View Full Version : FAI / IFA merger - interesting survey

Dr.Nightdub
10/06/2004, 8:14 PM
Got this in work today, it's the results of a survey done by Amarach, a well-known market research organisation. They did a telephone survey of 1200 people north and south.

"The concept of a merger of the FAI and IFA also received the backing of the majority of people across the island with 76% of those polled in favour of the concept of a united Irish soccer team.

Those in the South were marginally more in favour of the merger with nearly 4 out of 5 people supporting the idea. In the North 73% of those polled supported the merger, with a majority of both Catholics (77%) and Protestants (69%) supporting the idea.

The research findings highlight how the public want Ireland's sporting associations to re-examine traditional policy, which will ultimately afford Irish sports fans the opportunity to enjoy and support their major passions."

Presumably if people are in favourr of a single association and a single national team, the implication is that they're also in favour of a single league.

tippman
10/06/2004, 8:45 PM
I would love a united national team and league.
1 problem-violence, could u imagine rovers v linfield :eek:

10/06/2004, 10:13 PM
Sound good ... but would either outfit even consider it ??

Dazzy
10/06/2004, 10:19 PM
Rovers, Linfield, no history.
Now Derry V Linfield ;)
that would bring a crowd :p

tippman
11/06/2004, 8:07 AM
Dazzy, I know theres now history between rovers and l*nfield but give it 1 match and you'd see :D anyways a derry v l*nfield match would'nt have a big crowd at it because the brandywell only has a 2200 capicity, with yer 'a' licence :D :D

corkharps
11/06/2004, 8:44 AM
I believe this will happen! But not how most of us would want.The Bigger clubs in the South,will look towards the Lindfields,Glentorans etc to provide bigger gates,more interest,and a product worthy of proper TV coverage! The possibilty of a break away of say intitially 10 clubs is a real possibility and I'm surprised it hasn't happened already! Money talks! :eek:

11/06/2004, 9:02 AM
we're having enough trouble keeping out own league afloat and getting people into the ground without lumbering ourselvs with trying to rescue the IL aswell.
If a cross border cup competition can be shown to work then maybe soem thought can go into it, but
-I can't see either the IFA or the FAI power sharing
-we play our leagues at different times of the year, and I wouldn't want to go back to a winter league
-there's genuine security concerns if it's a summer league
-there would be more competition for fewer European places so the bigger clubs may disklike that
-a decent plan would have to be put in place to regionalise the lower divisions because the extra costs due to travelling and security would have to be factored in
-a phone survey is all well and good but a decent amount of research would have to go into seeing if it would actually result in increased public and media interest, I can't see public apathy changing because Bohs are at home to Coleraine instead of at home to Longford.

in it's favour
-it may attract greater sponsorship and attendances (definitely would in the short term)
-it would allow us to form a larger premier division of quality teams, which would solve the playing teams four times or the daft three round system

11/06/2004, 9:24 AM
Although I'd definitely be in favour of an all Ireland League (Top 9 from each forming an 18 team Premier, regional after that), I wouldn't trust the stewarding or policing this side of the border. The Guards are incapable of policing a Bohs v Rovers Derby, let alone anything bigger.

Dazzy
11/06/2004, 12:49 PM
Dazzy, I know theres now history between rovers and l*nfield but give it 1 match and you'd see :D anyways a derry v l*nfield match would'nt have a big crowd at it because the brandywell only has a 2200 capicity, with yer 'a' licence :D :D

It'll will alway come back to haunt us :p :p

tippman
11/06/2004, 7:23 PM
The top 8 teams north and south join together to make a 16 team premier division. After that the there would be division 1 south made up of 16 teams
(the current el clubs that woul'nt be in the premier and mayo and kerry)
division 1 north would be made up of the rest of the IFA teams.

All the above teams would play each other 2 times a season with automatic
promotion and playoffs.

this new format would almost definetley see the end of the league cups both sides of the border.

an extended cup and better league,more television coverage etc would be the befits.

only one question remains: would derry play north or south if they were relegated from the premier division?

