View Full Version : New England Football Shirt.

08/06/2004, 9:42 AM
What's the story, are England playing in red as their first choice colour for the Euro 2004 championships?
Think it's a really nice shirt.
Pitty scUmbro couldn't throw together a decent shirt for Ireland.
Good to see England putting the star on their shirts now too.

08/06/2004, 9:48 AM
It makes me jealous. :(

08/06/2004, 9:50 AM
It makes me jealous. :(

Why, because of what could have been in Korea/Japan?
We'd never have beaten Brazil.

sylvo
08/06/2004, 9:57 AM
Seen a lot of them being worn out and about over here while driving around, they seem to all come with a free beer gut, skinhead and tatoo's. I think the deal with the red is that it'll match their face's if uefa boot them out when their scum fan's start trying to wreck the tournament.

dortie
08/06/2004, 9:59 AM

Who cares........

If you ask me it looks stupid considering how great a football nation they claim to be....One world cup to their name ???

Now brasil on the other hand, theirs looks impressive.

08/06/2004, 10:22 AM
God Almighty boys. I'm no apologist for the English, and certainly no fan of England, but good luck to them. It's time to let some of the vitriol and hatred go. Never nimd the beer-gutted neanderthals; they embarrass and appal the decent English (of which there are many; Mrs PP being one) as much as they do the rest of us.

We are Ireland. We are defined by who we are, and not by our relationship with the English. Time to move on.

:) PP

08/06/2004, 10:31 AM
We are Ireland. We are defined by who we are, and not by our relationship with the English. Time to move on.

Brilliantly put PP, couldn't agree more.
If your mantra spreads we might even stop hijacking their internet polls :rolleyes: .

08/06/2004, 10:46 AM
Seen a lot of them being worn out and about over here while driving around, they seem to all come with a free beer gut, skinhead and tatoo's. I think the deal with the red is that it'll match their face's if uefa boot them out when their scum fan's start trying to wreck the tournament.

what a pile of sh1te, i'm a skin head....am i scum ???? how did you get that time machine to live 800 years ago, move on like the rest of us or you'll just end up old bitter and twisted.

08/06/2004, 10:46 AM
Kinda on topic but maybe not....

Did FIFA make some sort of announcement about the star thing or did Nike/adidas/umbro just decide that sticking it on the jersies might seel more?

Agree that the Brazil thing looks cool (as does Rangers' in Scotland) 3 stars is good too...

08/06/2004, 10:53 AM
Kinda on topic but maybe not....

Did FIFA make some sort of announcement about the star thing or did Nike/adidas/umbro just decide that sticking it on the jersies might seel more?

Agree that the Brazil thing looks cool (as does Rangers' in Scotland) £ stars is good too..

Given that in club football terms at least, convention dictates that each star represents a victory in the respective continental football championship, Rangers have no right to one star let alone five. So, very much in their case, the shirt manufacturers have decided it would sell more tops. But I digress.

08/06/2004, 11:27 AM
Well no, convention dictates that, in club football, a star is achieved by the winning of 10 league titles. (convention being the Italian league as they are they only country to do so)

Celtic are the ones who ****ed convention and gave themself a star for winning the european cup (probably as a response to Rangers' five stars)

08/06/2004, 11:32 AM
Well no, convention dictates that, in club football, a star is achieved by the winning of 10 league titles. (convention being the Italian league as they are they only country to do so)

Fair enough. The Italians also have a natty little bullseye that gets added to the shirts of the Italian Cup winners for the following season. :)

Celtic are the ones who ****ed convention and gave themself a star for winning the european cup (probably as a response to Rangers' five stars)

For once, I'll not defend them. I'd been led to understand that the norm was as I'd called it. (Which, I guess, would mean all Real Madrid shirts would need to be XL size for their nine stars, no? :D )

08/06/2004, 11:46 AM
I'm no apologist for the English, and certainly no fan of England, but good luck to them.

