View Full Version : Will Keane F Preston North End b.1993

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

06/05/2022, 1:42 PM
Who else should be relegated to "around the squad" because of that collective embarrassment v Lithuania? Keane and his 26-goal season should be bench warming while we prefer someone nowhere near as prolific? That would make no sense though, no doubt, "system" huggers would mount a challenge.

I was unaware I was under subpoena. Keane has one start and minutes against Portugal and Belgium. You'd dismiss a 27-goal striker on that basis? I don't. My other point was he'd have more support from the fanbase, given the season he's had, if he was Irish born and raised. It's an opinion, like it or lump it.

Bizarre school of thought it might be, but I believe a 27-goal striker should be preferred to a 10-goal striker. I also think the positivity you reference should place Keane in the NL starting line-up, not on the bench. Yes, it's about Kenny - he picks the team. Anything else, your Honour(s)?

I've made my point about Keane. You disagree - fair enough. My other comment was on Keane's popularity (or lack of) within the fanbase. You disagree, again fair enough but please don't extrapolate what's not there. Your ally introduced Kenny, not me. Can I go now?

Its all here buddy.

Snapshot
06/05/2022, 1:51 PM
Reads great, I’m proud of it. Thanks for going to all that trouble.

06/05/2022, 2:02 PM
Take it the inboxes lads, or move on

06/05/2022, 2:38 PM
Reads great, I’m proud of it. Thanks for going to all that trouble.

cheers hun x

samhaydenjr
15/08/2022, 3:11 AM
Opened his account for the season on Saturday against Bristol City: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/62445232

13/09/2022, 9:25 PM
Third of the season for Wigan this evening, and he's stepping up to the new level well. Hasn't impressed for Ireland yet, but maybe with Obafemi out of favour and Parrott in a team that can't score, he might be an option this month

Fixer82
14/09/2022, 8:15 AM
Would love to see him a few more times for Ireland before judging. Some players take a while to hit their groove in a new team

samhaydenjr
02/10/2022, 1:22 AM
Opened the scoring against Rotherham to notch his fourth of the season - I'd be interested in seeing how he would work as a target man with Obafemi partnering him, so perhaps he should get some good minutes in the friendlies

Snapshot
02/10/2022, 10:58 AM
Opened the scoring against Rotherham to notch his fourth of the season - I'd be interested in seeing how he would work as a target man with Obafemi partnering him, so perhaps he should get some good minutes in the friendlies
Scored a bucketful last season in L1 and is now looking good in the Championship. I can understand the preference for Obafemi, who could be the new Robbie, and Ogbene who is also scoring and playing very well. But for Keane to be dropped from the recent match-day squad was ridiculous. What does he have to do? Score goals?

Eirambler
02/10/2022, 12:00 PM
Not be turning 30 in January is the honest answer to that I think.

If you have a choice between a 20 year old, a 22 year old, a 25 year old and a 29 year old, all with limited international experience, it probably makes sense to favour the ones who aren't 29.

JR89
02/10/2022, 1:42 PM

Wouldn't mind seeing him paired with Obafemi in November, and similar with Robinson and Obafemi. Need to see different combinations work together as that front two.

Only issue in my mind is any combination I think of is someone plus Obafemi which brings a big problem of over relying on Obafemi whose had his fitness issues early in his career. Hopefully his fitness issues were more down to his lifestyle off the pitch as Hasenhuttl talked about rather than being injury prone.

Pity Idah has been injury prone these last two seasons cause I think himself and Obafemi could be a cracking front two for us.

mark12345
02/10/2022, 5:35 PM
Wouldn't mind seeing him paired with Obafemi in November, and similar with Robinson and Obafemi. Need to see different combinations work together as that front two.

Only issue in my mind is any combination I think of is someone plus Obafemi which brings a big problem of over relying on Obafemi whose had his fitness issues early in his career. Hopefully his fitness issues were more down to his lifestyle off the pitch as Hasenhuttl talked about rather than being injury prone.

Pity Idah has been injury prone these last two seasons cause I think himself and Obafemi could be a cracking front two for us.

