View Full Version : Omagh

liam88
29/05/2004, 11:01 AM
Anybody with channel 4 on Sky Digital watch Omagh on Thursday night?

29/05/2004, 1:37 PM
Thought it was entertaining enough. Though didn't show the RUC ********ing up before it went off, and it didn't show the other warning calls. Anyone watching it would think the RUC did their job grand on the day.

Crusader Al
29/05/2004, 5:14 PM
Thought it was entertaining enough. .

WHAT !? .... :confused:

Crusader Al
29/05/2004, 5:16 PM
Though didn't show the RUC ********ing up before it went off, and it didn't show the other warning calls. Anyone watching it would think the RUC did their job grand on the day.

That's right blame the police ..... ASS.HOLE :confused:

liam88
29/05/2004, 6:41 PM
Anyone watching it would think the RUC did their job grand on the day.
Actually when the ombusman gave her report at the end it showed that they did a terrible job and let it happen-I'm not saying that is what happend I'm saying that's what the movie showed.
It blamed the British and Irish governments and the RUC for not acting on the information and then covering it up.
Were you watching the same movie?

lopez
29/05/2004, 7:46 PM
Got it on tape yet haven't watched it yet. I'm with Crusader Al on this one. Don't care what the police did or didn't do (unless it was intentional, which I very much doubt), the bomb shouldn't have been planted in a busy high street on a Saturday afternoon in the first place.

Lux Interior
29/05/2004, 10:04 PM
Thought it was entertaining enough. Though didn't show the RUC ********ing up before it went off, and it didn't show the other warning calls. Anyone watching it would think the RUC did their job grand on the day.

Brilliant observation, Josef ..... I personally think the 'loveable rogues' who planted the bomb have had a hard time in the press since then, due to the RUC's incompetence :rolleyes:

I mean, seriously, who REALLY f**ked up that day?

liam88
29/05/2004, 11:24 PM
Well one point it tried to put across in the movie (and this is not necesarely my opinion) is that the British and Irish governments all knew about it months before, had tip offs from the gardai and all but let it happen so that:
-They could protect their informants
-They could discredit the Real IRA (possibly the reason for moving the people up the streets next to the bomb-shown in the movie)
-They could force the RIRA into a ceasefire by saying they would not prosecute (of course they knew who did it because they had tip off's months before)

Now I'm not saying that any of this is true but it was a point that the movie was trying to convey. It tried to show how the Peace Process is very political and that so many sacrafices are made that the people involved have forgotten what it was all about in the first place.
At least this is what me and other people I have spoken to saw it as trying to convey.
Of course as you pointed out the RIRA planted the bomb in the first place and another point the movie (very effectivly) got across was that there were Catholics, Prodestants, Mormons and people from all walks of life in the blast-the main characters were a Catholic family who's son died.

I must say myself that 99 arrests and 1 conviction-which is now being appealed against does seem strange BUT I am in no way saying it was a conspiracy as it can be very hard to solve these kind of crimes.......2000 unsolved murders in Northern Ieland since the start of the troubles.

I just find it sad so many PEOPLE died :(

30/05/2004, 10:22 AM
Anybody with channel 4 on Sky Digital watch Omagh on Thursday night?
No. I watched it on RTE 1 on Chorus on Saturday night, the 22nd.

Duncan Gardner
30/05/2004, 12:18 PM
It was a powerful drama and quite correctly challenged mismanagement and later cover-ups by the authorities. Hardly an entertainbment though...

dortie
30/05/2004, 2:03 PM

People dont realise the RUC are that corrupt and evil that they would have failed to react to a bomb warning to simply destroy an organisation.

They let many a man die to save the cover of their informants.

Lux Interior
30/05/2004, 6:20 PM
People dont realise the RUC are that corrupt and evil that they would have failed to react to a bomb warning to simply destroy an organisation.

"Corrupt and evil", don't hold back, chuckie .... however, let's not lose sight of who was really responsible for the "evil" of that day. Somebody(s), somewhere KNOW(S) who did this and yet we have 'respectable, democratically-elected politicians' discouraging those 'in the know' of passing on this evidence because the police force are "unrepresentative" (I'll not get into a tedious round of whataboutery and pointscoring here, although I do have an exceptionally long list if you want to play and it will be longer than your's).