It's hard to be a fan of a team with Sven-Goran Eriksson at the helm.
I was praying he'd go to Chelsea so that he could make them rubbish.

As for the England team, it's the only one in the finals that I could name every single squad member and probably all the coaching staff too.
Once the French game is over, I'll be cheering for England.
Can't ever see myself buying an England shirt but I doubt I'd burn in hell for liking the look of it.

lopez
08/06/2004, 11:49 AM
what a pile of sh1te, i'm a skin head....am i scum ???? how did you get that time machine to live 800 years ago, move on like the rest of us or you'll just end up old bitter and twisted.Oh dear! Obviously someone with little contact with the finer specimens of the master race...and a short memory considering the wonderful show put on in February 1995 at Lansdowne Road.

BTW, I'm a Skinhead and have a beer gut, but the point being made was that I don't walk around with a face screwed up like a dog's ar*e complaining about how 'Europe' is taking over the country, too many asylum seekers, all Paddies are in the IRA, etc, etc. As for the so-called decent fans, the bullsh*t is laughable. One, claiming to be from the FSA or whatever - usual w*nkers complaining about the foreign police at fault for everything that the rest of us have no problem with (wonder why????) - was saying last week that the Portuguese Police should realise that when the scum are making noise 'it's cos they're En-ger-lish.' What a joke! If you've ever been on a bus in this country when foreign students get on and the tut-tutting from the poor natives because the peace is broken, you'd know that this is pure sh*tting on other people's doorsteps. F*ck them and Allez la France!

08/06/2004, 12:21 PM

Now that's a statement that I'll never understand, not that I'm slagging you for it Peadar...each to their own I say. The reason the vast majority hate the English is because of the arrogant attitude of superiority that is ingrained into the vast majority( not all ) of them. What makes me laugh is that the reason they hate the French is for the exact same reasons... they think the French are arrogant and don't like it yet don't seem to comprehend that that is the exact reason why they themselves are disliked.
I don't "hate" the English........but I could never wish them well at anything.

08/06/2004, 12:35 PM
God Almighty boys. I'm no apologist for the English, and certainly no fan of England, but good luck to them. It's time to let some of the vitriol and hatred go.

:eek: Shocked, PP. I'd have thought you of all people would have wanted them out as soon as possible. Ye must have to put up with some amount of ****e from their media when they do well.

As for me, hope they lose every game. England losing is the next best thing to Ireland winning.

08/06/2004, 12:59 PM
As for the England team, it's the only one in the finals that I could name every single squad member and probably all the coaching staff too.

That would be my attitude too, I can't understand why people would want them to do badly (please nobody even bother to mention 800 years or something equally stupid). I wouldn't say I'd be cheering for them but I'd like to see them do well.
Of course all the ignorant barstoolers who normally love Michael Owen, Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes et al will "hate them English cnuts" for the next month :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

08/06/2004, 1:07 PM
Now that's a statement that I'll never understand

What's there to understand?
I'm a fan of football and can't wait for the first game to kick off on Saturday.
Some of the French players amaze me with their talent and skill.
If they play to their potential then I look forward to enjoying their sublime skill all the way to the final.
Since they're in the same group as England they can't meet again until the final. There is, therefore, no conflict of interest unless both teams make it to the final.

08/06/2004, 1:16 PM
What's there to understand?
I'm a fan of football and can't wait for the first game to kick off on Saturday.
Some of the French players amaze me with their talent and skill.
If they play to their potential then I look forward to enjoying their sublime skill all the way to the final.
Since they're in the same group as England they can't meet again until the final. There is, therefore, no conflict of interest unless both teams make it to the final.

Was meaning that I couldn't understand why anyone would be cheering the English other than themselves....

08/06/2004, 1:21 PM
I don't care who wins the bloody thing once I get to see some good football along the way, particularly looking forward to
France -v- England
Spain -v- Portugal
Czechs -v- Holland

and the Swiss games to see what they're like.

