View Full Version : Best Bands of the 70's
ill probably think of more later but for me the answer would be Mott the Hoople, ELO, and although most of their best work was in the late 60s the Moody Blues had some good early 70's albums.
Anybody else got any favs
21/05/2004, 2:53 PM
Agree completely on 'Breakfast in America' Conor, mine would be....
David Bowie
Supertramp
Stevie Wonder
Billy Joel
Some of...
T-Rex
Zepellin
I never really got Genesis (or any of their 'offspring') to be honest
corkharps
21/05/2004, 3:09 PM
The whole SKA thing is worth a mention,Specials,Beat etc. :cool: The punk era also had a lot of good stuff(alot of crap also!)Buzzcocks,Stranglers,Television etc etc.(XTC)
Earlier; MC5,Stooges,Bowie,NY Dolls,The Mainliners.
21/05/2004, 3:41 PM
The Undertones.
And still going strong! :D
Pat O' Banton
21/05/2004, 3:46 PM
Surely The Clash?!?!, T-Rex certainly,THe Undertones are a great shout and unless I'm mistaken weren't Blondie around in the late 70's? Another superb band.
21/05/2004, 4:01 PM
Lads, can you remember the site someone posted here a while back with all of the top tens going through the decades ? Handy little site that was !!
Never liked Blondie, though listening to their music is one of my earliest memories.
one of mine too. funnily enough also vividly remember shawaddywaddy (if thats how you spell them and slade.
Pat O' Banton
21/05/2004, 4:28 PM
Oh yeah, worse than that my parents made me get up in front of the relatives and do the dance for Wuthering Heights :eek: If you ever notice a certain amount of twisted bitterness in my comments on this site it can probably be traced back to this event.
my better half calls her "the wailing cat". ;)
I quite like her myself (kate bush that is)
liam88
21/05/2004, 5:05 PM
Never liked Blondie, though listening to their music is one of my earliest memories.
Playing up the road from my house this summer-thinking of going down-worth a look :)
Metrostars
21/05/2004, 5:29 PM
Queen
The Clash
The Sex Pistols
Lux Interior
22/05/2004, 12:09 AM
The Cramps
Bolan
Buzzcocks
late 70s Bowie
Kraftwerk
Nuff said :cool:
22/05/2004, 2:13 PM
Oh yeah, worse than that my parents made me get up in front of the relatives and do the dance for Wuthering Heights :eek: If you ever notice a certain amount of twisted bitterness in my comments on this site it can probably be traced back to this event.
:eek: :D :eek:
didnt stop you getting together with ub40 did it ? :)
How about early 70's Rolling Stones. They were great in the 70's, till they went Disco. Also The Who were still going strong. Then the punk stuff as above.
Here's one for the mix - Status Quo. Their stuff from that era was great.
Lux Interior
24/05/2004, 3:26 PM
Yeah, hadn't thouhgt of that electronica stuff. Jean Michel Jarre's 'Oxygen' and Oldfield's 'Tubular Bells' were both from the 70s too. Great stuff.
Yep, I caught the Kraftwerk 'Olympia' gig in March ....
You can safely assume there wasn't much band-to-audience craic.
But worth it just to hear a spine-tingling version of 'Radioactivity'.
2 flat tyres on the way home dulled the evening somewhat :mad:
sorbothegreek
25/05/2004, 7:09 AM
Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention!
25/05/2004, 7:20 AM
best irish band about in this era imo:horslips.
25/05/2004, 7:58 AM
The Clash
The Beat
Specials
Early 70s (before my time ;) )
Cheap Trick
Faces
Badfinger
Crusader Al
25/05/2004, 8:42 AM
Anyone remember the great Mama's Boys from Derrylin ?, they should have been superstars .... :confused:
25/05/2004, 8:48 AM
Anyone remember the great Mama's Boys from Derrylin ?, they should have been superstars .... :confused:
i do indeed.do you remember when their ad campaign for their single "get out of dublin"went pear shaped.
they sent out anonymous letters to the local journalists with a note saying just "get out of dublin".
some of the hacks thought they were threating letters and were planking it :D
dortie
25/05/2004, 9:07 AM
Im too young to comment :)
The Undertones I can relate too alot though....
parnell ranger
25/05/2004, 9:25 AM
Led Zepplin
Dr Feelgood
ELO
The Clash
Thin Lizzy
Deep Purple
Crusader Al
25/05/2004, 1:22 PM
I liked Wings and 10cc in the 1970s ...
