View Full Version : Jason McAteer vs Stephen Cluxton
Cluxton has been one of the best goalkeepers in the GAA for a good few years. He might not have made it at soccer but we are talking professional/amateur here
We're talking regular sized goals and the kids sized ones the GAA use. He tried, and failed, to make it with a number of semi pro LOI teams too.
05/04/2011, 2:24 PM
cluxton isn't that good. I'm not being biased here but the best keeper in the GAA today and has been for a while is Geoffrey Claffey. Cluxton has big kick outs and plays for Dublin and that gets forgotten.
Though claffey never went for trials with any Soccer clubs either so that might be it.
Well Brendan Murphy and Gary Rogers were both excellent soccer goalkeepers that came from the GAA.
And plenty of keepers didn't play GAA at all....
The point wasn't that a GAA keeper can't be a good football keeper. The point was that being a good GAA keeper doesn't necessarily make you a good football keeper (as shown by Cluxton not being able to cut it in the bigger goals)
SwanVsDalton
05/04/2011, 3:07 PM
Well they ain't 'kid sized' when your stood between them in fairness, but I take your point. Regardless of goal size, the skill set is at a higher level in football. There's no real concept of a GAA keeper 'dominating their area' or organising the defence in the same way football keepers must. Plus I'd argue mistakes are forgiven far easier in GAA.
And it's always bothered me how being a big guy with a big kick-out is sometimes enough to be a keeper at GAA inter-county level - take Barry Gillis of Derry, a half-forward for his club. Mediocre (at best) shot-stopper but played at county-level for about four or five years.
TiocfaidhArmani
05/04/2011, 3:09 PM
ha ha thanks! Just making the point that Gah heads always seem to think that football is such an easy game to play and that they can master it in no time - not!
That's just false.
Uncle_Joe
05/04/2011, 3:26 PM
I believe it. I saw McAteer play for the Liverpool Legends back in March of 2009 at Turner's Cross. He ran the show and took it very seriously, the rest of the lads were just out for a stroll and he was putting in tackles left and right.
I saw him at the Ireland V England Legends game in Fulham a few years back. He took that game very seriously and while other people were having a giggle he was storming up and down the wing and scored a cracking goal. One of the best games I´ve seen him play for Ireland even if he was probably 10 years younger than most of the players on the pitch.
I don't rate Cluxton that highly as a keeper. Shane Supple is the Dubs sub keeper this year isn't he?
Gary Connaughton of Westmeath played for Athlone Town, although I don't know if he had much success with them.
05/04/2011, 3:48 PM
Well they ain't 'kid sized' when your stood between them in fairness, but I take your point. Regardless of goal size, the skill set is at a higher level in football. There's no real concept of a GAA keeper 'dominating their area' or organising the defence in the same way football keepers must. Plus I'd argue mistakes are forgiven far easier in GAA.
You never saw Shane Curran playing then.....
05/04/2011, 3:51 PM
I saw him at the Ireland V England Legends game in Fulham a few years back. He took that game very seriously and while other people were having a giggle he was storming up and down the wing and scored a cracking goal. One of the best games I´ve seen him play for Ireland even if he was probably 10 years younger than most of the players on the pitch.
Ya he was probably about 10 years younger than the average age that night. BUt ya he definitely was taking it seriouslly. We met quinn afterwards having pints with john salako and someone else.
05/04/2011, 4:07 PM
That's just false.
Well not for me as its from my experiences
Remember one gah head going on and on about this great training he was getting at his gah club - the kind of training that involves running on guys stomachs, hardcore stuff -
First training session with the Football crowd and he was pucking his guts out!!!!
05/04/2011, 4:28 PM
The point wasn't that a GAA keeper can't be a good football keeper. The point was that being a good GAA keeper doesn't necessarily make you a good football keeper (as shown by Cluxton not being able to cut it in the bigger goals)
I'm pretty sure it was Cluxton but if not then another Dublin GAA keeper was sent off and facing a 3 month ban. A St Pats offical and Dubs GAA fan agreed to a planted story in the Herald that Cluxton was signing for Pats as he'd be unable to play GAA. It worked and he just got a slap on the wrists. Maybe one for the Pats history book.
05/04/2011, 5:04 PM
Well not for me as its from my experiences
Remember one gah head going on and on about this great training he was getting at his gah club - the kind of training that involves running on guys stomachs, hardcore stuff -
First training session with the Football crowd and he was pucking his guts out!!!!
I know from experience that the Gaelic training in general is a lot more difficult than the soccer training, as in junior soccer club vs intermediate/senior football club.
