View Full Version : Cheerio!
26/02/2011, 5:50 PM
I've been delighted to see several people lose their seats, but when I saw that Mary O'Rourke is set to lose hers, I wanted to post a thread to celebrate. Cheerio Mary, good riddance to bad rubbish!
Fingers crossed now for Gormley and Ryan to go the same way.
EDIT: Oh, and Boyle. Take a hint Dan.
26/02/2011, 7:22 PM
Martin Mansergh
Peter Power
prince20
26/02/2011, 7:26 PM
I've been delighted to see several people lose their seats, but when I saw that Mary O'Rourke is set to lose hers, I wanted to post a thread to celebrate. Cheerio Mary, good riddance to bad rubbish!
Sorry to upset you but Boyle lost his seat in 2007
26/02/2011, 7:48 PM
He did, and he's running again now, and not going to get it back. Cause for celebration. He's a self-obsessed numpty.,
prince20
26/02/2011, 8:29 PM
He did, and he's running again now, and not going to get it back. Cause for celebration. He's a self-obsessed numpty.,
Definietly agree with you there :)
Spudulika
26/02/2011, 8:47 PM
Sad to see Conor Lenihan go, for lots of reasons but mainly because his brother hung on.
Why wasn't Lowry drummed out? And Monty Martin? I don't understand this, were the twenty odd thousand people supporting them lobotomised?
26/02/2011, 10:00 PM
Martin ManserghTop of my list of people I wanted to lose their seat.
Sad to see Conor Lenihan go:eek: Why?? From the kebabs comment to trying to launch a creationist book as Science minister, he was probably the stupidest person in the dail.
26/02/2011, 10:02 PM
Absolutely, the man is a moron, and utterly in it for himself.
26/02/2011, 10:03 PM
With the exception of Clever Trevor, I have to say I'm utterly chuffed to see the Green Party dead in the water.
He should've run indo and rebooted the greens when he got in, without the other langers.
26/02/2011, 10:08 PM
He has all the time in Ireland, to go argue the toss with Vinny Browne now.
No Greens, as I predicted months ago. Gormley forcing the election hasn't saved them, and they can now go the same way as the PD's. Literally on a bike.
He has all the time in Ireland, to go argue the toss with Vinny Browne now.
No Greens, as I predicted months ago. Gormley forcing the election hasn't saved them, and they can now go the same way as the PD's. Literally on a bike.
Disagree. The Greens will continue as they have a unique set of core beliefs, unlike the PDs.
26/02/2011, 11:05 PM
They do, but the entire concept is the party equivalent of a single-issue candidate. They're a few-issue party. Good riddance to bad rubbish.
27/02/2011, 2:44 PM
Hopefully, Dick Roche will be turfed out in Wicklow.
I'm really surprised about that, especially seeing as FF almost always have two seats down here. He's the ultimate local politician, doing favours for anyone with a vote to keep himself in a seat. Someone once said to me: "He'd go to the opening of an envelope."
As for Lenihan, delighted for him. I remember his appearance on Vincent Browne where he made an eejit of himself. Also, the Haugheys, the Aherns and most of the Lenihans are now gone. That's another great sign.
I don't fundamentally have a problem with the Green party, but only had anytime for Sargent out of the current crop (no pun intended). They never should've gone in, and then they should've pulled the plug over the bank bailout. Look what FF did to book end their time in Government, and no doubt how the farmers party will try and rail road through. Also, Gormley's nimbyism on the incinerator was so blatant it really damaged them. And finally they did not pull the plug on Government - the fact that they didn't is what really killed any chance they had.
Really looking forward to Roche and hopefully Behan going in Wicklow. I'll be gutted if either survive. At least in a recount they'll see they came below Charlie Keddy on my ballot paper! :) Outside of that, Hanafin and Coughlan going was great to see, and very telling Sean O'Rourke practically in tears over Coughlan and how hard a life she has. No bias my arse.
Biggest disappointment is Ross being poll topper - I really hope the left wing indo's/ULA form a technical group that excludes him so he has no speaking time. Also disappointed in seeing Billy Kelleher survive.
In Dub mid west we’ve lost 3 of the old TDs
Harney retired. Shame we didn’t get a chance to see her annihilated in the polls but hopefully gone for good.