Anyone remeber who the later got their name ? :D
25/05/2004, 1:42 PM
Anyone remeber who the later got their name ? :D
I think so, rather unpleasant if I remember correctly!
b_mcsweeney
25/05/2004, 2:20 PM
had to look it up, urban legend apparently (unless the unpleasantness referred to was being in Johnaton Kings dream?).
http://www.snopes.com/music/artists/10cc.htm
Crusader Al
25/05/2004, 2:32 PM
Ach no, so it's not true .... :p
Lux Interior
25/05/2004, 2:36 PM
Ach no, so it's not true .... :p
Summat to do with the average cubic-centimetres accumulated from each male ejaculation? :(
Pat O' Banton
26/05/2004, 4:03 PM
Also can't believe that no-one is mentioning Stiff Little Fingers here, Inflamable Material, being one of the truely great punk albums of all time.
Finally 12th Man I hope you will be mentioning that effort and many fine others when it comes around to memorable music of the 80's and 90's ;)
28/05/2004, 7:17 AM
Also can't believe that no-one is mentioning Stiff Little Fingers here, Inflamable Material, being one of the truely great punk albums of all time.)
bullseye there pat o,
how could we not acknowledge jake and the boys.very underrated because of the competition at the time.the undertones got the lions share of what was available .always preffered SLF myself :)
Crusader Al
28/05/2004, 10:44 AM
Jake Whatisname went to the same school in Belfast ...
Thought it was amusing when someone changed SLF to Silly Little Fu.ckers ... :D
28/05/2004, 10:51 AM
Jake Whatisname went to the same school in Belfast ...
Thought it was amusing when someone changed SLF to Silly Little Fu.ckers ... :D
jake burns if im not mistakin,had a band then called jake burns and the big wheel.
dont agree with the word play though :(
Paddy Ramone
16/07/2004, 11:24 AM
Back again. Reopened this thread because it's interesting. I like the punk and new wave bands of the late seventies mostly like Blondie, Pistols, Clash, Jam Buzzcocks, Stranglers, X Ray Spex, Ramones, Patti Smith, Rudi, Undertones, Boomtown Rats, Cars, and Joe Jackson. I think the late seventies was the most exciting era in music since the mid-sixties. Pre-punk I like Bowie, Thin Lizzy and Dr Feelgood.
Also like some of Stiff Little Fingers stuff. Was talking to their ex-guitarist Henry Cluney in a punk forum. He seems a nice bloke. He also happens to support Rangers. A lot a people criticised SLF for cashing in the troubles. The Undertones were always slagging them off in the press.
Paddy Ramone
16/07/2004, 11:34 AM
Another interesting fact about Stiff Little Fingers is that the drummer Jimmy Reilly's brother and Bananarama tour manager, Thomas was murdered by a British soldier on Internment Day 1983 in West Belfast. Private Ian Thain was the first British soldier to found guilty of murder. Jimmy was the only Catholic member of SLF.
Paddy Ramone
16/07/2004, 11:41 AM
If any of ye ever get a chance to see this fellow live, go go go. Great stuff. Been in Dublin a few times down through the years, was in the Olympia a couple of years back and definitely the best show I've been to.
Joe Jackson's I'm the Man is brilliant. It's one of my favourite songs. I'd love to see him live. Another great seventies song is "So Strong" by Graham Parker and the Rumour. It has real heavy lyrics about abortion. Parker's vocals sound a bit like Jackson's.
Joe Jackson's I'm the Man is brilliant. It's one of my favourite songs. I'd love to see him live. Another great seventies song is "So Strong" by Graham Parker and the Rumour. It has real heavy lyrics about abortion. Parker's vocals sound a bit like Jackson's.If you can get your hands on that album, sell your granny for it, its fantastic...
Can't believe no one nominated
Elvis Costello and the Attractions,
The Jam,
The Blades,
Thin Lizzy, or
The Skids
My own favourites would be
Rawwk:
Steely Dan, Rush.
Pre-punk:
Queen, T. Rex
After '76: (actually impossible to choose one)
Clash, Jam, Elvis Costello, Police, Stranglers, Cure, Joy Division, Television, Souxsie & the Banshees, Billy Bragg, U2, Skids, UB40, The Beat, Specials.
With the exception of Steely Dan, T. Rex and Rush, I saw every other band live in concert.
Genesis were actually ok when that little w*nker Collins was buried behind the drumkit.
Kate Bush is probably the best Brit female after Dusty Springfield. Some of her albums are absolute magic.
Ruairi
17/07/2004, 5:36 PM
My own favourites would be
Rawwk:
Steely Dan.
christ I thought i was on my own! "Do it Again" is one of my favourite songs ever
Woody
18/07/2004, 11:36 AM
Personally for me (being Punk), The Ruts, The Clash, Sex Pistols, The Buzzcocks, Irish band The Radiators would all have to get a mention.
Paddy Ramone
19/07/2004, 9:32 AM
& even the bloody Bay City Rollers!
.......with some ska/mod.stuff(Though many of their fans were stroppy little tykes!),whilst also first became aware of reggae.....Mr.Marley,Steel Pulse etc.....
