View Full Version : Transfer Rumours for January 2011

Pages : 1 2 [3]

abbeyvale
20/01/2011, 10:15 PM
I thought that K.Barry was going too Pike Rvs??

He was asked, but in fairness he has a far better chance of getting game time with Star, so that swayed it for him I'd say (as well as having a good few friends below at Star also).

da General
21/01/2011, 10:52 AM
He's cup tied from the FAI!!!!!!!!!!If he was illegal for the Boro against regional and over playing before the paperwork been completed within the 10 days. I take it the game was voided over the objection and Regional going through to the next round on a objection. Would this mean that Kevin would not be cup-tied as he should not of played in the first place. Or because he played, the club was punished and thrown out. Like if went to a club still in the FAI would this mean he couldnt play would he of been suspeneded from the competion or classed as playing even tho the match was voided.

abbeyvale
21/01/2011, 11:11 AM
If he was illegal for the Boro against regional and over playing before the paperwork been completed within the 10 days. I take it the game was voided over the objection and Regional going through to the next round on a objection. Would this mean that Kevin would not be cup-tied as he should not of played in the first place. Or because he played, the club was punished and thrown out. Like if went to a club still in the FAI would this mean he couldnt play would he of been suspeneded from the competion or classed as playing even tho the match was voided.

Doesn't matter now, we're out of the FAI and he's registered with us, so we have 11 league games, a minimum of 1 Touhy Cup game and a minimum of 1 Lawson Cup game, thats our season.................The cup runs are a bonus,, our main focus is Premier League survival, and if we achieve that we'll be more than happy, considering the players we have lost of the past 2/3 seasons.

Boroman
21/01/2011, 12:02 PM
Boro players in..shane Clarke.Jason Hughes.(limerick).john Ryan (star).Evan quinlavin (regional).Lou quigley..dom fitz also back from injury counts as another signing.

Players out..Kevin Barry(star).Jamie Kelly(prospect)...

leather
21/01/2011, 5:05 PM
I have Ben told that he had indeed switched to pike

abbeyvale
21/01/2011, 8:17 PM
I have Ben told that he had indeed switched to pike

Who are you referring to?

Boroman
22/01/2011, 3:51 PM
was talking to john and he said shane and daithi guaranteed him no1 spot for rest of season,glasheen wont be happy with that,heard glasheen was looking to go the view,over work,any truth boroman

No truth at all your only trying to stir..glash is no1 keeper in town and the way his playing this season proves that the only way i can see john starting is if glash gets injured...On a side note john came to the club himself he wasnt approavhed by shane or daithi he wants to fight for a place witch is great to see

True Supporter
22/01/2011, 5:54 PM
No truth at all your only trying to stir..glash is no1 keeper in town and the way his playing this season proves that the only way i can see john starting is if glash gets injured...On a side note john came to the club himself he wasnt approavhed by shane or daithi he wants to fight for a place witch is great to see So you think darren is the keeper in town...better than Gary Neville or Brian Collopy, if he stayed in on a saturday night and drop a few pounds then you can say he is the best in town

Boroman
22/01/2011, 6:09 PM
So you think darren is the keeper in town...better than Gary Neville or Brian Collopy, if he stayed in on a saturday night and drop a few pounds then you can say he is the best in town

First of all when do you see Darren out on a Saturday night..so your tellin me collopy who has played what 2 or 3 matchs in junior has been better then Darren impossible its between him and neville for no1 in town you haven't seen glash this season i see him week in week out and i think is number 1..

foot2
22/01/2011, 6:18 PM
First of all when do you see Darren out on a Saturday night..so your tellin me collopy who has played what 2 or 3 matchs in junior has been better then Darren impossible its between him and neville for no1 in town you haven't seen glash this season i see him week in week out and i think is number 1..

