View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 1 April)
bluewhitearmy
02/04/2011, 10:55 AM
Anybody know what age Kevin Dawson for Shels is he looks a great player.
02/04/2011, 12:00 PM
They are making a habit of those late late goals against Shels. ;)
This one apparently was a point won overall and not 2 points lost according to Buile Suibhne on Shelsweb.
Still annoying to concede late goals especially against them. The shower.
shelsfan1
02/04/2011, 12:50 PM
Anybody know what age Kevin Dawson for Shels is he looks a great player.
20. Was my Man of the Match last night. Looks like he's gonna be a decent player for us.
Could be a long season watching Bohs' accounts if that continues.
Lord have mercy on us all... UCD for the League!! ;)
So no bus bricked:confused: its just got boring:plane:
I thought it was a great game, definitely the best of the weekend:hat:
Rasputin
02/04/2011, 4:45 PM
I thought it was a great game, definitely the best of the weekend:hat:
How was the flight?
02/04/2011, 6:46 PM
Longford 1-0 up v Athlone. Jacques Morley direct from a corner apparently.
2-0 now, Austin Skelly against his old club. Gillespie on the bench for anyone semi-interested.
02/04/2011, 6:51 PM
2-0 hurrah for skelly
Town Legend
02/04/2011, 7:04 PM
Salthill 0-1 Waterford
White Horse
02/04/2011, 7:15 PM
Paul Corry had a good game and is one to watch. Unfortunately there is not enough in this UCD to develop into a good team this season - a bit of Dave Mulcahy / Stuey Byrne type mettle would make them so much stronger.
The lad is good, no doubt there. Tons of footballing ability. However, with their defence and lack of cutting edge, UCD will struggle.
Town Legend
02/04/2011, 7:26 PM
Salthill 0-2 Waterford
Guinney
02/04/2011, 7:44 PM
The lad is good, no doubt there. Tons of footballing ability. However, with their defence and lack of cutting edge, UCD will struggle.
I thought Corry was excellent last night. His goal from the free kick was brilliant and his general play was good. Fair play to UCD they stick to their principles and pass the ball about. Similarly Dundalk look to play ball and when are attacks work out it can be a joy to watch. Gaynor, Kearns, Byrne and Quigley are dangerous when they are on the front foot and attack with real purpose and pace.
02/04/2011, 7:45 PM
Longford 1-0 up v Athlone. Jacques Morley direct from a corner apparently.
2-0 now, Austin Skelly against his old club. Gillespie on the bench for anyone semi-interested.
Hearing there is a decent crowd for this, damn I wish I was home
Town Legend
02/04/2011, 7:49 PM
Gillespie on for the last half hour!
Town Legend
02/04/2011, 7:53 PM
FT- Salthill 0-2 Waterford
Town Legend
02/04/2011, 8:23 PM
FT- Longford Town 2-0 Athlone Town
02/04/2011, 8:27 PM
FT- Longford Town 2-0 Athlone Town
things back on track a bit thank feck
02/04/2011, 8:40 PM
Yep an important win. It'll be tough in Monaghan next weekend but 3 wins from 5 is a decent start and two home wins in there which is always good. Shuts up those that don't go but complain anyway for another week.
oriel
02/04/2011, 10:06 PM
Just a question on the few teams who do not play on Fridays now, I think its only Sligo in the PD, and Longford, Athlone? & Salthill?, now I was never a fan of the thurs nights for us, so I was glad when we changed to Friday, but just wondering why the others are going with Sat nights?
Are attendances really that much better, and would it not be better for all to stick with Friday nights to max publicity and for Sat am papers/radio ?
02/04/2011, 10:18 PM
Can only speak for our club but attendances are noticeably better on Saturdays. For example I know personally about ten people who were going tonight that work or study away during the week and Friday is just not suitable. We've tried Fridays at 8.00 over the years but Saturday gets a better home crowd every time. It's better for any travelling away fans too to be honest. Every euro counts.
03/04/2011, 4:03 AM
Just a question on the few teams who do not play on Fridays now, I think its only Sligo in the PD, and Longford, Athlone? & Salthill?, now I was never a fan of the thurs nights for us, so I was glad when we changed to Friday, but just wondering why the others are going with Sat nights?
Are attendances really that much better, and would it not be better for all to stick with Friday nights to max publicity and for Sat am papers/radio ?
The league has played Friday night for 25-odd years. The amount of back page papers they make the next day during the season, can be measured on the fingers of one hand, while the radio coverage the next day is minimal at best.
We are the only senior league in Europe, and one of the few in the world, that insist on playing almost it's entire "weekend" league programme on a weeknight. It's a bit like 10-team 4-series leagues. A disaster on every level.
oriel
03/04/2011, 10:47 AM
I think the Irish Times and the Star give decent PD reports on Sat am, the Times even gives an attendance at each game.
From memory most clubs were still playing Sundays up until the early 90`s, and wasn`t it Sky Sports compensation with the intro of the english premiership that part funded clubs to install floodlights so they could move away from the traditonal sunday afternoons?
DLK fm is great for any game I miss, they cover most away games, but the big loss is the RTE radio 1 friday night LOI show.
