View Full Version : What are your political beliefs?

18/12/2010, 8:36 PM
I have always considered myself somewhat Centrist definitely with a right-wing edge. Though that I suppose doesn't deal with the nuances in anyone's true beliefs.

Anyway I did the Political Compass malarkey earlier and apparently I am a slightly libertarian super leftie (Economic Left/Right: -8.50 Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.79)
I never would have thought so!
So in essence... I haven't a clue. :)

A nationalist unionist socialist democrat maybe?

http://www.politicalcompass.org/test

18/12/2010, 9:40 PM
Economic Left/Right: -4.12
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.90

Looks almost identical to the Dalai Lama on the chart. Not the worst company I suppose.

shantykelly
18/12/2010, 9:53 PM
Economic Left/Right: -7.12
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.28

Sounds about right. strange thing is i work in an utterly capitalist free market system, where the end goal is making money.

18/12/2010, 10:06 PM
Economic Left/Right: -4.12

Looks almost identical to the Dalai Lama on the chart. Not the worst company I suppose.

I've got Nelson Mandela for company. :(

18/12/2010, 11:53 PM
Economic Left/Right: -4.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -2.10

But mostly what I believe in is the Harps and nothing but the Harps.

19/12/2010, 2:13 AM
Economic Left/Right: -6.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.13

didnt think my economic beliefs would be so far left.

19/12/2010, 7:59 AM
Economic Left/Right: -5.62
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -6.10

Kind of sceptical about any survey that uses words like 'some' and 'usually' without clarification.

Anyhow, my main belief is that we should 'kill them all, for God will know his own.'

culloty82
19/12/2010, 7:59 AM
Economic Left/Right: -3.12
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.33

No matter what country you look at, seems only the Greens are in that quadrant, with most other parties in the top right corner.

19/12/2010, 9:53 AM
Looks like we should start our own party. Group map (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&newname=culloty&newec=-3.12&newsoc=-5.33).

19/12/2010, 10:04 AM
Can I be junior minister of state? I'd just like to pick up the salary without working.

Neish
19/12/2010, 10:54 AM
Economic Left/Right: -5.50

19/12/2010, 12:51 PM
I'm still sickeningly the most left of Ye all.

19/12/2010, 12:51 PM
Economic Left/right: -2.50
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -6.56

I fail to understand how "It's natural for children to keep somethings secret from their parents" gauges your political belief.

19/12/2010, 12:56 PM
Its in FF's manifesto

19/12/2010, 2:20 PM
I fail to understand how "It's natural for children to keep somethings secret from their parents" gauges your political belief.

something that Julian Assange's son has found a bit challenging...

19/12/2010, 6:40 PM
Looks like we should start our own party. Group map (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&newname=culloty&newec=-3.12&newsoc=-5.33).

And all you limp wristed liberal types are going to need a leader with an iron fist (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&newname=lim+till+i+die&newec=-8.50&newsoc=0.92) :p

19/12/2010, 9:53 PM
Economic Left/Right: 3.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: 2.31

I'm the first one to come right of either of the scales.:eek:

19/12/2010, 10:17 PM
And all you limp wristed liberal types are going to need a leader with an iron fist (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&newname=lim+till+i+die&newec=-8.50&newsoc=0.92) :p

I think it'll be a fight to the death between you and poor student. Then I'll take over as the compromise candidate.

http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&Lim+Till+I+Die=-8.50%2C0.92&newname=Poor+Student&newec=3&newsoc=2.31

19/12/2010, 10:24 PM
I think it'll be a fight to the death between you and poor student. Then I'll take over as the compromise candidate.

http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&Lim+Till+I+Die=-8.50%2C0.92&newname=Poor+Student&newec=3&newsoc=2.31

On 2nd inspection you big government anarchists make me look like Hitler adrift on the right but I'm the closest one yet to the centre.;)

19/12/2010, 11:19 PM

Less talk like that if you're cute. It's obvious that you stand to have a cushy number as my finance minister while i groom you as my successor.*

*Until I get paranoid and purge you while Poor Student and the rest of his lunatic reasonable centrists invade from the West. Luckily they've forgotten about my osarusan kamikaze weapon. So I'll be fine.