The only reason I wouldn't want to see England win is because their media would hype it up so much. The thing is we'd do the same, but because we're so exposed to their newspapers and TV it'd be right in our faces. Then again, I successfully managed to avoid most of their post Rugby WC celebrations so it can be done.

Here's to a cracking tournament though, whoever wins :ball: :ball:

08/06/2004, 1:22 PM
Was meaning that I couldn't understand why anyone would be cheering the English other than themselves....

Because they have some fine footballers?!

08/06/2004, 1:24 PM
Oh dear! Obviously someone with little contact with the finer specimens of the master race...and a short memory considering the wonderful show put on in February 1995 at Lansdowne Road.

BTW, I'm a Skinhead and have a beer gut, but the point being made was that I don't walk around with a face screwed up like a dog's ar*e complaining about how 'Europe' is taking over the country, too many asylum seekers, all Paddies are in the IRA, etc, etc. As for the so-called decent fans, the bullsh*t is laughable. One, claiming to be from the FSA or whatever - usual w*nkers complaining about the foreign police at fault for everything that the rest of us have no problem with (wonder why????) - was saying last week that the Portuguese Police should realise that when the scum are making noise 'it's cos they're En-ger-lish.' What a joke! If you've ever been on a bus in this country when foreign students get on and the tut-tutting from the poor natives because the peace is broken, you'd know that this is pure sh*tting on other people's doorsteps. F*ck them and Allez la France!

right back at ya, over here complaining about the euro, power of europe etc, all the foreigners stealing our jobs and living off the dole and how every englisg person is the devils son/daughter.....and most of these sing rebel songs, drink bulmers and wear celtic jerseys, but should i just generalise like you ???

there are good and bad in all fans, rovers are a prime example over here as are millwall over there, cop on, grow up and live your life. :)

08/06/2004, 1:26 PM
Of course all the ignorant barstoolers who normally love Michael Owen, Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes et al will "hate them English cnuts" for the next month :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Well what abouit those of us who aren't barstoolers? Are we allowed want them to fail?

Look at tiktok's post for my reason for not wanting them to do well...

08/06/2004, 1:45 PM
What would sport be if couldn't cheer England to failure? Sure the Welsh & Scots will be doing the same & they are part of the same State...

BTW England will fail cos ain't got good enough keeper, Sven is the worst manager although good PR man to manager england in years & if Michale Owen can't chase those long balls they've no other tactic.

Not looked at draw so dunno if possible but France v italy final again for me.

sylvo
08/06/2004, 2:02 PM
what a pile of sh1te, i'm a skin head....am i scum ???? how did you get that time machine to live 800 years ago, move on like the rest of us or you'll just end up old bitter and twisted.

Mmm bitter and twisted, today Max over here with five day's to go before the self appointed football master race play their first game i've already witnessed the tail end of a Turkish woman having to take a load of abuse by some w***er who then proudly marched off, as well as nearly every 3rd or 4th person going on about foreign c**t's, when i'm heading across europe in my time macine :D watching Ireland i can't say i've ever got firmed up and terrorised the local people like those nice misunderstood guy's that yer good self is defending. God bless the people of Portugal for the next few week's cause i know only to well what's about to land up in their country, and i hope the local fuzz put the scum in their place at the first time of asking. As my good mate Lopez put it f**k em, allez la France.

08/06/2004, 2:29 PM
God Almighty boys. I'm no apologist for the English, and certainly no fan of England, but good luck to them. It's time to let some of the vitriol and hatred go. Never nimd the beer-gutted neanderthals; they embarrass and appal the decent English (of which there are many; Mrs PP being one) as much as they do the rest of us.

Spot on ! a truer word has never been wrote on this message board !

08/06/2004, 2:29 PM
:eek: Shocked, PP. I'd have thought you of all people would have wanted them out as soon as possible. Ye must have to put up with some amount of ****e from their media when they do well.

