View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 22 April)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Fester
22/04/2011, 8:32 PM
Shamrock Rovers 2 v 0 UCD

Fester
22/04/2011, 8:33 PM
Drogheda 1 v 2 Dundalk

harleyleeds
22/04/2011, 8:34 PM
headed for mid table , its a sad day. really disapointed with them.well done bohs though.

born2bwild
22/04/2011, 8:36 PM
You could really see it in Tallaght the other night: N'do is not bothered or just not able. Tonight even worse. Where was Mark Rossiter for Bohs and Kirby for Sligo tonight?

GalwayRed
22/04/2011, 8:37 PM
Full time in Athlone. 1-0

harleyleeds
22/04/2011, 8:39 PM
You could really see it in Tallaght the other night: N'do is not bothered or just not able. Tonight even worse. Where was Mark Rossiter for Bohs and Kirby for Sligo tonight?

deffo ndo should not be there he has no interest and/or cant cut it anymore.

Fester
22/04/2011, 8:40 PM
Shamrock rovers 2 v 1 UCD '81

GalwayRed
22/04/2011, 8:42 PM
3-1 Rovers

Fester
22/04/2011, 8:42 PM
Derry City 1 v 1 Saints FT

GalwayRed
22/04/2011, 8:44 PM
FT
Bray 2-0 Galway
Drogs 1-2 Dundalk
Derry 1-1 Pats

Fester
22/04/2011, 8:50 PM
Monaghan 2 v 1 Wexford FT

GalwayRed
22/04/2011, 8:57 PM
FT
Rovers 3-1 UCD
Harps 1-2 Longford

22/04/2011, 9:01 PM
Good win for Town again. 5 wins from 8 now.

harpstilidie
22/04/2011, 9:38 PM
Good win for Town again. 5 wins from 8 now.

Fully deserved as well. Well done.

Harps are terrible.

atfconline
22/04/2011, 9:43 PM
First 3 wins in a row for us since 2000/01.

Two of the teams we beat back then aren't even senior clubs anymore!

22/04/2011, 9:52 PM
Yeah, *grits teeth*, fair play to Athlone surprisingly good form so far.

Ezeikial
22/04/2011, 9:58 PM
I can't remember when I last saw a Premier team as poor as Drogheda tonight. The fact that we stumbled to a win with a goal in the last 10 minutes doesn't say much for our performance either.

I suppose the 3 points matters far more then the performance, but those lads looked jaded tonight. Maybe no surprise with 5 players out injured for the last few weeks and the small squad giving no rotation for tired bodies.

With 3 more games coming in the space of 8 days I expect that Foster will field many A/Youth players against Monaghan on Monday.

22/04/2011, 10:04 PM
Drogheda have Dave Freeman and John Lester who were deemed not good enough for our squad plus a few more that trialled with us but weren't taken on. They were always going to struggle badly with that level of player but at least they're not spending money they don't have.

placid casual
22/04/2011, 10:53 PM
Ronan Finn is the best midfielder in the league.
UCD denied what looked, to my ageing eyes to be a stonewall peno in the first half.
Once we scored the pressure was off and we ran out comfortable winners. UCD need to find another kilduff or they will struggle this season.

And Bray above Sligo in the league. go seagulls!

hoops1
22/04/2011, 10:55 PM
:rofl: Sligo mid table

22/04/2011, 11:29 PM
Pats well worth a point in my view.

Scrapped hard, made it difficult for us and they may have rediscovered the very best of Daryl Kavanagh.

22/04/2011, 11:41 PM
Possibly the worst managed Harps side in history. Plenty of experience and plenty of ability about them but lacking any sort of direction. Horrible times to be a Harps fan

22/04/2011, 11:53 PM
Good results from Sligo and Derry from a Rovers perspective.

I thought UCD were very impressive, 2 good chances just after halftime and a clear handball in the first half, but if Rovers can continue this idea of crossing the ball in and having players get on the end of it, they might go far.

