View Full Version : Waterford and Finn Harps
18/04/2011, 2:28 PM
A great win on Saturday night but have to say I was dissapointed with Gillespie I would start Brady in Donegal as Gillespie seems to be a better impact sub as we all expected he might be but the question is will he be happy with that?
Cowans goal was superb and the back four (except for one hairy moment when we couldnt get it away and they hit the bar) looked solid even when Des hope nearly got his head took off :)
and with Harps getting hammered on Friday it will be interesting to see how they react I say we attack them from the off 4-4-2 , still a very tough place to go and get a result in though but hopefully we can get all 3 points and stay in touch at the top, really enjoying the start to the season
18/04/2011, 3:03 PM
meh I didn't see the game but I think no harm starting keith again and give him a run of games and see how he fairs, he probably will be a better impact sub but you have to give lads consecutive games to see what they are going to be like.
We look capable of nicking this one and it would be great to keep tabs on the boys on top for another while, any idea why the crowd v waterford was so small?
18/04/2011, 3:31 PM
What was the official attendance anyone know and United City and Barca Madrid might have something to do with it
L.T.F.C.
18/04/2011, 3:54 PM
A great win on Saturday night but have to say I was dissapointed with Gillespie I would start Brady in Donegal as Gillespie seems to be a better impact sub as we all expected he might be but the question is will he be happy with that?
Cowans goal was superb and the back four (except for one hairy moment when we couldnt get it away and they hit the bar) looked solid even when Des hope nearly got his head took off :)
and with Harps getting hammered on Friday it will be interesting to see how they react I say we attack them from the off 4-4-2 , still a very tough place to go and get a result in though but hopefully we can get all 3 points and stay in touch at the top, really enjoying the start to the season
One thing about playing any sport, you will always get a result.
I thought Gillespie played well, as did Brady when he came on. I thought Hope was on the way out!!
Didn't think much of Gilliespie's performance the other night either but as was said above theres no harm giving him another start to see how he gets on,that was his first start for us so theres no need to be on his back just yet. A part from that great win for us, we were lucky in the second half when waterford hit the bar but other then that they didnt seem to threaten us and we looked pretty comfortable for most of the match. Shame we didnt add a second to make it more comfortable particularly when Don was one on one with the keeper but decided to try and place it from 30 yards out rather then run in and when skelly hit the post from after a fantastic header...
Crowd was terrible......
18/04/2011, 9:53 PM
according to the star today there was 400 at the match.. btw is ex town player niall byrne managin sacred heart nowadays? I see in todays star that Sacred heart have got thro to the next round of the fai cup and could possibly meet us! it would be gas if it happened!!
Awfullynice
18/04/2011, 11:19 PM
De Town has had a great start to the season. I think we will be hard to turn over at Flansiro. If we can manage a couple of away wins at places like Finn Harps, Mervue, Salthill Devon, Wexford and Athlone, I think we might be in contention for promo, because potentially 3 teams can be promoted this year. Don Cowan got Star rating of 9 on the paper. Keep it going Don
Crowd had to be effected by the foreign games going on - even the number of late entries must be an indicator of that.
Thought Gillespie was ok - didn't boss the game, but wasn't crap either. Very encouraging performance in my view. Don't know whether we're good enough, but we should be fighting at the right end of the table this year rather than scrapping to finish above Athlone.
Would Niall Byrne remember the way to the flansiro, his stay was so brief? Great song, and a great goal in Cork in the cup that year as well. Ah, the glory days...
19/04/2011, 9:23 AM
good interview with Ozzie on extratime.ie
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5435/skelly-happy-longford/
and Don http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5439/cowan-gives-thanks-and-praise/
great to see them linking up so well
Rocky77
19/04/2011, 9:49 AM
Niall Byrne was at our last game in the Prem against Derry in 07. My astro team were short numbers a few years ago and Macker and himself were going to play as ringers, but the game was postponed. Gutted I was, childhood dreams in tatters
19/04/2011, 10:01 AM
He's been down to games a couple of times over the years and gone to see us in Dublin a few times too I believe. Himself Paul McNally and Vinny Perth are all good mates. He seems to be doing good work at Sacred Heart by the looks of things.
Hadn't realised that, sounds like he's been around more since he left than when he was actually signed up! :)
21/04/2011, 12:32 AM
having lost to athlone I's say we are well capable of taking harps, hope so :D
21/04/2011, 11:14 AM
You'd think so but the LOI rarely works like that! We're due a draw actually so that's my prediction. 1-1. A win would be great though obviously.
21/04/2011, 4:57 PM
We're gonna batter ye, 5-0 I reckon.
21/04/2011, 6:44 PM
The Longford firm are travelling in numbers to kick seven bells out of ye Harpies. Win or lose Ballybofey will never be the same again. So I hear anyway.
21/04/2011, 8:18 PM
The Longford firm are travelling in numbers to kick seven bells out of ye Harpies. Win or lose Ballybofey will never be the same again. So I hear anyway.
Riot it is. About time we won something, it may as well be that.
21/04/2011, 8:43 PM
Good stuff. I'll let Martinho know you're up for the row and ye can organise it.
22/04/2011, 7:09 AM
2-1 to De Town
22/04/2011, 9:01 AM
2-1 to De Town
Get with the script man
22/04/2011, 9:10 AM
*throws his hat on the floor
I wont!
