View Full Version : All transfer news, ins and outs etc.
bluewhitearmy
12/01/2011, 4:54 PM
I thought Garvan Broughall is a right back and was brought in to be a senior squad member? Would prefer to see a more experienced right back come in but if he is a right back naturally i wouldn't mind seeing him play there. Especially if it means O Leary can play in midfield and not have to fill in there.
Agree with all the other players as first team players. If you leave out Garvan Broughall that is only 12 first team players though. Hopefully the club will announce a couple of new signings at once.
Forgot about him man ya if he is a right back thats grand but even Athlone fans aren't too impressed with McCarthy and Calla has done nothing since signing for us so we need centre back.
O Leary and Judge are good players but play both in the middle and we will get bossed in midfield like last year need a bit of strenght in there.
12/01/2011, 5:25 PM
Forgot about him man ya if he is a right back thats grand but even Athlone fans aren't too impressed with McCarthy and Calla has done nothing since signing for us so we need centre back.
O Leary and Judge are good players but play both in the middle and we will get bossed in midfield like last year need a bit of strenght in there.
Definitely need to be tougher in midfield. O Leary would be excellent alongside a strong experienced midfielder that will hold in the middle. Ya Athlone fans where kind of mixed about McCarthy. I can only presume Scully see's something in him.
We need someone to play up front with O'Flynn as i'd prefer to see Sheehan on the right wing for the start of the season to see how he gets on.
bluewhitearmy
12/01/2011, 5:49 PM
Definitely need to be tougher in midfield. O Leary would be excellent alongside a strong experienced midfielder that will hold in the middle. Ya Athlone fans where kind of mixed about McCarthy. I can only presume Scully see's something in him.
We need someone to play up front with O'Flynn as i'd prefer to see Sheehan on the right wing for the start of the season to see how he gets on.
If only Boland could have stayed fit.
12/01/2011, 7:27 PM
Goalkeeping:Top notch.
Defence: Not bad, but not immense - about the same as last year.
Midfield: Nobody who can really boss the field or pass the ball.
Attack: Great pair of strikers (if Sheahan plays as one) but little to no cover for injury.
I thought our biggest ptoblem last year was that we were without any player who could really control midfield, and I don't see any signs of that being remedied.
12/01/2011, 10:15 PM
I think we are
Goalkeeping: Very Good.
Defence: Stronger than last season but still behind the other challengers in the League.
Midfield: Weak. One or Two nice players but no one to control it and do the gritty work.
Attack: Sheehan and O Flynn are two good strikers but i think we have no depth there at the moment and not as strong as other teams there.
At the moment it seems to be Waterford the best, Cork and Shels just behind that and us next. The other teams have been fairly quiet so far so its hard to know with them.
bluewhitearmy
12/01/2011, 11:16 PM
I think we are the same in defence as last year definitely dont think better.
No cover for injuries anywhere.
ped_ped
13/01/2011, 9:36 PM
Garbhan Coughlan could turn out for forward cover if he matures a bit, serious potential from what I saw last season.
13/01/2011, 10:30 PM
If only Boland could have stayed fit.
what on earth happened to willie boland did he make any first team appearances with ye at all?
13/01/2011, 10:43 PM
He did, but never lasted more than 15 minutes before getting injured. I wasn't at the Athlone game away when we won 3-1, but from what I've heard, in the 15 minutes he was on the pitch, he looked a different class completely.
According to his wiki page, he's now with Guisborough Town FC.
14/01/2011, 5:09 PM
In:
Peter Hynes
http://limerickfc.ie/Home/news/110114squad.html
Unsure about this one. Don't think he was great with Longford. Hopefully he can prove me wrong but is he the kind of player to help us get promoted?
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2011, 6:19 PM
In:
Peter Hynes
http://limerickfc.ie/Home/news/110114squad.html
Unsure about this one. Don't think he was great with Longford. Hopefully he can prove me wrong but is he the kind of player to help us get promoted?
No not at all hes terrible wasn't good enough for Longford last year and no offence to Longford but if we are serious about going up we need to be getting players better then someone that was not wanted by a poor Longford team last year.
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2011, 6:39 PM
Which of these would ye want that we could realistically get ?