I do have to put up with all the numptiness, Brendy. I also had to put up with my missus threatening to leave if I didn't curb the English-hating myself. She just got sick of it because, as I'm a Celtic fan, she got it on two fronts. When all was said and done, I had a good hard think and realised that she's much more important to me than football. And I really do love my football, as anyone that knows me will confirm. :)

Hatred's poison, as you yourself will know, being from Stroke City and all. Just because sections of the English seem to excel in it - see the examples given elsewhere in this thread - doesn't mean we need to lower ourselves any in reaction.

lopez
08/06/2004, 7:46 PM
right back at ya, over here complaining about the euro, power of europe etc, all the foreigners stealing our jobs and living off the dole and how every englisg person is the devils son/daughter.....and most of these sing rebel songs, drink bulmers and wear celtic jerseys, but should i just generalise like you ???
You just did. :rolleyes: I don't need to be informed about general racism in Ireland after doing a thesis for an MA two years ago. The point is we are talking about football here and, I may be wrong :rolleyes: , but Irish football fans haven't smashed up any foreign cities. In fact the last incident at an Irish international (not involving the scum) I was at was Switzerland 85 when - this may come as a bit of surprise here to you - an Englishman (mind you it could have been a Swiss fan with a Manc accent) led a group of neo-nazis into the ground for a punch up waving the butcher's apron (before it became unfashionable amongst the scum).

I'm sorry but accusations of generalisations about the scum is a bit pointless with their history. Over in Amsterdam at the weekend and the Englishman abroad was as much a w*nker as ever. I personally can't see them behaving in Portugal - which if it means them being slung out of the tournament in disgrace, or a couple being sent home in body bags, I fervently hope they don't anyway: They should have been thrown out in at least in 2000 and lost any right to host the tournament after their visit to Ireland in 1995. The highlight came in a pub full of fans of the club - foot.ie member Daxion was there also so it's not just my imagination - that claims it has the best anti-fascist credentials (Man Ure) singing 'I'd rather be a ****** than a scouse.' Still shouldn't generalise!

there are good and bad in all fans, rovers are a prime example over here as are millwall over there, cop on, grow up and live your life.I would judge the scum not on their own pond-life standards, as you clearly do - they have a few rotten apples :D :rolleyes: but they are mostly alright - but on the fans or other countries around Europe. Despite the English rags' tendency to shift the attention elsewhere I've never had any major problem with supporters in Western Europe (or most of Eastern Europe - Poland supposedly a hotbed was no problem in April). Holland, with its 'notorious' history last Saturday is the basic standard for me. As for your laughable comparison of Rovers to Millwall, well that shows that you're not short of your own little petty prejudices either.

Beavis
08/06/2004, 8:59 PM
It's boring if you've no-one to hate.Like the Swiss.They've nothing meaningful to sing about.

Lux Interior
08/06/2004, 11:23 PM
I shall be in Lisbon on Sunday, at the match, with several English mates and having a few beers, all so far far removed from some of the hysterical - but predictable - stereotypical comments on here.

Thumbs up to Peader and Max (although your ****ing in the wind with the jaundiced likes of Che and Dev here, lads).

Think I'll wear my Glens shirt next time Im down Dublin just to see if it really is the 'Land of a 1000 Welcomes'.

09/06/2004, 9:31 AM
I shall be in Lisbon on Sunday, at the match, with several English mates and having a few beers, all so far far removed from some of the hysterical - but predictable - stereotypical comments on here.

Thumbs up to Peader and Max (although your ****ing in the wind with the jaundiced likes of Che and Dev here, lads).

Think I'll wear my Glens shirt next time Im down Dublin just to see if it really is the 'Land of a 1000 Welcomes'.