And what about the killmalock keeper and bennis going to the view, i think by all accounts bennis last week was the difference between the view winning and loosing..... i know from watching the game he's back training hard and looked a bit on the fit side,whats the story with the other keepers up there can anyone shed light on, the killmallock keeper is one for the future........ Neville is dodgy,as is collopy.... Another big game for the big clubs in the morning...... i'll go for a 2-2 draw with the view and pike.... what odds would you get

Boroman
22/01/2011, 6:32 PM
I haven't seen enough of egan that's why i left him out i hear he is a very very good keeper and if i seen more of him he could easy be no1..i don't think bennis is as good as the keepers we mentioned he was about 5 or 6 years ago..we all have or opinions and everyone's is different..i would like to see a view win tomorrow cause they definitly owe them it..will be a good game tho

tedd11
23/01/2011, 7:45 PM
Boro players in..shane Clarke.Jason Hughes.(limerick).john Ryan (star).Evan quinlavin (regional).Lou quigley..dom fitz also back from injury counts as another signing.

Players out..Kevin Barry(star).Jamie Kelly(prospect)...
have hughes and clarke been released by limerick?i know hughes was on loan at athlone but i thought clarke was staying up in limerick?does anybody know what tierney is doing?i hear pike are going mad about hughes signing with boro.supposedly he has been 3 weeks training with pike?can anyone confirm this?

Boroman
26/01/2011, 9:05 PM
Aled Harkin to boro from mungret

bluewhitearmy
26/01/2011, 10:36 PM
On main forum Athlone fan saying they are in talks with Jason Hughes.

lfc at heart
27/01/2011, 9:23 PM
Dean Glasheen from Boro to Prospect, good signing for prospect

Fairkop
27/01/2011, 9:44 PM
thought hughes was gone to boro,lads did anyone hear about tommy barrett going to athlone?strange one that if true.

Boroman
27/01/2011, 10:08 PM
thought hughes was gone to boro,lads did anyone hear about tommy barrett going to athlone?strange one that if true.
Hughes signed and registered with the boro..

tedd11
28/01/2011, 12:24 AM
ya he is gone as assistant manger to kerley.thats what i heard.dont think he is playing.he has alot of badges done afaik.fair play and best of luck to tommy

Balanced bias
28/01/2011, 9:03 AM
ya he is gone as assistant manger to kerley.thats what i heard.dont think he is playing.he has alot of badges done afaik.fair play and best of luck to tommy

If that’s true about Tommy fair play! With him and Kerley as management I can see them bringing up a handful of local lads to Athlone with them! I’d say well over half of the squad Kerley had with limerick in his last season are playing Premier football now and in fairness to a lot of them they are above the standard. And correct me if I’m wrong but didn’t limerick 37 have the best or 2nd best record for the second half of the season that year with all them players?

True Supporter
28/01/2011, 3:29 PM
Brendan Daly is gone to Athlone

lfc at heart
28/01/2011, 4:58 PM
yeah best of Luck to Tommy hopefully a future manager for Limerick fc, a good lad

tedd11
28/01/2011, 6:07 PM
If that’s true about Tommy fair play! With him and Kerley as management I can see them bringing up a handful of local lads to Athlone with them! I’d say well over half of the squad Kerley had with limerick in his last season are playing Premier football now and in fairness to a lot of them they are above the standard. And correct me if I’m wrong but didn’t limerick 37 have the best or 2nd best record for the second half of the season that year with all them players?

will be interesting alright at the end of the season to see if any local lads go up there.werent hughes and colbert there already for spells?

abbeyvale
28/01/2011, 11:48 PM
Brendan Daly is gone to Athlone

From who?

True Supporter
29/01/2011, 12:37 PM
From who?
From Pike

lfc at heart
30/01/2011, 6:51 PM
Paul Goodman gone from prospect to Hill celtic
Shane Keehan gone from Carew to Hill celtic

True Supporter
30/01/2011, 7:24 PM
Paul Goodman gone from prospect to Hill celtic
Shane Keehan gone from Carew to Hill celtic

Can't Shane Keehan not play for Hill Celtic because he has played for two clubs already?

lfc at heart
30/01/2011, 8:02 PM
Can't Shane Keehan not play for Hill Celtic because he has played for two clubs already?

I thought that too but he has transferred to Hillceltic

reddevil10
31/01/2011, 6:49 PM
Heard today jason travis and paul danaher from Fairview to Athlone.Can anyone confirm this?

True Supporter
31/01/2011, 7:47 PM
Heard today jason travis and paul danaher from Fairview to Athlone.Can anyone confirm this?

Travis is a good midfielder, can play play ball. While for Danaher, personally I don't think he's a good player, what Kerley and Barrett see in him I don't know...