Goalkeepers:
Billy Brennan (UCD)
Aaron Shanahan (Longford Town)
Defenders:
Liam Burns (Dundalk)
Sean Kelly (Limerick FC)
Brian Gartland (Monaghan Utd)
Mark Rossiter (Bohemian FC)
Brian Shelley (Bohemian FC)
Aidan Price (Shamrock Rovers)
Shaun Kelly (Dundalk)
Midfielders:
Dean Marshall (Athlone Town)
Darren Meenan (Drogheda Utd)
Bobby Ryan (Limerick FC)
Stuart Byrne (St Patrick's Athletic)
Forwards:
Mark Leech (Shelbourne)
Eamon Zayed (Sporting Fingal)
Daryl Kavanagh (Waterford Utd)
Glen Fitzpatrick (Drogheda Utd)
Karl Moore (UCD)
Thats who i would want either Gartland or Price to partner Paddy,Kelly for right back and Byrne would give us the strength and experience we need in midfield.
14/01/2011, 8:10 PM
Shaun Kelly and Aidan Price would be two great signings. We would probably have the best defense in the league. I agree Stuart Byrne is the kind of experience we need.
The only question about those players is are they failing to get offers or looking for too much money possibly.
The only reason i can think Hynes was brought in is to add something different up front. Sheehan has the pace, O Flynn is the finisher/poacher and Hynes is the strong physical centre forward. The Longford fans have said when he is interested he is very talented but when he is not he is a waste of space. Maybe trying to push for promotion might get him to put in the effort.
What would be the chances of Behan I wonder. Cork seemingly want him on loan. He is out of favour with Hartlepool and seems to be on his way out. Would be very good in this division.
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2011, 8:42 PM
If they are looking for a lot of money will have to come down the closer the season gets if no-one is willing to pay it.
Any fan of a club Hynes has been at that i have talked to have said he is no good. If hes just been brought in because he is big and strong its not much use if hes too lazy to use it. So far dont think hew ill be pushing for promotion with us but depends who else comes in.
Doubt we would have any hope of Behan if he comes back it will be to premier or to Cork id say.Cork seem to have loads of money to throw around going by who they are being linked with.
Id take Kav back if he had got himself sorted.
14/01/2011, 11:22 PM
Vinny Faherty and Robert Bayly would be two great signings also. Both will prob be picked up by premier teams but as it stands they haven't been yet as far as I know.
Think Kavanagh has got a few chances a few places and has always been moved on for off the field reasons so I can't see him changing anytime soon. Pity cause he'd be a good addition.
Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while.
Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.
leather
15/01/2011, 8:57 AM
Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while. Shane is signed and registered with janesboro
Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.[/QUOTE]
abbeyvale
15/01/2011, 12:21 PM
Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while. Shane is signed and registered with janesboro
Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.[/QUOTE]
I heard Hughes is signing with the Boro
balls
15/01/2011, 12:50 PM
is it the view of pat scully that shane clarke , hughes etc are not good enough for limerick squad or did they leave of there own accord. surely for limerick to attract more fans etc they should be integrating best young local talent into 1st team. i know alot of people say you need more experienced players to get out of the division but i dont think rogers and the likes of heary really made a huge difference results wise last season. any updates on what is happening with John Tierney also?
bluewhitearmy
15/01/2011, 1:15 PM
is it the view of pat scully that shane clarke , hughes etc are not good enough for limerick squad or did they leave of there own accord. surely for limerick to attract more fans etc they should be integrating best young local talent into 1st team. i know alot of people say you need more experienced players to get out of the division but i dont think rogers and the likes of heary really made a huge difference results wise last season. any updates on what is happening with John Tierney also?
Clarke asked to be released. Hughes was offered a deal but must not have accepted dont think he would get in the team anyway after being sent out on loan last year not sure how well he did at Athlone. Haven't heard a thing about Yellow.
Dont think having local players helps getting fans we had mostly locals for years and got no more fans then when we had Rogers and Heary and all last year fans will come if we are doing well no matter who is playing. Dont think there is many if any junior players in Limerick good enough to get us up tbh.
As far as i know JT is gone he is a big loss alright. Would have liked to keep him and Clarke.
15/01/2011, 3:26 PM
I would think if the players wanted to stay Scully would have kept them. Still plenty of local talent going to be at the club. Mainly going to be A or U20 players though. If good enough they will make the step up. Tierney and Clarke will be big losses. Yellow is a lovely player but was in and out of the team last season. Hughes didn't play much last season so hard to know if he is a big loss or not.