Doubt you'll find 1,000 people who know what jersey it is mate, and I'd be surprised to if even 1% of those were offended by it. COme to a Pats game wearing it. More than welcome...

sylvo
09/06/2004, 9:42 AM

So all those violent scene's over the last god know's how many year's with the scum in europe was all part of people's imagination then. I'd stand well back when these so called hard men make their move's on trashing Lisbon, cause the local fuzz look like their not taking any mucking about from the scum from the word go. Btw why would you think you'd get stick for wearing a Glen's shirt in Dublin, sure yer wearing the shirt of an Irish team.

09/06/2004, 10:03 AM
So all those violent scene's over the last god know's how many year's with the scum in europe was all part of people's imagination then. I'd stand well back when these so called hard men make their move's on trashing Lisbon, cause the local fuzz look like their not taking any mucking about from the scum from the word go.
How many fans will be involved in the trouble, out of how many fans that make the trip? All teams have their hooligan element who cause mither, just multiplied for England abroad.

lopez
09/06/2004, 10:21 AM
How many fans will be involved in the trouble, out of how many fans that make the trip? All teams have their hooligan element who cause mither, just multiplied for England abroad. :D :D :D More revisionism from the hillbillies of Longford. How many fans have come to Dublin and started a riot? :rolleyes:

I shall be in Lisbon on Sunday, at the match, with several English mates and having a few beers, all so far far removed from some of the hysterical - but predictable - stereotypical comments on here.Good luck! Nice to see you supporting your national team. None of this four 'nations' (sic.) within one country b*llocks, not that it gives Britain anymore teams at major finals. You'll definitely feel at home with the UVF flags carried by the greatest supporters on earth, something that I've personally seen is absent from Windsor Park these days. I suppose it gives it a hands-across-the-sea feel to it all.

As for the glentoran shirt, tell you what you lend it to me and I'll wear when I'm over in August (Get some pictures aswell). I've seen people walking around in tan shirts in Ireland and cheering the scum during their game against Poland in a pub round the corner from Merrion Square as far back as 1993 when I was last over with my old man, so it's time to get real! Like your recent blinkered assessment of the Irish language, you should actually take the trouble visiting the Republic.

sylvo
09/06/2004, 7:27 PM

Behave yerself now Lux, i hope yer have a nice time sucking up to the tan's. :p

sylvo
09/06/2004, 7:56 PM
How many fans will be involved in the trouble, out of how many fans that make the trip? All teams have their hooligan element who cause mither, just multiplied for England abroad.

How many country's going into Euro 2004 have been told they'll be booted out if there's any trouble, one. How many country's were told they'd be booted out of euro 2000 if their fan's did'nt stop wrecking the place, again one.
Never seen any other country when following Ireland causing problem's, the only one's i've seen are those so called small minorty you seem to be defending.

sylvo
09/06/2004, 8:12 PM
The Macedonians were getting a bit lively that time in Skopje,until our banter dispersed them......

PS.Sylvo.....Yer signature;not inspired by a Mr.Cawley,per chance?!

No i think you'll find that was your chant's about the Yugoslavian situation that had a couple of them asking qustion's.

No the signature is deffinetly not about that fine man.

10/06/2004, 2:37 PM

You don't honestly think anyone will know what it is, do you? :D

10/06/2004, 2:48 PM
How many country's going into Euro 2004 have been told they'll be booted out if there's any trouble, one. How many country's were told they'd be booted out of euro 2000 if their fan's did'nt stop wrecking the place, again one.
Never seen any other country when following Ireland causing problem's, the only one's i've seen are those so called small minorty you seem to be defending.
Never seen the Germans or Dutch having riots at international tournaments? Believe me, I've little time for England fans - most of them are c0ckney w@nkers for starters, but to tar them all with the same brush is just another form of the "all paddies are thick drunkards" mentality.

If some of you hate the "tans" so much, why stay there considering you're all so bitter? It's alright to live, work, socialise etc with those you seem to detest so much. Not like there's been a shortage of opportunities the last 10 years or so to return home, it's your choice to remain in the (three) lions den.

