View Full Version : Media's Role in the Election

Pages : 1 [2]

06/02/2011, 7:14 PM
Fair play, never went to the trouble myself, but will now you've provided the relevant sections! Did you forward it to the BAI? Wouldn't expect much, given they're Government appointed.

06/02/2011, 8:26 PM
RTÉ at it again this evening:
http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0206/election.html

Kenny refusing to debate gets top billing on the website. You click on the page and the first 3 sentences are about it and really don't say anything new but the next 32 paragraphs are about the parties' launching various policies. Talk about selective headlining.
Sick.

07/02/2011, 9:54 AM
FF in particular, but also the Greens, are running a very negative campaign. They're all about criticising the Opposition policies rather than promoting their own. Martin says it should be about policies, but seems only concerned with other parties. No danger of RTE picking up and reporting on this - and instead they are following the same tactic of going through the proposals of the opposition, without the same level of analysis of FF policy past or present!

Billsthoughts
07/02/2011, 10:04 AM
Interview with Martin in the sunday indo yesterday where he seemed quite dim and also pedalled what is a known lie saying the bondholders are Irish pensionfunds and credit unions.

Spudulika
07/02/2011, 11:47 AM
Interview with Martin in the sunday indo yesterday where he seemed quite dim and also pedalled what is a known lie saying the bondholders are Irish pensionfunds and credit unions.

Just read this, nothing picked up on on the radio.

Also I ended up sleepless after watching the Super Bowl and decided to play catch up and watch the Kenny Egan interview. And noticed, in the opening monologue by O'Connor, cuts at all the political parties and Fintan O'Toole, yet nothing about FF. Not a single slag at them. Now, I know it's a poor show normally, though it will attract the more than normal amount of gom's who subconsciously will pick up on this. It was subtle, though why would one Corkman slag off another, especially if his bosses (RTE and INM) is backing FF to the end.

07/02/2011, 1:30 PM
2 bloody hours it took me to sleep after that game. Glad to see I wasn't the only one. Slightly delirious now with tiredness.

Spudulika
07/02/2011, 2:26 PM
I made 15euros from the game, after a good weekend of results starting on Saturday. Suffered all day, but it was worth it.

07/02/2011, 10:10 PM
I want to sleep... but VB is on. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! I think I'll just have to catch it in the morning.

Is the election over yet?

08/02/2011, 8:10 AM
Actually watched the 11th Hour again, as no way was I able to stay awake for the whole Vinnie. Was actually ok - O'Brien didn't know how to handle Colleran going off on one about FF. I wouldn't think much of Colleran, but it was a nice bit of balance for once, especially as Campbell had his pro FF hat on!

On another point, any one hear the new Newstalk jingle for the election -GE11, without the state sponsored spin - or something like that. True, but not without a spin on it. I wonder will we get a message from the owners before the election.

And I third point, yeah man from DCU (Gary Murphy?) on Morning Ireland was pretty negative towards Labour's proposed consititution rewrite - the FG proposals that he seemed to rate (such as abolishing the Seanad) require a pretty major overhaul of the consititution anyway - it won't be a single amendment to abolish it. I his outright opposition didn't make sense to me - only people I'd think would really oppose it would be dyed in the wool FFers and the god squad.

Fr Damo
08/02/2011, 11:40 AM
What about the headline on the front page of last sundays Sindo?

Twas something like .....Fine Gael to govern on their own..... or words to that affect. That to me was an effort to put the fear of god into voters and to ensure FF dont loose too much ground. I think SF are going to do better than people think especially when the leader writers are appealling to the working classes just so FG don't pick up the "ship jumping" FF vote.

Maybe we should give Berlosconi (sic) some credit!

Billsthoughts
08/02/2011, 3:29 PM
My take on it was that they seemed to be wanting a FG majority because Labour are not big on public sector reform. They were deliberatley overplaying FG majority to make them more attractive to voters. Well that was my reading anyway. who knows what the sindo is thinking!

Spudulika
16/02/2011, 8:13 AM
I had a look at the 11th hour again last night and not for the first time noticed them absolutely skewering Enda Kenny, before that it was SF, before that Labour. Now the FG attacks have been regular, they slammed SF and they've ridiculed Labour, and the Greens. It falls into the general media behaviour, though I'm wondering am I alone in seeing the lack of balance? Monty is being presented as if he is the second coming of Jack Lynch, yet he hasn't (like the others) brought forward a single piece about sports in the campaign.

16/02/2011, 9:04 AM
My urge to criticise the 11th hour is overruled by my urge to bone Shanley. Gamey.