Keane should be paired with Obafemi, as you say. They are our most potent pair of strikers and for some strange Keane is frowned upon

third policeman
02/10/2022, 7:10 PM
Keane should be paired with Obafemi, as you say. They are our most potent pair of strikers and for some strange Keane is frowned upon

There?s a sense with Keane that but for injuries, he might have been a pretty decent player. He?s not really shown much in his cameos for us, but if he continues to score goals, he deserves a chance as much as any of our Championship players.

third policeman
02/10/2022, 7:11 PM
There?s a sense with Keane that but for injuries, he might have been a pretty decent player. He?s not really shown much in his cameos for us, but if he continues to score goals, he deserves a chance as much as any of our Championship players.

Not sure why the rogue question marks appeared there. Sloppy typing I guess.

seanfhear
02/10/2022, 7:37 PM
Not sure why the rogue question marks appeared there. Sloppy typing I guess.
Site issue’s at the moment I think.

02/10/2022, 8:21 PM
I trust that was a deliberate rogue apostrophe!

Demesne Lad
03/10/2022, 12:28 PM
Not be turning 30 in January is the honest answer to that I think.

If you have a choice between a 20 year old, a 22 year old, a 25 year old and a 29 year old, all with limited international experience, it probably makes sense to favour the ones who aren't 29.

Of the top 10 scorers in the EFL Championship so far this season, one has 7 goals, three have 6 and six have 5. Average age is 25.9 years. Top Republic of Ireland scorers (4 goals) are Ogbene (25) and Keane (29).

Snapshot
03/10/2022, 12:44 PM
Of the top 10 scorers in the EFL Championship so far this season, one has 7 goals, three have 6 and six have 5. Average age is 25.9 years. Top Republic of Ireland scorers (4 goals) are Ogbene (25) and Keane (29).
Hogan has five.

Demesne Lad
03/10/2022, 1:47 PM
Hogan has five.
Correct -- I overlooked Hogan (blush). It does make the consistent preference for Parrott and Obafemi in the Ireland starting XI harder to understand if points now rather than points in the future are important.

Eirambler
04/10/2022, 6:51 AM
On a minutes per goal basis I'd say Obafemi's stats are probably fine, he hasn't had a huge amount of game time this season. Parrott harder to justify right now, he needs to find form.

JR89
19/10/2022, 8:40 PM
Got his sixth of the season converting a McClean corner.

JR89
05/11/2022, 2:22 PM
Scores his 7th league goal of the season with the assist from McClean.

samhaydenjr
06/11/2022, 1:05 AM
With Parrott out injured and the possibility that Obafemi might ask to be used sparingly in friendlies (or omitted completely), then the Norway/Malta games would be a great opportunity to give Keane some proper minutes and a real chance to impress.

Demesne Lad
08/11/2022, 8:25 PM
(8 November) Taken off after an hour v Coventry, because of injury.

JR89
08/11/2022, 8:51 PM
Wrap Scott Hogan in cotton wool our we'll only have two strikers fit for the international break.

29/12/2022, 8:55 PM
Eighth of the season tonight, but a 4-1 defeat puts Wigan bottom of the table.

A real pity he missed the November games; hopefully get some time against Latvia though. France, you'd imagine, isn't going to be a game for our forwards to make a name for themselves

JR89
29/12/2022, 10:26 PM
That was his ninth. Himself and Hogan now both have nine with Ogbene in third on six for top Irish goal scorers in the championship.

18/04/2023, 9:04 PM
First goal in three months tonight; 11th of the season. Keeps their survival hopes on life support but it'll still be a heck of an escape if they can manage it

samhaydenjr
19/04/2023, 2:32 AM
Kind of strange situation with Keane - he's our highest scorer in The Championship, with one more than Teemu Pukki, yet I feel that if Wigan get relegated, he'll never get called up again

Snapshot
19/04/2023, 5:30 AM
Kind of strange situation with Keane - he's our highest scorer in The Championship, with one more than Teemu Pukki, yet I feel that if Wigan get relegated, he'll never get called up again
Good to see him breaking his drought. Wigan will struggle to retain him despite two years left on contract. He's well capable of scoring 20 Championship goals in a season for a decent side.

19/04/2023, 7:09 AM
Yeah, double figures for the bottom side in the league isn't to be sniffed at for sure; you could see someone taking a chance on him.

Wouldn't write him off for the national team quite yet, even if he's been disappointing on his appearances to date. Our options are still quite poor up front

JR89
19/04/2023, 1:12 PM
Good to see him breaking his drought. Wigan will struggle to retain him despite two years left on contract. He's well capable of scoring 20 Championship goals in a season for a decent side.

Given Wigan have paid their players late multiple times this season and rumours that the owners want out they'll be selling the top earners this summer. Keane and McClean will definitely be on the move in the summer.