05/04/2011, 5:06 PM
I'm pretty sure it was Cluxton but if not then another Dublin GAA keeper was sent off and facing a 3 month ban. A St Pats offical and Dubs GAA fan agreed to a planted story in the Herald that Cluxton was signing for Pats as he'd be unable to play GAA. It worked and he just got a slap on the wrists. Maybe one for the Pats history book.
I think i remember that incident, they were making out he was leaving gaelic for soccer, i never knew that was what it was about though....I think in the end the way the GAA suspension works is that he didnt have anymore intercounty games to play so it didnt matter(calendar months rather than months of gaelic season) - but he would probably have been suspended from club games, assumign they were still involved in the championship.
05/04/2011, 5:11 PM
I know from experience that the Gaelic training in general is a lot more difficult than the soccer training, as in junior soccer club vs intermediate/senior football club.
Must have had rubbish coaches then. I mean the coach I had (way back in the day I might add - cough!) was eventually snapped up by Longford town, was intensive and last two hours. Gah only goes on for about 70 mins, football 90 mins to 120 to penos - so even the game itself is much more intensive.
05/04/2011, 5:49 PM
I think i remember that incident, they were making out he was leaving gaelic for soccer, i never knew that was what it was about though....I think in the end the way the GAA suspension works is that he didnt have anymore intercounty games to play so it didnt matter(calendar months rather than months of gaelic season) - but he would probably have been suspended from club games, assumign they were still involved in the championship.
I thought it was for Dublin however if he was never sent off with Dublin still in the championship then maybe the Pats guy was in the same club as Cluxton. Sometime back in the mid 90's I'd guess. He definitely escaped a lengthy ban and was linked with Pats (Herald backpage special don't know if the reporter was in on it or spoofed) prior to his hearing.
05/04/2011, 6:37 PM
Geysir you are sounding like one of those AFL meatheads there.
Its alright when we do it, oh but begorrah don't do it to us.
What on earth are you babbling about now?
I'm somewhere between bennocelt and Geysir
You're nowhere Paul.
Fixer82
05/04/2011, 8:41 PM
Cluxton has been one of the best goalkeepers in the GAA for a good few years. He might not have made it at soccer but we are talking professional/amateur here.
Macateer may be pleasant and all that but if he was acting the ****** he shouldnt be moaning if he got what was coming to him.
There's nothing amateur about inter-county GAA
Fixer82
05/04/2011, 8:46 PM
Have to disagree here. GAA has much more running, is a faster game, bigger pitch, more physically taxing. Soccer is a much easier game to play if you're not fit. I've played both and GAA is much tougher fitness wise
Fixer82
05/04/2011, 8:50 PM
i remember Roy Keane saying about Jason years ago "I like Jason, but he's a bit daft!"
Have to disagree here. GAA has much more running, is a faster game, bigger pitch, more physically taxing. Soccer is a much easier game to play if you're not fit. I've played both and GAA is much tougher fitness wise
All depends on your position on the pitch and the level.
Junior
05/04/2011, 9:25 PM
You never saw Shane Curran playing then.....
Haha, I was gonna but I thought no, I'll let Paul have his 'cake' and eat it!
05/04/2011, 9:31 PM
"mcenteer was been a narky **** all match
gving out about everything
had a few run ins with clux
they then squared up and clux knocked him out"
got that from my mate....followed by mcateer was out on the ground. So maybe geysir(and me) was wrong about the striking action?! th
The Swordsman
05/04/2011, 10:34 PM
I thought it was for Dublin however if he was never sent off with Dublin still in the championship then maybe the Pats guy was in the same club as Cluxton. Sometime back in the mid 90's I'd guess. He definitely escaped a lengthy ban and was linked with Pats (Herald backpage special don't know if the reporter was in on it or spoofed) prior to his hearing.
I remember him being sent off in an All Ireland QF (I think) against Armagh 2002 or 2003. Dublin had a kick out but for some reason, he just ran about 30 yards out of his goal to take an Armagh player out.
Dublin had dominated the first half and went in about 4 or 5 points up but it should have been a lot more (the usual story at the time with wides). Armagh came out in the second half with a more physical approach and Dublin were struggling to keep up with them as Armagh turned the game around. Then Cluxton was sent off and that was the end of it as a contest.
Jinxy
05/04/2011, 10:55 PM
Must have had rubbish coaches then. I mean the coach I had (way back in the day I might add - cough!) was eventually snapped up by Longford town, was intensive and last two hours. Gah only goes on for about 70 mins, football 90 mins to 120 to penos - so even the game itself is much more intensive.
