View Full Version : Seems Lizzy's on the way...

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

29/12/2010, 1:17 PM
Slow news day and all but the righteous indignation has kicked off over on politics.ie about this... thought it was worthy of our shores...

A visit by Queen Elizabeth to the Republic is on the cards for next year
before the end of President Mary Acleese's term in office.

Irish Foreign Affairs Minister Micheal Martin said that he still expected
developments on the visit by Queen Elizabeth II in 2011 but it would not
happen in the lifetime of the present Government.

[...]

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/queen-elizabeth-to-visit-republic-of-ireland-in-2011-15041195.html
Smells like another FF rouse. I'd say since it became abundantly clear they weren't going to be in power they have been pushing it to get going so that Inda will have to welcome her. FF can then use their righteous indignation card.

Personally I think its a bad idea right now and should be immediately dropped as a plan as soon as the new lads are in.

29/12/2010, 1:30 PM
I don't have any problem whatsoever with it, although I wouldn't have any interest in actually going to see/catch a glimpse of her.

What I would have an objection to is the Irish government forking out millions on security and 'pomp' after all the austerity measures. And I'd be afraid that the Irish govt would (mistakenly, in my opinion) think that a lavish reception for the Queen would be a way of gaining respect for Ireland in the UK and beyond.

29/12/2010, 1:39 PM
That's precisely my reason for saying its a bad idea.
In time maybe. Just not 2011. And all the more reason so its not McAleese welcoming her.

shantykelly
29/12/2010, 3:07 PM
even as a nordie, i can honestly say i dont care. there are a lot more important things to be dealing with at the minute than an unnecessary visit from an anachronistic head of state.

Aberdonian Stu
30/12/2010, 12:45 AM
Is this news? The impending Lizzy visit has been known about for over a year.

30/12/2010, 5:39 AM
The impending visit is now a confirmed visit and this is why it would be newsworthy now.

ArdeeBhoy
30/12/2010, 3:05 PM
Newsworthy only in the amount tedious fawning it could generate.

And her 'ficial' nickname is 'Brenda', not Lizzy! :eek:

Maybe a banner with " Cead Mille Failte , Frau Saxe-Coburg Gotha"?
Ironically the auntie got a card from yer woman yesterday!!!

dantheman
30/12/2010, 6:55 PM
She should be invited. And ignored. As low key possible.

I'm sure the Sunday Independent will have a 64-page pullout!

31/12/2010, 7:26 AM
That's precisely my reason for saying its a bad idea.
In time maybe. Just not 2011. And all the more reason so its not McAleese welcoming her.

Exactly, that one is a joke. God I miss the days of Paddy Hillary, who you would barely see all year.
As for the visit I wouldn't be too hot on it

31/12/2010, 3:30 PM
i think it is nice to see first Robinson and then McAleese trying to maximise the scope and effectiveness of probably the most useless and powerless title in Irish politics. I despise Hillary for treating it like a nice little retirement deal.

05/01/2011, 7:12 PM
i think it is nice to see McAleese trying to maximise the scope and effectiveness of probably the most useless and powerless title in Irish politics.

The print of her arse in the government jet, the munster final fiasco, comparing her upbringing as a poor downtrodden subsidised northern catholic with that of a jew in nazi germany, talking down to people about austerity.

She is utterly, utterly, dislikable.

And don't even get me started on the other one.

05/01/2011, 7:19 PM
i didnt say she was likeable. I said she utilised a formal position to its maximum, something to be admired as practically every other President, prior to Robinson (who did an excellent job of maximising the role of the President), had used it as little more than a retirement home providing cheap flights, good photo ops and a free pen.

05/01/2011, 7:30 PM
What's admirable about it?? What effectiveness?? Where??

05/01/2011, 8:29 PM
ill let you figure out what is more admirable or effective about utilising the scope of the Presidential role to its maximum vs sitting in Aras an Uachtarain signing papers and taking cushty trips to other countries for nothing until the term is up.

So first, its you just dont like McAleese and now its that you dont like McAleese and also dont like any President doing anything remotely worthwhile.

The Fly
06/01/2011, 3:09 AM
The print of her arse in the government jet, the munster final fiasco, comparing her upbringing as a poor downtrodden subsidised northern catholic with that of a jew in nazi germany, talking down to people about austerity.

She is utterly, utterly, dislikable.

Are you a Free Presbyterian?

Gather round
06/01/2011, 9:55 AM
As a child, she was known to family and school friends as Lilibet. The Brenda & Keith thing, iirc, came originally as a code used by their security handlers, before being picked up by Private Eye.