TheBoss
20/12/2010, 12:30 AM
Economic Left/Right: -2.75
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -0.46

The Fly
20/12/2010, 12:49 AM
Economic Left/Right: 3.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: 2.31

I'm the first one to come right of either of the scales.:eek:

...and you an impoverished student.

Tut! Tut!

20/12/2010, 10:28 AM
No shocks with me Economic Left/Right: -8.25, Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.74.

Btw the general results showing people having (surprisingly for them themselves) leftist views are not that surprising to me. It kind of sums up the Irish Electorate - think left wing, vote on family civil war lines for right wing parties!

20/12/2010, 11:18 AM
I'm in about the same place I was the last time there was a thread about this on Foot.ie, several years ago. Can ye guess where? :)

20/12/2010, 11:41 AM
Economic Left/Right: -6.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.13

didnt think my economic beliefs would be so far left.
This is an American site. Their "centre" is slightly to the right of Mussolini. I suspect the European centre is more like -3, -3, if not -4, -4.

As for my own score,
Economic Left/Right: -3.75
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.54

I've updated the crowd chart (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&John83=-3.75%2C-3.54&Poor+Student=3%2C2.31&Beish=-5.5%2C-5.9&Superfrank=-2.5%2C-6.56&Theboss=-2.75%2C-0.46&newname=Macy&newec=-8.25&newsoc=-7.74) to include all of the scores in the thread so far.

20/12/2010, 11:55 AM
This is an American site. Their "centre" is slightly to the right of Mussolini. I suspect the European centre is more like -3, -3, if not -4, -4.
It's obviously limited given the amount of questions - I think I've done one before that took 20 minutes/ half and hour to complete which obviously breaks things down much more. Partizan must be off the charts given where I am!

20/12/2010, 12:20 PM
World Leader Charts for comparison:

http://www.politicalcompass.org/images/internationalchart.gif

http://www.politicalcompass.org/images/axeswithnames.gif

20/12/2010, 12:23 PM
I've updated the crowd chart (http://www.politicalcompass.org/crowdchart.php?showform=&Bonnie=-8.5%2C-1.79&Passing=-4.12%2C-5.90&Shanty=-7.12%2C-5.28&Mr+A=-4%2C-2.1&Skstu=-6%2C-3.13&Osarusan=-5.62%2C-6.10&Culloty=-3.12%2C-5.33&John83=-3.75%2C-3.54&Poor+Student=3%2C2.31&Beish=-5.5%2C-5.9&Superfrank=-2.5%2C-6.56&Theboss=-2.75%2C-0.46&newname=Macy&newec=-8.25&newsoc=-7.74) to include all of the scores in the thread so far.
Poor Student sticking out like a sore thumb there! Should probably all stop listening to him.

Can't remember my score now, but it was around where The Boss is. Thought I'd be much more communist, to be honest. That said, the lack of a "don't know/don't care" option possibly distorted my score a bit.

Edit - actually, took it again there and got:

Economic Left/Right: -5.88
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.13

20/12/2010, 12:26 PM
Economic Left/Right: -5.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.62

And I work in a bank. No wonder I'm so unhappy......

20/12/2010, 12:39 PM
Economic Left/Right: -3.88
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.90

Compared to

Economic Left/Right: -3.75
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.85

3 and a half years ago (http://foot.ie/threads/60674-Election-2007-Pick-Your-Party-Website?p=689555&viewfull=1#post689555)

Reminds me of Father Ted

Father Fitzpatrick: And this is the last known photo of Herr Hitler; he's signing a few death warrants there.
Ted: Funny how you get more right-wing as you get older!

20/12/2010, 2:11 PM
This is an American site.

It's difficult to prove, but I'm pretty sure it is - or at least was - british.

20/12/2010, 2:38 PM
I can't find it again, but I read a bunch of stuff on their site and can confirm that they mention somewhere that those involved are English.

20/12/2010, 3:01 PM
Economic Left/Right: -9.00
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.33

Bleeding heart liberal with a pinko centre...