Dazzy
11/06/2004, 7:39 PM
only one question remains: would derry play north or south if they were relegated from the premier division?

No need to worry there :p it would become an all el league in a few seasons with a couple of exceptions :p

dortie
11/06/2004, 7:50 PM
[QUOTE=Dr.Nightdub]In the North 73% of those polled supported the merger, with a majority of both Catholics (77%) and Protestants (69%) supporting the idea.

QUOTE]

How many of these people polled suport domestic soccer (North and South) ??

If I had to bet on it Id say very few.....Id safely say 80% of the IFA club fans would be against it. Just ask them on their Irish league forum, you will soon get your answer.

Would love it myself but being a realist and from the North I know how narrow minded these people really are.

corkharps
11/06/2004, 9:06 PM
[QUOTE=Dr.Nightdub]In the North 73% of those polled supported the merger, with a majority of both Catholics (77%) and Protestants (69%) supporting the idea.

QUOTE]

How many of these people polled suport domestic soccer (North and South) ??

If I had to bet on it Id say very few.....Id safely say 80% of the IFA club fans would be against it. Just ask them on their Irish league forum, you will soon get your answer.

Would love it myself but being a realist and from the North I know how narrow minded these people really are.

:D :D :D

Duncan Gardner
11/06/2004, 9:14 PM
Dortie's half right- there's little support for the idea among NI fans and those of most IL clubs. Many of us would like to see a cross-border cup though.

We're narrow-minded just because we disagree with you. What an inclusive, broad-minded attitude that isn't :(

Why should NI clubs get half the places in this imaginary league? Sure the South's got more than twice the population?

12/06/2004, 1:11 AM
I can't see either the IFA or the FAI power sharing

Some people seem to think it is not up to them and that the "I" (eye) in both means that they should carry out the wishes of the people that they represent. Because the are National entities, they are not a law onto themselves. (or argument to that effect :) )

dortie
12/06/2004, 8:51 AM
:D :D :D

Can you state otherwise ?

Dont think you can being from Ballygobackwards.

dortie
12/06/2004, 8:58 AM
We're narrow-minded just because we disagree with you. What an inclusive, broad-minded attitude that isn't :(

No, your narrow minded because you cant see that an all Ireland league is the only way forward for both leagues. The vast majority of EL fans realise this but you dont because the political aspect of it completely over-shadows the positives of it for you. You are scared that it will lead to an all-Ireland national team (which again makes sense), its the 'our wee country' syndrome that leads me to call you narrow-minded.

Its political, you cant disagree with me isnt it?

12/06/2004, 9:36 AM
Yes an interesting proposal and given that the F.A.I. broke away from Belfast in 1921, the approach would have to come from Dublin to bury the hatchet so to speak.

Well there are a number of points in favour of the proposal:

1/ An All-Ireland team for soccer, makes sense on a number of fronts.

David Healy, an Irishman who can score goals ( a very rare quality), would make an ideal partner for Robbie Keane for one thing.

For all the problems that the Wee North's team has experienced scoring over the past three years, they have been fairly solid at the back.

2/The whole island team would probably go further in major competitions over time than either of the fragments would.

3/ The Rugby team is all-Ireland as are the hockey teams.... as the Cranberries said " Everyone else is doing it why can't we?"

So from that vantage point I am in favour of an all-Ireland team

There are arguments in favour of an All-Ireland League not least of which would be some interesting parings as alluded to earlier and some fascinating cross border derbies i.e.
Newry V Dundalk; Omagh V Finn Harps ; Monaghan United V Armagh City
and of course from my point of view Institute V U.C.D. would also be of interest.

The introduction of an All-Ireland League would probably involve a change of season for the teams in the South , as we would have to revert to winter football for practical reasons.

1/ It would be dangerous to fulfill certain away fixtures during the Marching season: And I am thinking of Republic based teams travelling to Shamrock Park Portadown mainly here.

2/ Security considerations would involve who would provide the policing of certain fixtures which could be resolved through agreement.

The only alternative would be a mid season break from mid June to Mid August . That would involve starting in February and finishing in November.

