View Full Version : Next seasons no.1
29/01/2011, 7:43 PM
Was just wondering what Sligo fans make of the goalkeeping situation at Sligo after brush wad released?
Who do you think will be next seasons no.1 I know most would think it will be Kelly but I have seen alot who arnt totally convinced by him and I have to say myself that I'm not 100% sure on him eithier but you lads would have a better idea from seeing him play regulary so what's your thoughts , nice 1 signing kirbs btw.
Only1Rovers
29/01/2011, 10:23 PM
All at the club are very sad to see Brush go, what a top keeper and great guy to boot. You'd have to say Kelly deserves a run after his heroics, and in fairness to the lad he's not done much wrong 'tween sticks toward the end of last season. But many Rovers fans are expecting someone else to be donning the gloves come the start of the season.
31/01/2011, 11:15 AM
All at the club are very sad to see Brush go, what a top keeper and great guy to boot. You'd have to say Kelly deserves a run after his heroics, and in fairness to the lad he's not done much wrong 'tween sticks toward the end of last season. But many Rovers fans are expecting someone else to be donning the gloves come the start of the season.
Thanks mate , ye it is a shame to see Brush go hes a top class keeper , wrists worst injury a keeper can get hopefully he gets a new club it would be a huge shame to see him leave the league.
Rasputin
31/01/2011, 11:25 AM
Cant see Kelly starting tbh.
I expect we will sign a starting keeper before the start of the season.
31/01/2011, 1:04 PM
Cant see Kelly starting tbh.
I expect we will sign a starting keeper before the start of the season.
Am I missing something here? We went through the cup without conceding a goal (including extra time and penalties) and qualified for Europe with 2 blinding saves against UCD and Pats making a big contribution and Kelly is not going to be our starting keeper? OK, he's no Joe Hart but, until he proves otherwise, he he entitled to be our starting 'keeper.
31/01/2011, 2:17 PM
Like I said before u guys would know more than me on this because you see him in action regulary but when i seen him play in Cup final he looked very jittery in the air and wasnt great at holding onto the ball even in the pre-match warm up I thought he looked dodgey but then he made an amazing save in ET before going onto be penalty king so if he works on his Aeriel ability I think he could make a very good keeper but hes not the tallest so that might be hard.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/01/2011, 8:22 PM
Am I missing something here? We went through the cup without conceding a goal (including extra time and penalties) and qualified for Europe with 2 blinding saves against UCD and Pats making a big contribution and Kelly is not going to be our starting keeper? OK, he's no Joe Hart but, until he proves otherwise, he he entitled to be our starting 'keeper.
I would say the fact that Cook was willing to give Gibson so many opportunities shows what he thinks of Kelly.
redobit
31/01/2011, 8:42 PM
Cant disagree with you their avv. But, as has been proved in our last 2 seasons, you need more than one good goalkeeper in your squad. If there is a possibility we can get a keeper as good, and hopefully better than Kelly, well they can prove themselves in the pre-season and battle for the No.1 jersey. I cant really see what youre missing.
Brian Boru
05/02/2011, 2:30 AM
I agree with Avenalaf that Kelly will be our number 1 keeper- no matter who we sign. He definitely deserves it. Richard Brush should have been signed up for the year. Even if he missed half the year he could have coached Kelly etc. and he'll be back to his best soon. Our A goalie could fill in for first half of season if Kelly got injured. Eg like Schlingerman did admirably against Bohs away 2 years ago. Brush did not have to leave.
Well Red
05/02/2011, 8:54 AM
I agree with Avenalaf that Kelly will be our number 1 keeper- no matter who we sign. He definitely deserves it. Richard Brush should have been signed up for the year. Even if he missed half the year he could have coached Kelly etc. and he'll be back to his best soon. Our A goalie could fill in for first half of season if Kelly got injured. Eg like Schlingerman did admirably against Bohs away 2 years ago. Brush did not have to leave.
O dear O dear O dear
05/02/2011, 12:46 PM
O dear O dear O dear
I trust, Brian Boru, your tongue was well bogged in your cheek when you made that statement about yer man coping admirably against Bohs. Although, on reflection, since the object of the exercise was to stop Shams winning the league, I suppose he did a great job.:clap:
22/02/2011, 12:30 PM
I see Brendan Clarke has been given the no.1 Jersey should that be read into
22/02/2011, 1:09 PM
thats a bit surprising. I would have given Ciaran Kelly the jersey after his cup heroics. mind you brendan clarke has great experience with st pats and fingal..
redobit
22/02/2011, 3:58 PM
Dosent mean he has been given the starting position tho. Ndo is No.15 and McGuiness No. 22, only squad numbers.
23/02/2011, 12:58 PM
Dosent mean he has been given the starting position tho. Ndo is No.15 and McGuiness No. 22, only squad numbers.
I only saw today in the papers that Boco isnt in the squad list. He is a massive loss to ye. the paper said China is his next port of call...
Fivesilver
23/02/2011, 5:31 PM
Rommy's a fine player alright, but I'm confident we've more than filled that gap Marty.