View Full Version : Team For Friday Vs SPA

02/06/2004, 10:45 PM
we have all had our views with the fenn affair so ur line up for friday.

devine
greg dan benno murphy

nwanko sweeney colin woodsie

flynny georgie

03/06/2004, 7:13 AM
I'd go with the same eleven as started in Waterford.

When Doyle is fit there might be a case for dropping Fenn, but at the moment George is getting better and better in midfield and that team has been on a really good run, I wouldn't move George as that would be changing how we set out at the start.

We don't really need the bite Sweeney would bring in midfield, Pat's aren't going to try and kick us off the field.

03/06/2004, 7:47 AM
We don't really need the bite Sweeney would bring in midfield, Pat's aren't going to try and kick us off the field.

I think its something we have been seriously lacking in recent times, there should always be room for a hardman in the midfield.
I think Billy has been poor lately, unable to get a cross in anymore, I remember when he was the best winger in this country, happy days.

Devine

Greg Dan Benno Murphy

Nolan CT Sweeney Nwanko

George Fenn

cityrebel1
03/06/2004, 8:02 AM
devine

greg murray bennett murphy

woods georgie o brien nwankwo

fenn oflynn

03/06/2004, 9:10 AM
I'd try:

[GK] Devine
[RB] Greg
[CH] Murray
[CH] Bennett
[LB] Murphy
[RM] Billy
[CM] Colin T
[CM] Nwanko
[LM] Kearney
[CF] George
[FF] Flynny

We'd essentially be playing a 4-5-1 which would disrupt the St Pats midfield and hopefully generate enough set pieces for us to profit from. Pats aren't going to want their bad run to continue and if we can contain them early on they'll start to get more frustrated and remember their recent poor results. We are away from home remember and avoiding defeat is paramount.

03/06/2004, 9:12 AM
We'd essentially be playing a 4-5-1

i hear thats an attacking formation these days
.. i ask you

03/06/2004, 9:15 AM
.. i ask you

We're away from home to a team who're like a wounded animal right now.
Caution is the best approach early on.
The beauty of football is that you can make up to 3 substitutions during the course of the game, to change things around, should you so wish.

03/06/2004, 9:23 AM
We're away from home to a team....

it's a home game.
In any case, I don't think Flynny is strong or fit enough yet to play on his own up front.

03/06/2004, 9:24 AM
We're away from home to a team who're like a wounded animal right now.
Caution is the best approach early on.

did you know we are at home this weekend :confused:

03/06/2004, 9:50 AM
it's a home game.

Shít!
*Cork = Home
*Dublin = Away

I need to get out of this place!

We're away to Shels, right?
Tolka = Away?

Still would go with that team though ;)

NorthoftheLee
03/06/2004, 9:54 AM
Shít!
*Cork = Home
*Dublin = Away

I need to get out of this place!

We're away to Shels, right?
Tolka = Away?

Still would go with that team though ;)

lie down there for a half hour or so and you should be ok.

we are away to Shels correct......

03/06/2004, 10:06 AM
lie down there for a half hour or so and you should be ok.

That's part of the problem. I got up too quickly.

03/06/2004, 10:24 AM
I got up too quickly.

not the 1st time thats happened to ya i'd say :eek:

03/06/2004, 10:34 AM
Peadar is a jackeen
na na na na na
Peadar is a jackeen
na na na na na

My guess at our team

Adamson
Quigley Foley Maguire El Khebir
Dunne Osam Ndo Byrne
Bird O’Keefe

Although we might go 5 in the middle. Fahey being out is a huge loss as he’s been terrific recently.

Johnny Mac’s had a week in charge so we’ll see if he does anything differently

03/06/2004, 10:46 AM
Peader is a jackeen

Remind us to avoid this Peader fella so then, whoever he is :p

Although we might go 5 in the middle.

Put a bet on it being 1-0 to City so then or 0-0.
It aint going to be pretty to watch, folks, with the centre of the park crowded out.

03/06/2004, 10:50 AM
It aint going to be pretty to watch, folks, with the centre of the park crowded out.

sure bypass it if it's crowded

HOOF!!! :D :eek:

NorthoftheLee
03/06/2004, 11:21 AM
sure bypass it if it's crowded

HOOF!!! :D :eek:

:mad: ssssssssssshhhhhhhh :mad: :D

03/06/2004, 11:50 AM
Devine
Greg Dan Benno Murphy
Billy Colin Georgie Nwanko
Flynny Fenn

I would drop Fenn but I don't think it's possible really until Doyler is back. The only realistic replacement for him at the moment is Behan or Sweeney (if you move Georgie up front). I'd say start with Fenn and Flynny up front and if either of them is having a nightmare bring on Behan.

Real ale Madrid
03/06/2004, 12:48 PM
My team would be -

Devine

Greg Dan Benno Murphy

Colin T Sweeney Georgie Nwanko

Fenn Flynn

Move Colin T to the right and drop Billy and give Fenn one more shout. Colin T while giving max effort goes in and out of games. Moving Sweeney's presence in gives Georgie a chance to do what he's good at and thats being creative. I think Billy was poor enough against Waterford all their attacks during the second half came down his wing.
Fenn to score tomorrow night. I reckon Dolan will have given him some sort of ultimatum to get cracking or face the bench. Behan is not good enough anyway unfortunately and we've no more options until Doyler and Stephen return.