10/06/2004, 3:02 PM
Never seen the Germans or Dutch having riots at international tournaments?

I was in Amsterdam during Euro 2000 and when the Dutch were knocked they spilled out of the pubs and caused a riot. They trashed the place. How many of you saw that on TV? I saw it with my own eyes and I'll tell you, they went mental. The cops didn't know what to do.

lopez
10/06/2004, 8:42 PM
Believe me, I've little time for England fans - most of them are c0ckney w@nkers for starters... :confused:

...but to tar them all with the same brush is just another form of the "all paddies are thick drunkards" mentality. or that most tans are 'c0ckney w@nkers for starters.'

If some of you hate the "tans" so much, why stay there considering you're all so bitter? It's alright to live, work, socialise etc with those you seem to detest so much. Not like there's been a shortage of opportunities the last 10 years or so to return home, it's your choice to remain in the (three) lions den.Ahh, the old 'why don't you f*ck off home' line.:rolleyes: If I'm right in thinking you once lived in Britain? Well I don't know what your reasons for leaving, but take away the arrogant minority (here comes the key difference) from the population as a whole - those who follow Eng-er-land passionately and either take part in or are apologists for their behaviour in football matches in Europe over the last 27 years, vote BNP, UKIP or that latest cabal to extol the greatness of this so-called 'country' - the country is not a bad place to live.

There are also two things to remember: 1. The country I live in is Britain, Great Britain, UK, not this fake pie-in-the-sky country called En-ger-land. 2. I pay my taxes: I can live wherever the f*ck and support whoever the f*ck I like.

I was in Amsterdam during Euro 2000 and when the Dutch were knocked they spilled out of the pubs and caused a riot. They trashed the place. How many of you saw that on TV? I saw it with my own eyes and I'll tell you, they went mental. The cops didn't know what to do.Wowwww! One riot in 27 years since Luxembourg was trashed in 1977. That is some list. I'd like to make a list of riots our wonderful friends from tanland have started since 1977 but I haven't got the time.

How many times have we played Holland in that time? 13 times. I've been to eleven of those games and the only trouble I saw were at the two away games in 1981 and 1982: The first game I saw two Irish punks with tricolour mohicans abuse a black man in the street near Rotterdam Station which ended in a white neighbour helping the black man lay into them and getting all of them arrested. Shortly later a London-Irish fan (or as Macy would put it, a c0ckney w@nker) set fire to a Dutch flag - 'cos of the colours' :rolleyes: - outside the Double Diamond pub nearby. The second game's 'action' consisted of both sides shouting abuse at each other after the Irish had a few beers thrown at them from above.

Hardly compares with the Lansdowne Road riot, the attack on a sparsely populated pub in Kilburn in which I was in before the 1991 match and received a gash from a glass thrown ito the pub, and the trouble at every Irish game since 1980, not to mention every other England match where there's been trouble (Despite the rise of hooliganism in 1977 at England games the tans were absent from Dublin in 1978 - like Scotland games until the mid eighties - for fear of getting a bit of their own medicine which I believe befell Newcastle supporters a couple of years earlier on a visit to Bohs.)

11/06/2004, 7:59 AM
Lopez, I said most of them were C0ckney W@nkers, didn't say most of them were C0ckney Hooligan W@nkers. They're mainly w@nkers because they do things like drink out of caps instead of cups...