And I'd be afraid that the Irish govt would (mistakenly, in my opinion) think that a lavish reception for the Queen would be a way of gaining respect for Ireland in the UK and beyond

Agreed. The Worldwide sleb-obsessed tabloids would cover it just like any other foreign jaunt. It might as well be Doha or Dar es Salaam as Dublin.

i think it is nice to see first Robinson and then McAleese trying to maximise the scope and effectiveness of probably the most useless and powerless title in Irish politics. I despise Hillary for treating it like a nice little retirement deal

Harsh on Paddy Hillery, he was just carrying out the 'job' description that had worked well enough for 30 years beforehand. Mary-Mary did try to use it for political lobbying, but what has McAleese done bar open supermarkets, welcome dignitaries and occasionally play golf with her dodgy UDA chums? I'll ignore the Nazi thing, we'll just put it down to a bad hair day.

Nothing wrong with having a president, but I don't see the role as useful as a Senate, and apparently you're about to abolish that. Why not just elect some random punter annually through a TV talent show? As long it's not Dana Scallon, obviously. Busaras an Uachtarain would make a nice conference centre when the economy recovers.

06/01/2011, 12:43 PM
ill let you figure out what is more admirable or effective about utilising the scope of the Presidential role to its maximum

Utilising it as in taking all the free trips on the jet or what?? I don't understand her use

So first, its you just dont like McAleese and now its that you dont like McAleese and also dont like any President doing anything remotely worthwhile

Again what's she doing that's worthwhile??

Are you a Free Presbyterian?

No.

The Fly
06/01/2011, 2:06 PM
No.

Just Presbyterian then? ;)

06/01/2011, 2:24 PM
I'm an Unfree Rastafarian dat been in Babylon too long an dat jah seen

06/01/2011, 7:27 PM
Busaras an Uachtarain would make a nice conference centre when the economy recovers.

Firstly no buses are allowed in the Park.
Secondly there's fadas in Irish and thirdly surely you'd rather a return of the building to it's original use?

Gather round
06/01/2011, 10:07 PM
Firstly no buses are allowed in the Park

That can be changed easily enough. Isn't there still a rail tunnel running through it too?

Secondly there's fadas in Irish

That's nice. But alas my keyboard's made in Cambodia and my school didn't offer lessons.

thirdly surely you'd rather a return of the building to it's original use?

Got to move with the times, baby.

The Fly
06/01/2011, 10:17 PM
Got to move with the times, baby.

Eamon??? ;)

06/01/2011, 10:44 PM
Tongue. In. Cheek. Sheesh.

ArdeeBhoy
07/01/2011, 10:49 AM
The Worldwide sleb-obsessed tabloids would cover it just like any other foreign jaunt. It might as well be Doha or Dar es Salaam as Dublin.
Yes, of course they weren't or aren't illegally occupied for nearly 900 years, so no difference at all.

Busaras an Uachtarain would make a nice conference centre when the economy recovers.
With regards to the fadas, why not change yer keyboard settings?? Not as if you don't spend enough time in front of it....
Rather than trying to continually post unfunny irony.

Billsthoughts
14/01/2011, 10:35 AM
Surely the Aras is a great example of the republic embracing its British heritage?

04/03/2011, 8:26 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12650584

cornflakes
04/03/2011, 9:08 PM
In response to intense media speculation that a state visit to the Twenty-Six Counties by the Commander-in-Chief of the British army Elizabeth Windsor is to occur soon, possibly May, the socialist republican party éirígí are stepping up their campaign of demonstrations against such a visit.

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest150211_2.html

04/03/2011, 10:10 PM
Would they ever just crawl up their own holes and die?

04/03/2011, 10:23 PM
I dont know but I dont see anything wrong with that point of view - but I guess some will be creaming it having the chance to bend the knee

04/03/2011, 11:33 PM
There's a difference between grovelling and respect. The way those muppets go on, you'd think Liz herself invaded the country just yesterday and raped the natives one by one. It's just ridiculous in this day and age. Move on for god's sake, there are more important things to be protesting and worrying about. The country is in ruins, we could do worse than have a few british tourists over.

05/03/2011, 9:01 AM
I don't have a problem with the eirigi point of view either to be honest - no more annoying than some of the fawning that'll go on. Personally I'd say I'm with the majority in just going - "meh"!

ArdeeBhoy
06/03/2011, 11:38 PM
Never mind Eirigi, though their view is no less legitimate than some of the cretins who've governed in the state in past decades, some fool has scheduled the start of the old German's lady's visit, with the Ireland v. North game, so 'Love Ulster II' ??