A N Mouse
23/04/2011, 12:09 AM
Pats well worth a point in my view.

Scrapped hard, made it difficult for us and they may have rediscovered the very best of Daryl Kavanagh.

Fair fecks to the pats fans that travelled. Did deserve their point.

That said can't help but feel that however poor derry were the ref robbed us. Last week had some rover fans looking for refs to be consistent across the league. I'd settle for them being consistent in one game. Hancock was poor, but consistent when sligo visited. Winter made more - big - good decisons than bad, when shams came. And on tv hancock actually done well, overall.

Tomney really reinforced the whole biased ref thing. If he had of been in any way consistent Kavanagh should not have been on the pitch by full time, nevermind to win the penalty. The one time in the whole game he looked to play advantage was a foul on the half way line with the ball dropping on the edge of the derry box with a chance for pat's to go 2-1 up. Minutes later - among others - he calls play back with derry on a break away, and doesn't even book Kavanagh for the most cynical foul of the night.

The only thing McGlynn could have been booked for was talking back, yet Pat's, with Kavanagh again the main culprit, were at it constantly. And there were a few dubious obstruction - surely if the balls travelling you're entitled to dummy it? - awards to Pat's around the halfway line. Yet the two most blatent of the night, in and around the pat's area were denied. (Actually that's probably being generous, being wrestled to the ground after meging the man is slightly more than obstruction)

PartySaint
23/04/2011, 12:55 AM

That said can't help but feel that however poor derry were the ref robbed us. Last week had some rover fans looking for refs to be consistent across the league. I'd settle for them being consistent in one game. Hancock was poor, but consistent when sligo visited. Winter made more - big - good decisons than bad, when shams came. And on tv hancock actually done well, overall.

Tomney really reinforced the whole biased ref thing. If he had of been in any way consistent Kavanagh should not have been on the pitch by full time, nevermind to win the penalty. The one time in the whole game he looked to play advantage was a foul on the half way line with the ball dropping on the edge of the derry box with a chance for pat's to go 2-1 up. Minutes later - among others - he calls play back with derry on a break away, and doesn't even book Kavanagh for the most cynical foul of the night.

The only thing McGlynn could have been booked for was talking back, yet Pat's, with Kavanagh again the main culprit, were at it constantly. And there were a few dubious obstruction - surely if the balls travelling you're entitled to dummy it? - awards to Pat's around the halfway line. Yet the two most blatent of the night, in and around the pat's area were denied. (Actually that's probably being generous, being wrestled to the ground after meging the man is slightly more than obstruction)

Yeah and don't forget the stonewall peno we didn't get for the handball in the second half, Delighted with the point and think we deserved it, As MariborKev said Daryl kavanagh was on top form tonight, hopefully he see's more game time now

TenaciousDee
23/04/2011, 11:01 AM

There was no bias against us last night, as mentioned before he was equally as **** to both teams and was inconsistent in his decisions. Take two incidents in the first half. Greacen and a Pat's player raise their feet to win the ball in a 50-50 with Greacen winning the ball, getting caught by the player in the process. In my opinion the yellow was a bit harsh, it is dangerous play however like I said 50-50 and he is entitled to challenge for the ball. Later in the half Gareth McGlynn chests the ball out of the Pats box, defender lunges in with studs showing, catches McGlynn in the side. No free-kick no yellow card despite this in my opinion being worse than the first incident.

On Pat's performance I think we were lucky not to be at least two down by the 30 minute mark. Three times in the first half Pat's got behind our defence easily and had it not been for a Doherty save and the fact Pat's are toothless we could have been badly hurt. There was little pressure from Midfield however going forward our central midfielders contributed well including Higgins who was involved in some decent moves. Their penalty was stonewall and Eddie was caught for pace in the build up to the foul.