Would you accept that intercounty players are serious athletes?
Ceirtlis
05/04/2011, 11:21 PM
My point was not being a good keeper at a professional sport, soccer, does not stop you from being one of the best goalkeepers is an amateur sport where you would expect the standard to be lower, and was in response to a post about his ability at GAA.
His kicking is one of the best in the GAA and it is a much more important part of the game for a GAA goalkeeper than a soccer one.
Fixer82
05/04/2011, 11:59 PM
All depends on your position on the pitch and the level.
indeed. but i reckon even a junior half-back would run more than a soccer winger in a game
06/04/2011, 12:11 AM
I remember him being sent off in an All Ireland QF (I think) against Armagh 2002 or 2003. Dublin had a kick out but for some reason, he just ran about 30 yards out of his goal to take an Armagh player out.
Dublin had dominated the first half and went in about 4 or 5 points up but it should have been a lot more (the usual story at the time with wides). Armagh came out in the second half with a more physical approach and Dublin were struggling to keep up with them as Armagh turned the game around. Then Cluxton was sent off and that was the end of it as a contest.
Yeah I was it - daft decision. I think was more than 5 points - 7 or 8 maybe. Armagh won handy enough in the end. I remember it as a league game though.
06/04/2011, 6:45 AM
Would you accept that intercounty players are serious athletes?
No, and a lot of running doesnt mean diddly squat. Any serious training session these days has very little running.
an_ceannaire
06/04/2011, 8:48 AM
Fairs fair lads, anyone saying Cluxton isnt the best keeper in the GAA is either blind, biased or just a good old fashioned Anti Dub! He is far and away the best keeper and has been for 8 years or so now. Brilliant shot stopper, best kick outs of any keeper (vital in GAA), Excellent under a high ball. Mick O'Dwyer himself said Cluxton was the best keeper he had ever seen...EVER....in the GAA and that he had single handedly transformed the old role of the GAA keeper into a new Keeper and Full back rolled into one! Claffey being his equal, not to mind his superior, is frankly laughable to be honest!
Trigger is a mouth, we all know he is a mouth and from all known opinions of people who were at the match, he had it coming. And to then go on Newstalk and bitch about it was pathetic! And did you hear him with his "Cluxton cost Dublin and All Ireland in the past and lwet down all the people of Dublin" ..........like he has a clue what he is on about!!! :D
Must have had a quick "GAA Chat" with Mark Kennedy before his interview!
Regarding Bennocelts assertion about GAA players not being as fit as soccer players!!! Never hear the story about Geraghty at Arsenal no???? Any Galeic Footballer (not so much hurling) is every bit as fit as any soccer player. Easy
06/04/2011, 8:52 AM
No, and a lot of running doesnt mean diddly squat. Any serious training session these days has very little running.
What? No circuit training nothing? Thats probably why GAA training isn't adequate, its bloody too much running!! All about springs to the 14, 20, 30 and 40 etc etc.
06/04/2011, 8:53 AM
Fairs fair lads, anyone saying Cluxton isnt the best keeper in the GAA is either blind, biased or just a good old fashioned Anti Dub! He is far and away the best keeper and has been for 8 years or so now. Brilliant shot stopper, best kick outs of any keeper (vital in GAA), Excellent under a high ball. Mick O'Dwyer himself said Cluxton was the best keeper he had ever seen...EVER....in the GAA and that he had single handedly transformed the old role of the GAA keeper into a new Keeper and Full back rolled into one! Claffey being his equal, not to mind his superior, is frankly laughable to be honest!
Trigger is a mouth, we all know he is a mouth and from all known opinions of people who were at the match, he had it coming. And to then go on Newstalk and bitch about it was pathetic! And did you hear him with his "Cluxton cost Dublin and All Ireland in the past and lwet down all the people of Dublin" ..........like he has a clue what he is on about!!! :D
Must have had a quick "GAA Chat" with Mark Kennedy before his interview!
Regarding Bennocelts assertion about GAA players not being as fit as soccer players!!! Never hear the story about Geraghty at Arsenal no???? Any Galeic Footballer (not so much hurling) is every bit as fit as any soccer player. Easy
Id say you have seen Claffey at best once. That was probably against Cork.
I would have thought intercounty hurlers at a high standard are fitter than their equals in gaelic.
That was written in adams autobiography, and in fairness that is just one example, it doesn't mean every single intercounty player is at that level, even if he was one of the best at the bleep test.
That's just bizarre.
Have you seen the Cork or Dublin footballers lately?
I would have thought intercounty hurlers at a high standard are fitter than their equals in gaelic.