Not that I have time for either archaic institution, but scheduling their arrival on the same day is potentially stupid in my book....as sadly s'pose have to afford both our renown hospitality, even if neither are barely deserving.

Gather round
07/03/2011, 10:22 AM
the old German's lady's visit

Point of information: Mrs Windsor's recent ancestry is English and Scottish (through her mother, Elizabeth Bowes Lyon). On her father's side, both grandparents were English. Her most recent German-speaking ancestor was her great grandad, Francis Teck (1837-1900). Our old friend Albert Saxe Coburg Gotha was her great-great-grandfather.

07/03/2011, 12:55 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12650584

The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense.

07/03/2011, 2:21 PM
Point of information: Mrs Windsor's recent ancestry is English and Scottish (through her mother, Elizabeth Bowes Lyon). On her father's side, both grandparents were English. Her most recent German-speaking ancestor was her great grandad, Francis Teck (1837-1900). Our old friend Albert Saxe Coburg Gotha was her great-great-grandfather.
The family name was only changed from "Saxe Coburg Gotha" to "Windsor" during the First World War because of the anti-german sentiment, so I guess you're both correct. Sure some of the family were still taking the German side during the 2nd World War!

07/03/2011, 5:32 PM
The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense.

That Mark Simpson they have is a bit of a joke TBH, hasnt a clue

07/03/2011, 7:07 PM
Jeez lads, ye're fierce sensitive altogether. Would ye like me to send ye flowers to make it all better. ;)

The Fly
08/03/2011, 12:16 AM
Jeez lads, ye're fierce sensitive altogether. Would ye like me to send ye flowers to make it all better. ;)

Gather Round's posts will always elicit a contrary response from ArdeeBhoy. It's one of foot.ie's unstated rules.

ArdeeBhoy
08/03/2011, 12:45 AM
Erm, no comment!

Gather round
08/03/2011, 6:43 AM
The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense

The BBC (and most other British media) normally refer to the country as 'Ireland', unless (as in this case) there's a potential for confusion. "Queen to make first state visit to Ireland" would obviously fall in that category, as viewers would think of previous trips to NI.

So actually, it's neither usual nor nonsense.

Gather round
08/03/2011, 6:46 AM
The BBC with their usual 'Irish Republic' nonsense

The BBC (and most other British media) normally refer to the country as 'Ireland', unless (as in this case) there's a potential for confusion. "Queen to make first state visit to Ireland" would obviously fall in that category, as viewers would think of previous trips to NI.

No, donations to the distressed diaspora fund would be fine, thanks.

ArdeeBhoy
08/03/2011, 7:25 AM
Erm, of course. That makes us all wrong.

08/03/2011, 9:36 AM
ArdeeBhoy banned from CA.

08/03/2011, 12:59 PM

In which case they should use the term 'Republic of Ireland'. They never do, they always use the incorrect term 'Irish Republic' instead. Search on the BBC website and you'll see this. It is never correctly put as the 'Republic of Ireland'. The incorrect 'Irish Republic' is the usual BBC way of referring to the state and as it is has absolutley no official usage here, it is nonsense.

08/03/2011, 1:06 PM
Yeah, it's one of those things that really irritates me. That, and "Southern Ireland" which they'll also slip in sometimes.

08/03/2011, 1:10 PM
Irish Republic, Republic of Ireland- sorry, but who flipping cares?

08/03/2011, 1:38 PM
Irish Republic, Republic of Ireland- sorry, but who flipping cares?
I know I shouldn't, but I just do, A Mr.

08/03/2011, 2:29 PM
Well said Mr A.

Gather round
08/03/2011, 6:01 PM
In which case they should use the term 'Republic of Ireland'. They never do, they always use the incorrect term 'Irish Republic' instead. Search on the BBC website and you'll see this It is never correctly put as the 'Republic of Ireland'. The incorrect 'Irish Republic' is the usual BBC way of referring to the state

A quick search on the BBC website reveals:

Republic of Ireland 10,106 mentions indexed
Irish Republic 6,185

So, as I said, it isn't "usual" is it?

and as it is has absolutley no official usage here, it is nonsense

OK, I can see that as well as irritating you, it's possibly against protocol. Perhaps your embassy could make a gentle complaint or something.

Yeah, it's one of those things that really irritates me. That, and "Southern Ireland" which they'll also slip in sometimes

I'm pretty sure that one's a wind-up. (By them I mean, not you).

08/03/2011, 9:03 PM
There's only one way to settle this.... (http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=%22The+Republic+of+Ireland%22&word2=%22The+Irish+Republic%22)