As for Newstalk, a top tier sponsor, they have an irish language show on at 9.30 on Friday, hopeless service.
cornflakes
03/04/2011, 11:26 AM
Newstalk don't care about the league, their soccer correspondent, Ken Early, knows nothing about the league and doesn't want to know.
The only coverage it gets is the views of Roddy Collins on a Wednesday night for ten minutes
born2bwild
03/04/2011, 12:06 PM
Newstalk don't care about the league, their soccer correspondent, Ken Early, knows nothing about the league and doesn't want to know.
The only coverage it gets is the views of Roddy Collins on a Wednesday night for ten minutes
If the Off the Ball lads could be persuaded to cover the league a bit it woul make a big difference. I'm nost sure how these things are measured but I'd say their show is pretty much the most influential sports show in the country.
Rasputin
03/04/2011, 12:09 PM
No.
We have always played Saturdays ever since they changed from Sunday kick offs years ago.
Its a tradition here, its always Saturday night in the Showgies and when we get ****ed around by the TV or the FAI or who ever and have to change to Fridays our attendances do suffer.
Why should our club have to suffer in the hope that the national media who largely show contempt for our league might give us an extra few column inchs?
redobit
03/04/2011, 12:49 PM
Saturday night games, aswell as being a tradition around Sligo, does allow for some Rovers fans to get to games when otherwise they might not. We have a lot of fans that live in towns like Ballymote, Kinlough, Dromahair, Carrick, Coolaney etc that commute to Sligo Town for work. Finishing work on a Friday evening and making it out home and back to the match to get ready or collect a kid leaves it very tight for time. Personally I dont mind either way but Saturday Night = Rovers in Sligo so no point in changing.
Thats fair enough for Sligo and Longford, def no point changing to Fridays if Sat nights are working well.
PS Sligo appear to have a good county wide suppport, I did hear this before.
White Horse
03/04/2011, 8:12 PM
If the Off the Ball lads could be persuaded to cover the league a bit it woul make a big difference. I'm nost sure how these things are measured but I'd say their show is pretty much the most influential sports show in the country.
Close to 25,000 people go to see LOI games every week and that joke of a programme devotes 10 minutes a week to it.
If the LOI doubled it's crowds, they might give it an extra 5 minutes.
03/04/2011, 8:35 PM
I wonder how many Irish people each week go to games in England and Scotland. Probably more than go to LOI games. (Not disputing your point - I'm just interested.)
The league has played Friday night for 25-odd years. The amount of back page papers they make the next day during the season, can be measured on the fingers of one hand, while the radio coverage the next day is minimal at best
The amount of back pages we had on a Monday when the main league programme was played on Sundays was even less...
Straightstory
04/04/2011, 10:01 AM
I wonder how many Irish people each week go to games in England and Scotland. Probably more than go to LOI games. (Not disputing your point - I'm just interested.)
Yes - I'd love to know too. Anybody got this info?
(Also agree Off The Ball coverage of league is appalling).
04/04/2011, 10:37 AM
The amount of back pages we had on a Monday when the main league programme was played on Sundays was even less...
At least the games were on a weekend then.
I worked for several years a solid night shift on Friday nights. The only games I could go to in the season were Saturdays and Sundays, roughly about 6 games a year. It was then that I lost all tolerance of Friday night games across the board.
Fridays suit 9-5ers based locally. This is a weekend sport, and all league games should be played at weekends (Sat/Sun), like everywhere else on the planet. A system that caters for everybody.
04/04/2011, 10:53 AM
This is a weekend sport, and all league games should be played at weekends (Sat/Sun). A system that caters for everybody.
Except those who work Sat/Sun.
04/04/2011, 11:04 AM
bah could clubs do every 2nd home game on alternating days or something
marinobohs
04/04/2011, 11:09 AM
Is it not open to clubs to play Sat/Sunday if they want ? Some like Sligo currently do. The reason clubs opt to play Fridays is because they believe they get better crowds / coverage, otherwise they would simply change.
The fact that Mypost worked on friday nights was probobly not a major consideration when the decision was made
geezer
04/04/2011, 11:19 AM
Fridays suit 9-5ers based locally. This is a weekend sport, and all league games should be played at weekends (Sat/Sun), like everywhere else on the planet. A system that caters for everybody.
15% reduction in gate money is practically guaranteed if you move from friday nights in most cases, the rugby crowd are coping on to this and more and more of their games are moving to friday nights bar the big event pullers. Id also reckon if you dont get the €10 or €15 on a friday night the longer the weekend goes on the slimmer chance clubs have of getting it with the recession. The above for some reason is borne out in the bigger urban centres, its hard to fathom but the figures, research show it
marinobohs
04/04/2011, 12:04 PM
empty coke bottle is all i could see. Absolute rubbish.
no red either - it was just a yellow.
glad with that point. Shocker of a game.
Unfortunately a lot more than one coke bottle thrown on by Numpties after pen decision (which looked a bit soft, player went down in instalments). Shocking peno reflected a fairly shocking game, void of anything resembling entertainment. Football did threaten to break out on one or two occassions but fortunately this trend was nipped in the bud.
