View Full Version : Jermaine Pennant wants Irish call up
back of the net
08/03/2011, 5:22 PM
Am I the only one who thinks he is absolute crap?
Nah , i cant imagine your on your own with that opinion BennoCelt
I think he is atrocious and along with the fact that he has the attitude of kevin Nolan with regards to playing for us, I dont want him anywhere near the Ireland squad
Mad to think that he was once the most expensive trainee when Arsenal signed all those years ago...I cant see any of the potential they saw in him , although he has had a troubled career so ill give them the benefit of the doubt on that
amaccann
08/03/2011, 5:58 PM
Two words spring to mind on the thinking of players like Pennant : "Sloppy Seconds"
Surely we value ourselves and our football team more than entertaining this kind of mercenary?
SwanVsDalton
08/03/2011, 7:05 PM
Two words spring to mind on the thinking of players like Pennant : "Sloppy Seconds"
Was thinking 'Porsche abandoner' 'ankle monitored' and 'The Anti-Crosser' meself.
Paddy Garcia
08/03/2011, 7:32 PM
Personallty I'm totally underwhelmed by this. However interesting thread from our perspective.
Lots of indignation that he should select us as second choice etc - usually swiftly followed by the fact that he would not add anything anyway!
I wonder could we afford to be so self righteous if he was a great striker or even a semi-competent centre midfielder!
CraftyToePoke
08/03/2011, 7:36 PM
Paddy Garcia;1462204I wonder could we afford to be so self righteous if he was a great striker or even a semi-competent centre midfielder!
I think the far softer reaction to O'Hara on here answers that. Not a lot between these two in terms of how they view playing for us. I dont want either.
gastric
08/03/2011, 7:37 PM
This article would suggest a telephone call is all that is necessary! I would have thought the likes of O'Hara and Stearman would be more of a priority as we are pretty strong as wingers go.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-willing-to-consider-pennant-2570985.html
abbeyvale
08/03/2011, 11:28 PM
This article would suggest a telephone call is all that is necessary! I would have thought the likes of O'Hara and Stearman would be more of a priority as we are pretty strong as wingers go.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-willing-to-consider-pennant-2570985.html
I agree with a previous post, and say cap him and have him as an option (you'd never know when or if you might need him due to injuries, suspensions etc, he's a better option than some of the trype that GT currenly picks.
The way some of you are speaking, you'd swear we were blessed with talent..............lets not forget this guy has Premier League & Champions League experience (not like the average Championship players that are currently in the squads) and has played for Arsenal, Liverpool, R.Zaragoza, Stoke, Leeds, Birmingham & Portsmouth, so all the scouts/management teams from each of these clubs must have seen something in him to sign him.
He's a decent crosser of a ball and I'm sure Kevin Doyle would relish him in the team instead of the "head down and inconsistant McGeady".
And please dont give me that crap about his English roots, since when did that matter????
08/03/2011, 11:37 PM
some comments from David Meyler
from http://twitter.com/#!/DMeyler/status/45255842622214145
Jermaine Pennant wants to play Ireland eh???!!!
and, a few minutes later, http://twitter.com/#!/DMeyler/status/45258138525511680
One of the greatest achievements as a kid who plays football is playing for you country at any level,this shouldn't be taken for granted!
Sullivinho
08/03/2011, 11:49 PM
He made a similar comment a while back that I for one interpreted as a dig at a certain Mr. Ireland.
I like this Meyler lad.
CraftyToePoke
09/03/2011, 12:00 AM
And please dont give me that crap about his English roots, since when did that matter????
I dont think its so much 'English roots' , its more that he actually is English, in an indisputable undeniable born and bred kind of way, Abbeyvale.
The 'roots' are Irish here and even then, tenuous at best, just enough to scrape eligibility, and of no consequence to this guy until just now, when he sees a chance to exploit them.
Or did you miss that?
And it does matter, its our country and it matters who is representing us by playing for that country. Thats where it matters, or at least should do.
back of the net
09/03/2011, 1:46 AM
Lads....i just listened to Pennants radio interview with the BBC where he talks about taking his Ireland chance
(see link attached for radio interview - scroll down on the link and you will find the actual radio interview)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/stoke_city/9417873.stm
Its his attitude that p*sses me off.