Shane is signed and registered with janesboro
Cheers Leather, didn't see it mentioned anywhere.
bluewhitearmy
15/01/2011, 3:40 PM
Vinny Faherty and Robert Bayly would be two great signings also. Both will prob be picked up by premier teams but as it stands they haven't been yet as far as I know.
Think Kavanagh has got a few chances a few places and has always been moved on for off the field reasons so I can't see him changing anytime soon. Pity cause he'd be a good addition.
Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while.
Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.
Would be great signings alright..Heard Faherty is going to Dundalk though and Bayly maybe to Pats.
Also heard Price is going to Dundalk and Stu Byrne has retired so that rules out 2 of the lads id want from Pfai team.
Apparently Kav has got himself sorted out and is flying it now interesting Prem teams though after getting player of the tournament at that thing the Pfai team played in.
15/01/2011, 6:45 PM
Faherty was supposed to sign for them a few months ago but they signed Quigley and Bryne then so maybe that would put him off.
Hopefully kav has sorted himself. Would definitely like to see him return then.
bluewhitearmy
16/01/2011, 11:24 AM
I was talking to a few of the 20s players lastnight who were fuming that Alex Scully is being brought back to the club this year.
Apparently he is nowhere near good enough but plays every game a few have said that he has to play because of his father and i think someone on here has said that before..... Complete joke that a local lad is missing out just because he is the managers son if this is true.
Seen a few 20s games last year and he didnt look too great and was shocking when he played against Waterford in Munster Senior.
Thought it was a bit far fetched until i noticed this every player we have signed whether it be for 1st team 20s or A team has been announced as signed http://limerickfc.ie/home/news/110105squad.html and http://limerickfc.ie/home/news/110114squad.html 4th from bottom in 2nd link someone has slipped in un-announced. Am i just being paranoid here :/
Not a good way to attract young local lads if the mangers son is playing ahead of people that are clearly better then him
16/01/2011, 5:16 PM
Ya one of the lads pointed it out to me he was back alright. Fair enough if he is signed but better players shouldn't miss out on games because of it.
bluewhitearmy
16/01/2011, 5:24 PM
Ya one of the lads pointed it out to me he was back alright. Fair enough if he is signed but better players shouldn't miss out on games because of it.
Wouldn't be fair on Barry Lynch either trying to do a job with the 20s and being made to play the managers son.
Some very good players Barry has got in to the 20s so id say if he is left to pick the team he wants they could do very well.
nosebleds
16/01/2011, 9:30 PM
news flash mike kerley new manger of athlone . he will be on the lookout for players hope he does well good luck .
bluewhitearmy
16/01/2011, 10:05 PM
news flash mike kerley new manger of athlone . he will be on the lookout for players hope he does well good luck .
Unless he gets Peter White i doubt he will get anyone we care about losing..
Jason Hughes might go back up there now though.
16/01/2011, 10:58 PM
Unless he gets Peter White i doubt he will get anyone we care about losing..
Jason Hughes might go back up there now though.
Unless the money was good i wouldn't think White would go up there under Kerley. Wasn't it Kerley that didn't want him so he signed for Wexford Youths.
leather
19/01/2011, 2:47 PM
Lads, Just a quick line to commend your club and in particular Michael O'sullivan for his help and expertise when transferring and releasing players. An absolute gent unlike the the puppets in jackman...an honourable gent unlike most of the ldmc......
bluewhitearmy
19/01/2011, 3:06 PM
Lads, Just a quick line to commend your club and in particular Michael O'sullivan for his help and expertise when transferring and releasing players. An absolute gent unlike the the puppets in jackman...an honourable gent unlike most of the ldmc......
Hes brilliant in fairness done so much for the club and still does. Sound man to talk to too.
bluewhitearmy
19/01/2011, 3:44 PM
Kav wont be coming back anyway signed for Pats.
20/01/2011, 8:53 AM
Two good signings for the Boro. Ye should finish the season very strong now.
abbeyvale
20/01/2011, 12:22 PM
Two good signings for the Boro. Ye should finish the season very strong now.
Clarke & who?
20/01/2011, 12:52 PM
Clarke & who?
Jason Hughes according to the Junior Forum.