SwanVsDalton
23/04/2011, 11:20 AM
There was no bias against us last night, as mentioned before he was equally as **** to both teams and was inconsistent in his decisions. Take two incidents in the first half. Greacen and a Pat's player raise their feet to win the ball in a 50-50 with Greacen winning the ball, getting caught by the player in the process. In my opinion the yellow was a bit harsh, it is dangerous play however like I said 50-50 and he is entitled to challenge for the ball. Later in the half Gareth McGlynn chests the ball out of the Pats box, defender lunges in with studs showing, catches McGlynn in the side. No free-kick no yellow card despite this in my opinion being worse than the first incident.

On Pat's performance I think we were lucky not to be at least two down by the 30 minute mark. Three times in the first half Pat's got behind our defence easily and had it not been for a Doherty save and the fact Pat's are toothless we could have been badly hurt. There was little pressure from Midfield however going forward our central midfielders contributed well including Higgins who was involved in some decent moves. Their penalty was stonewall and Eddie was caught for pace in the build up to the foul.

I agree - thought the ref was dreadful, but we wern't the only side to suffer from him. Was miles away from the peno, but they could've had one given in the first (not to mention their handball shout). Tomney did have a very bizarre last 10 minutes though and didn't give City a thing (when Bermingham wrestled McDaid to the ground on the near wing after getting beaten for instance, that was ridiculous) but it wasn't overly unfair overall. The ref managed to book five players in a match which didn't have one bad challenge in it, or even much bite in general.

Pats were decent value for it, and Shane McEleney will be having nightmares about Daryl Kavenagh for months to come. Might have been different if Zayed had of buried that sitter just before half-time though - good save from Rogers, but he shouldn't have been given the chance.

23/04/2011, 11:28 AM
That said can't help but feel that however poor derry were the ref robbed us.

There's absolutely no way the ref robbed you. Pats were convinced they should've had a penalty in the first half (your centre half on the ground blocked a Doyle close range effort) and we could've had one immediately after your goal (although i thought it'd have been a harsh one)

Our midfield was poor and at times Derry looked super going forward but apart from the last 25 minutes of first half (when Rogers made a couple of great saves) and the 5 minutes or so after your goal, I thought we were comfortable enough and created more chances (or half chances anyway).

Honestly can't see how you think Kavanagh should've been sent off. Don't remember him doing anything to even be booked tbh. On top of that he was the best player on the park.

Good to have Derry back too

Candystripe
23/04/2011, 12:07 PM
There's absolutely no way the ref robbed you. Pats were convinced they should've had a penalty in the first half (your centre half on the ground blocked a Doyle close range effort) and we could've had one immediately after your goal (although i thought it'd have been a harsh one)

Our midfield was poor and at times Derry looked super going forward but apart from the last 25 minutes of first half (when Rogers made a couple of great saves) and the 5 minutes or so after your goal, I thought we were comfortable enough and created more chances (or half chances anyway).

Honestly can't see how you think Kavanagh should've been sent off. Don't remember him doing anything to even be booked tbh. On top of that he was the best player on the park.

Good to have Derry back too

Was defo a handball, but more hand to ball (another senseless debate on MNS?) lolYou's also had a call before that for one as well.

when Mc Daid was wrestled to the ground and nothing was given was mindboggling though but the ref was just pure ****e anyway as was the linesman in front of the Glentoran stand.

Kavanagh was mouthing off time and time again and he was making silly little fouls the whole game but was getting away with it so no reason for him not too as he wasn't being punished for it.

An excellent crowd up from Pats and well behaved and sang throughout the game although I couldn't hear them I could see them :)

Oh and Dodge, it's good to be back ;)

born2bwild
23/04/2011, 12:26 PM
UCD denied what looked, to my ageing eyes to be a stonewall peno in the first half.
Once we scored the pressure was off and we ran out comfortable winners. UCD need to find another kilduff or they will struggle this season.

And Bray above Sligo in the league. go seagulls!
Finn is a class above everyone else. I get the feeling that M O'Neill didn't realise how good he was before he bought him. Dundalk fans proabably saw last year up close how good he was...his goals up there, first in July, second in October were superb. Enjoy him while he's still in the league.