22/04/2011, 9:03 PM
2-1 to De Town
Oooh yeah
22/04/2011, 9:23 PM
Great result. Good performance too by the sounds of things.
23/04/2011, 12:11 AM
just back from ballybofey. town deserved to win but it was a tale of two halves. Jacques Morley scored a cracker of a freekick and then Gillespie hit a superb cross and Aussie easily jumped the harps defender to score. I like to compare Aussie to Andy Carroll. hes unbeatable in the air. Paul Hunt got a nasty scare when he jumped high for a cross and was clobbered by a harps player as he came to ground. unbeliveably he didnt get a card and got away with it again in the second half to hunt. luckily hunt was fit to continue.
second half harps were in the game more and a minute into the second half scored from a header of a corner which was their second. Nellie limped off injured hopefully he will come back soon and Paddy Collins came on. Harps got more into the game and it did get nervewrecking but Town held out for the win. I got told from a harps friend of mine at the game that Gallagher is quittin after the game.
atfconline
23/04/2011, 12:21 AM
Paul Hunt got a nasty scare when he jumped high for a cross and was clobbered by a harps player as he came to ground. unbeliveably he didnt get a card and got away with it again in the second half to hunt. luckily hunt was fit to continue.
Small lad up front? Did same thing to Schlingermann on Tuesday. Keeper's ball all the way, but your man just ploughed into him in mid air.
23/04/2011, 12:42 AM
Small lad up front? Did same thing to Schlingermann on Tuesday. Keeper's ball all the way, but your man just ploughed into him in mid air.
yep same fella who is he?
atfconline
23/04/2011, 12:51 AM
Oisin McMeniman.
23/04/2011, 8:38 AM
That was Marc Brolly last night, and it was Oisin McMenimen on Tues against Athlone. Really disgusting, I mean a player not pulling out of a 50/50 challenge, crazy stuff.
Austin Skelly wins everything in the air because he leads with his elbow everytime.
Don Cowan was the difference last night, savage player for ye.
As for the riot, one of our guys was having a little spat with a woman claiming to be a journo, both called each other some pretty poor insults and that was that. I wanted blood :( Maybe in Flancare?
23/04/2011, 10:14 AM
Austin Skelly wins everything in the air because he leads with his elbow everytime.
Ozzie only gave as good as he got agree with ya on Cowan tho he was fantastic yet again.
23/04/2011, 5:48 PM
Salthill at home next, good times! 6 wins out of 9 would have been beyond our wildest dreams at season start, if we beat them!
good to see Mr Gillespie settling in alright and the results going the right way, now I suppose we have to start worrying about Don being stolen from us
23/04/2011, 6:50 PM
Yeah I wouldn't expect to see Don here next season if he keeps up this form tbh, unless we go up which I doubt at the end of it all. Someone will take him on better money than we could give I'd say. But he has a contract for the season and I don't think anyone is really in a position to spend money buying him mid season so we'll make the most of him whilst he's here and do as well as we possibly can.
23/04/2011, 9:54 PM
As for the riot, one of our guys was having a little spat with a woman claiming to be a journo, both called each other some pretty poor insults and that was that. I wanted blood :( Maybe in Flancare?#
she is actually a journalist sam heggy I wont tell you who for though as its not my place to say so...
L.T.F.C.
24/04/2011, 1:05 AM
#
she is actually a journalist sam heggy I wont tell you who for though as its not my place to say so...
:dazed:
29/04/2011, 7:44 AM
http://www.donegaldaily.com/2011/04/29/foul-mouthed-finn-harps-fans-branded-a-disgrace/
I had to laugh at this to be honest.
“This was continued throughout the match by a small section of thugs masquerading as Finn Harps supporters.” :laugh:
29/04/2011, 9:33 AM
I actually thought the bit of banter was good craic.
I'm sure the ground was so packed he had no way of moving to a diferent part of the ground out of earshot.
29/04/2011, 11:21 AM
What a pansy.
29/04/2011, 12:09 PM
Imagine what yer fella would have said had Martinho not been such a pansy and got the riot going. :p
Town Legend
29/04/2011, 9:17 PM
He must be telling white lies on the part of following Longford Town for the last 15 years.......if thats the case he must be writing letters like that for every match week for the last 15 years!!! What a tool!
Keen2win
29/04/2011, 9:45 PM
No need to bash our own supporters, he could hear about this and decide never to come back again, stranger things have happened!!!
30/04/2011, 12:51 AM
Meh if he's that sensitive there'll be something else that sets him off. I don't know the man, and none of us are speaking on behalf of LTFC so if he has been going 15 years fair play but complaining about some bad language makes him sound like Victor Meldrew.
Tallanted
30/04/2011, 10:31 AM
I remember the play off final they were throwing coins at us, the recession has obviously forced new methods up that way!
Town Legend
01/05/2011, 3:39 PM
He maybe should take the family to golf or a tennis match instead if he's that sensitive over a bit of foul language!
01/05/2011, 8:24 PM
He maybe should take the family to golf or a tennis match instead if he's that sensitive over a bit of foul language!
You'd be surprised how heated a tennis match can get :)
Tallanted
02/05/2011, 1:16 PM
Thats why they wear whites keeps them cool!