View Full Version : Trouble outside Stadiums

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

EivissaPaul
26/03/2011, 4:55 PM
Just reading on-line and apparently there was trouble outside the Showgrounds on Friday. And a Shamrock Rovers bus was attacked in Derry.. in the comments it is suggested this is a frequent occurrence at these places.. one states that the bus company they use wont travel to Derry anymore and they have to use a different company!

I have not been in the Brandywell or the Showgrounds in a number of years now but i was really surprised to read this.

Can this thread not be a Sligo / Hoops slagging page please.. constructive comments please!!

26/03/2011, 5:10 PM
what sort of contructive comments can we come up with in fairness. There are dicks intent on causing trouble everywhere and more trouble in Temple Bar on a Saturday night for the most part. Its a public order issue.

Sean South
26/03/2011, 5:11 PM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3463/3370720363_0292e00182.jpg

EivissaPaul
26/03/2011, 5:15 PM
Well for me, Derry City FC should ensure both home and away fans are safe in and outside the stadium. As should every club. Is it a particular problem in Derry?? Have Bohs had any problems in recent years??

Sean South
26/03/2011, 5:16 PM
http://athensagentofcoven.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/chomp-bar-med1.gif

26/03/2011, 5:19 PM
Well for me, Derry City FC should ensure both home and away fans are safe in and outside the stadium. As should every club. Is it a particular problem in Derry?? Have Bohs had any problems in recent years??

nothing of note Paul (apart from the trouble 6 of our fans caused obviously).

How does DCFC ensure safety on the way out of the city?

all guns blazin
26/03/2011, 5:22 PM
I couldn't get to the game at the Showgrounds on account of work. But I had to pass by it a few times during the course of the evening, before and after kick off as ppl were coming and going.

No trouble as far as I could see. And I've no heard no mention of there being any trouble at the ground around the town today.

dcfc_1928
26/03/2011, 5:25 PM
Give these guys a call to complain:

http://www.psni.police.uk/g-district

Chief Superintendent Stephen Martin is the commander in charge of the District Command Unit that comprises Foyle, Limavady, Strabane and Magherafelt.

http://www.psni.police.uk/csupt-martin.jpg

Strand Road Police Station
81A Strand Road
Londonderry
BT48 7AA

Tel 0845 600 8000
E-mail: foyleDCU@psni.pnn.police.uk

Hibs4Ever
26/03/2011, 5:25 PM
in the comments it is suggested this is a frequent occurrence at these places..

Or a frequent occurance where ever Shamrock are playing

EivissaPaul
26/03/2011, 5:47 PM
well i am not sure if a police escort of the buses for a mile or so would help. I have never had any bad experiences going in and out of any grounds around the country..

And I dont really accept the whole 'frequent occurance where ever Shamrock are playing' thing.. there was close to 6000 in Tallaght last friday and it was a great atmosphere and from what i could see not a sign of trouble. I know there is an element of it at shamrock rover and no rovers fan will try and deny it. I Think every club has its problem supporters. Alot of the comments online are not Shamrock Rovers related. Sligo fans had stones thrown at them by a few drogs apparently.

26/03/2011, 5:49 PM
Give these guys a call to complain...

Not much use at the ground. Rovers fans called them outside the ground after the 1-1 draw in 2007 to report incidents and they would not respond to the area the ground was in.

Rasputin
26/03/2011, 6:03 PM
Sligo fans had stones thrown at them by a few drogs apparently.
Is this thread a p1ss take?

redobit
26/03/2011, 6:06 PM
Elissa, first let me say Im not condoning buses being pelted with stones, but I will say this - you reap what you sowe. Some Shamrock Rovers have created an awful lot of trouble in both Sligo and Derry in recent years.

Think of it this way, the 2 teams supporters you have mentioned are Sligo Rovers and Derry City - both these teams played in the Brandywell only a few weeks ago. There was a huge crowd at the game and we brought 6 or 700 away fans to the game. All the fans were mixed in together and there wasnt one bit of trouble inside or outside the stadium. In fact, Derry City to their credit, actually came out later that week and thanked the Sligo Rovers fans for their patience and good behaviour on the night as their was a lot of delays due to the big crowd. Anyway my point is this - if these two sets of fans you have mentioned were troublemakers then we should have expected a lot of trouble that night. There wasnt.