Demesne Lad
22/04/2023, 2:20 PM
Championship goal no. 12, v Millwall

JR89
22/04/2023, 2:31 PM
Even if Wigan somehow manage to survive I think he'll still get himself a decent enough move to a better championship club next season.

JR89
14/07/2023, 4:31 PM
Looks to be on his way to Preston. Due for a medical after both player and Preston agreed terms.

liamoo11
14/07/2023, 5:10 PM
Looks to be on his way to Preston. Due for a medical after both player and Preston agreed terms.

Fair play to him getting a real late career flourish after missing so many years with soany injuries

Trequartista20
15/07/2023, 11:26 AM
Looking at the PNE forum, a number of supporters view him as an upgrade on Parrott, which is interesting from an Irish perspective, given how different a view the Irish management, media and fans take.

JR89
15/07/2023, 11:31 AM
That's a good move for Keane and a good replacement for Ched Evans who might end up retiring.

15/07/2023, 11:38 AM
Looking at the PNE forum, a number of supporters view him as an upgrade on Parrott, which is interesting from an Irish perspective, given how different a view the Irish management, media and fans take.
Yeah, I was thinking it'll be interesting to compare how he and Parrott (and even Cannon!) get on at the same club. Granted they're at different stages of their career of course.

No word on anything for Parrott as yet I presume?

Trequartista20
15/07/2023, 12:03 PM
Parrott misses Spurs' Asian tour with an injury. No word on any potential loan destination.

I thought he would have been better off going on loan to one of the better League One clubs last season. Even with MK he struggled a little bit for a period before ending the season well. Expecting him to excell at Preston always seemed a bit optimistic. They were the third lowest goalscorers in the division last season, with even two of the relegated clubs scoring more. You might say, 'well that's as much a reflection on the inadequacies of Parrott than anything', but even Preston's own fans regularly complain about the lack of chances their side creates.

It'll be interesting to see where he ends up.

Funnily enough, Keane was at PNE previously at a similar period of his career to Troy, on loan from another big club (Man United), and scored only once in twenty appearances.

samhaydenjr
06/08/2023, 2:21 AM
Off the mark for the season with a late equalizer against Bristol City. Is he direct in competition with Idah as back-up to Ferguson? https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/66345310

JR89
08/08/2023, 12:04 PM
Probably not, think Kenny will stick it out with Idah as back up to Ferguson and Keane will likely be next in line.

12/08/2023, 2:32 PM
Second goal in three games this afternoon against Sunderland

mark12345
12/08/2023, 5:59 PM
Second goal in three games this afternoon against Sunderland

Second goal on three games. That is such an awful return for a striker trying to make Stephen Kenny's team. He needs to do a lot better.

Eirambler
12/08/2023, 6:17 PM
He doesn't appeal to people as much because he's not an up and coming young lad, but if you're picking an Irish squad on merit he'd 100% be ahead of Parrott, Idah and Connolly at this point in time.

JR89
12/08/2023, 6:46 PM
Goal and an assist today but didn't really know much about either. Goal took a deflection off him before going in and miscontrolled a pass which fell to a Preston player who scored.

Looking like a good signing for Preston because last season their strikers couldn't buy a goal in the first half of the season and you've now got Keane making goals by accident.

12/08/2023, 6:49 PM
He doesn't appeal to people as much because he's not an up and coming young lad, but if you're picking an Irish squad on merit he'd 100% be ahead of Parrott, Idah and Connolly at this point in time.
Probably also because he hasn't impressed in his (very limited) caps to date. But agree you'd think he'd be ahead of the other three right now alright

mark12345
12/08/2023, 9:20 PM
Probably also because he hasn't impressed in his (very limited) caps to date. But agree you'd think he'd be ahead of the other three right now alright

I do agree completely. He should be nailed on to partner Ferguson at this point in time.

02/09/2023, 3:20 PM
Two so far for Keane away to Stoke. Makes it four for the season. Timely reminder of what he can offer ahead of next week. Obviously France/Holland's defence is very similar to Stoke's :)

samhaydenjr
02/09/2023, 8:58 PM
Two so far for Keane away to Stoke. Makes it four for the season. Timely reminder of what he can offer ahead of next week. Obviously France/Holland's defence is very similar to Stoke's :)

Well, it wasn't a wet Wednesday in November, but he did manage to do it away at Stoke - so that's one litmus test passed.