View Full Version : Pubs showing LoI in London

30/03/2011, 7:08 AM
As it says on the tin, is there anywhere can I watch the Derry-Dundalk game in London next week? Preferably somewhere not too far out (I'm in E1).

And are there any other London-based forum-ers who want to meet up for it? :)

Ta.

mick dundee
30/03/2011, 8:26 AM
Here is a note from a dundalk supporter on orielweb

If your in London the nearest tube to the bar is Angel, we are just a 5 minute walk from it.

The Grande Bar,
2-6 Cloudesley Road,
Islington,
London,
N1 0EQ

in his post he says that he has rte so he can show the games

Duffman
30/03/2011, 8:34 AM
HI FOLKS!

I am no longer in The North One Bar (The Grande Bar as mentioned on my first post) This bar has now closed (thank god!!) and I have moved over to West London were I shall continue to show all LOI Games that will be broadcasted on RTE, TV3, TG4 or Setanta Ireland.

For those who know the area the address is:

FLANAGANS,
137 UXBRIDGE ROAD,
EALING,
W13 9AU
LONDON

For those who don't know the area we are about 20mins from Heathrow airport. A few bus stops away from Twickenham, Ruislip (GAA) and the nearest football grounds would be Fulham and QPR.

Will also be showing MNS every Monday.

Looking forward to the new season,

C'mon da town!!

Colin

From OrielWeb

30/03/2011, 9:35 AM
Is this on Setanta? I was told it was on RTÉ. Balls.

30/03/2011, 9:37 AM
It is on RTÉ - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0325/airtricityleaguelive.html

Might want to change the thread title.

30/03/2011, 10:57 AM
Here is a note from a dundalk supporter on orielweb

If your in London the nearest tube to the bar is Angel, we are just a 5 minute walk from it.

The Grande Bar,
2-6 Cloudesley Road,
Islington,
London,
N1 0EQ

in his post he says that he has rte so he can show the games

Grande Bar is closed. Colin who was there is now in Flanagans, Ealing as Duffman has posted. Worth the trip out as there is usually a good crowd in to see games.

30/03/2011, 11:31 AM
Thanks for the replies. The one in Angel would have been perfect seeing as I work there. Ealing is an utter trek away, but I might go for it then if nothing else comes up.

And of course, it should be RTE.

30/03/2011, 7:44 PM
Little more detail from Flanagans :

the game on RTE this weekend is St. Pats and Bohs, and Dundalk and Derry the following Friday (8th). Bohs and Shamrocks on the 15th. We also show MNS every Monday. Should also be showing all the Setanta Ireland cup games as well.

TCM I know its a bit of a trek but it was good craic when we were there last game of the season. just make yourself known to Colin at the bar! He used to run the Lilywhite lounge providing the Brandywell pride lads with food on their way home from Dublin when they stopped in Oriel. PM me for exact directions or more detail. Same goes for any other people in London that would meet up with fellow LoI fans match nights etc!!!

Sinéad K
31/03/2011, 1:11 PM
Would agree with the hospitality bit, the QUB supporters used to stop off on the way back to Belfast, straight out of Dublin for the Lilywhite

iceman
31/03/2011, 6:55 PM
Waxy O'Connors
14-16 Rupert St
(near Leicester Sq)
http://www.waxyoconnors.co.uk/index.php/welcome-to-waxys-london

31/03/2011, 7:06 PM
Waxy O'Connors
14-16 Rupert St
(near Leicester Sq)
http://www.waxyoconnors.co.uk/index.php/welcome-to-waxys-london

It's mad busy in there at the weekend, I can't imagine getting them to turn the music down and show LOI footie. :)

01/04/2011, 1:14 PM
Mad busy is an understatement - heaving on a Friday evening!

01/04/2011, 10:32 PM
Mad busy is an understatement - heaving on a Friday evening!

Never been don't want to, just going by what I've heard. :)

06/04/2011, 3:43 PM
We're going to watch it in the Sheephaven Bay pub in Mornington Crescent (next to Camden, NW1 7QD) on Friday evening, 7:35 KO if any LOI fans are about and fancy joining?

bullit
06/04/2011, 4:52 PM
We're going to watch it in the Sheephaven Bay pub in Mornington Crescent (next to Camden, NW1 7QD) on Friday evening, 7:35 KO if any LOI fans are about and fancy joining?
Make sure you dont do anything wild as you might want to return again.

The club has also been informed that the visit of Derry City to Oriel Park on Thursday 26 May will be screened live on Setanta Sports. Kick-off remains 7.45pm.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-unite ... -game-live (http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-united-kick-off-confirmed-derry-city-game-live)

06/04/2011, 6:24 PM
Our match v Shams also on TV in May so looks like might be going back a few times. I'll be good, beyond drunkenly tapping people up for WPOF contributions.

07/04/2011, 9:01 AM
Make sure you dont do anything wild as you might want to return again.

The club has also been informed that the visit of Derry City to Oriel Park on Thursday 26 May will be screened live on Setanta Sports. Kick-off remains 7.45pm.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-unite ... -game-live (http://www.dundalkfc.com/monaghan-united-kick-off-confirmed-derry-city-game-live)

Any idea why that game is on a Thursday?

oriel
07/04/2011, 12:17 PM

There is a full PD league programme on this night with 5 games moved from the Friday. Also there is another 'midweek' PD programme on with clubs playing on Mon or Tues, I think we are away to Sligo on the Monday.

07/04/2011, 1:16 PM

Carling Cup on Tuesday 24th, Wedensday 25th
LOI on Thursday 26th
Carling Cup on Friday 27th
Champions league on Saturday 28th
Carling Cup on Sunday 29th

07/04/2011, 1:49 PM
I just checked and the game on the Friday night is Wales vs. Northern Ireland... So the entire league programme changes from Friday to Thursday so that it doesn't clash with a friendly between Wales and fecking Northern Ireland in the Aviva?! Madness.

pateen
15/03/2012, 2:12 PM
For any London based LOI fans, Cork City vs Shamrock Rovers been shown live in the place

The Hop Pole Pub , 64 Putney Bridge Road, Wandsworth, London, SW18 1HR.

P