Eric
03/06/2004, 1:47 PM
I haven't been impressed by Fenn performances lately but in my opinion the best game he had for City was the away game against Pats when he anf Flynny played some great link up football. I'd like to see him start this one up front with Flynny and see how it goes

03/06/2004, 4:38 PM
Devine

Greg Dan Benno Murphy

Billy Colin T Georgie Nwanko

Fenn Flynn

This is a game for Fenn to show his worth. It's unlikely that SPA have turned into a kick-sh*t team in a week, so his creativity can show through. If he can't do it in this game, can't see him ever doing it. Flynnie should show a bit more form as well.
I fear this could be 11 man defence gameplan from SPA, so its going to be up to Georgie, Fenn and Flynnie to come up with the goods.

btw, has Derek come back?

03/06/2004, 4:59 PM
It's unlikely that SPA have turned into a kick-sh*t team in a weekThey were just a sh*t team on Monday.

03/06/2004, 7:26 PM
Devine

Greg Dan Benno Murphy

Billy Colin T Georgie Nwanko

Fenn Flynn

Is Lordan still injured?
Have Kearney, Behan and Nolan ready to fall in if Fenn, Flynn or Nwankwo aint doing the biz.

I hope the apes around the ground don't get on Fenn's back.

04/06/2004, 8:03 AM
I hope the apes around the ground don't get on Fenn's back.

ah well neil, u know the critics here will support whatever 11 are on the pitch

04/08/2004, 10:54 AM
Devine
Lordan, Bennet, Murray, Murphy
Billy, Colin, George, Kearney
O'Flynn, Fenn

Hoggie may come in for Lordan if fit.
Maybe Gamble for Colin
Billy for Doyler who been looking tired since Nantes.

04/08/2004, 11:19 AM
Devine
Mucka Benno Dan Danny
Woods Colin George Kearney
Fenn Nolan

Flynn, Doyle, Nwankwo, Greg and Lordan ready to come on.

04/08/2004, 11:39 AM
Pats aren't going to want their bad run to continue and if we can contain them early on they'll start to get more frustrated and remember their recent poor results. We are away from home remember and avoiding defeat is paramount.

Our form is (LAST 5 LEAGUE and Cup GAMES) P 5 W3 D 0 L2

Yours is (Last 5 League and Cup Games) P5 W2 D0 L3

Pats owe yous one for the robbery of a game in Turners Cross, can see a few goals in this for us if our young lads run your tired defence ragged.

04/08/2004, 11:43 AM
Our form is (LAST 5 LEAGUE and Cup GAMES) P 5 W3 D 0 L2

Yours is (Last 5 League and Cup Games) P5 W2 D0 L3

Pats owe yous one for the robbery of a game in Turners Cross, can see a few goals in this for us if our young lads run your tired defence ragged.This is a thread from before the last game between us, which has been revived!

04/08/2004, 11:49 AM
Our form is (LAST 5 LEAGUE and Cup GAMES)

That was posted 2 months ago dubbya dubbya esssssss

04/08/2004, 11:50 AM
how the fcuk was this thread brought back up :eek:

04/08/2004, 11:56 AM
Devine
Lordan Benno Dan Danny
Nwanko Colin Georgie Kearney
Fenn Doyle

Subs: Flynny, Mucka, Billy, Behan, Sweeny

04/08/2004, 12:20 PM
That was posted 2 months ago dubbya dubbya esssssss

You're right - Jebus- I didnt know I could predict the future like that...

04/08/2004, 1:18 PM
He and Fenn had them running around in circles up there earlier in the season.

That's true actually. Flynny's goal up there was the result of a beautiful bit of link up play between himself, Fenny and Georgie. I'd be quite happy with a repeat performance! :)

Eric
04/08/2004, 2:22 PM
Fenn to score tomorrow night.

Who we playing tonight????

I don't understand why people are suggesting that Nwanko starts on the left. Why drop Kearney when he is in the form of his life???

The players who are looking most tired at the moment are Flynny, Doyler, Colin T and Lordan has been looking a bit tired too.

I'd like to see Hoggie given a run a right full, think he's fit enough by now

04/08/2004, 7:22 PM
Pats owe yous one for the robbery of a game in Turners Cross, can see a few goals in this for us if our young lads run your tired defence ragged.
that was payback for last season. and for ye being a pain in the rebel army's collective @rse

sullanefc
04/08/2004, 10:16 PM
FFS sake what l@nger brought this thread up. I started reading it from the start thinking it was recent. :o Boy is there egg on my face. Good one tho :D

adamcarr
04/08/2004, 10:34 PM
Who cares what team wins once we all have a jolly night.
Hear Hear! :D

ollie
04/08/2004, 10:49 PM
Who cares what team wins once we all have a jolly night.

we've moved on from that sort of attitude of moral victories etc.it'll be a jolly night for sure if we win tho :D