View Full Version : Sidebar thing
A N Mouse
14/03/2011, 9:16 AM
Am I imagining it or has the option the hide the sidebar disappeared? It also seems to be appearing in more places, never noticed it on threads before?
All of a sudden things are looking a little squashed :(
14/03/2011, 10:19 AM
I'm getting that too
14/03/2011, 11:31 AM
It didn't used to appear on thread listings and threads, it will from now on because I want to put articles and blogs in front of people's eyes -- people still think Foot.ie is just a forum, and it needs to be more than that. It does appear in a few other locations, but I've disabled it in all locations that already have a left-sidebar, so the content doesn't get too squished.
I'll also be putting ads in the sidebar, and before ye jump down my throat there is a logic to this: the ads that used to run in the first and last post of threads (I've already removed them) were a bit wide and made the posts difficult to read on small monitors. The new banners, like the one currently displaying on the homepage, are narrower and although they still squash the page a little on small monitors, they won't affect the majority of people.
Of course in an ideal world I wouldn't have any ads on the site, but I do need to pay the bills so the ads have to be there. As ever, club members (http://foot.ie/content/129-Club) don't see ads, and from Wednesday they'll be able to disable the sidebar too.
14/03/2011, 12:57 PM
Fair enough that you're doing it for ads etc, but its makes the place look pretty ugly
14/03/2011, 2:22 PM
What size monitor are you using Dodge? Can you attach or send a screenshot? I don't have stats for resolutions off the top of my head, but I did check them a while back and small monitors are very much a minority. Additionally, as a moderator, you have the same privileges as a member so you won't be affected.
IF thats the case, then fine, sod the rest of the peasants.
Work monitor is still small enough though
14/03/2011, 3:02 PM
Send me a screenshot so I can take a look.
14/03/2011, 3:27 PM
Everyone should switch back to IE6, I get jumbo size avatars and no side bar in work.
14/03/2011, 11:29 PM
Means have to switch to the mobile option on my phone now though. Dammit.
14/03/2011, 11:54 PM
Aren't you a mod too? Have /none/ of the mods noticed the Club Members forum? :)
It's disabled now for members, if you're still seeing it then there's something wrong.
Red Army
15/03/2011, 9:16 AM
I don't like it. Looks messy.
15/03/2011, 10:52 AM
I'm still seeing it anyway
15/03/2011, 5:40 PM
Aren't you a mod too? Have /none/ of the mods noticed the Club Members forum? :)The what now?
15/03/2011, 6:00 PM
The what now?
http://foot.ie/forums/107-Club-Members
Foot.ie version of the Illuminati.
15/03/2011, 6:45 PM
Ah, that would explain it. PotM mods must be in a different user category. I can't see that.
15/03/2011, 7:18 PM
Ah, that would explain it. PotM mods must be in a different user category. I can't see that.
That explains it; I thought I was going mad.
15/03/2011, 8:51 PM
No, it's just you.
15/03/2011, 8:53 PM
I'm still seeing it anyway
How about now Dodge? I used the number of moderators instead of the mod group ID number. :)
But you're not a mod John83? I think you may have been a club member though?
15/03/2011, 9:26 PM
He's a mod for the Post of the Month forum.
15/03/2011, 10:32 PM
I cant get into this club either...is it coz I'm female?
15/03/2011, 11:45 PM
I've made it a bit narrower now, how's that? I'll need to change the blocks, but that's fine, the current fonts are a bit big anyway.
It seems mods don't currently have access to the club forum. I'll ask the club forum if they mind having ye scruffy knackers in there. :)
16/03/2011, 12:34 AM
I haven't figured out how to reduce the font yet, but I have removed the avatars.
16/03/2011, 2:08 AM
Less of the scruffy, it may be 3.07 am but my hair and make up are impecable. As always. Retract retract retract!
maybe more like this? :)
http://blstb.msn.com/i/87/F9319D6987A7BC505F59955132F746.jpg
16/03/2011, 8:46 AM
Shut uuuu-uup...
Red Army
22/03/2011, 9:45 AM
I'd say it's serious craic in the private forum section
22/03/2011, 9:51 AM