Spudulika
17/02/2011, 7:45 AM
I think she's a crier Kingdom. She's cute, clever, but a crier.

18/02/2011, 2:19 PM
If ever there was an advertisement for dismantling the RTE due to their ties with Fianna Fail

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/02/18/why-did-rte-cut-off-the-pensioner-who-challenged-michael-martin/ (http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/02/18/why-did-rte-cut-off-the-pensioner-who-challenged-michael-martin/)

21/02/2011, 10:57 AM
On the flipside, George Hook was warming up the crowd at a FG even yesterday, taking great delight in poking fun at FF.

With him in the evenings, and Yates in the morning is the "no state spin" spin any better?

Spudulika
21/02/2011, 12:31 PM
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/eoghan-harris/eoghan-harris-the-kenny-speech-wins-moby-dick-award-2548027.html

Now, unless Mr. Moan Harris is looking for a new sugardaddy (bye bye Bertie and all that), this is one of the better pieces he's written, yet it drips with hatred of labour, unions and perversely a Labour dominated RTE! I love his use of language which is purely done to evoke fears of reds under beds - SIPTU sleepers coming out of the closet. Brilliant :-)

Eminence Grise
21/02/2011, 12:45 PM
is the "no state spin" spin any better?

That’s a good point, Dodge. NewsSqualk are annoying me with this "no state spin” well, as you put it, spin. Apart from Yates and Hook, there’s Denis O’Brien, who has done everything he can to discredit the tribunal and the government, though like his buddy, Michael Lowry, he’s quick enough to accept any largesse they’ve dispensed. Then there’s Dunphy, currently canvassing for Shane Ross, one-time FG councillor and pinch-hitter for Hook. Then there’s David McWilliams, so neutral that until he lost his nerve he was going to form a new political party with... oh yes, Messrs Ross and Dunphy. And as for that oily, sycophantic, miserable excuse for a broadcaster Damien Kiberd... don’t get me started.

And this is not a defence of RTE either: Tubridy, Miriam et al are no less partial, but at least on RTE I've heard none of the sneering at other media outlets for their biases.

If media outlets want to support a party, fine: I don’t have an issue with that. But they should nail their colours to the mast and stop being so bloody invidious and insidious. Who do they think they are – politicians?

Billsthoughts
21/02/2011, 1:29 PM
The indo is behaving disgracefuly with its spin on the "polls".

21/02/2011, 1:44 PM
The indo is behaving disgracefuly

I don't think you need to go beyond that in fairness billsthoughts

That rag continues to surprise me everytime I think it has hit rock bottom

21/02/2011, 1:49 PM
With him in the evenings, and Yates in the morning is the "no state spin" spin any better?
The spin is all right wing - both RTE and Newstalk. At least with Hook and Yates it's out in the open, rather than RTE's FF bias. Haven't listened to Hook in years - he seemed to go rapidly down hill around the time that Newstalk went national - tried to recreate himself as the Irish version of that yank (Graham?) he has on once a week.

I've gradually come back to newstalk breakfast to be honest, after a few years - Yates is pretty balanced imo, and their coverage of the election is much better than Morning Irelands daily FF propaganda.

Anyone who thinks there's a labour bias in RTE is deluded, never mind the hypocracy of Harris - it was alright when it was the stickies influence RTE policy on the provo's, but sure wouldn't be like Harris to U turn.

22/02/2011, 12:30 AM
My urge to criticise the 11th hour is overruled by my urge to bone Shanley. Gamey.

I feel precisely the same way. I only turn it on for a gander. As the saying goes... there's just something about her.
Though sometimes I'm unlucky and manage to catch Daire O'Brien's snaggletoothed head.

Anyway. There had been a definitely noticeable toting down if the anti-fg brigade in RTÉ thevlast week and labour, thankfully have been getting it in the neck. Now whilst I agree with milling Comrade Gilmore's lack of policy out of it, the bias against him is noticeable.
The rage I feel when I hear any voxpops knows no bounds however.

Spudulika
22/02/2011, 4:00 AM
Anybody catch the return to crapitude that is the VB show last night? Now that Enda is anointed the next leader of the land and soaring in the polls they decided to go after him. The sketch was funny to a point with "Enda" tied to a chair, then out came the gimp to re-inact the sick scene from an excuse for a movie (imo). Apparently it's hilarious to do such. Earlier listening to the pundits on the 11th hour it was as if they were all SF acolytes - or in other words, talking sense. Won't make a difference though as our glorious media mandarins will tell the population who to vote for.