"I text my agent".....like WTF Jermaine this isnt some pub team.
gastric
09/03/2011, 4:21 AM
I agree with a previous post, and say cap him and have him as an option (you'd never know when or if you might need him due to injuries, suspensions etc, he's a better option than some of the trype that GT currenly picks.
The way some of you are speaking, you'd swear we were blessed with talent..............lets not forget this guy has Premier League & Champions League experience (not like the average Championship players that are currently in the squads) and has played for Arsenal, Liverpool, R.Zaragoza, Stoke, Leeds, Birmingham & Portsmouth, so all the scouts/management teams from each of these clubs must have seen something in him to sign him.
He's a decent crosser of a ball and I'm sure Kevin Doyle would relish him in the team instead of the "head down and inconsistant McGeady".
Abbeyvale, I suggest you read my post again. No mention of English roots, I am a pragmatist to be honest, and all I am saying is a central midfielder and central defender would be long term priorities, however, a more short term priority is a fit goalkeeper! That's all I have said!
09/03/2011, 6:55 AM
Really, when?
09/03/2011, 7:59 AM
From today's Independent:
Trapattoni can't ignore Pennant's record: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trap-cant-ignore-pennants-record-2571304.html
Pennant factfile: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/pennant-factfile-2571303.html
amaccann
09/03/2011, 8:06 AM
And people get huffy when it's suggested we're the England B-Team.
09/03/2011, 8:39 AM
It was never suggested we were an England B team. It was suggested we were similar to England ("Angleterre bis"), which is true.
AlaskaFox
09/03/2011, 9:01 AM
From today's Independent:
Trapattoni can't ignore Pennant's record: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trap-cant-ignore-pennants-record-2571304.html
Pennant factfile: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/pennant-factfile-2571303.html
2005 -- January: Joins Birmingham on loan. Despite driving ban, Pennant crashes his Mercedes into a lamp post while twice the legal alcohol limit. Identifies himself as Ashley Cole (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Ashley_Cole) during questioning
Can I change my opinion? Call him up.
That said, this guy seems to be more confrontational in the dressing room than Don Givens. Why would we want him?
Not sure I get the issue - "we" either accept players of dubious irishness or we don't? Is it just Pennants not that likeable?
09/03/2011, 9:26 AM
Whereas Pennant has a right to declare for the FAI, Irish fans retain the right to have an opinion on his merits, not just as a player but also on his attitude to the opportunity.
Murfinator
09/03/2011, 10:25 AM
Not sure I get the issue - "we" either accept players of dubious irishness or we don't? Is it just Pennants not that likeable?
I have no problem accepting him, I just don't think he's good enough.
09/03/2011, 10:34 AM
I don't we're in any position to dismiss a fairly regular Premiership player as "not good enough".
More worrying would be the likes of this from his wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jermaine_Pennant) -
...failed to fulfil his promise amidst a string of disciplinary problems [at Arsenal]
Arsenal manager Arsène Wenger appeared to have eventually lost patience with Pennant, who had a history of turning up late to training
he was reprimanded by [Zaragoza] coach José Aurelio Gay after turning up late for training three times in the space of two weeks; he was sent home on the third occasion and disciplined.
Whilst on the England under-21 team, he was sent home by coach Howard Wilkinson for breaking a curfew before an important game against Turkey
Just seems like trouble overall, and that's before you look at his non-footballing antics.
09/03/2011, 11:41 AM
lets not forget this guy... has played for Arsenal, Liverpool, R.Zaragoza, Stoke, Leeds, Birmingham & Portsmouth, so all the scouts/management teams from each of these clubs must have seen something in him to sign him.
And get rid of him.
Deckydee
09/03/2011, 11:50 AM
This is what I can find:
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/irish-fa-open-to-pennants-bid-for-senior-cap-with-trapattoni-2236046.html
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0308/1224291634205.html
http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/51274/Pennant_makes_Trapattoni_call.aspx
Wolfie
09/03/2011, 12:29 PM
I don't we're in any position to dismiss a fairly regular Premiership player as "not good enough".
More worrying would be the likes of this from his wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jermaine_Pennant) -
Just seems like trouble overall, and that's before you look at his non-footballing antics.
Does anyone know if he plays guitar?? We have a vacancy.
Junior
09/03/2011, 1:04 PM
I dont like the regular posts along the lines of 'if he's a premier league regular he cant be dismissed' or 'its not an area we are weak in therefore we can ignore etc....'