Just because that's the only report you've ever seen on the German or Dutch hooligans, doesn't mean it was the only incident. Obviously every incident involving England will be on the tele here and in the UK - they're not going to report on other countries. The German and Dutch fans may not be as notorious as the England fans, but they certainly aren't that far behind in terms of causing trouble.

lopez
11/06/2004, 8:35 AM
Just because that's the only report you've ever seen on the German or Dutch hooligans, doesn't mean it was the only incident. Obviously every incident involving England will be on the tele here and in the UK - they're not going to report on other countries. The German and Dutch fans may not be as notorious as the England fans, but they certainly aren't that far behind in terms of causing trouble.Another myth is the old media-are-out-to-get-us old line. During the game with Germany in 2001 the tabloids were all set to run stories of hooliganism in Munich. Because the tans won by such a significant number of goals and there was a national outpouring of euphoria the news was ditched. Of course you wouldn't have heard about that because the Irish newspaper media is dominated by British titles - and we should define ourselves as something other than with the British? - or titles that get their news syndicated from the British press. Another airbrushing of history, although on a smaller scale, was the Scum (the newspaper) failing to print any photos of hooligans with their stupid hats during France 98.

As for reporting other countries, YES, every action by Turkish fans is currently reported in Britain in an effort to deflect attention from the scum (in the past the same was with the Dutch but their hooliganism has been controlled).

The German and Dutch fans may not be as notorious as the England fans, but they certainly aren't that far behind in terms of causing trouble. This sounds like it's coming from someone who hasn't had much dealings with German or Dutch fans. Viz a viz the Irish, where is the evidence? While there are hooligans everywhere they are not as omnipresent as with the tans, not even at English club level. Last weekend, myself, Sylvo and his better half stopped at a pub packed full of orange shirts on the way to the ArenA. We had a great time. Imagine that scenario with the tans? Well you might, but having been there I know that a similar entrance into The Globe in Baker Street on matchday by visiting fans would be far less welcoming. And you call the difference here between the Germans/Dutch and the scum as not 'that far behind in terms of causing trouble.' I'd call it having a lot more time for tan hooligans than you're willing to admit.

The irony is Senor,you seem to be better informed than most of the naive populace who post on here & think that the large solar entity shine out of their 'benevolent'neighbours' anal orifices............... ;)Obviously none of these apologists were the ones who found themselves in amongst the tans in 95, and subsequently took the FAI to court. One bloke summed it up at the case by saying he was abused, both verbally and physically, so much that he had to run out of the section. His trauma included a subsequent lack of self-worth because of the guilt at his inability to combat - being far outnumbered - any of the c*nts on equal terms. Says a lot about the brave and honourable hooligan portrayed in sh*te like The Football Factory.

11/06/2004, 8:47 AM
I'd call it having a lot more time for tan hooligans than you're willing to admit.
I have no time for the England Hooligans, particularly given their C18/BNP Links. However, I don't believe that all England fans are hoolies/C18/BNP, or that they're the only fans in Europe that cause trouble. Both are patently untrue, and no matter how many incidents you quote isn't going to tar every single england fan as a hoolie as far as any reasonable person is concerned.

lopez
11/06/2004, 9:09 AM
I have no time for the England Hooligans, particularly given their C18/BNP Links. However, I don't believe that all England fans are hoolies/C18/BNP, or that they're the only fans in Europe that cause trouble. Both are patently untrue, and no matter how many incidents you quote isn't going to tar every single england fan as a hoolie as far as any reasonable person is concerned.What is patently untrue is that the gap between the tans and Germany and Holland is miniscule. You're right about EVERY England fan - one I know gave up going to England games in the eighties because of the hassle which was caused NOT by foreign police or fans but by his fellow countrymen - but frankly I've come across so many w*nkers amongst them I couldn't be ar*ed to ask whether they are a hooligan or they aren't. And if they are apologists for English hoolganism they are the same as the real thing to me.

sylvo
11/06/2004, 1:37 PM
Never seen the Germans or Dutch having riots at international tournaments? Believe me, I've little time for England fans - most of them are c0ckney w@nkers for starters, but to tar them all with the same brush is just another form of the "all paddies are thick drunkards" mentality.

If some of you hate the "tans" so much, why stay there considering you're all so bitter? It's alright to live, work, socialise etc with those you seem to detest so much. Not like there's been a shortage of opportunities the last 10 years or so to return home, it's your choice to remain in the (three) lions den.