22/02/2011, 9:40 AM
Still think FF will get 40+ seats and go into coalition with Labour, Spud?

22/02/2011, 9:47 AM
Still think FF will get 40+ seats and go into coalition with Labour?

It's only a matter of time, before someone says FF will retain the 60 seats they currently have, and the past 2 years have all been an illusion.

Spudulika
22/02/2011, 10:07 AM
Still think FF will get 40+ seats and go into coalition with Labour, Spud?

I think I said 30+, and yes, I can't get that out of my head. FF, Labour and some Indo's. Or else it's as Eminence Grise said, 2 years of FG-Labour and the FF sweep back into power. I'm now reading through the last minute things FF have enacted from an email sent to me by an FG friend, I won't post any as only some (GM crops, 9-year taxis) I can verify, but it's quick shocking. FF are looking to screw up whoever comes into power!

22/02/2011, 10:40 AM
40+: http://foot.ie/threads/145786-Media-s-Role-in-the-Election?p=1438337&viewfull=1#post1438337

Spudulika
22/02/2011, 12:29 PM
40+: http://foot.ie/threads/145786-Media-s-Role-in-the-Election?p=1438337&viewfull=1#post1438337

Stand corrected, 40+ was the initial bounce in the polls with Monty in charge. 30+ now looks realistic, imo, no matter what the polls say nobody can discount the Irish DNA fault of standing in the booth and thinking, sure my father and his father thought they were good enough, so I'll give them my number 2, or maybe 1, ah sure, my vote doesn't matter anyway.

Listening to the Healy Rae's almost makes me physically ill, in this day and age there are still people willing to vote for such goms because they're sticking it up to them up in Dublin. Lowry the same. Jesus wept.

culloty82
22/02/2011, 1:53 PM
I'd say 25-30 is more likely, there are several Dublin constituencies where none will be returned, and the same goes for both in Kerry and Tipperary. In the areas where they are returned, it's hard to see two FF returned anywhere, even Laois-Offaly looks unlikely at this point.

22/02/2011, 2:28 PM
Agree . FF for me will get about 25, coming in third.
Sf to get about 16 maybe, Greens none, Socialist party 3, PBP maybe the one. Fingers crossed that Mick Wallace gets elected, might pull it off

22/02/2011, 5:41 PM
I wouldn't be too quick to write off FF. They've polled badly in the past and they've bounced back from the "undecideds" who're too cowardly to admit they're just so utterly retarded they'd continue voting for FF if Bertie Ahern visited them personally and stuck a red hot poker up their holes. They'd probably view it as an honour.

20% undecided now versus 15% undecided the last time. They're out there. Sure Lowry's* probably going to get in in Tipp again, and he's an actual crooked politician.

Of course I don't want to see it, but this country has an enormous Moron contingent.

* Not FF I know, but let's be honest, he's as FF as you can get, despite history.

22/02/2011, 9:37 PM
Miriam O Callaghan is pathetic, she is letting Martin run the feckin debate.

22/02/2011, 10:27 PM
Is anybody watching RTE 2 now?

"Ok so the debate is over, let's get some opinions on it. Mr Fianna Fail strategist, who do you think won?

"Well I feel Micheal Martin was the clear winner.

"And Mr Fine Gael strategist?

"Well I feel Enda Kenny was the most impressive.

"And Ms Labour strategist?

"Gilmore was the resounding winner."

THIS is what I pay E140 something for?

F**K OFF RTE.

22/02/2011, 11:52 PM
"People are being literally crucified by the banks." :)

23/02/2011, 8:28 AM
20% undecided now versus 15% undecided the last time.
I think "don't knows" is now down to 11% in the current poll. I share your concern about FF, but the don't knows won't all break for FF, so they'll still be under 20%. However, I think a lot of the "others" will be FFers masquerading as Independents a la Lowry and Healy Rea.

Miriam O Callaghan is pathetic, she is letting Martin run the feckin debate.
She was brutal yet again. Allowing Martin shout down and interrupt in the good old fashioned FF way, with the usual RTE collusion.

Is Sean Dorgan Martin's fat twin? Every time he's on the TV he shouts down other panelists a la Martin, and they even have the same mannerisms. The 11th Hour has gone to crap, I hope tonight is the last one. And yer wan is a minger - if she was in a club, you wouldn't go near until 10 to 2.

23/02/2011, 8:36 AM
She was brutal yet again. Allowing Martin shout down and interrupt in the good old fashioned FF way.

It's what Martin does in every argument.

The 11th Hour has gone to crap, I hope tonight is the last one.