That was written in adams autobiography, and in fairness that is just one example, it doesn't mean every single intercounty player is at that level, even if he was one of the best at the bleep test.
They're not.
Trust me.
Being able to lash the ball 3/4 the length of the field makes a huge difference.
an_ceannaire
06/04/2011, 10:28 AM
They're not.
Trust me.
Being able to lash the ball 3/4 the length of the field makes a huge difference.
+1
If a player can bypass 70 yards with one lash, how is that the same?
I play Hurling, Football and Soccer and I used to play rugby. Far and away the one you had to be fittest for was Gaelic Football. As a footballer i was a wing back, as a soccer player i was a right winger, in hurling i was also a wing back and in rugby i was a centre. In gaelic football you would have to be i would at least 20% fitter than any of them. Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !
an_ceannaire
06/04/2011, 10:31 AM
Listen , Paul, I am not saying Claffey isnt a Decent goalie. I really amnt. I would have him on a level with Gary Connaughton, Brendan Murphy, Paul Hearty and Alan Quirke. He is a fine keeper, solid, unspectacular, decent.
Cluxton is another level altogether. There is a reason he has so many All Stars, so many Ireland caps, and is regularly mentioned nationwide as the best keeper in Ireland. Its because he is. Thats not a slight on Claffey, its just a fact., Stephen Cluxton simply IS the best Gaelic Keeper in Ireland today. And a man with as much experience as Mick O'Dwyer said he was "the best keeper in my lifetime" .....thats some statement!
Jinxy
06/04/2011, 10:37 AM
+1
If a player can bypass 70 yards with one lash, how is that the same?
I play Hurling, Football and Soccer and I used to play rugby. Far and away the one you had to be fittest for was Gaelic Football. As a footballer i was a wing back, as a soccer player i was a right winger, in hurling i was also a wing back and in rugby i was a centre. In gaelic football you would have to be i would at least 20% fitter than any of them. Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !
Sports Billy here. ;)
an_ceannaire
06/04/2011, 10:51 AM
Sports Billy here. ;)
Chalk it down :) Play to a FAIRLY decent level with Claughan in the ol Gah :)
Play soccer (poorly!) for Castle Rovers! Only place i can get a game!!
Played Rugby under age for St Marys (Limerick, nor Dublin obviously!).
06/04/2011, 10:55 AM
Although none of them come even close to the standard of fitness needed for tennis. FACT !
Every sport requires a different type of fitness. Football is more about pace and power whiel Gaelic football is more about stamina. Usian Bolt may be one of the fittest men on the planet but he couldn't run a marathon.
There's no right or wrong type of fitness, just whatever suits your game.
Jinxy
06/04/2011, 12:53 PM
Every sport requires a different type of fitness. Football is more about pace and power whiel Gaelic football is more about stamina. Usian Bolt may be one of the fittest men on the planet but he couldn't run a marathon.
It's not really.
06/04/2011, 12:54 PM
That's just bizarre.
Have you seen the Cork or Dublin footballers lately?
Was talking about football. What, they are all beefed up and fit, wow thats good for them. Still wud be rubbish on a football field
06/04/2011, 12:59 PM
What! Thats another one the gah heads like to peddle - Colm Cooper was the latest one I heard that was a great football player, had all the trials and the like, clubs lining up to sign him - but you know its much better to play gah in kerry than play football - Yeah right, give me a break!
Of course footballers are fitter - its their livelihood, its a professional sport.
06/04/2011, 1:06 PM
Very true, i had a mate who did the london marathon last year, and yet he struggled at Gaelic Football training -when he finished the marathon i.e. a week later. The shuttle runs particularly. There are very many different types of running and very different types of fitness. Its not just black and white.
Fixer82
06/04/2011, 2:11 PM
I played both hurling and football at decent levels and football definitely requires more fitness. It's also, believe it or not, generally more physical. Hurling is about hand-eye co-ordination, speed and skill. Football is more running and physicality
ltfc_2004
06/04/2011, 2:26 PM
Anyway Paul, the best keeper for the Rossies had to be Gay Sheerin of St Ronans although played midfield for his Club. Claffey has a long way to go yet but hopefully he will have a league winners medal in 3 weeks time.
06/04/2011, 5:00 PM
He still plays for them the odd time ye nkow ltfc_2004 :D
In goals though not outfield ;)
gastric
06/04/2011, 10:01 PM
Different types of fitness are needed for different sports. Tony Buckley of Munster is a prime example - 125 kilos and he is 6' 5'! Usain Bolt better be careful.