Thank's for the Cead mile failte to come home, i've got a house in Ireland which i'm slowing doing up in ready for my homecoming, but as Lopez said i also pay my tax'es and national insurance and after all our community built this country, and seeing that all that cockney's and northerner's rivlary mean's f**k all to me i also include our fellow Irish community in Manchester who also helped in building the place, so i'll come home when i click my finger's not when anyone else does.
Yea i know the tan's are'nt the only country to have a problem, i've meet a good few of the local yob's on my travel's, and they've all f**cked off when we've said not interested to their offer of a ruck i have to say, unlike our misunderstood buddy's who don't ask for an invite.
On Saturday my freind, while meself and my collen were having a romantic stroll taking in a fantastic day, result and the craic we'd just had with every Dutch fan we met, my collen was pushed over and had all the Holland football team stuff which had been kindly handed to her by some of the cracking Dutch fan's we'd been drinking with taken from her by some W**ker backed up by anything up to 15 of his mate's all in their tan shirt's, (which Amsterdam was full of last weekend), all doing their bit to stop me from chashing after the w**nker, looking back i'm glad she told me to leave it, soooo i'm soooo soooo sorry if any thing to do with the 3 puddy caaat's meet's with a negative responce from me but having to take my collen back to our hotel in a shocked and upset state thank's to them still p**ses my off.
As for all this not tarring them all the same brush, my father was'nt chilling out in London in the the 70's with an active service unit but it did'nt stop him from getting roughed up a few time's by PC Plod, on one occasion when asked why he was getting hassell he was told a line that i used on an tan fan who was giving out about the treatment they got at the hand's of the Belgian fuzz to me, ''YOU REEP WHAT YOU F**KING SOW MATE''

Pat O' Banton
11/06/2004, 4:58 PM
Silvo how ya doing?!?

While it has been said that the Dutch fans rioted post Italy game in the 2000 tourny, the idea of thousands of Orange clad blokes in stupid hats spreading fear across Europe in the same way that the Ralf Lauren brigade has is purely laughable.
If anyone is in any doubt about the way that English fans view violence, next time you are in England walk into any large bookshop, go to the sports section and see how many hooligan books are there, even better open them and have a look through the pics and in you will find that many will have at least one lad giving a right hand salute. It is purely violence as glamour and the fact that since 1990 there has been a publishing upsurge in this shows that it sells.
Of course the majority of fans are not violent but the percentage of these that subscribe to the theory to the foreigners are there to be abused is not pleasent.

Do have sympathy with PP's statement (post 31) as Mrs O' Banton supports England and have certainly mellowed in relation to my attitude towards England but both she and I know that while I won't openly be cheering France on Sunday I will not be upset when they eventually go out.

lopez
11/06/2004, 8:22 PM
You've hit the nail on the head here. Two things I read today.

1. A report in the Scum (so don't take it at face value - BTW, I found it on a train...seriously... :o ) claims that tans will be allowed to break the law and smoke the moroccan old holborn as this makes them non-violent. Why stop there? Let them take heroin!

2. And this is more serious, the Scum FA have got lawyers lined up to fight any eviction of the Scum from the tournament. Once again, ducking their responsibilities and being apologists for hooliganism.

People say a fashion lasts upto thirty years. Making following the scum unappealing to the burberry brigade is the only solution. It certainly occurs with the England rugby team who have little history of trouble despite drawing many fans (especially in the west country) from the same lower middle/working class backgrounds that the scum come from. However the fashion of contempt for foreigners in Britain and what I would term the 'cult of war, is as high as ever across much of English society and this is a crucial difference between Britain and France, Germany, Holland etc.

sylvo
14/06/2004, 4:18 PM

AAHHH I do hope snow white and the seven dwarf's had a nice time last night. :(