It is. It's one of the last election programmes allowed to broadcast before Polling Day. There'll be little election coverage after it, until the exit poll is released early on Saturday morning, which will give us a very clear indication of the outcome, before a single seat is won.

23/02/2011, 9:12 AM

"Ok so the debate is over, let's get some opinions on it. Mr Fianna Fail strategist, who do you think won?

"Well I feel Micheal Martin was the clear winner.

"And Mr Fine Gael strategist?

"Well I feel Enda Kenny was the most impressive.

"And Ms Labour strategist?

"Gilmore was the resounding winner."

THIS is what I pay E140 something for?

F**K OFF RTE.
They did the exact same after the last one too, I think with the same people. Somebody needs to tell them that doesn't count as balance.

23/02/2011, 10:05 AM
They did the exact same after the last one too, I think with the same people. Somebody needs to tell them that doesn't count as balance.
The last one was even worse, with the 5 party strategists (or former strategists) as the studio panel. It's completely pointless. Vinnie completely wiped the floor with the 11th Hour last night, even if Vinnie had that stupid bee in his bonnet about no programme for Government before the people.

23/02/2011, 10:38 AM
VB was advertising tonight show during last night's show, and he said that there would be a representative from each of the 5 parties, Hanafin from FF, Reilly from FG, Ryan from the Greens, and then he said confusedly, "and, and...there's another party isn't there?" Not impressive.

peadar1987
23/02/2011, 2:21 PM
VB was advertising tonight show during last night's show, and he said that there would be a representative from each of the 5 parties, Hanafin from FF, Reilly from FG, Ryan from the Greens, and then he said confusedly, "and, and...there's another party isn't there?" Not impressive.

Some lefty crowd. you know, the ones with the rose. And the beardy guy who blew up that thing...

23/02/2011, 2:34 PM
Some lefty crowd. you know, the ones with the rose. And the beardy guy who blew up that thing...

The hippies not involved ?

peadar1987
23/02/2011, 4:14 PM
The hippies not involved ?

Oh, they're in it up to their crusty armpits!

culloty82
23/02/2011, 4:41 PM
Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did? As yesterday's polls showed, 89% of the electorate have already chosen their candidate, so won't need a silent period to meditate/reflect on who to select. Also, it's ridiculous in this digital age, that broadcast media are gagged from possibly disclosing pivotal breaking news, which would be freely available on the web.

legendz
23/02/2011, 8:21 PM
I think it's good to have a moratorium do degree. The way it is is grand. I've heard enough of it already. I've known all along who I'll be voting for. My mind was made up over the last few years.

23/02/2011, 9:34 PM
Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did? As yesterday's polls showed, 89% of the electorate have already chosen their candidate, so won't need a silent period to meditate/reflect on who to select. Also, it's ridiculous in this digital age, that broadcast media are gagged from possibly disclosing pivotal breaking news, which would be freely available on the web.
RTE can't be trusted. It's only right imo, otherwise you'd have stuff like the indo's "payback time" headlines on broadcast media as well.

Eminence Grise
24/02/2011, 7:18 AM
Going back to the original topic, does tomorrow's half-day (2 p.m.) moratorium serve any useful purpose, if it ever did?

Ah it's great. It gives us political junkies a decent rest before the marathon on Saturday. Won't be at a count centre this year (for the first time in yonks) so it's a sofathon and the telly for me...

24/02/2011, 8:23 AM

I'll agree with you, there is no point to the moratorium. People don't need a "rest day" to make their mind up. The ones that have already voted didn't need one, and neither do we. Especially when the coverage is covered all over the print and digital media.

24/02/2011, 8:28 AM
is there any argument against the moratorium? Whether its logical or not I don't see the harm in it

24/02/2011, 8:41 AM
I'll agree with you, there is no point to the moratorium. People don't need a "rest day" to make their mind up. The ones that have already voted didn't need one, and neither do we. Especially when the coverage is covered all over the print and digital media.
The point is to stop people being influenced, especially with dirty smears that don't have time to be responded too. You can go looking for coverage, but people aren't exposed if they don't want to be. I can't believe people seriously think FF aided and abetted by RTE wouldn't be pulling stunts right up to poll opening, and even during the polling day!

24/02/2011, 8:33 PM
I don't believe RTE, TV3, or radio stations are out to help one party or another, the day before the poll. If people want election stunts, there are other ways of finding it today.

The moratorium, much like the tv licence and other outdated customs we have, was designed for a different time, not the easily accessible press, and 24h tv culture prevalent today.