It could be commercially viable. It might also be entitled to money from that International cross-border fund if that still exists

12/06/2004, 9:44 AM
You make some interesting illustrations CTID, however I think you're confusing Institute FC with Instonians or any of the other sporting clubs born of the Royal Belfast Academic Institution ("Inst") in Belfast (which in any case is a school rather than a tertiary educational establishment). Institute FC are from east Derry and grew up from the Presbyterian Working Men's Institute in that city.

http://www.institutefc.com/2004club/history.shtml

:D PP

12/06/2004, 9:47 AM
PP Thanks for the link.

They were concerned with the intellectual, moral and social welfare of young presbo males on the Waterside... given the intellectual welfare concern they are a quasi-educational organisation.
An Institute of any kind is a worthy adversary for a University... ;)

Plus they wear our club colours :eek:

tippman
12/06/2004, 10:20 AM
i dont think we should go back to winter soccer to please a few dirty pr*ds :mad:
el has been going from strength to strength the last few seasons and it will only go backwards if we join up with the IFA

The soloution to the el problem would be to elect mayo and kerry into the first division and therefore have 2 divisions of 12 teams playing each other 3 times a season. 8 league cup groups of 3 teams each playing each other home and away with one advancing to the quarter finals. The quaters,semis,
and final would all be two legged ties. An extended FAI cup also.

If these measures were put in place for next season the el would be much
better :cool: :ball:

12/06/2004, 10:51 AM
i dont think we should go back to winter soccer to please a few dirty pr*ds :mad:

Ahh, what a great advert for an all-inclusive forward-looking Ireland that is... :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

12/06/2004, 11:05 AM

Unreal ..... you're some múppet !! :(

tippman
12/06/2004, 11:46 AM
You probably only read the first line of my post. A face whats the problem? :confused:
thats the way i see it and always will see it. Theres two clubs i woul'nt mind coming south though: Donegal Celtic and Lurgan celtic. :)
Read the rest of my post and you'll have to say its a much better soloution

Whats the benefit of playing the likes of crusaders?

12/06/2004, 12:39 PM
You probably only read the first line of my post. A face whats the problem? :confused:

I can't believe you even need to be told.

:mad: PP

tippman
12/06/2004, 3:14 PM
i dont need to be told. what i said is what i said and i will not take that back.

PP just go post on some premiersh*it fourm and leave real irish soccer fans
alone :mad:

12/06/2004, 3:32 PM
i dont need to be told. what i said is what i said and i will not take that back.

PP just go post on some premiersh*it fourm and leave real irish soccer fans
alone :mad:

Dirty prods, huh? They eat babies, dontcha know? I'll bet you've never even met a Protestant. But you'd know one for sure if you saw one, right? (It's easy, actually. Their eyes are closer together than ours and their foreheads protrude. It's a dead giveaway.) :rolleyes:

FWIW, Tippboy, I've probably been to more eL games than you, going waaaay back to before you were born. And, er, in case you haven't noticed, I've posted here more than 600 times as opposed to your 10. So if you think for a minute that telling me to **** off to a Premiership board is going to make me go away, then I have news for you, me boyo. I'm here to stay. Unlike yourself, who'll be gone when Mammy notices that the phone bill has rocketed due to Junior spending too long on the internet.

"Real Irish soccer fans" indeed. I'm laughing at you, Tippboy. You have some growing up to do.

tippman
12/06/2004, 4:58 PM
1.the national league is only been called the el for a few years now :p

2.i have broadband internet so i pay a fixed rate of €39.99 a month

3.what do you do in shepherds bush? r*de sheep, thought so.

4.What do you care if the FAI and I*A join up, you'll never be at a match.

5.I have 13 posts on foot not 10.

6.I sure won't go 'smelling flowers in spring time' as it says in your profile.
my reason : i might turn out as dumb as you

7.Ill be on this board longer than you

8.How many Ireland matches were you at? I presume it was just Ireland V jamica and Ireland V nigeria in this years unity cup.

