View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 19 March)
GalwayRed
19/03/2011, 11:42 AM
For the majority of the first half we played some great football and were far too much for Wexford who to be fair and particularly good. Deserved to be 4 goals up as well but then gave away a penalty right at the end of the half which was a stonewall penalty to be fair. Second half we weren't so good. We panicked a bit and replacing Philly Hughes with Karl Bermingham didn't really work. Wexford got their second and hit the post which set up a nervy finish. We could have had a couple more goals and if we continue to play like we did in the first half we will do very well this season.
19/03/2011, 12:33 PM
Our goals from last night. 2nd goal......SWEEEEET! Eric Foley on the double (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpWcbgd9yes)
19/03/2011, 5:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QF7XVUkMzJo
Full highlights of Harps v Mons
Dave_SRFC
19/03/2011, 5:14 PM
I have to say I always look forward to Bohs coming to Oriel Park, they brought a very decent crowd up, around 350, and there is never the same aggression around the place compared to a Rovers visit.
Hooray for Bohs and Dundalk then, long may your friendship last
bullit
19/03/2011, 5:47 PM
Theres that Sham aggression rearing its ugly head again ;)
placid casual
19/03/2011, 6:53 PM
Ian foster will be the next bohez manager.
He fits the model perfectly.
as for Rovers vs pats- was like walkin through cake.
step aside inferior side,we are better than you kind of thing,
Have you no fences, walls or security barriers to push down?
poster
19/03/2011, 6:54 PM
. If you cant score against Bray then you really have problems .
Bit disrespectful to Bray. Thought they defended pretty well, although we did not want to score. They looked more likely to score on their counter attacks than we did with our constant attacking.
Fester
19/03/2011, 7:08 PM
Salthill 1 (Nkololo '40) v 1 Athlone (Higgins '5)
Fester
19/03/2011, 7:08 PM
Longford 0 v 1 Mervue (Tierney '35)
Cuyahoga
19/03/2011, 7:10 PM
On reflection and having heard a few who watched the replays, its looking like that was a stonewall peno for us with 5 mins to go, but there is a case of a foul beforehand. Sill I believe you get these decisions evened out over the season.
I have to say I always look forward to Bohs coming to Oriel Park, they brought a very decent crowd up, around 350, and there is never the same aggression around the place compared to a Rovers visit.
Its a good job there are no Loyalist Pubs in Dundalk so !
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 7:12 PM
Have you no fences, walls or security barriers to push down?
Must rush....late...for...meeting.
http://www.islammonitor.org/uploads/pics/kkk3.jpg
Fester
19/03/2011, 7:15 PM
Our goals from last night. 2nd goal......SWEEEEET! Eric Foley on the double (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpWcbgd9yes)
The second goal was a peach!
Ezeikial
19/03/2011, 7:19 PM
as for Rovers vs pats- was like walkin through cake.
step aside inferior side,we are better than you kind of thing,
What delicate and eloquent prose you cascade on us mere mortals
Fester
19/03/2011, 7:26 PM
Athlone down to 10 men!
White Horse
19/03/2011, 7:42 PM
Its a good job there are no Loyalist Pubs in Dundalk so !
The Linfield fans popped into the Windsor Bar for a Harp after the last match.
You wouldn't know much about pubs in Dundalk as you get a Garda "escort" as far as Drogheda. ;)
Dave_SRFC
19/03/2011, 7:52 PM
You wouldn't know much about pubs in Dundalk as you get a Garda "escort" as far as Drogheda. ;)file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png
ooooh I say
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.pngfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-2.png
Rasputin
19/03/2011, 7:56 PM
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png
ooooh I say
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.pngfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/DAVIDK%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-2.png
Pretty much embaressed yourself there.
Fester
19/03/2011, 7:57 PM
Salthhill 1 v 1 Athlone FT
Fester
19/03/2011, 8:05 PM
Now Longford 1 (Brown '77) v 1 Mervue
Fester
19/03/2011, 8:20 PM
Longford now 2 v 1 up '93
Fester
19/03/2011, 8:24 PM
Longford 2 v 1 Mervue FT (Deans with the winner in the 93rd min.)