Pats marginally the better team (although bar was not high) but neither side really deserved to win (and fans/viewers deserved a lot better). Bet RTE will be in a hurry back :rolleyes:
poster
04/04/2011, 12:26 PM
PS Sligo appear to have a good county wide suppport, I did hear this before.
That's true, yes.
redobit
04/04/2011, 12:55 PM
Is it not open to clubs to play Sat/Sunday if they want ? Some like Sligo currently do. The reason clubs opt to play Fridays is because they believe they get better crowds / coverage, otherwise they would simply change.
The fact that Mypost worked on friday nights was probobly not a major consideration when the decision was made
Not sure if LOI clubs can play on the Sunday. Dosent it go back to when our games used to be played on the Sunday afternoon but when Sky came in (mid 90s) they sponsored the lights for clubs so they could move their games to Friday or Saturday evenings so as no to clash with the Sky Sunday games. Hence why their is no Sky games on Friday or Saturday evenings to this day either.
harps1954
04/04/2011, 12:59 PM
Not sure if LOI clubs can play on the Sunday. Dosent it go back to when our games used to be played on the Sunday afternoon but when Sky came in (mid 90s) they sponsored the lights for clubs so they could move their games to Friday or Saturday evenings so as no to clash with the Sky Sunday games. Hence why their is no Sky games on Friday or Saturday evenings to this day either.
Clubs can play Sunday's if they want - nothing to stop them doing it. But it would be madness to go up against the Sky Sunday games and the GAA in the summer. Sky show plenty of games on a Friday night - most from the Championship - and also show games at 5.15 on a Saturday evening (granted they are over before most of the Saturday LOI games begin).
redobit
04/04/2011, 1:07 PM
Maybe they can now Harps. But at the time im pretty sure thats why Sky paid for the lights in LOI grounds on the the basis that LOI clubs had a choice to avoid the clash. Most likely the EPL has not switched to late Friday/ Saturday games cause it has become a tradition and people are used to it and dont want to change. Same as here.
Except the thousands who play football on Saturdays and Sundays. Local (and mean junior/intermediate/schoolboy) football is the reason saturday afternoons can't work. Not just players, but coaches, parents, etc etc
Sundays are gone. EPL is totally dominant. Simply won't work.
For Dublin clubs it has been proven beyond doubt, even by your own club mypost who toyed with Saturdays, that Friday night works best. For every argument you have (shift work), there's a counter argument.
While we are on the subject, I see the Dublin county board are going to play next year's 'Spring Series' on Friday nights.
redobit
04/04/2011, 1:58 PM
While we are on the subject, I see the Dublin county board are going to play next year's 'Spring Series' on Friday nights.
Im going to assume youre talking about the Gah, cause I have no idea what a Spring Series is.
04/04/2011, 2:05 PM
http://www.hill16.ie/uploads/gallery/Series.jpg
Give 'em credit - their marketing is good anyway. (Apart from Jedward, of course...)
marinobohs
04/04/2011, 2:12 PM
very contentious issue in bogball world. Recently Dublin tried to bring forward their game against Mayo to friday 18th (day after Paddys Day) and eventually (there was a saga about Mayo under 21 match) both counties agreed but bogball central (Croke Park) decided against. Dublin had hissy fit and said they were not going to play in Croker next year in League (bogball needs Dublin in Croker to pay for the place) so was agreed they could play Fridays.
Rationale for Dublin seeking move to Friday was very similar to arguments laid out by Dodge and others above RE clashing with other sports etc but they were firmly convinced Friday was most attractive option.
Financial Stew
04/04/2011, 3:53 PM
Not trying to be negative or anything but...
It doesn't matter what day the match is on - if the entertainment level is practically zero as it was last Friday night in Richmond park punters, radio stations and newspapers are all going to stay away.
At least if you go to croker you're going to see a score every other minute. Compare that with the snoozefest on Friday night and it's no wonder that the LOI is on CPR at the moment
the Pats - Bohs game on Friday set the league back years in my opinion. We need more tales of financial disaster to keep the publics interest and i am more than happy for Bohs to produce those headlines for the benefit of all of the league and all of us as fans.
04/04/2011, 4:04 PM
Are u serious!! No way can u compare gah to any football match, totally different level of entertainment
04/04/2011, 7:32 PM
Except the thousands who play football on Saturdays and Sundays. Local (and mean junior/intermediate/schoolboy) football is the reason saturday afternoons can't work. Not just players, but coaches, parents, etc etc
Sundays are gone. EPL is totally dominant. Simply won't work.
For Dublin clubs it has been proven beyond doubt, even by your own club mypost who toyed with Saturdays, that Friday night works best. For every argument you have (shift work), there's a counter argument.
So much so, that another Friday night Dublin club has just gone bust.
Yes, people work on Saturdays, yes there are junior club games on Saturdays. But the games have to be played at some point. And they should be played at the time when the most people can go. When was Real-Barcelona last on a Friday night? Celtic-Rangers? PSG-Marseille? Inter-Milan? Liverpool-mu? They're all played at the time where the greatest possible audience can see them. That's what should happen here.