The Bay City Rollers weren't that bad. Don't really remember them much, I was only born in 1972. The Ramones claimed them influence and I've seen a picture of Damian O'Neill of the Undertones in a Rollers t-shirt! Their lead singer Les McKeown was a Sex Pistols fan! The Rollers were probably as big an influence on punk as Iggy Pop. :D
As for ska/mod Madness, the Specials, the Beat and the Jam were brilliant. I forgot to mention Talking Heads and the B52's. The B52's Rock Lobster is one of my favourites. I even like some Deep Purple.
Paddy Ramone
19/07/2004, 9:39 AM
Joe Jackson's I'm the Man is brilliant. It's one of my favourite songs. I'd love to see him live. Another great seventies song is "So Strong" by Graham Parker and the Rumour. It has real heavy lyrics about abortion. Parker's vocals sound a bit like Jackson's.
Made a mistake. Parker's song is actually called "You Can't be Too Strong".
19/07/2004, 11:12 AM
right i've kept my mouth shut on this for long enough and be prepared for a shock, THE BEE GEES !!!!, disco classics, you should be dancing is one of the best produced tracks of all time and nights on broadway is great too.....go ahead and laugh, but i love me cheese :D
oh and i agree with macy about status quo :eek:
bowie = legend
Ruairi
19/07/2004, 11:31 AM
go ahead and laugh, but i love me cheese :D
Spot the DJ :p
19/07/2004, 11:32 AM
yeah you got it, you can listen to all the nice "cool" music ya like, but i love me chesse !!! bang on a bit of the nolan sisters there :D
Ruairi
19/07/2004, 11:36 AM
funny you should say that, i was reading over the weekend that some psychic did some research with the nolan sisters to prove that you CAN actually know who's phoning you when the phone rings.
true story
Ruairi
19/07/2004, 11:38 AM
see!!!
from http://www.five.tv/accessibility/factsheets/are_you_telepathic/
Telephone telepathy
One of the most commonly reported forms of telepathic experience is telephone telepathy. This is where you 'know' who is calling you on the phone before you answer.
Rupert Sheldrake devised a series of trials to prove that telephone telepathy does exist, and found a success rate statistically higher that the results you could expect through chance.
In Are You Telepathic?, Dr Sheldrake carried out the experiment on the five Nolan sisters, reportedly the closest sisters in show business. One of the sisters, Colleen, was taken to a hotel at a distance from the other four, and had to guess which sister was calling without speaking to them. The results showed that 50% of the time, Colleen guessed correctly which sister was calling. This is one of the highest results Sheldrake gained out of more than thousand tests!
Paddy Ramone
19/07/2004, 11:48 AM
right i've kept my mouth shut on this for long enough and be prepared for a shock, THE BEE GEES !!!!, disco classics,
The lyrics to Stayin' Alive could have been written by the Clash. They sound so punk. "I've been kicked around since I was born" and "life going nowhere, sombody help me".
CouLd be worse, you could be a Nana Mouskouri fan! Now that's CHEESE! :eek:
19/07/2004, 1:26 PM
The Bay City Rollers weren't that bad.
saw a programme called "who got the rollers millions"
they havnt the proverbial pot to pi5s in left.
lead singer,les mc keown looks about 60,and i read he was done at the weekend for drink driving and no insurance.sad way to turn out for a mega band in their day
annacotty
19/07/2004, 5:53 PM
did anybody see Les with yer man Phil Coulter on the telly at the weekend ?
some mindless info - the hobbits, another Edinburgh band of the 70s used to do impersonation of BCR - same tartan gear etc - except lead singer had pegleg.
does anyone remember MAN sometimes called the Man Band from Wales - incredible live. so was SLADE
Lux Interior
20/07/2004, 12:21 AM
Being an old F*cker.....can remember back to around '72....Mud,The Sweet(& other Glam.rock :eek: ) & even the bloody Bay City Rollers!
Mud had their first hit in 1973 ;) .
I'm always correcting you, am I not? :p
Lux Interior
20/07/2004, 12:24 AM
A lot a people criticised SLF for cashing in the troubles. The Undertones were always slagging them off in the press.
True, and didn't The Undertones try to "cash in on the troubles" in '81, just as their career was going tits up? :confused:
Paddy Ramone
20/07/2004, 8:58 AM
True, and didn't The Undertones try to "cash in on the troubles" in '81, just as their career was going tits up? :confused:
You mean "It's Going to Happen" which they wrote about the hunger stikes. Mickey Bradley changed Damian O'Neill's lyrics to make it look less obvious what the song was about.
It wasn't just the Undertones who slagged SLF off but other Belfast bands like Rudi and Ruefrex. Some Belfast punks thought that SLF were a heavy metal band jumping on the punk bandwagon.