View Full Version : Security at the cross acting the maggot!

DolansWaistcoat
05/06/2004, 10:20 PM
Was at the game last night with a 4 buddies and we decided to go up the St Annes end to watch city attack that goal in the first half.We stood against railing down at the corner flag with the pats fans to our right and the shop behind us.Near the start of the first half about 20 or 30 city fans,young fellas really were moving past the pats fans to go and sit in the St Annes end when the Pats fans started singing and pointing at the lads.No harm there just a laugh but then one of the City fans stopped and started singing and shouting back at them and before he knew it he was being escorted out of the ground by two of the stews.A bit extreme imo.

Then it got worse for us,When we scored our second one of my buddies saw a few pats fans behind him giving him the finger so he responded with a hand gesture of his own,a little wrist shaking action,as you do.Within about 5 seconds a stew was there mouthing at him that if he didn't cop on he'd be out.So he tells the stew it's only a bit of banter and it's all part of the match but before City and ourselves have a chance to finish celebrating Fenn's goal the guards are over then poking fingers at us telling us that if we don't move then we'll 'be moved' the usual bull from our beloved law enforcers.So we move about 10 feet over and sat in the corner of the St Annes but not before the one of the guards tell us that we're being 'watched' for the rest of the game.

I know they are supposed to be doing their jobs and they are there to prevent trouble but there's a way of dealing with ppl as well.We're not all scumbags who are gonna cause a riot,a little friendly rivalry and a bit of banter and we're being thrown out of our own ground.Simmer down a bit security we just want to enjoy a game of football.

06/06/2004, 12:15 AM
ah well with a head like that they were right to be wary of you :D :D

Snatch
06/06/2004, 12:31 AM
If you "just want to watch a game of football" DolansWaistcoat, why are you giving obscene hand guestures to the travelling fans?

Whether you started it or not, it all adds to the tension than can boil over as we saw before.

A couple of weeks ago I complained about Robbie Doyle's hand gesture to City's travelling fans. Call me old fashioned that but I don't see any difference in fans doing it to them.

As for the stewards watching ye, I'm glad to hear they are doing their job!

06/06/2004, 12:35 AM
We're not all scumbags who are gonna cause a riot.

would that be aimed at a certain area of the crowd????????????????????

Dr.Nightdub
06/06/2004, 3:06 AM
There was a bunch of kids moved out of the front section in front of us but to be honest, I didn't see the point. Banter's banter and they weren't causing any aggro. Cops were relaxed, stewards were relaxed, we were relaxed, no need for it.

b_mcsweeney
06/06/2004, 11:39 AM
i was wondering what happened to the pats fans, cos they started off making a ton of noise and then got very quiet for the rest of the game. it was especially eery when SPA equalised. i thought maybe they'd tired themselves out in the sun!

06/06/2004, 12:25 PM
I dunno ... in light of what happened at the Rovers game, the stewards etc. are going to be edgy .... i dont see anything wrong with what they said (if you have described the way it actually happened) ..... in fairness we'd be giving out if they did nothing aswell .... they will never win so at least they were getting involved. Not so long ago when stewards were just standing by looking at things happen and not doing anything.

DolansWaistcoat
06/06/2004, 2:47 PM
would that be aimed at a certain area of the crowd????????????????????

You corner i'm talking about you ya scumbag. ;)

Anyway the reaction was a bit Ott from the security,their was no tension at the game whatsoever and pushing ppl around for the sake of it whether they be home or away fans is not on.