19/03/2011, 8:34 PM
woop woop woop,
Talking to my brother who was at the game, their goal never crossed the line apparently, then scrappy OG to get us back into it and a complete fluke to win it!
furthermore hurrah!
rocket
19/03/2011, 8:44 PM
Can't win games not playing football, can't win games playing football - worrying times in Sligo. :disappointed:
unfortunatly this is true and this draw was a lot worse for me than the loss to shams . If you cant score against Bray then you really have problems .
youve bigger problems than not been able to score pal. Wish you well in the league but surprised at how poor you were against us.
Town Legend
19/03/2011, 8:51 PM
Linesman at Flancare was the only one to see Mervue's goal..absolute disgrace!! He was 20 yards behind play and gave a goal that was no where near over the line...even the Mervue players looked embarrassed to celebrate. Our first was an og from a corner kick and the winner is goal of the season material. Deans from well inside his half punts the ball forward, ball takes a huge bounce in front of the Mervue keeper up over him and into the net!!! Town deserved the win but can see Merve cause a few teams problems this year.
You wouldn't know much about pubs in Dundalk as you get a Garda "escort" as far as Drogheda. ;)
Harp :arrogant:
You're right there - once we reach the humanity of Drogheda, there ain't many volunteers to head back into the abyss to find out :)
L.T.F.C.
19/03/2011, 9:20 PM
Linesman at Flancare was the only one to see Mervue's goal..absolute disgrace!! He was 20 yards behind play and gave a goal that was no where near over the line...even the Mervue players looked embarrassed to celebrate. Our first was an og from a corner kick and the winner is goal of the season material. Deans from well inside his half punts the ball forward, ball takes a huge bounce in front of the Mervue keeper up over him and into the net!!! Town deserved the win but can see Merve cause a few teams problems this year.
Goal of the season material? This post is pure crap material...
Town Legend
19/03/2011, 9:25 PM
Tongue in cheek.........or do ya know what that means????!!!!!
bullit
19/03/2011, 9:31 PM
Harp :arrogant:
HARP
A shared culture :D
http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/34765_132115106828561_100437259996346_163475_40608 4_n.jpg
Town Legend
19/03/2011, 9:31 PM
Just to clear it up L.T.F.C. I along with EVERYONE in Flancare tonight knows that Deans goal was a pure fluke. He hit a long ball looking for Cowan (I think) ball took a wicked bounce and flew over the keeper. My comment about it been goal of season material was pure tongue in cheek (which means a joke if ya don't know) as anyone who was there to see the goal would know. I apologise to you especially because I didn't realise we had to be serious on here and not be a bit sarcastic!!!! :)
19/03/2011, 9:34 PM
So Harps have played 2 games, had 8 goals, 3 red cards, 2 players taken to hospital and a partridge in a pear tree. Well not the last one but great entertainment value.
Great having this season underway, bring on Waterford.
19/03/2011, 9:52 PM
I apologise to you especially because I didn't realise we had to be serious on here and not be a bit sarcastic!!!! :)
Not get the memo? You can only be serious on foot now. And as for tongue-in-cheek comments; you're taking your life into your own hands there son. Careful.
I've had a soccer-free weekend due to the missus so I have to live vicariously through you lot!
HARP
A shared culture :D
A bonfire of Harp is a good use of Harp....
bullit
19/03/2011, 11:33 PM
A bonfire of Harp is a good use of Harp....
Yeah,but it doesn't burn too well i hear.Cant imagine why :D
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 9:54 AM
Bit disrespectful to Bray. Thought they defended pretty well, although we did not want to score. They looked more likely to score on their counter attacks than we did with our constant attacking.
Only Galway have let in more do you think we will score against them or would that be disrespectful as well . we were supposed to be contenders and we cant even beat a team that only stays up because there is nowhere else for them to go .
Rasputin
20/03/2011, 10:16 AM
Only Galway have let in more do you think we will score against them or would that be disrespectful as well . we were supposed to be contenders and we cant even beat a team that only stays up because there is nowhere else for them to go .
Ahh ya, good man yourself.
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 10:45 AM
Ahh ya, good man yourself.
Thats your witty retort? am i wrong about bray ? about galway? If you want to call me disrespectful to bray at least back it up with something other than they defended well . easy to defend well against a rubbish attack . we have scoared 1 goal in 3 games and your concern is that im dissing bray , take the log out of your own eye first please .
Bray-Z
20/03/2011, 11:30 AM
Thats your witty retort? am i wrong about bray ? about galway? If you want to call me disrespectful to bray at least back it up with something other than they defended well . easy to defend well against a rubbish attack . we have scoared 1 goal in 3 games and your concern is that im dissing bray , take the log out of your own eye first please .