His ability or lack thereof is of no interest to me - It's his attitude and approach to representing the ('his') country. O'Hara would add something to our team I am sure but that means nothing to me, I dont want an Englishman on secondment to my countrys team to enhance his CV.
Stutts' gut test is the best way to solving this and he's a FAIL. (Probably F Minus)
Murfinator
09/03/2011, 1:07 PM
- Rory Delap
- Stephen Carr
- Steven Reid
- Andy Reid
- Stephen Ward
We clearly are!
09/03/2011, 1:55 PM
Stutts' gut test is the best way to solving this
Stutts' gut feeling test is our oracle.
SwanVsDalton
09/03/2011, 2:12 PM
Stutts' gut feeling test is our oracle.
Yup Stutts' is the best gut feeler we have. That's why Andy Reid isn't in the squad, his gut was just too big.
09/03/2011, 3:44 PM
Can I change my opinion? Call him up.
That said, this guy seems to be more confrontational in the dressing room than Don Givens. Why would we want him?
Did no one get my reference to that at all earlier?! :confused:
Losing all faith...
09/03/2011, 4:17 PM
Thanks for the vote of confidence lads.
abbeyvale
09/03/2011, 4:41 PM
I dont think its so much 'English roots' , its more that he actually is English, in an indisputable undeniable born and bred kind of way, Abbeyvale.
The 'roots' are Irish here and even then, tenuous at best, just enough to scrape eligibility, and of no consequence to this guy until just now, when he sees a chance to exploit them.
Or did you miss that?
And it does matter, its our country and it matters who is representing us by playing for that country. Thats where it matters, or at least should do.
And what about the many players over the years that have truned out for Ireland that were "undeniably born and bred" in England????
CraftyToePoke
09/03/2011, 4:45 PM
And what about the many players over the years that have truned out for Ireland that were "undeniably born and bred" in England????
Each case on its individual merits. This one doesnt stand up.
Whats the story with the multiple ??????? in your posts? You seem fond of it.
abbeyvale
09/03/2011, 4:49 PM
Do ye honestly think GT cares about what the Irish think and that he only wants to pick players that have come up through the Irish underage set up?
At the end of the day GT is a money grabber and if he can get a player that qualifies for Ireland that he thinks is good enough for the squad (regardless of where he was born) he will pick him....end of.
There are many "Irish" players that were born or were eligible to play for England (or another country) over the years that would have chosen England over Ireland if they had been asked...............but as the call didn't come, they went on to choose Ireland..................Fact.
Fixer82
09/03/2011, 4:52 PM
- Rory Delap
- Stephen Carr
- Steven Reid
- Andy Reid
- Stephen Ward
We clearly are!
ah ya got in before me
CraftyToePoke
09/03/2011, 5:08 PM
and I'll be back when Pennant pulls on the green jersey.
And a proud moment for Irish soccer that would be. Really one to trumpet about.
Dear God.
cestlavie
09/03/2011, 5:12 PM
Our prisons are already at breaking point, we have no room left, sorry not this time Jermaine.
DannyInvincible
09/03/2011, 7:13 PM
I don't think Trapattoni would have much time for a guy like this. He claims he's a reformed man since the birth of his child last year though...
- Rory Delap
- Stephen Carr
- Steven Reid
- Andy Reid
- Stephen Ward
We clearly are!
Stephen Carr and Steven Reid are retired from international football, so not really a case of them being dismissed surely. Fair enough regarding the others, in Trapattoni's mind anyway. Many fans wouldn't dismiss them, however, as potential options at least.
Scooby Doo
09/03/2011, 9:49 PM
Of course, I'm against this chancer pulling on the green jersey. He is the epitome of everything you don't want in an international player. In saying that however - as mentioned above - Clinton Morrisson, whose situation was not dissimilar, did become a mainstay in our side for nearly two campaigns IIRC and something of cult hero. Maybe the latter was because he was such a likeable chap! Also remember Paul Butler?! Now that was a laugh!
09/03/2011, 9:54 PM
Morrison's situation was very very different to Pennant's.
Sullivinho
09/03/2011, 10:25 PM
Morrison declared at 22/23 and at the height of his scoring exploits in fairness.
Should Trap entertain Pennant's case, hopefully he'll take his (many) disciplinary indiscretions into account and that'l at least contribute to the sinking of this possibility. Another factor being this guy's ability in comparison to what we already have.
Scooby Doo
09/03/2011, 10:47 PM
Morrison's situation was very very different to Pennant's.