Now THAT is "corrupt and evil".

liam88
30/05/2004, 7:19 PM
they would have failed to react to a bomb warning to simply destroy an organisation.

They let many a man die to save the cover of their informants.

That seemed to me to be the point of the movie

30/05/2004, 8:00 PM
Got it on tape yet haven't watched it yet. I'm with Crusader Al on this one. Don't care what the police did or didn't do (unless it was intentional, which I very much doubt), the bomb shouldn't have been planted in a busy high street on a Saturday afternoon in the first place.

In fairness, they didn't plan to kill anyone, just wanted to get the media attention. Not that that makes it right though, cos it's not.
It's not the (R)IRA's fault the RUC ******ed and got those people killed. Maybe they just didn't care enough, maybe they deliberately did it (wouldn't put it past the murdering *******s), but the fact is the RUC got it wrong. The (R)IRA attempted to do a 'normal' bombing. Be outraged if ye want, but then ye'd need to be outraged at everybombing in which no-one was killed. Ye can't just single out Omagh.

liam88
30/05/2004, 8:46 PM
In fairness, they didn't plan to kill anyone,..................... Be outraged if ye want, but then ye'd need to be outraged at everybombing in which no-one was killed. Ye can't just single out Omagh.
I might be a tad off the mark here but it seemed to be a pretty big bomb (well whatever size it was-it was a bomb niot a party popper) so how the heck did they expect that detonating it in a high street on a Saturday nobody at all would get caught in the blast?

Slightly different point here-and not accusing anybody of anything, it's some other guys who I know-isn't it impossible to support the IRA and the RIRA as they "hate each other"?

lopez
30/05/2004, 10:26 PM

They let many a man die to save the cover of their informants.This is starting to stray into the realms of the 'conspiracy theory'. Personally I think this whole summary is cojones. While even the suggestion that the odd policemen would allow a bomb to detonate and cause untold carnage to destroy the RIRA is ludicrous, the theory that more than one - where things start to become a conspiracy - is reaching into fantasy land. Still they found aliens in Nevada. :rolleyes:

In fairness, they didn't plan to kill anyone, just wanted to get the media attention.Then stick to shootings. Stick to military targets. Stick to electric pylons. I'm sorry but only a complete eejit would think that putting a primed bomb in a busy town centre would in no way end in any deaths. It certainly got media attention alright.

Lux Interior
30/05/2004, 11:10 PM
In fairness, they didn't plan to kill anyone, just wanted to get the media attention .......... The (R)IRA attempted to do a 'normal' bombing.

So, that makes it alright then? Jeezsus wept buckets :rolleyes:

I mean, it was a busy August Saturday afternoon. It was a town centre. It was a massive f.uck-off bomb, planted by the some of the most ruthless c**ts ever shat out into Christendom. The prospect of minimal casualities, I would estimate, would be slim-to-anorexic. And are you saying civilian targets were now 'normal' game?

I despair ..... comments like yours make me ashamed to be Irish.

30/05/2004, 11:13 PM
I might be a tad off the mark here but it seemed to be a pretty big bomb (well whatever size it was-it was a bomb niot a party popper) so how the heck did they expect that detonating it in a high street on a Saturday nobody at all would get caught in the blast?

Because they gave warnings as to the location of the bomb. Just the RUC ****ed up and moved everyone to the wrong place, exactly where the bomb was.
It's easy not to kill anyone if ye give warnings, no matter how big the bomb is.

Slightly different point here-and not accusing anybody of anything, it's some other guys who I know-isn't it impossible to support the IRA and the RIRA as they "hate each other"?

They don't hate each other, as such. Mightn't be on the best of terms a lot of time though.
And ye can support both in a way. Ye can agree with the (P)IRA's ceasefire, and at the same time respect the right of the (R)IRA to use military means against the occupying forces.

This is starting to stray into the realms of the 'conspiracy theory'. Personally I think this whole summary is cojones. While even the suggestion that the odd policemen would allow a bomb to detonate and cause untold carnage to destroy the RIRA is ludicrous, the theory that more than one - where things start to become a conspiracy - is reaching into fantasy land.