Edit: Boroman has since removed his comment saying they have signed so not 100% sure about Hughes.
leather
20/01/2011, 3:14 PM
Jason signed afaik...ldmc holding it up ....ldmc promoting football as usual....
leather
20/01/2011, 3:15 PM
would hope too....need one or two more in certain areas to push on..
bluepowers
21/01/2011, 2:15 PM
why cant jason sign with boro
pearse4t3
21/01/2011, 2:54 PM
Both Jason Hughes and Shane Clarke have signed with Janesboro FC.
bluepowers
22/01/2011, 8:46 PM
apparently yellow and peter white signed back
streaker
25/01/2011, 3:05 PM
with all the new players that have signed do u think we can drive for automatic promotion.iknow it will take time to jel together i myself wish them well.time will tell.
nosebleds
25/01/2011, 3:20 PM
lads any updates on the cheerleaders heard a rummour they have a bus hired for all away matches.
bluewhitearmy
25/01/2011, 6:03 PM
lads any updates on the cheerleaders heard a rummour they have a bus hired for all away matches.
Bad attempt at wind up.
bluepowers
25/01/2011, 11:55 PM
Both Jason Hughes and Shane Clarke have signed with Janesboro FC.
big step down for jason hughes for a youngfella who was suppose to make it in england and now playing junior football .... clarke waste off talent in junior football
LK37oldskool
31/01/2011, 12:21 PM
Anyone heard if Peter White has signed,he's not on the roster thats up on the clun website.
KevB76
31/01/2011, 10:11 PM
Anyone heard if Peter White has signed,he's not on the roster thats up on the clun website.
He's been at all training so I assumed he has signed
lfc at heart
02/02/2011, 6:29 PM
http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=2674
Browse: Home / Club News / First six signings of Kerley reign completed
First six signings of Kerley reign completed
By Chris on February 2, 2011
Mike Kerley made his first signings as Athlone Town manager just prior to the close of the junior transfer window on Monday.
One of the first signings sees the return of former Town left full Darren Young who rejoins the club from Geraldine FC in a player / coach capacity along with League of Ireland legend Tommy Barrett who joined in a player / coach capacity from top Limerick junior side Fairview Rangers.
Three of the other signings although with League of Ireland experience behind them with Limerick FC will be strangers to many supporters of Athlone Town with Bobby Tier, Paul Danaher joining from Fairview Rangers and Brendan Daly of Pike Rovers makes up that trio. Gary Higgins makes up the six signing from Janeboro FC.
Further details on these players along with more signings will be announced over the coming week.
bluewhitearmy
02/02/2011, 6:58 PM
http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=2674
Browse: Home / Club News / First six signings of Kerley reign completed
First six signings of Kerley reign completed
By Chris on February 2, 2011
Mike Kerley made his first signings as Athlone Town manager just prior to the close of the junior transfer window on Monday.
One of the first signings sees the return of former Town left full Darren Young who rejoins the club from Geraldine FC in a player / coach capacity along with League of Ireland legend Tommy Barrett who joined in a player / coach capacity from top Limerick junior side Fairview Rangers.
Three of the other signings although with League of Ireland experience behind them with Limerick FC will be strangers to many supporters of Athlone Town with Bobby Tier, Paul Danaher joining from Fairview Rangers and Brendan Daly of Pike Rovers makes up that trio. Gary Higgins makes up the six signing from Janeboro FC.
Further details on these players along with more signings will be announced over the coming week.
Why is this in the Limerick section?
Nothing to do with us really.
lfc at heart
02/02/2011, 7:43 PM
Why is this in the Limerick section?
Nothing to do with us really.
how about ..... interesting reading..... and some ex Limerick fc players, other people might be interested in it, also same division as us, we wil be playing aganist them
, surely it would be interestng to know who we are playing against
if it offends you. I can remove it
bluewhitearmy
02/02/2011, 8:10 PM
Doesnt offend me just saying that none of them are signing with us or leaving us and this is Limerick section rumours about Limerick are not allowed so thought things about Athlone may not be. We were talking to one of them that signed for Athlone but rumours are not allowed so cant say who.
Yellow back for next year anyway http://limerickfc.ie/home/news/110129squad.html.
lfc at heart
02/02/2011, 9:20 PM
Doesnt offend me just saying that none of them are signing with us or leaving us and this is Limerick section rumours about Limerick are not allowed so thought things about Athlone may not be. We were talking to one of them that signed for Athlone but rumours are not allowed so cant say who.
Yellow back for next year anyway http://limerickfc.ie/home/news/110129squad.html.
I think I know the rumor you are talking about, it will be interesting to know were it will happen maybe the ul, are we on the same track