Shamrock Rovers mainly have a lot of genuine fans but the few are blacking your name whether you like it or not.

dcfc_1928
26/03/2011, 6:12 PM
Here's a constructive piece of advice. Don't go into any nationalist area in the North and start singing songs such as "your next queen is camilla parker bowles" & "what's it like to have a queen?".

There are plenty of locals who won't take kindly to that, and you'll just be asking for trouble.

It's nothing to do with football, it's just a fact of life in the north - and I'm not sure what any football club can do to change it.

Rocketman
26/03/2011, 6:39 PM
At Derry we have very little bother inside or outside ground. The only exception seems to be Rovers and as the previous post says singing song about the Queen etc will not help. I dare say those that threw stones are not even Derry fans but ones that are too are aware that Rovers will "stir it up" singing songs about the queen etc. Im not making excuses as what happened is not right, but ask the question....Which club is connected and linked to the majority of any violence in the LOI? I think there is only one answer to that!

26/03/2011, 7:19 PM
Here's a constructive piece of advice. Don't go into any nationalist area in the North and start singing songs such as "your next queen is camilla parker bowles" & "what's it like to have a queen?".

There are plenty of locals who won't take kindly to that, and you'll just be asking for trouble.

So the game should be played somewhere else. It's no excuse. And all the above three posts are nothing more than "ha, they deserved it"

What about the team bus? What were they singing?

bluewhitearmy
26/03/2011, 8:00 PM
I love that if it had been Derry bus that had got hit coming from Rovers match there would be outrage.

If Rovers fans had done something one week and another set of fans did the exact same thing after there would be page after page condemning the evil rovers and hardly anything about the other club..

Everytime we play Shels in Tolka there is Bohs fans waiting around after the game trying to cause trouble with the Shels fans its never mentioned by anyone.

The Lep
26/03/2011, 8:33 PM
So the game should be played somewhere else. It's no excuse. And all the above three posts are nothing more than "ha, they deserved it"

What about the team bus? What were they singing?

Why? so the eejits that sing them songs can do so without anything being done. Rovers fans know who the ones that give them the bad name are so sort it out within and it will go a long way to stop incidents like this and the Rovers name llinked to them.
Is there a problem outside the Brandywell for all away fans or is it just when a large away following show up ? If its a reqular thing then what is the local police doing about it?

26/03/2011, 9:18 PM
I don't accept singing songs as deserving an attack.

For the 2007 incident, Rovers fans called outside the ground, the police told them to go to the Strand Rd station and report it there, they would not come to the area. They are not doing anything about it. There is only one way out of the ground, it should not be difficult to stop. In 2009 and 0-1 win, supporters club bus turns left out of the car park, two windows on the left side smashed.

There may be nothing Derry City FC can do, but why should Rovers be expected to fulfill games there to be bricked time after time..

Aaron
26/03/2011, 9:21 PM
Why? so the eejits that sing them songs can do so without anything being done. Rovers fans know who the ones that give them the bad name are so sort it out within and it will go a long way to stop incidents like this and the Rovers name llinked to them.
Is there a problem outside the Brandywell for all away fans or is it just when a large away following show up ? If its a reqular thing then what is the local police doing about it?

No, its mainly when away "fans" come to the Brandywell and act the ****** outside the ground. There is very seldom any trouble inside the Brandywell, its only when Shamrock Rovers or Linfield come to town. Last night there was a Rovers fan ejected from the ground for he was that full he was eating the face of himself rather than the bag of chips in his hand

Then after that there was a Rovers fan chased out of the ground by stewards. Add in another muppett who thought it would be bright idea to start singing sectarian songs walking along the front of the stand before half time. This is all incidents that actually happened that I seen myself and not just made up incase any Rovers fan comes on and says "I never saw that!!"