It was similar in that he waited for an England call up until was certain his best prospects lay with Ireland. I recall Paul Howard writing about how McCarthy apparently lost it with him when he left Mick waiting an hour before a meeting regarding a possible Ireland call-up. Mick's reaction was 'Would you keep Sven Goran Eriksson waiting for an hour?', an attitude which as far as he was concerned, spoke volumes, it seems.
Don't get me wrong, I was a big fan of Clint when he played for us. Definately put his heart and soul into it and on several occassions publically refered to Ireland as 'my country'. :cool:
sean r
10/03/2011, 2:47 AM
how is he illiterate? he has to sign his name on the contract,unless his agent reads it to him. you dont have to be smart to play football. he must be able to write his name or at least count to 10!!!!! this really bothers me that another mercenary want to opt for eire. we are england b team!!!!!!!!!!
amaccann
10/03/2011, 8:29 AM
For me, if Pennant was 18-21, I would probably turn the other cheek & give the fella the benefit of the doubt. "Ok, perhaps he has an stronger affinity to Ireland, not unlike a McGeady, McCarthy or Kilbane. Maybe his grandmother was more of a maternal figure than his parents, who knows". I'd wish him well and hope he grows into the role. He's young enough that to stake a claim like that he's probably making a bold statement either way
But Pennant's 28 and, let's face it, a Premiership washout. His career has not exactly taken off & knows England will never come beckoning. Ireland to him is just a convenient club that will let him get a little piece of International football. This is a cynical, mercenary manoeuvre & and it doesn't matter how good he is, we should have a little more self-respect than this.
Doubly so when we're blatantly ignoring genuine Irish midfield prospects.
boovidge
10/03/2011, 11:47 AM
It's clear Pennant doesn't feel Irish and never met his grandad by the sounds of things. "My mum told me my grandad was Irish".
The "granny rule" is great for genuine cases like McGeady, McCarthy etc but not only would a Pennant appearance cheapen the green shirt, it wouldn't offer us anything better than what we've already got.
Plenty of "non-genuine" cases are national hero's. I'm pretty sure Houghton said on that RTE programme (The green and red?) a few years ago that he still looks for Scotlands results first, after 70 odd bloody caps!
TrapAPony
10/03/2011, 2:11 PM
It's clear Pennant doesn't feel Irish and never met his grandad by the sounds of things. "My mum told me my grandad was Irish".
In fairness you can hardly blame him over the fact that he never met his grandfather.
CraftyToePoke
10/03/2011, 2:46 PM
In fairness you can hardly blame him over the fact that he never met his grandfather.
True, but surely equally when he is looking to that man as his angle for declaring for us, he should have been a big influence on the guy, and given him his sense of the Irishness we look for in eligibility cases like this. And with good reason.
He should at least have mentioned this at some stage before the age of 28 if it were of anything other than tactical last chance saloon material to Pennant.
10/03/2011, 3:23 PM
I'm pretty sure Houghton said on that RTE programme (The green and red?) a few years ago that he still looks for Scotlands results first, after 70 odd bloody caps!
That 'Green and Red' rte programme from 10 years ago?
Ray wouldn't have to look for the Irish result as he would already know how Ireland fared.
Anyway it's natural that he would look for Scotland's results.
He never made any secret out of, or tried to revise, how much he had wanted to play for Scotland before declaring for Ireland by invitation. He is a proud dual national and very much at ease with both aspects.
I haven't heard your perception, of what Ray said or meant, corroborated by anybody and not by Ray himself in all the years listening to him.
He never made any secret out of, or tried to revise, how much he had wanted to play for Scotland before declaring for Ireland by invitation.
That's fair enough, but the point is would that be enough to pass this new Stutts gut test, if it had been applicable at the time? I'm not trying to make it about individual past players - it's just the same standard isn't being applied to Pennant imo now he says he's interested in representing "the republic".
10/03/2011, 4:25 PM
Plenty of "non-genuine" cases are national hero's. I'm pretty sure Houghton said on that RTE programme (The green and red?) a few years ago that he still looks for Scotlands results first, after 70 odd bloody caps!
Have you seen that utube vid of him dressed as a lepracaun taking the pish on an English tv show -cringeworthy stuff, no Irish person wud ever dare to that on TV - oh wait - Foster and Allen:D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M&playnext=1&list=PLBAD1444E93957A2A