12/06/2004, 5:04 PM
1.the national league is only been called the el for a few years now :p

2.i have broadband internet so i pay a fixed rate of €39.99 a month

3.what do you do in shepherds bush? r*de sheep, thought so.

4.What do you care if the FAI and I*A join up, you'll never be at a match.

5.I have 13 posts on foot not 10.

6.I sure won't go 'smelling flowers in spring time' as it says in your profile.
my reason : i might turn out as dumb as you

7.Ill be on this board longer than you

It took you an hour-and-a-half to come up with this by way of response? :confused: :rolleyes:

Still laughing at you, Tippboy. :D

tippman
12/06/2004, 5:08 PM
it took me an hour and a half because i was outside. I, unlike you have a life other than sitting in front of a pc all day. Plus you have aboustley no comebacks to what i said. :p

12/06/2004, 5:17 PM
it took me an hour and a half because i was outside. I, unlike you have a life other than sitting in front of a pc all day.

That's because I'm at work, Tippboy. You'll find out one day. And when you do, you might even meet a Protestant or two. God help them. :eek:

Plus you have aboustley no comebacks to what i said.

I must admit I do find you amusing. I think it was the line about riding sheep that did it for me. I've never seen a saddle on a sheep. :rolleyes:

:) PP

tippman
12/06/2004, 8:56 PM
Thanks for not verbally attacking me Davros, i know theres more people on foot than pp (thankfully) I make lots of posts about other topics. :cool:

Plastic Paddy: your name says it all really. I am not a boy, I am a proud Tipperaryman,from the best town in Ireland:Cluain Meala

What 'job' do you do at 6.17 on a saturday, should'nt you be gone 'home' to your cardboard box/caravan/hostel?

You obviousley have no answers to any of my slags either :p

12/06/2004, 10:14 PM
Plastic Paddy: your name says it all really. I am not a boy, I am a proud Tipperaryman,from the best town in Ireland:Cluain Meala

What 'job' do you do at 6.17 on a saturday, should'nt you be gone 'home' to your cardboard box/caravan/hostel?

You obviousley have no answers to any of my slags either :p

Man? You're not even fifteen years old yet FFS! Happy birthday for Monday, by the way. :rolleyes: And as for "the best town in Ireland", well, from the gauche nature of your posts, I'd bet you've never yet left it. Mind when you do. There's Prods out there. :eek: :rolleyes:

As for my job? Well, no Mammy and Daddy to sponge from for me, I'm afraid, so I have to work. You'll find out all about it if you ever make it into the big bad world. I like the cardboard box gag too. Real funny, that one. If you'd ever had to spend a night on the streets without shelter or food, you'd know better than to make light of it. But, like I said, you've a kid's lack of understanding. And it shows.

And of course my name says it all. It's meant to. It's known as irony, in case you want to know. But then I wouldn't expect the average fourteen year old to get their heads round that one. And as for your "slags" (are you a rapper or something...?) I don't remember seeing any of them posting on here yet. Give me the heads-up when they do...

:rolleyes: PP

Dazzy
13/06/2004, 12:08 AM
PP he probally doesnt know what irony means :p

*waiting for a copy and paste job ;)

tippman
13/06/2004, 12:17 PM
PP,
I dont sponge off anyone.
I was outside clonmel 4 times last week :p
I'm an above average 15 year old :mad

P.S. I know what irony is.

13/06/2004, 12:51 PM
That €10 weekly allowance goes a long way, I'll bet. :rolleyes: And you're not fifteen until tomorrow, so you can't be claiming that one just yet. :p

tippman
13/06/2004, 1:06 PM
Its actually a part time job that pays €20 a day

13/06/2004, 2:36 PM

No i didnt read the first line only of your post .... although i did think about skipping it altogether :)

Basically, alot of people would regard that post as stupid and ignorant. If you dont then fair enough .... but man ..... at least look at the reaction and tone it down a bit. It was the content of the post that got most people but you were making personal insults to defend yourself. You lost your argument then.

Man ... just chill out. People are entitled to disagree with you also.

tippman
13/06/2004, 4:57 PM
Basically, alot of people would regard that post as stupid and ignorant.