If Rovers fans want to act the ******, then thats fair enough, but dont come on here or our forum and start whinging when your attacked outside the ground after your little sing-songs. IMO they should have been caged in like they were the last visit over in the showgrounds end

The Lep
26/03/2011, 9:32 PM
I don't accept singing songs as deserving an attack. If that is the case, the game shouldn't be played there. Pats fans were singing Tallaght is a sh!thole last week and got out of Tallaght unharmed. There was no mob outside and there were plenty of police officers if there was.

For the 2007 incident, Rovers fans called outside the ground, the police told them to go to the Strand Rd station and report it there, they would not come to the area. They are not doing anything about it. There is only one way out of the ground, it should not be difficult to stop. In 2009 and 0-1 win, supporters club bus turns left out of the car park, two windows on the left side smashed.

There may be nothing Derry City FC can do, but why should Rovers be expected to fulfill games there to be bricked time after time..

But Tallaght is a ****e hole ;) but there is a difference in singing that and singing sensitive songs in a republican area of Derry. I agree that no matter what is sung its no excuse for buses to be bricked but the main point is that visiting fans can play their part in keeping the potential for any incidents to a minimum . The local police can play their part as well in making sure any away fans are kept safe when outside the ground.

jinxy lilywhite
26/03/2011, 9:34 PM
I think it's hilarious that rovers fans are crying over their treatment at away games when their supporters are notorious for acting the cnuts. To be honest any violence outside the grounds is not acceptable and should not be taken by home supporters as a public order offence as we're digging our heads in the sand. But in fairness if some oxygen thieves out there (and we have our fair share) are determined to do something the likelihood is that they will.
But the annoying thing is and it is really frustrating since i've began to take in a few rugby games too is that fans there can mingle, banter and enjoy watching the game together. What is it with football that we allow neanderthals (sorry for offending the neanderthals) to rule the roost.

poster
26/03/2011, 9:40 PM
since i've began to take in a few rugby games too is that fans there can mingle, banter and enjoy watching the game together. What is it with football that we allow neanderthals (sorry for offending the neanderthals) to rule the roost.

I'd take my chances with the Neanderthals thanks very much...

26/03/2011, 9:54 PM
But Tallaght is a ****e hole ;)

Ah now, let's not make stuff up ;)

The local police can play their part as well in making sure any away fans are kept safe when outside the ground.

There isn't any local police presence at all in my experience. At least at Oriel, you can see the station :cool2:

The Lep
26/03/2011, 9:59 PM
Ah now, let's not make stuff up ;)

There isn't any local police presence at all in my experience.

Ok, Tallaght is lovely place :)

26/03/2011, 10:38 PM
first let me say Im not condoning buses being pelted with stones, but I will say this

I'm not racist, but....

sligo23
26/03/2011, 10:43 PM
I'm not racist, but....
Ohhhh the irony!!!

MMVIII
26/03/2011, 10:59 PM
Que more threads on the always ultra forum about how foot.ie and every other club in the country are bias, bitter, jealous etc towards Shamrock Rovers.

EivissaPaul
26/03/2011, 11:11 PM
Firstly, all bullsh*t aside, and dont offer pi$$ poor excuses.. why is the Derry City V Shamrock Rovers game so badly policed when clearly there has been problems at this fixture in previous seasons??

Secondly, I am not moaning about how rovers fans are treated, I am a shamrock rovers fan and would hope that if i went to the Brandywell i would be safe and could enjoy a good away trip. Even if some mindless idiot beside me shouts something sectarian, Derry City FC have to some point an obligation to ensure my safety, that comes with the admission fee.

Thirdly, the majority of clubs with a big fan base have a bad element, dont kid yourselves. Am fully aware of the Rovers reputation.. It does not excuse the players team bus nor fans buses being attacked. regardless of reputation or behaviour in the ground of a small few.

dcfc_1928
26/03/2011, 11:24 PM
I'm certainly not condoning what happened, but you must know very little about the cultural sensitivities that exist in the North, if you can't see how provocative it is singing songs like that around the Bogside/Brandywell (or indeed any nationalist area in the north)

If Rovers fans are suggesting that Derry City FC should do something to help prevent the trouble, then you must surely accept that Rovers fans could also do their bit to prevent trouble?

You're only going to wind up the locals - most of whom aren't even interested in LOI football anyway - if you go through the area ****ed, singing songs about the queen. Respect the host community that you're in.