Govt Chief whip John Curran lost his safe FF seat. Archetypal FF head with party interests ahead of the rest, with the GAA a close second.
But for me, the most pleasurable defeat was Paul Gogarty getting trounced. From his attempt to ban student protests to his Emmet Stagg outburst and on to his ‘talking out of both sides of his mouth’ pops at the FF but voting every time, everything about him was despicable. Add in the fact he’s obviously an idiot and the fact he was voted a TD in the first place is astounding.
Lets hope the media doesn’t pander to ego now he’s unemployed
cornflakes
28/02/2011, 10:44 AM
You have to wonder why some independents run, they must know they haven't a hope of getting elected. I think I seen one lad got 18 votes.
I had never heard of two of the independents running in Wexford until I seen the ballot paper, are they running for the craic or what?
It must cost them a few bob
28/02/2011, 12:23 PM
Generally speaking I think the no-hopers believe in the electoral system and their stated policies, and want to stand up for them; but I think you can split them into two categories: nutjobs and forward thinkers.
A pile of hilarious kickings - Gogarty, Ryan, White and Gormless, Roche, O'Rourke, Haughey, the lesser Lenihan, Mansergh, Brady, Power, the quiet man Kenneally...
But absolutely delighted to say cheerio to the three I'd most hoped to see go, Hanafin, Coughan and especially O'Donoghue.
Don't let the door hit you in the arse on the way out Bull!
Typically graceless losing speech too, pointing up the 'irony' of him having to give it in a superb sports facility that he'd himself delivered, to a vindictive, ungrateful rabble (that last bit was the subtext, I think).
Fantastic to see Lenihan, Coughlan and Hanafin going. Terrific news. At least Great Hoop O'Donoghue and Fine Hoop O'Connor can go to more Rovers matches now.
28/02/2011, 5:45 PM
Few looked and sounded remorseful upon their failure to be re-elected, and leaving the Dail. I guess "disappointment money", "severance payments", and enormous "pensions" went a long way towards cushioning the blow.
28/02/2011, 7:39 PM
Roche gone now too. I doubt his transfers are going to get Fitzgerald over the line.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0228/breaking31.html
Quite enjoyed this quote too:
His elimination was greeted by applause at the count centre in Greystones tonight.
Seagull
28/02/2011, 8:18 PM
Roche gone now too. I doubt his transfers are going to get Fitzgerald over the line.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0228/breaking31.html
Quite enjoyed this quote too:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM8trclPjgM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
David Grant says Roche considering his options! Get the message Dick, you're smoke!
I can be happy now that both Roche and Behan are gone. The delusion holds no bounds though - considering his options? Hopefully one of them is emigration...
01/03/2011, 8:36 AM
All over the radio news last night that Roche's team were keeping a close eye on the count and would be picking up on anything amiss, without actually giving a reason as to whether there actually was something they legitimately aggrieved about. Pompous mong (and why the radio stations gave continual air-time to the "complaints" is beyond me too)
The peasants can't really have given him such low votes and preferences! He also basically admitted on the News at One yesterday that his preferences wouldn't go to his running mate, whereas Pat Fitzgeralds would go to him - well fair play on the vote management dickie!
03/03/2011, 6:50 PM
Agree 100% Dahamsta. But didnt the feckers only go and vote another FF idiot in "pretty boy" Troy in Wmeath/Longford, a dour, gormless ******! Jesus how embarrassing. Can I pretend I'm from Meath?:mad:
legendz
06/03/2011, 11:15 AM
FF and anyone linked with them deserve everything they got. Labour suffered for it in '97.
I don't get the whole Labour movement who are against the coalition with Fine Gael. In the leaders debate Gilmore mentioned to Kenny about going into coalition talks. In '92 when Labour went in with FF it was a shock as people voted Labour as a move away from FF. This is completely different.
Anyone else catch the Radio Documentary following Conor Lenihan and Charlie O'Connor that was on Saturday evening? Well worth a listen, particularly in the context of this thread. I think they're podcast, and there's probably some RTE player.
13/03/2011, 12:32 PM
I know this is a while late but, Charlie O'Connor, Darragh O'Brien, Hanafin and Coughlan were my favourites.
Though at one point I was aching to see Hanafin get in ahead of that cahnt RBB. Goddammit, I hate that guy.