I would'nt

13/06/2004, 7:53 PM
There really are none so blind as those that refuse to see.

The best I can ever hope for you, Tippboy, is that when you're grown up you think back to your comments about "dirty Prods" and feel totally embarrassed by them. However, since you seem proud of being narrow-minded and as thick as pig****, it's a forlorn hope on my part.

Sectarian comments like yours let down all decent Irishmen and women. You should be ashamed.

:( PP

tippman
13/06/2004, 8:33 PM
Sectarian comments like yours let down all decent Irishmen and women.
No they don't

Also do not copy/make links to my posts to other sections of this site then
laugh about it with other people. :mad:

C'mon France :ball:

13/06/2004, 9:11 PM
Also do not copy/make links to my posts to other sections of this site then laugh about it with other people. :mad:

Why? Are you suddenly embarrassed of your crass comments? I thought not. :rolleyes:

You really are an idiot.

Still laughing at you, Tippboy. Although it's hardly funny anymore.

:ball: PP

tippman
14/06/2004, 7:53 AM
PP, lets stop this thing now because its ruining the board for other people
and ourselves

tippman
14/06/2004, 4:09 PM
Plastic Paddy,Davros,A Face
I am apoligising about my personnal insults and all
other comments. Whats the use of the internet if you only use it to insult and force your views on other people? Hopefully this is behind us all now and
we can get back to talking about something we all love,soccer. Apoligies
again,
Tippman/boy

14/06/2004, 4:53 PM
Fair play to you Tippman. Happy birthday. The big one-five. It's all downhill from there though. :D

tippman
14/06/2004, 5:22 PM
Happy birthday
Thanks :) The way I treated you though, I don't deserve it. I woke up today thinking what a fcuking idiot I was being to people on this board that I barely knewand ordering them to go someplace else :o I'm not usually ever
like that,something just came over me the last few days...call it pre-birthday anexity...

tippman
14/06/2004, 7:12 PM
Originally posted by Davros

here's to Ireland winning the World Cup in your lifetime?!
hopefully within yours too :ball:

14/06/2004, 9:57 PM
Ah, Peace love and understanding. Great innnit?

14/06/2004, 11:52 PM
Plastic Paddy,Davros,A Face
I am apoligising about my personnal insults and all
other comments. Whats the use of the internet if you only use it to insult and force your views on other people? Hopefully this is behind us all now and
we can get back to talking about something we all love,soccer. Apoligies
again,
Tippman/boy

Sheeze ... fair play .... that is alot bigger than some of the people on these message boards. You have restored my faith in humanity :D !!

Happy Birthday Fella !!

Duncan Gardner
18/06/2004, 10:22 AM
No, your narrow minded because you cant see that an all Ireland league is the only way forward for both leagues. The vast majority of EL fans realise this but you dont because the political aspect of it completely over-shadows the positives of it for you. You are scared that it will lead to an all-Ireland national team (which again makes sense), its the 'our wee country' syndrome that leads me to call you narrow-minded.

Its political, you cant disagree with me isnt it?

Of course, I agree it's [party] political, but not entirely so. I doubt the vast majority of, say, Cork and Limerick fans would be that keen on long treks to Coleraine or Ballymena throughout the season. Cost is a big factor. So, I guess many of them would agree with me that a cup competition (eg merging the two existing ones after the QF stag) would be better.

You are basically saying that purely by disagreeing with you (ie preferring to support NI and the Irish League), I'm narrow-minded and possibly lack sense.

It's a wholly negative attitude and will get you nowhere, I'm afraid. Why don't you accept the compromise on offer, I'll happily buy ye a drink when Crues visit the Brandywell :)

PS Paddy- Belfast Inst was established (in 1810) as both school and post-school college, though the latter fell when Queen's opened.

They are still scumbags though. In a school rugby match 25 years ago their referee added on 15 minutes to the second half in an (unsuccessful) attempt to claw back a 4-6 defeat. During this period I got kicked in the head and had to go to the Mater with concussion :(