Dad didn't behave like an ape. What I should really have focussed on how the public love to look on at "heroes" falling down and their grovelling apologies. It betrays a real lacking in society and I'd put the blame down to how we've outpaced evolution. I always remember a former Professor who, in a rather intoxicated state on a dig in Meath, said something to the effect that the pace of communication and societal development has outstripped our mental and emotional progress. 50 years ago (or modern day in certain parts of Ireland) Irish people relied on the radio and newspapers for news, people still could sit face to face and talk, plus most houses had a single radio or tv (if they were lucky). It was a slow development from days when we sat in caves or around campfires and saw who we were talking with.

Now it's sms, mobile phone, skype - we're talking to people yet thousands of miles apart, without physical contact or interaction. We're so starved for reality we watch crap like Big Brother and X Factor, suicide rates rise and the media controls our development. It's a circular argument but it comes back to - who cares who did what to whom, slam the media for covering it, slam the player and woman for shacking up, yet how does that help either of them, or his wife and kids - but of course who cares about kids when the public needs it's latest sacrifices.

Hurt Locker
15/05/2011, 11:55 AM
the most decorated player in English football history! Feel sorry for him, wouldnt be surprised if wife leaves him and will have to live with the stigma for the rest of his life.

old git
15/05/2011, 2:40 PM
the most decorated player in English football history! Feel sorry for him, wouldnt be surprised if wife leaves him and will have to live with the stigma for the rest of his life.

no sympathy for him he knew what he was doing for 6 months , so he has to live with actions , only thing is if he let it come out in the press it would have been forgoton about in a couple of weeks.

15/05/2011, 2:46 PM

No chance. She's already well aware of it by all accounts and hasn't gone anywhere. They have two kids so that may have something to do with it I guess. Everyone will have forgotten about it in no time. There's a few stories that have done the rounds about her too. Nobody's a saint here.

Hurt Locker
15/05/2011, 6:30 PM
It is clear she is no angel she has done at least two other Utd players. Has a hardcore video from her time in BB house. Normally women don't stay with cheating husbands, take the house kids and half his money (More to do with religion and morals than kids).

The Fly
15/05/2011, 7:38 PM
It is clear she is no angle, she has done at least two other Utd players.

Surely that makes her a little bit obtuse?

Hurt Locker
15/05/2011, 8:35 PM
:wink::kissing: more like an acute slapper!

Surely that makes her a little bit obtuse?

16/05/2011, 9:16 AM
Whats the divorce rate in the UK? Arguably he's had his best season for years, so didn't exactly impact negatively from a football point of view! It will have zero impact on his legacy as a footballer, imo.

16/05/2011, 2:15 PM
Details of the judgment here for anyone interested. Thomas comes across very badly.

http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/QB/2011/1232.html

16/05/2011, 2:40 PM
Details of the judgment here for anyone interested. Thomas comes across very badly.

http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/QB/2011/1232.html

That's really damning for her, although most of what's levelled against her is alleged, she comes across as being extremely vindictive and manipulative.

peadar1987
16/05/2011, 3:33 PM
That's really damning for her, although most of what's levelled against her is alleged, she comes across as being extremely vindictive and manipulative.

I don't see the point in blackmail. As soon as you demand money for your silence, you've thrown away your bargaining chip, because if you bring your information to the press, your blackmail attempt will also come to light. It's a silly crime.

16/05/2011, 4:19 PM
It is clear she is no angel she has done at least two other Utd players. Has a hardcore video from her time in BB house. Normally women don't stay with cheating husbands, take the house kids and half his money (More to do with religion and morals than kids).

I think footballers wives are different? At least while their other half continues to play and earn a nice salary. After that then its to the divorce courts.
Read an article a long time ago that gave a staggering high figure of something like over 80% of footballers divorce!

23/05/2011, 5:27 PM
The cat is out of the bag: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0523/giggs_injunction.html

Although in fairness it had only had passing acquaintance with said bag for some time now.

backstothewall
23/05/2011, 10:06 PM
Man United team v Barcelona

Van Der Saar
Fabio
Vidic
Ferdinand
Evra
Valencia
Carrick
An Unnamed Premiership Footballer
Park
Rooney
Hernandez

DannyInvincible
05/06/2011, 11:49 AM
Giggsy suffering a bit of a rough time at the minute: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1394474/Ryan-Giggs-accused-8-year-affair-BROTHERS-wife.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

Ryan Giggs has found himself hitting headlines once again, this time for an alleged extra-marital affair with his brother’s wife.

A Sunday tabloid has claimed that the Manchester United star embarked on an eight-year relationship with his 28-year-old sister-in-law Natasha.

Following his alleged affair with Big Brother star Imogen Thomas, who was gagged with a super-injunction, now more claims of betrayal have stunned his fans.

No super-injunction for this accusation, it would appear.

horton
07/06/2011, 4:44 PM
Theres talk of a third woman aswell. Kinda sad that despite everything he achieved in his football career, a lot of people will remember him more for this than his footballing achievements.