View Full Version : Paul Keegan
just wanted to create a thread to track Keego's progress. Was an instrumental player for Bohs during the title years and moved to Doncaster at end of January.
He has played twice since he went, one start, and has attracted high praise. Although he is unlikely to ever break the Irish squad, it will be good to track his progress. High praise from O'Driscoll after just one game.
http://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/doncaster/keegan_likely_to_face_lions_1_3037080
04/02/2011, 5:33 AM
If he establishes himself as a regular in the Doncaster side, he should be considered for a senior call-up as he is a better player than some of current options in his position. Andrews, Lawrence and Green all received their debuts at a similar age to Keegan so it's not too late.
CraftyToePoke
04/02/2011, 12:34 PM
Doncaster pride themselves on being a very attractive side to watch, so him being brought into their midfield is encouraging. I agree the International breakthrough is unlikely but it all springs back to Green again, and if him then why not Keegan if he finds the level and establishes himself. Hopefully Clifford, McCarthy, Wilson and Myler all fulfill their promise and we can seee Internatonal standard players in our midfield again.
SwanVsDalton
04/02/2011, 12:41 PM
Don't see why he can't get a call-up if he establishes himself. Like Fahey, Keegan was probably consistently the best at what he did in the LOI.
Future Ireland squad with Doyle, Long, Fahey, Keegan, McAllister, Sammon and Forde as third choice keeper would cause a foot.ie meltdown. Would be great.
04/02/2011, 1:01 PM
if he is good enough - or not as the case may be - he will get called up.
Just like James McCarthy.
04/02/2011, 1:28 PM
Just like James McCarthy.
Just like Paul Green.
CraftyToePoke
27/02/2011, 5:08 AM
Played the whole 90 against watford at the weekend. Great to see.
the bear
27/02/2011, 11:00 AM
how did he get on ? is he holding his own in the champinonship?
mark12345
27/02/2011, 11:15 AM
Just a question. This isn't the same Paul Keegan who played for Bohs and Drogheda and was over at Dundee United, I think. He actually played with me in Boston. If it's the same fella he's got to be getting up there in age?
the bear
27/02/2011, 11:33 AM
same fella ye he is around 26
27/02/2011, 11:52 AM
Just a question. This isn't the same Paul Keegan who played for Bohs and Drogheda and was over at Dundee United, I think. He actually played with me in Boston. If it's the same fella he's got to be getting up there in age?
Did you pick him on yer team?
AlaskaFox
27/02/2011, 3:47 PM
Different fellas:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Keegan_%28footballer_born_1972%29
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Keegan_%28footballer_born_1984%29
mark12345
28/02/2011, 10:45 AM
"same fella ye he is around 26"
If it's the same fella he must have discovered the fountain of youth, because I thought he was 26 when I played with him and that's at a good ten years ago. There's got to be another Paul Keegan?
Either way, best of luck to him - I hope he makes it in English football.
CraftyToePoke
02/03/2011, 1:25 AM
Another start and 90 for Keegan tonight, in a good 3-1 away win to Derby, Green played for Derby, Doyle was only on the bench.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/9407806.stm
02/03/2011, 7:51 AM
Good to see that he has established himself in their first team so quickly. As for his international prospects, there's no doubt in my mind that he is a better player than Green.
I'd prefer to see this guy in the Irish squad over Paul Green and I've never even seen him play.
TheBoss
03/03/2011, 2:49 PM
Good to see that he has established himself in their first team so quickly. As for his international prospects, there's no doubt in my mind that he is a better player than Green.
''Doncaster side are still struggling to cope with a lengthy injury list which numbers 14 first-team players.'' http://www.yorkshirepost.co.uk/sport/football/barnsley/rovers_are_ready_to_challenge_leeds_as_yorkshire_s _top_team_1_3136242
That maybe the reason why.
24/08/2013, 2:24 PM
Just got his first of the season to put Doncaster on their way to an early 2-0 lead at Charlton.
24/08/2013, 3:22 PM
...And he's been sent off! 3-1 up now in an eventful game at the Valley.
DannyInvincible
24/08/2013, 3:47 PM
The game has been abandoned due to poor conditions. Heavy rain, I assume?
24/08/2013, 4:40 PM
will his sending off still count?
24/08/2013, 5:21 PM
No, abandoned matches are entirely void. Unless it was serious foul play, it'll be written off.
24/08/2013, 11:24 PM
Hmm, according to the Football League show his goal is chalked off but the two yellows still count. I can't understand that.
samhaydenjr
25/08/2013, 12:50 AM
The game has been abandoned due to poor conditions. Heavy rain, I assume?
No...SHARKNADO!!
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/08/2014, 10:24 PM
Paul signed a one-month contract at Doncaster earlier this month. He has impressed sufficiently enough to earn a new three-year contract.
27/08/2014, 10:31 PM
Fair play to him, he's had some awful injury problems since he went over. Doncaster are a Championship club, really, so they should be back up there soon enough.
GypsyBlackCat
28/08/2014, 11:10 AM
Just signed a new 3-year contract with DRFC.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/08/2014, 12:14 PM
I'm gonna go get the papers get the papers.
liamoo11
28/08/2014, 8:13 PM
Just signed a new 3-year contract with DRFC.
fair play to him to turn a one month contract into 3 years is savage impressive