I don't accept singing songs as deserving an attack.

dcfc_1928
26/03/2011, 11:25 PM
Were fans attacked inside the stadium?

Secondly, I am not moaning about how rovers fans are treated, I am a shamrock rovers fan and would hope that if i went to the Brandywell i would be safe and could enjoy a good away trip. Even if some mindless idiot beside me shouts something sectarian, Derry City FC have to some point an obligation to ensure my safety, that comes with the admission fee.

EivissaPaul
26/03/2011, 11:33 PM
I think Derry need to ensure it is accordingly policed outside too.. I would hope that Derry supporters felt safe coming to Tallaght inside and outside the stadium. Do you not agree??

Aaron
26/03/2011, 11:47 PM
I think Derry need to ensure it is accordingly policed outside too.. I would hope that Derry supporters felt safe coming to Tallaght inside and outside the stadium. Do you not agree??

Derry City cannot police outside the ground, that is up to the PSNI. AFAIC, our stewards do a good enough job inside the ground so PSNI never has been and hopefully never will be required inside. Its not up to the club if an away supporter gets atacked outside the ground.

27/03/2011, 12:01 AM
If Rovers fans are suggesting that Derry City FC should do something to help prevent the trouble, then you must surely accept that Rovers fans could also do their bit to prevent trouble?

My argument is not to do with Derry City FC, but the area the ground is in for the fixture that it is holding. If the area cannot be policed and team buses (carrying club employees who have not sang anything nor hung full tricolours, nothing except doing their job) or indiscriminate and random breaking of fans buses then the area is not suitable for the event. It is not an isolated, heated event and it will happen again in July unless coach companies refuse to send buses up to save on insurance.

Sean South
27/03/2011, 12:04 AM
Some amount of bite here. Hats off to you EivissaPaul

27/03/2011, 12:22 AM
I'm certainly not condoning what happened, but you must know very little about the cultural sensitivities that exist in the North, if you can't see how provocative it is singing songs like that around the Bogside/Brandywell (or indeed any nationalist area in the north)

You're only going to wind up the locals - most of whom aren't even interested in LOI football anyway - if you go through the area ****ed, singing songs about the queen. Respect the host community that you're in.

The bi-annual bricking of our fans buses in the Brandywell has nothing to do with singing songs, or offending cultural sensitivities, it's vandalism for vandalism's sake, and would be done regardless whether we were angels or rampaging through the city. I don't sing about the Queen up in Derry, I don't care what religion their fans worship, I'm too busy concentrating on the game. Still get bricked on the way back though.

I was on one of the buses that got bricked last night. We knew it was coming, we saw it flying through the air, and it hit the target. It didn't smash anything, but that doesn't make it alright. It can't be condoned or excused by anyone. One minute it's bricks, it could easily be glass bottles next time. And it's in mid-July, of all times. It's up to the local police in the area to sort the problem out, not us.

EivissaPaul
27/03/2011, 12:30 AM
Nearly every league ground has some level of Garda presence.. inside and out of the stadium. Why is the PSNI not at the brandywell??? Its not completely up to the club but there must be some communication between club and local police???

bullit
27/03/2011, 12:58 AM
Dundalk buses got done bout 6 years ago in Athlone,it happened on the outskirts of the town and NATO could'nt have prevented what happened.Frightening experience.

The Garda/Police can only do so much within a certain time frame,so how long after the match did the ALLEGED bricking happen ??

L.T.F.C.
27/03/2011, 2:30 AM
I feel so sorry for all the poor Rovers fans...

Anyway, has this happened before?

Rocketman
27/03/2011, 2:56 AM
The bi-annual bricking of our fans buses in the Brandywell has nothing to do with singing songs, or offending cultural sensitivities, it's vandalism for vandalism's sake, and would be done regardless whether we were angels or rampaging through the city. I don't sing about the Queen up in Derry, I don't care what religion their fans worship, I'm too busy concentrating on the game. Still get bricked on the way back though.