23/04/2011, 2:06 PM
An excellent crowd up from Pats and well behaved and sang throughout the game
Seconded. Great to see.

Were you at the game Dodge?
Would like to be able to say hello to people from the forum at games but can never quite get up the nerve to approach a group of fans and ask, "Do you know Dodge/Pineapple Stu/Sam Heggy?" and then mutter something about being a charming man.

23/04/2011, 3:13 PM
New campaign, Foot.ie nametags must be worn at all matches at all times.

A N Mouse
23/04/2011, 4:19 PM
I wasn't trying to accuse the man of bias. Merely saying that with displays like that you can understand where the allegations are coming from. Honestly think it would be preferable to be accused of bias than admit to the levels of incompentence on display at times (and not just last night).

As for saying Kavanagh should have been sent off I did qualify that by saying if the ref was in any way consistent. Early doors either that was a peno or he deserves to be booked for the dive. After that he done any number of things that others were booked for - not that he was the only one.

To be fair match would probably have been abandoned, if he had been consistent.

23/04/2011, 4:45 PM

yeah, made the trip (usually do). Most under 35 would know me anyway so feel free to say hello next time.

23/04/2011, 4:53 PM
For those of us who were there, the trip to Sligo will stand out forever as our favourite. To say it was epic would be an understatement. Oh and the result was good too.

harleyleeds
23/04/2011, 6:14 PM
For those of us who were there, the trip to Sligo will stand out forever as our favourite. To say it was epic would be an understatement. Oh and the result was good too.

Id say it was a few trips in one and I would love to have been a Bohs fan and been there for that. It looked like ye had some fun.

sundance kid
23/04/2011, 9:45 PM
Fenlon is in the paper today saying he's embarrassed about something or other to do with their prep for friday, and that he'll be taking it up with the Bohs board. Anyone any idea what he's on about?

23/04/2011, 10:45 PM
Good results from Sligo and Derry from a Rovers perspective.

From a Rovers perspective, the result from Derry only was a good one.

juan
24/04/2011, 4:08 AM
Seconded. Great to see.

Would like to be able to say hello to people from the forum at games but can never quite get up the nerve to approach a group of fans and ask, "Do you know Dodge/Pineapple Stu/Sam Heggy?" and then mutter something about being a charming man.
Yeah but could you imagine what it would be like for us to try and find you. "Sorry have you seen thischarmingman?".

Jicked
24/04/2011, 12:08 PM
Fenlon is in the paper today saying he's embarrassed about something or other to do with their prep for friday, and that he'll be taking it up with the Bohs board. Anyone any idea what he's on about?

Having not read the article, I'll take a punt on it being that Fenlon wants more money out of the board, again. Never understand when people say "Fenlon only spends the budget he's given" etc when he's in the press every other week trying to put pressure on the club, despite knowing exactly what the financial situation is, to wrangle more money for his first team squad.

thesilverfox
24/04/2011, 12:12 PM
Obsessed? is that the only argument from either of the Rovers mouths is "obssessed":rolleyes: Grow up lads/lassies its not the greatest response that yee can come up with. http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/images/smilies/emot-wtf.gif

dont see any other reason someone would be so excited with a team being mid table. the whole thing is a childish mess anyways. i couldnt care how any other team does bar us. on friday night, we should have had the game won by ht and were just awful in the second half. still only three point off top so cant really complain. far better start than last year

harleyleeds
24/04/2011, 1:15 PM
dont see any other reason someone would be so excited with a team being mid table. the whole thing is a childish mess anyways. i couldnt care how any other team does bar us. on friday night, we should have had the game won by ht and were just awful in the second half. still only three point off top so cant really complain. far better start than last year

Good points about start and only 3 points off but surely ndo's apparent apathy and the obvious lack of a striker/goal scorer must cause you concern. Perhaps you can complain just a little?

dong
24/04/2011, 1:44 PM
Good points about start and only 3 points off but surely ndo's apparent apathy and the obvious lack of a striker/goal scorer must cause you concern. Perhaps you can complain just a little?