Fairkop
31/01/2011, 7:57 PM
crikey,how many limerick based players are going to end up at athlone and mores the point will any good ones go ,because the names mentioned so far are struggling to get on junior teams down here.who,s this travis fella?

True Supporter
31/01/2011, 8:17 PM
crikey,how many limerick based players are going to end up at athlone and mores the point will any good ones go ,because the names mentioned so far are struggling to get on junior teams down here.who,s this travis fella?

He has started a couple of games for Fairview in the middle of the park this season

Final Frontier
31/01/2011, 8:51 PM

Was in contact with Jason - 1st he's heard of this !

31/01/2011, 9:58 PM
According to the Athlone fans they can't match what some of the premier players in Limerick are getting. They are baffled by it. Still think a fair few will head up but not too many. Wouldn't think the premier teams would be too happy with their squads being stripped coming into the second half of the season.

tedd11
01/02/2011, 6:39 PM
heard today that john tierney signed with pike.can anyone confirm if this is true?

True Supporter
01/02/2011, 6:57 PM
heard today that john tierney signed with pike.can anyone confirm if this is true?

I heard Kerley wanted him up in Athlone and he said he would join next week

blinkx
02/02/2011, 12:56 PM
In Pike's notes in the Limerick Leader today, they're welcoming him to the club anyway...

ronnie07
02/02/2011, 3:03 PM
you can only sign for two clubs in one season dont know how he has gotten one, can anyone confirm this......

bluewhitearmy
02/02/2011, 5:44 PM
Athlone Town

In

Tommy Barrett - Fairview Rangers
Paul Danaher - Fairview Rangers
Bobby Tier - Fairview Rangers
Brendan Daly - Pike Rovers
Gary Higgins - Janesboro FC
Darren Young - Geraldines FC

widow
02/02/2011, 5:53 PM
Athlone Town

In

Tommy Barrett - Fairview Rangers
Paul Danaher - Fairview Rangers
Bobby Tier - Fairview Rangers
Brendan Daly - Pike Rovers
Gary Higgins - Janesboro FC
Darren Young - Geraldines FC

Is that a joke? can't be right.

bluewhitearmy
02/02/2011, 6:05 PM
No joke came from Athlone themselves.

Story going around that Athlone could be training in Limerick this year.

03/02/2011, 12:17 AM
Here's the press release from Athlone.

Athlone make six signings
by Press Release
Wed, Feb 02 2011
Mike Kerley made his first signings as Athlone Town manager just prior to the close of the junior transfer window on Monday.

One of the first signings sees the return of former Town left full Darren Young who rejoins the club from Geraldine FC in a player / coach capacity along with League of Ireland legend Tommy Barrett who joined in a player / coach capacity from top Limerick junior side Fairview Rangers.

Three of the other signings although with League of Ireland experience behind them with Limerick FC will be strangers to many supporters of Athlone Town with Bobby Tier, Paul Danaher joining from Fairview Rangers and Brendan Daly of Pike Rovers makes up that trio. Gary Higgins makes up the six signing from Janeboro FC.

3rd Eye
03/02/2011, 5:20 PM
Lads, can ye post the player's that have come and went... what are the squads like for the rest of the season...

True Supporter
03/02/2011, 8:00 PM
Pike Rovers
In:John Tierney(Limerick)
Out:Brendan Daly(Athlone)

Fairkop
03/02/2011, 10:08 PM
what a great signing for pike and another ex league of ireland player.i do not understand what a club like athlone are doing signing 6 limerick players who are,n that good,some of whom could not get a game here with their junior clubs.

neverseenit
05/02/2011, 8:49 AM
what a great signing for pike and another ex league of ireland player.i do not understand what a club like athlone are doing signing 6 limerick players who are,n that good,some of whom could not get a game here with their junior clubs.

cause they dont pay as much as the clubs here

nosebleds
07/02/2011, 6:16 PM
hope the lim boys do well with atlone town,would,nt be to fast to cut them down just yet.Good luck to all.

abbeyvale
07/02/2011, 8:20 PM
Star have 19 "A" players signed now bud, with 4 or 5 "B" players always there to help out when needed.

Mike Fitz (Unattached - Star Rvs)
John Barry (Unattached - Star Rvs)