View Full Version : Holland -v- Ireland predictions, etc.

Pages : 1 [2]

05/06/2004, 10:04 PM
true- we still dont knwo if stephen reid is going to develop further

he couldnt have a worse season

for ye lads who actually got watch games instead of listening

did maybury look at all like he imporved over the week?

I though Maybury played quite well (everyone did), he did lose
the ball once, but then the Dutch made plenty of errors to.

Incidentally Maybury won the ball off RVanN which A Reid then jinked
to Robbie for the goal.

I am gonna try and record the goal with my webcam off da TV
and see if I can post it somewhere for those who didn't see it. :D

dynamo kerry
05/06/2004, 10:06 PM
if you do get it done - I can host it

brine2
05/06/2004, 11:23 PM
I was at the match. Maybury looked decent enough in the first half, but Holland were playing without wingers. In the second half they brought on van der Meijde, who is a very average winger, and he cuased Maybury lots of trouble. Maybury sometimes also had a knack for not knowing what to do with the ball when he did win it.

Robbie Keane would be my man of the match (although we could have won 2-0 if he wasn't so selfish), pushed close by Kenny Cunningham and Graham Barrett.

05/06/2004, 11:46 PM
In the second half they brought on van der Meijde, who is a very average winger
My arse, van der Meyde is a quality player and deserves to be starting for Holland. I think your just looking for reason's to slate Maybury.

06/06/2004, 12:13 AM
Well my reason is that he's not very good. Is that enough?

06/06/2004, 12:43 AM
Cunningham was our best player imo.

06/06/2004, 2:20 AM
if you do get it done - I can host it

I made a few clips, quality not too bad considering I get poor
reception on C5.
Quite hard to get the colour and brightness right without any bands
but they are reasonable quality, as good as you could
expect from pointing a webcam at a TV, on my fairly low spec PC.

Actualy they are pretty good considering.

I have a nice one of the 'sleeping fan' too :p

I will try and sort out the best ones, some are quite good and you
can manipulate than a lot better than on a video recorder.
I will also try and edit them so they are not too big

06/06/2004, 2:34 AM
Cunningham was our best player imo.

Cunningham was great, blocked everything, because we defended
deep there was no chance of getting caught out for pace.

Robbie was great too, and Reid, great team effort.

Best away performance in 10 years?

Since:-

Germany (GER) 0:2 ( 0 : 1 ) Republic of Ireland (IRL)
Friendly 1994 HANOVER GERMANY - 29.05.199

Declan_Michael
06/06/2004, 10:36 AM
memory fails me,as to our hapless manager then! :rolleyes:

Ah, but he wasn't Irish was he? :rolleyes: ;)

06/06/2004, 11:15 AM
The Dutch have been playing in the Amsterdan ArenA (not every match though) since 1996 and played all the top sides. We're the first to beat them there. :)

blobbyblob
06/06/2004, 11:16 AM
Well Blobbyboy predicted 1:0 Ireland, he is in the money
if he placed a bet on 88mins. (2 too go)

My results never come in when I stick on the money - Delighted with the results. The futures bright. The futures green.

blobbyblob
06/06/2004, 11:27 AM
Not meaning to rain on the parade or anything lads but am I crazy or is Robbie Keane really turning into a moaning michael. Every camera shot has him f%$kin and blinding and advertising boards, team mates, refs and water boys.

Dont get me wrong. 1 goal off equalling the Irish record at the age of 23 is no mean feat but christ Robbie and love him but in fairness. And has Clinton been watching "The complete guide to falling on your ass with grace" by Heskey. Just two small things I noticed creeping into their games in the last few internationals.

Just wanted to get that off me chest.

blobbyblob
06/06/2004, 11:30 AM
*Acc.to some Celtic MB,some Dutch commentator,called him 'Steve Fenian'!A Freudian slip,perchance? :D[/QUOTE]

On the subject of commentators:
Correct me if Im wrong but did George Hamilton say that all 13 subs that werent playing yet were on the bench.

06/06/2004, 12:39 PM
Not meaning to rain on the parade or anything lads but am I crazy or is Robbie Keane really turning into a moaning michael. Every camera shot has him f%$kin and blinding and advertising boards, team mates, refs and water boys.
He does moan a lot but its definitely not a bad thing. For one, at least we know Cunningham and Holland are doing their job. The reason I say this is, every time he spends to long on the ball he always shouts at a player behind him, he's obviously not doing it for no reason so must be replying to one of the more experienced players.

blobbyblob
06/06/2004, 2:34 PM
[QUOTE=eirebhoy]He does moan a lot but its definitely not a bad thing. QUOTE]

But did he not pick up two yellow cards in recent internationals for mouthing at referees. Hes a focal player in our setup and a mjor loss if he misses games in our next campign for silly misdemenours.

petef
07/06/2004, 1:41 PM
Just got back, great weekend, great stadium, great city, enjoyed every minute of it.

JohnB
07/06/2004, 3:40 PM
Watched the game on channel 5. The English commentator was fairly patronising, alluding to it being an unbelievable result :confused: . Looked like Holland didn't know what to do in the end. Well done RoI, youse are stacking up some decent results.

brine2
07/06/2004, 8:53 PM
My arse, van der Meyde is a quality player and deserves to be starting for Holland. I think your just looking for reason's to slate Maybury.

I've been following Ajax for 9 years and unless Van der Meijde has improved significantly during his year at Inter Milan he still is, and always be, the Dutch answer to Kevin Kilbane. Decent pace, tries hard, has the one trick, but can't beat his man and sends his crosses all over the place.