Not apathy I don't think. He's had no training pre season and only played three full games. Give the man a break. "Take him off Cook!" FFS, years of watching the likes of Choice and Keth Foy hasn't had any affect apparently.
Some of our fans have very short memories of what the majority of our squad achieved last season. Same idiots who were writing us off at this stage last year, and than telling anybody who would listen that we would win the league this year. The evidence for this? A couple of cups.
We do lack a striker who will finish he chances we create and we certainly don't look as sharp as at the end of last season, but some of the ****e you hear from so called supporters in the showgrounds is pathetic.
It's very early days and we'll be competing for a top three place come the end of the season, I have no doubt.

harleyleeds
24/04/2011, 2:01 PM
Not apathy I don't think. He's had no training pre season and only played three full games. Give the man a break. "Take him off Cook!" FFS, years of watching the likes of Choice and Keth Foy hasn't had any affect apparently.
Some of our fans have very short memories of what the majority of our squad achieved last season. Same idiots who were writing us off at this stage last year, and than telling anybody who would listen that we would win the league this year. The evidence for this? A couple of cups.
We do lack a striker who will finish he chances we create and we certainly don't look as sharp as at the end of last season, but some of the ****e you hear from so called supporters in the showgrounds is pathetic.
It's very early days and we'll be competing for a top three place come the end of the season, I have no doubt.

No prob Im not trying to wum and your certainly entitled to your opinion. I feel he should be match fit and isnt because he didnt bother to be. However what about the several missed chances in all the games? striker/goal scorer? I feel without someone coming in Rovers are going to finish 5th at best.

redobit
24/04/2011, 2:35 PM
No prob Im not trying to wum and your certainly entitled to your opinion. I feel he should be match fit and isnt because he didnt bother to be. However what about the several missed chances in all the games? striker/goal scorer? I feel without someone coming in Rovers are going to finish th at best.

I going to assume you meant third. I think youre right and its somthing Ive said from the start of the season considering the squad an its depth. People have been geting ahead of themselves from the start and need to take a step back.

24/04/2011, 3:16 PM
Id say it was a few trips in one and I would love to have been a Bohs fan and been there for that. It looked like ye had some fun.

Whoever whitedavy is on youtube has some obsession with us :cool:

24/04/2011, 7:23 PM
Yeah, spot on alright. I got the feeling that ye scored so quickly after our goal because ye could. We just gave ye a bit of a root up the hole with it. Great strike too. Don't see Benson being the new Kilduff you mention though; we'll just struggle this year. Once the Bowl pitch gets back to shape though, it does look like we'll pick up enough points to avoid bottom. Don't think I remember the peno shout though.

Highlight of the match was Finny's dad nearly being kicked out of the ground for smoking. Was too modest to use the "Do you know who I am?" line unfortunately. :D

born2bwild
24/04/2011, 8:03 PM
Yeah, spot on alright. I got the feeling that ye scored so quickly after our goal because ye could. We just gave ye a bit of a root up the hole with it. Great strike too. Don't see Benson being the new Kilduff you mention though; we'll just struggle this year. Once the Bowl pitch gets back to shape though, it does look like we'll pick up enough points to avoid bottom. Don't think I remember the peno shout though.

Highlight of the match was Finny's dad nearly being kicked out of the ground for smoking. Was too modest to use the "Do you know who I am?" line unfortunately. :D
Ronan's Da is a nice man. He used to be a Fingal Ultra.

26/04/2011, 9:39 AM
Told me on Friday he was always UCD at the core. :)

(Although he has a soft spot for Longford Town too, what with being from there and having played for the Town and all).

26/04/2011, 9:21 PM
didnt know about ronan finns dad used to play for us.. I knew he was from longford allright..