Was Bloody Sunday an attempt to destroy the Civil Rights Movement? (it worked)
It is the British government we're talking about here. They think nothing of having Irish people killed, there's plenty of evidence of that. It was MI5 that planted the Dublin and Monaghan bombs. It was the British military who shot down an Aer Lingus plane in 1968. Rosemary Nelson was killed by the British security services because she was involved with the Bloody Sunday families.

I think it's ludicrous of you to suggest that the RUC would never conspire to kill innocent people.
Have a look at 'The Victims' section of this site: http://www.relativesforjustice.com/ How many children can you count shot dead by the British Army and the RUC? Bet their familes wish they were living in your 'fantasy land'.

31/05/2004, 9:58 AM
Only in Ireland could the blame of people planting a bomb and killing people be the fault of the police. Planting a bomb on a high street, on a Saturday, it doesn't take a fúckin rocket scientist to work out that people might get killed.

dortie
31/05/2004, 11:43 AM
Only in Ireland could the blame of people planting a bomb and killing people be the fault of the police. Planting a bomb on a high street, on a Saturday, it doesn't take a fúckin rocket scientist to work out that people might get killed.

The argument here is regarding the failure of the police to evacuate the street and the failure of the police to act whenever their informant let them know about it in advance.

Usually there is no casualties from commericial bombings.

lopez
31/05/2004, 12:03 PM
Because they gave warnings as to the location of the bomb. Just the RUC ****ed up and moved everyone to the wrong place, exactly where the bomb was.It's easy not to kill anyone if ye give warnings, no matter how big the bomb is.
It's easy to f*ck up and kill a load of people. Warnings were to be given at Frizzell's chip shop. Boom, a rake of people are killed and a week of slaughter commences. Birmingham was another example. Whenever you bring a bomb into a large crowded area there is always a good chance that there will be slaughter, because a bomb is so unstable: Warning or no warning.

It is the British government we're talking about here. They think nothing of having Irish people killed, there's plenty of evidence of that. It was MI5 that planted the Dublin and Monaghan bombs. It was the British military who shot down an Aer Lingus plane in 1968. Rosemary Nelson was killed by the British security services because she was involved with the Bloody Sunday families.

I think it's ludicrous of you to suggest that the RUC would never conspire to kill innocent people.
Have a look at 'The Victims' section of this site: http://www.relativesforjustice.com/ How many children can you count shot dead by the British Army and the RUC? Bet their familes wish they were living in your 'fantasy land'.I'm not suggesting that all policemen are wonderful. The figures of fatalities to police and British army are there for everybody to see that does not distract from the fact that parts of the six counties were treated as a land under occupation. Nor do I doubt the omnipresence of MI5. I've always believed that their members passed through the Irish supporters club in London that I was on the committee of which often makes people I know think I'm touched. Also without risking this site open to a libel suit by a 'respectable' Northern politician who is very touchy to suggestions that he sat around a table with other 'respectable' politicians to discuss the murder of Catholics unconnected with any political or military group, there is plenty of evidence of collusion between the RUC, Army and other bodies. The assassination of Billy Wright is an example you've chosen to ignore (presumably because his life wasn't worth keeping) because Billy had some interesting information on some people you'd think butter wouldn't melt in their mouths.

I'm always sceptical of 'conspiracy theories' and I don't buy this with Omagh - which is what we're talking about - principally because of the lack of planning and the people involved. Everyone needs to be 'onside' for your scenario to happen which is easy with isolated rogue elements in the secret service (or their employees in the police) but harder with policemen on the ground. For this to happen everything would have had to be known about the bombing and then to have the 'right' policemen in place. One slip-up and the next minute you'll have a Minister going to prison as happened in Spain with the previous Socialist Minister of the Interior who set up death squads in the Basque country.

Anyway, as others have said, the blame for the carnage remains with the fascists - let's face, in as near to a democratic election that unionists would concede on an all-Ireland basis, the electorate (and not forgetting SF) had voted for the ending of such atrocities - who set off the bomb.

dortie
31/05/2004, 2:38 PM
don't hold back, chuckie .... ".

No need for the personal insults. I take it you mean republican by the term...'Chuckie'.

Theres only around 160,000 chuckies in the North then and thats not counting those who disagree with Stormont.