20/12/2010, 4:40 PM
Jaysus dodge. More leftie than me.

Docboy
20/12/2010, 5:17 PM
Economic Left/right: -4.25
Social libertarian/authoritarian: -4.72

And I thought I was way to the left, some others here must be chomping at the bit for a revolution.

20/12/2010, 5:35 PM
Poor Student sticking out like a sore thumb there! Should probably all stop listening to him.

Or perhaps I should stop listening to the lot of you. I'm in the quadrant with all the democrats!

Aberdonian Stu
20/12/2010, 10:56 PM
I've done it before but I'm fairly certain the scale is skewed as (and for the life of my I can't think of the name used) but the type of scale it's based on is 1-5 to account for the issue pineapple stu brought up about people who were neutral or didn't care. While the objective of its absence, in essentially a 1-4 scale, seems to be to try to force a decision one way or the other but it's far from a sound way of doing that.

Obviously there are other issues (over-simplification of complex questions) but that stood out for me.

Incidentally I scored
Economic Left/Right: 1.62
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.87

The 1.62 is close to what I normally score, I'm usually nearer the centre than the -4.87 so I'm guessing I hit a few more Stronglys this time. I recall once scoring in the 0s on both once being a smidgen into the quadrant it has me in this time.

21/12/2010, 8:48 AM
Or perhaps I should stop listening to the lot of you. I'm in the quadrant with all the democrats!

Democrats pah.

21/12/2010, 8:53 AM
Obviously there are other issues (over-simplification of complex questions) but that stood out for me.
A fair few double negative questions too; never a good idea in a poll.

You're just backing up my argument there, Thatcher. :p

21/12/2010, 12:11 PM
The gf did it last night and she ended up slightly right of me. But a lot mire liberal. Come on.

21/12/2010, 4:59 PM
I got:

Economic Left/Right: -8.88
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -8.41

I think I'm actually more liberal than -8.41 though.

So most people on this site are capitalist-hating, surrender-monkies, yet we still have a right wing government with an even more right wing government coming soon.
Maybe foot.ie is just full of really nice people. Or maybe we all like communism, but are just too brainwashing by political advertising to vote anything other than the 'norm'?

shantykelly
21/12/2010, 5:13 PM
i've found brendy that the discourse on here is usually a lot more reasoned and thought out than in other places, internet forum or not. sure look at what passes for political debate on citychat. and i thought you would have felt right at home with so many fellow commies.

21/12/2010, 5:16 PM
Economic Left/Right: -8.75 :eek:
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.28

Not a shock that its to the left, just surprised at how far to the left.

21/12/2010, 7:45 PM
I got:

Economic Left/Right: -8.88
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -8.41

I think I'm actually more liberal than -8.41 though.

So most people on this site are capitalist-hating, surrender-monkies, yet we still have a right wing government with an even more right wing government coming soon.

DaHamsta is handing over the site?!?! ;) ;)

ArdeeBhoy
21/12/2010, 10:55 PM
-6 & -3.33

Not too far off Gandhi & Nelson Mandela! Which is kinda apt.

peadar1987
22/12/2010, 5:47 AM
Economic -7.2
Social -3

Room for another small one in that quadrant?!

Edit: Anyone seen this chart from before the last election? (http://www.politicalcompass.org/ireland) Interesting enough reading, if only to see how out of touch our politicians are with the crucial foot.ie vote!

22/12/2010, 8:03 AM
Economic -7.2
Social -3

Room for another small one in that quadrant?!

Edit: Anyone seen this chart from before the last election? (http://www.politicalcompass.org/ireland) Interesting enough reading, if only to see how out of touch our politicians are with the crucial foot.ie vote!

Bearing in mind that Foot.iers opted for FF in the last election poll!

22/12/2010, 8:42 AM
Which eats me up to this day that such a filthy thought ever entered anybody's mind on here.

ArdeeBhoy
22/12/2010, 9:58 PM
Always thought of myself as a 'left-wing' nationalist.
Though please don't say 'national socialist', which is how some clown once interpreted it.....

23/12/2010, 8:09 AM
Bloody Hitler. He definitely got the catchier (English) name.