Sour grapes is a terrible affliction.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/03/2011, 11:31 AM
youve bigger problems than not been able to score pal. Wish you well in the league but surprised at how poor you were against us.
It's a pretty big problem!
Need to get Ndo back quickly. Even when he's out I don't understand whatsoever why Ventre is starting in his place and not Kirby. Greene and Raf should be starting ahead of Dillon and Doyle
poster
20/03/2011, 11:57 AM
We were **** going forward yes, but Bray were a lot better in that game than I saw them all last season, which was about 6 times. They saw exactly what we were doing from the start, one dimensional football and snuffed us out. Blinks hardly touched the ball all game, nor did Raf when he came on.
Although I saw signs of 2009 Raf, I don't like 2009 Raf.
rocket
20/03/2011, 12:23 PM
Jesus what a complete ****. Your team has a slow start to the season and already your coming up with crap like this. you had a poor night and Bray worked their socks off and got a well deserved point, and dont presume when you play BRAY, GALWAY, or DROGS that you only have to turn up to get the points,it dont work like that.
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 12:58 PM
Jesus what a complete ****. Your team has a slow start to the season and already your coming up with crap like this. you had a poor night and Bray worked their socks off and got a well deserved point, and dont presume when you play BRAY, GALWAY, or DROGS that you only have to turn up to get the points,it dont work like that.
what crap? , you let in 5 goals in two games and we supposed contenders couldnt score . the point wasnt directed at bray other than to say we cant score even against the weaker teams . now if you all think bray are not one of the weaker teams then we are all entitled to our opinions , yeah . IMO we should be scoring and beating teams like bray and galway if we are to get into the top positions . bray were relegated twice and stayed up so surely you agree that doesnt look good . would you think bray will be fighting for top 3 this year ? Stop taking s**t so personaly its football . take a look at the predictions for the game , all were rovers 2 bray 0 .
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 1:00 PM
PS rocket i never mentioned DROGS so what are you saying about them .
DaveyPats
20/03/2011, 1:14 PM
Need to get Ndo back quickly.
Is Joe up to his old tricks again I wonder :rolleyes:
rocket
20/03/2011, 1:28 PM
what crap? , you let in 5 goals in two games and we supposed contenders couldnt score . the point wasnt directed at bray other than to say we cant score even against the weaker teams . now if you all think bray are not one of the weaker teams then we are all entitled to our opinions , yeah . IMO we should be scoring and beating teams like bray and galway if we are to get into the top positions . bray were relegated twice and stayed up so surely you agree that doesnt look good . would you think bray will be fighting for top 3 this year ? Stop taking s**t so personaly its football . take a look at the predictions for the game , all were rovers 2 bray 0 .
Your deluded, ill throw your rattle back in your pram, it might calm you down.
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 1:35 PM
Your deluded, ill throw your rattle back in your pram, it might calm you down.
instead of your silly comments why not explain what is wrong with my logic . i try to be factual why dont you give it a go . rattle in pram , really this is about FOOTBALL please keep your comments to the game . i didnt try to insult you personally show the same regard for others . if you cant make an arguement for or against something without personal insults you probably shouldnt comment at all .
rocket
20/03/2011, 2:01 PM
instead of your silly comments why not explain what is wrong with my logic . i try to be factual why dont you give it a go . rattle in pram , really this is about FOOTBALL please keep your comments to the game . i didnt try to insult you personally show the same regard for others . if you cant make an arguement for or against something without personal insults you probably shouldnt comment at all .
stop been so angry, youll feel much better when yous score a goal.
poster
20/03/2011, 2:01 PM
Is Joe up to his old tricks again I wonder :rolleyes:
Joey has deep bruising on his foot, expected to be back in 2 weeks. Maybe for the Galway game.
harleyleeds
20/03/2011, 2:05 PM
youll feel much better when yous score a goal
first football related thing you said , well done . whats more youre correct . who are ye playing next ? think ye will win ? just curious .
passerrby
20/03/2011, 2:24 PM
jesus harley chill the beanos if football was as predictable as you imply it should be it would be a sorry sport .dont come over all shams expecting people to tug their forlock when you play them, the result says to me that the gap is not as big as in some peoples minds