View Full Version : town 0 dub city 0

15/05/2004, 11:11 PM
id say most town fans are waking up this morning thinking:what the fcuk was that all about??. :eek:

truth be told it was a dire match in which neither side over the course of ninety minutes could muster a decent chance between them.
the only player who raised a decent gallop was man of the match alan kirby.
francis ,barret and baker showed occasional flickers but not enough to trouble the dub city defence.
sean prunty played the best of our defenders as barry and sean dillon made a couple of uncharacteristic mistakes.

thought the pitch looked a million dollars and i would say its one of the best pitches ive seen in a long time so all credit to the ground staff on that one.

btw i brought two new small town fans to the match with me.they kept asking to go to "section o" so i had to promise them id bring them over on my next visit .

16/05/2004, 1:47 AM
as i was sitting behind you, the following should not be a surprise, sheridan is a donkey and i want him put down as early as possible, sickened by that display...maybe the only plus was the display of kirby ( he had to run the centre by himself seeing as sheridan was off looking for a part in shrek )

i'll write more tomorrow when i've gotten over donkey wearing no 8....

btw good to hear section o vocal, easily heard in the stand, oh and sorry 12th man for the language during parts of the game......not good for the nippers to hear

techs
16/05/2004, 1:03 PM
Couldn't make it to game last night, dissappointed that we couldn't beat dublin city at home. were we really that bad? thats an absolute terrible result for us. whats goin wrong home?

16/05/2004, 2:20 PM
absolutely terrible game.......not really many positives to be taken from it atal! thought dempsey did ok considering but Darragh (pretty boy) sheridan is a disaster and its getting a bit ridiculous seeing him lose so much possession and stay on for the full 90mins! kirby had a good game as did sean prunty but i dono we have a serious problem at home and it needs to be sorted fast........ :mad:

Enda M
16/05/2004, 6:01 PM
absolutely terrible game.......not really many positives to be taken from it atal! thought dempsey did ok considering but Darragh (pretty boy) sheridan is a disaster and its getting a bit ridiculous seeing him lose so much possession and stay on for the full 90mins! kirby had a good game as did sean prunty but i dono we have a serious problem at home and it needs to be sorted fast........ :mad:

the only serious problem is matthews tactics when is he going to learn that hoofball is not what we want to see. i was thinking of just going to the away games and lock my season ticket away somewhere cause i couldnt watch that for a whole season.i dont know if its the atmosphere or what but one thing is for sure our tactics are all wrong........and can someeone tell me why every time we either cross the ball or take a corner it never looks dangerouas and goes straight into the keepers hands 99% of the time isnt that what you are supposed to be working at during training or am i missing something and on sheridan dont start me seriously....................

16/05/2004, 6:07 PM
on sheridan dont start me seriously....................

if everyone of us can see it........whats going on down on the line? seriously he is a waste of space and i dont think he has ever proved us wrong!

also why is that our pitch was narrowed in? i know it has been for quite some time now but was just wondering what the idea was behind it?

Bosco
16/05/2004, 8:41 PM
Just a point i noticed last night.Everyone knows that we play our best football when the ball is on the ground and everyone gives out ****e when we hoof it away.Well,I noticed something last night in the stand.For a while during the first half(at the very start),we were knocking the ball around quite well we were passing it from the back and working our way forward(which is exactly what we want and have been hoping for).But every time our backs started passing it around,alot of people in the stand would go mad shouting "get it outta there to fcuk" and incouraging them to hoof it.When i say our backs passing it around i mean near the halfway line not around the box.How can we get them playing football if these gob****es are only too delghted to see them hoof it

16/05/2004, 9:04 PM
Just a point i noticed last night.Everyone knows that we play our best football when the ball is on the ground and everyone gives out ****e when we hoof it away.Well,I noticed something last night in the stand.For a while during the first half(at the very start),we were knocking the ball around quite well we were passing it from the back and working our way forward(which is exactly what we want and have been hoping for).But every time our backs started passing it around,alot of people in the stand would go mad shouting "get it outta there to fcuk" and incouraging them to hoof it.When i say our backs passing it around i mean near the halfway line not around the box.How can we get them playing football if these gob****es are only too delghted to see them hoof it

Not too sure whats causing the bad home form ... but gobsh!tes like these certainly dont help. Christ can some of these people not get behind the team instead of abusing them...

17/05/2004, 8:33 AM
as i was sitting behind you,

sorry 12th man for the language during parts of the game......not good for the nippers to hear

ah sure they know every letter of the alphabet at this stage ;) .
echo what you said about singing from "section o".
the nippers were entertained by the 2 "glamourous grannies" from dublin city
who had an answer for each town chant that was shouted out.

getting back to the match.we badly needed some fire in the camp saturday night.it was a perfect night for football, with the pitch in immaculate condition but the boys just didnt click at all.between injuries and odd team selection
(out of whos left) we need to pull up our socks big time.

Xlex
17/05/2004, 8:39 AM
well I actually believe that I was watching a different game. Some people I've spoken to would strongly disagree with me but here I go.

Dempsey. Clean sheet. have to be happy enough with that.
I actually think Ferguson mixed his passing up. he played it long, he played it short, sometimes square, sometimes forward. Lost less ball then he has been accused of. Dillon had one of those nights, he wasn't that confident. Murph's distro was suspect too and I don't think he played wide enough either. Prunty was the pick of the bunch. played good ball and can fit in with either Byrne or Baker easily.

Overall the defense was OK. We didn't conceed so they can't have been too bad and I felt we looked for the short ball a good deal of the time.

Midfield let us down. If I were to be critical of Matthews I would have to question his belief in Sheridan. Wowful. Kirby in the first half was bugger all better. He picked it up in the second a half and was quite solid. Byrne was so so. If we had better central midfielders we might be able to afford this footballer in the side. Barrett's touch and fitness is off. Up front. we couldn't be up to much given the middle section.

In defence of that performance. they had 10 men behind the half-way line for most of the game. Gill believed we should have been dead and buried at HT :confused: and Matthews was certainly fuming. But DC defensive tactics are fustrating.

Xlex
17/05/2004, 8:40 AM
Oh yeah. I thought Baker was in a class of his own.

17/05/2004, 8:56 AM
Echo that - Baker man of the match. He's class, just a pity about the supply to him. Bigger is a liabilty, but he didn't have a lot to do and wasn't afraid to play it short rather than the big punt forward. Rest of the defence did okay - didn't give much away. Midfield - was there a midfield? Kirby was shíte for most of the game, Darragh was shíte but no worse than anyone else in the middle in fairness. Byrne and Barrett did okay, but nowt amazing. Baker the only bit of class on show. Francis never got a decent ball into him - give him the right ball and he'll score goals.

Also agree with Bosco, given the still night you could hear the shouts from the stand to let it long all the time. You'd have thought they would've sussed it wasn't bogball by this stage.

Finally Section O was singing no more than usual, just the night that was in it it travelled over the far side of the pitch. Wait till we have a roof! :)

17/05/2004, 9:09 AM
i'd agree with the baker comments, but he's doing that in most matches anyway, kirby did improve last sat and that is a good thing.....

i heard them giving out about the backs passing, which i don't agree with, keep it on the ground lads and we can beat anyone.....

sheridan = donkey...nuff said