I was on one of the buses that got bricked last night. We knew it was coming, we saw it flying through the air, and it hit the target. It didn't smash anything, but that doesn't make it alright. It can't be condoned or excused by anyone. One minute it's bricks, it could easily be glass bottles next time. And it's in mid-July, of all times. It's up to the local police in the area to sort the problem out, not us.

Boo hoo, why does no other team leaving the Brandywell not get attacked. Did Rovers get the same at Sligo mmmmmm what can the common theme be here......A Certain amount Rovers fans cause crap for their club. As you can see there is not much pity for Rovers here. I do not condone the breaking of windows at all, far from it. But why is it this only happens to Rovers!!!!!! Answers on a post card to ......

27/03/2011, 4:07 AM
It doesn't just happen to us. It makes the news, because Shamrock Rovers is news in LOI. Every time we sneeze in the wrong direction, it's in the papers, on a website, and/or on the tv, and debated at length.

I've heard of many other clubs where their buses were attacked not just in Derry, but throughout the country, but the general public go "meh" about everyone else.

L.T.F.C.
27/03/2011, 10:57 AM
it doesn't just happen to us. It makes the news, because shamrock rovers is news in loi. Every time we sneeze in the wrong direction, it's in the papers, on a website, and/or on the tv, and debated at length.

I've heard of many other clubs where their buses were attacked not just in derry, but throughout the country, but the general public go "meh" about everyone else.
lolololololololol!

Rasputin
27/03/2011, 11:57 AM
The more and more I think about this I think it shows the inherent bias among the LOI support, the FAI, the Gardai, the PSNI and the Illuminati towards Shams.
Also as an aside, Mypost did your flying saucer get bricked on the way out too?

Boots9
27/03/2011, 12:09 PM
I can't understand how policing in and around grounds isn't part of the leagues participation agreement... anyone able to enlighten me?

poster
27/03/2011, 1:16 PM
I've heard of many other clubs where their buses were attacked not just in Derry, but throughout the country, but the general public go "meh" about everyone else.

Was your magic plane ever attacked mypost?

HulaHoop
27/03/2011, 1:37 PM
I love that if it had been Derry bus that had got hit coming from Rovers match there would be outrage.

If Rovers fans had done something one week and another set of fans did the exact same thing after there would be page after page condemning the evil rovers and hardly anything about the other club..

Everytime we play Shels in Tolka there is Bohs fans waiting around after the game trying to cause trouble with the Shels fans its never mentioned by anyone.

No surprise that the only bit of sense spoken in this thread has been completely ignored.

On the topic of incidents outside grounds surely the host club has a responsibility to guarantee the away team bus safe passage away from the vicinity by working with the local police to put a matchday security operation in place? I thought this the norm everywhere? If a home club cant guarantee the safety of the away teams players and coaching staff should they be allowed play home games at all?

harleyleeds
27/03/2011, 1:46 PM
It seems EP that there is a lot of apathy when it comes to your fans being attacked . The reasons put forward appear to be that ye bring it upon yourselves by causing or provoking trouble everywhere . Trouble is not new to LOI and Sligo was one of the main sets of fans who were not welcome anywhere because of holigans.The Bogside to be fair is an exception when it comes to policing for obvious reasons . I read that Sham fans did their fair share of trouble in Sligo (one guy hospitalised) so you know . Listen I am not advocating violence in any form and beleive clubs are the best way to sort it out no police but it happens and will happen and I beleive no club is immune . It is a horrible image conjured up when one thinks of kids on buses having glass crashing in on them and if you want to stop that at least then report the stoners , locals know who they are .
I see in England holigans go to jail and/or get bans from grounds .

shellyriver
27/03/2011, 1:48 PM
Sligo fans had stones thrown at them by a few drogs apparently.

Must have been a few - there was about 15 Drogheda fans :angel: in total.

27/03/2011, 2:45 PM
One minute it's bricks, it could easily be glass bottles next time. And it's in mid-July, of all times. It's up to the local police in the area to sort the problem out, not us.

[/thread]

Good man. :rolleyes:

redbuli
27/03/2011, 3:30 PM
too easy to say Shams fans brought it on themselves, doesnt justify bricking buses.. there is a genuine fans that travel to their away games and the scum element are in the minority