07/06/2004, 12:21 AM
Then it got worse for us,When we scored our second one of my buddies saw a few pats fans behind him giving him the finger so he responded with a hand gesture of his own,a little wrist shaking action,as you do..

these wrist actions would be seen as inciting trouble also

ccfcgirl
08/06/2004, 9:07 AM
i was asked to move away from that area i done nothing.the boy in question who also got moved for sticking up his finger it was pure bantor ,

08/06/2004, 9:09 AM
it was pure bantor ,

tis all fun and games til somebody loses an eye ;)

DolansWaistcoat
08/06/2004, 10:34 AM
i was asked to move away from that area i done nothing.the boy in question who also got moved for sticking up his finger it was pure bantor ,

Nice 1 CCFC Girl,you know the story,Gardes acting the Lang*r as usual,it doesn't have to be a soccer match for that. :p

Anyway when we were moved on Deccie Daly came over and took our place so I didn't mind too much. :cool:

Eric
08/06/2004, 5:28 PM
Nice 1 CCFC Girl,you know the story,Gardes acting the Lang*r as usual,it doesn't have to be a soccer match for that. :p

So lets say that you hadn't been moved and were left sitting where you were. The banter would've continued, then maybe someone who was after a drink or two too many would've taken personal insult to one of the chants and a fight may have started. Then possibly you or one of your mates might have gotten hurt so you would've come on here and slated the Gardai and Stewards for not keeping the crowd segrated!!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

08/06/2004, 6:15 PM
Exactly. On this forum the stewards seem to be in a no win situation....

we agree ;)

ccfcgirl
08/06/2004, 9:26 PM
i do think people should of been at the area in question before judging ,

08/06/2004, 11:00 PM
i do think people should of been at the area in question before judging ,

WHATEVER!!!

09/06/2004, 9:24 AM
Was at the game last night with a 4 buddies and we decided to go up the St Annes end to watch city attack that goal in the first half.We stood against railing down at the corner flag with the pats fans to our right and the shop behind us.Near the start of the first half about 20 or 30 city fans,young fellas really were moving past the pats fans to go and sit in the St Annes end when the Pats fans started singing and pointing at the lads.No harm there just a laugh but then one of the City fans stopped and started singing and shouting back at them and before he knew it he was being escorted out of the ground by two of the stews.A bit extreme imo.

Then it got worse for us,When we scored our second one of my buddies saw a few pats fans behind him giving him the finger so he responded with a hand gesture of his own,a little wrist shaking action,as you do.Within about 5 seconds a stew was there mouthing at him that if he didn't cop on he'd be out.So he tells the stew it's only a bit of banter and it's all part of the match but before City and ourselves have a chance to finish celebrating Fenn's goal the guards are over then poking fingers at us telling us that if we don't move then we'll 'be moved' the usual bull from our beloved law enforcers.So we move about 10 feet over and sat in the corner of the St Annes but not before the one of the guards tell us that we're being 'watched' for the rest of the game.

I know they are supposed to be doing their jobs and they are there to prevent trouble but there's a way of dealing with ppl as well.We're not all scumbags who are gonna cause a riot,a little friendly rivalry and a bit of banter and we're being thrown out of our own ground.Simmer down a bit security we just want to enjoy a game of football.

Can't believe I missed this thread. About 10 kids, all of whom were giving the fingers in the section marked (according to your shiny ne A licence) as "Away fans only" Nobody from pats cared about it BUT it was right that they were moved and the stewards moved them without hassle.

Common sense stewarding (it wasn't as if there wasn't room for them elsewhere

DolansWaistcoat
10/06/2004, 11:00 AM
So lets say that you hadn't been moved and were left sitting where you were. The banter would've continued, then maybe someone who was after a drink or two too many would've taken personal insult to one of the chants and a fight may have started. Then possibly you or one of your mates might have gotten hurt so you would've come on here and slated the Gardai and Stewards for not keeping the crowd segrated!!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I'm sick of the moaning fools that come on here saying that every little incident that happens at a match could escalate into violence.It's just banter thats all,it's a game of football and we're all there to just watch the game and have a laugh.I've never slated the gardai or the stewards before because I think they do a good job most of the time,it's just this particular incident was way over the top by them and like CCFC girl said you had to be there at the time,so don't give me the gardai and the stews can't win crap. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I threw in the roll eyes face for you eric bud because you seem to like them. :p

ccfcgirl
11/06/2004, 12:05 PM
i also agree the stewarts do a good job at the game but the last friday night was way over the top.heres hoping city will win to night