View Full Version : Ins, outs, rumours?
14/02/2011, 3:29 PM
Ah well. I'm sure we'll find someone else to bring in if the budget allows. No shortage of available players these days.
24/02/2011, 12:01 PM
bit of useless info for ye guys. I was goin thro the 2004 ltfc match programs and came across the fact that Des Hope got the late equaliser for Athlone Town against us in the Fai Cup match in flancare(2-2) in that 2004 season.. Other info I picked up on him was : he is from Co Kildare ,moved to ballinasloe and missed the entire 2007 season injured for them. He left Athlone Town two months before the season ended last year!
24/02/2011, 2:11 PM
He also played for Roscommon County in the Oscar Traynor many years back when the old fella was manager.
24/02/2011, 4:46 PM
He and Paddy Collins had a cracking game VS Bohs
25/02/2011, 10:36 AM
He and Paddy Collins had a cracking game VS Bohs
yeah fully agree with you on that. outspoken I have a good feeling that we wont be conceding as many goals as last season especially with the likes of Alvin Rouse marshalling defence!!.
07/03/2011, 1:00 PM
yeah fully agree with you on that. outspoken I have a good feeling that we wont be conceding as many goals as last season especially with the likes of Alvin Rouse marshalling defence!!.
surprised it wasnt mentioned yet but town have also signed Paul Kane as goalkeeper to provide further competion for Stephen Conlon.. he comes from St Pats.. does anyone know anything about him? Dodge do you know anything about him??
Tallanted
07/03/2011, 2:03 PM
His name is Paul Hunt
Tallanted
07/03/2011, 2:07 PM
There was a Paul Kane listed in the programme not sure who he is though, our new keeper is definetly Paul Hunt
wullie
07/03/2011, 8:58 PM
played with Paddy Collins and Michael Lee at Bohs
howsyourtouch
08/03/2011, 1:31 AM
heard alot about this new keeper, all good... he is ment to be good enough already...
09/03/2011, 2:56 PM
heard alot about this new keeper, all good... he is ment to be good enough already...
I got it confirmed from someone close to the first team that Paul Hunt is here permanently..as per general thread he was goalie on pats A team last season and Bohs A team the season before
L.T.F.C.
09/03/2011, 5:57 PM
I got it confirmed from someone close to the first team that Paul Hunt is here permanently..as per general thread he was goalie on pats A team last season and Bohs A team the season before
Close to the team? :rolleyes:
Tallanted
09/03/2011, 6:24 PM
The fella that locks the gate after training :D
09/03/2011, 9:39 PM
Good to see a back up plan anyway hopefully we wont need him and Alvin can do the job.
Close to the team? :rolleyes:
Whats the issue? I'd rather know it comes from a credible source rather than some randomer.
wullie
10/03/2011, 4:27 PM
Maybe Alvin should be looking over his shoulder very closely as there is now someone more than capable of taking his spot
10/03/2011, 6:11 PM
Maybe Alvin should be looking over his shoulder very closely as there is now someone more than capable of taking his spot
Hello, Paul, welcome to the club! ;)
Town Legend
10/03/2011, 7:55 PM
Well spotted Longfordian!! haha 3 posts on foot.ie and all concerning a Mr. Paul Hunt!!! As Longfordian said welcome to the Flansiro!
wullie
10/03/2011, 9:56 PM
Well maybe it's Paddy C as there is a mention of him before as well. Maybe you should read the whole article not just the first line. Maybe it's not either of them and someone looking around the forums and giving you some info on a new player you have that you can't even spell his name correctly.
I have watched these Bohs players Collins, Lee and Hunt as well as others that have been to other LOI clubs as they have moved about from the most successful Bohs schoolboy side that they have had to see how they progressed, it is good to see how a club's academy players progress at other clubs
10/03/2011, 10:57 PM
I was joking, relax. All info is appreciated. Cheers. Out of interest what other LOI players were on that side?
11/03/2011, 11:30 AM
Whats the issue? I'd rather know it comes from a credible source rather than some randomer.
thanks macy. I am not willing to disclose on this forum who told me the information but he is involved with the first team and I thought of texting him to confirm the status of the Paul Hunt transfer instead of people wasting time speculating.. And no its not the gatekeeper!!
Town Legend
11/03/2011, 6:09 PM
Well maybe it's Paddy C as there is a mention of him before as well. Maybe you should read the whole article not just the first line. Maybe it's not either of them and someone looking around the forums and giving you some info on a new player you have that you can't even spell his name correctly.
I have watched these Bohs players Collins, Lee and Hunt as well as others that have been to other LOI clubs as they have moved about from the most successful Bohs schoolboy side that they have had to see how they progressed, it is good to see how a club's academy players progress at other clubs
I did read the whole article but as I said of your first three posts all 3 referred to Hunt!!! Paddy Collins would of been referred in first 2 posts ie Bohs team that lost to Cork and your mention of him playing alongside Hunt and Lee at Bohs. Lee was just referred to in that second one, whereas Hunt was referred to in all 3!! The last about Rouse having to look over his shoulder!!! As Longfordian said RELAX mate its just a bit of craic!!
Town Legend
11/03/2011, 6:11 PM
Well maybe it's Paddy C as there is a mention of him before as well. Maybe you should read the whole article not just the first line. Maybe it's not either of them and someone looking around the forums and giving you some info on a new player you havethat you can't even spell his name correctly.
Is his name not Paul Hunt then? Or how do you spell it?
Just another overview of how the squad's shaping up with the new signings included
So at present the squad is
GK
Rouse
Conlon
DF
O'Reilly
Lee
Deans
Hope
Collins
Dowling
MF
Hyland
Salmon
Brady
Walsh
A Roche
Oladele
Szcerbowski
Morley
FW
Skelly
Cowan
L Roche
Reilly
Plus perhaps Kevin Dawson if he signs and then the under 20s as they come through. Pretty rounded squad overall on a limited budget I reckon. Hopefully we'll have a decent season. Barry Skeete was at the game the other night too, well I assume it was him, don't know if we'll be signing him though.
Can someone add the first names of these players and add any that may be missing, Cheers
Town Legend
11/03/2011, 6:36 PM
Goalkeepers
Alvin Rouse
Stephen Conlon
Paul Hunt
Defenders
Niall O'Reilly
Graeme Dowling
Michael Lee
Chris Deans
Des Hope
Paddy Collins
Midfielders
Aidan Roche
Mark Salmon
Thomas Hyland
Jacques Morley
Craig Walsh
Jason Oladele
Piotr Szcerbowski
Cathal Brady
Gary Cronin
Strikers
Don Cowan
Lee Roche
Austin Skelly
Daniel Reilly
Think thats all of them!
11/03/2011, 7:11 PM
thats a fairly huge squad these lads must be on peanuts
L.T.F.C.
12/03/2011, 12:28 AM
Goalkeepers
Alvin Rouse
Stephen Conlon
Paul Hunt
Defenders
Niall O'Reilly
Graeme Dowling
Michael Lee
Chris Deans
Des Hope
Paddy Collins
Midfielders
Aidan Roche
Mark Salmon
Thomas Hyland
Jacques Morley
Craig Walsh
Jason Oladele
Piotr Szcerbowski
Cathal Brady
Gary Cronin
George Bell
Strikers
Don Cowan
Lee Roche
Austin Skelly
Daniel Reilly
Think thats all of them!
Now it is.
Town Legend
12/03/2011, 8:16 AM
I think George Bell is heading off to America to some college from what I've heard and was only involved in pre-season games.
Keen2win
12/03/2011, 9:19 AM
He signed an amateur contract
12/03/2011, 9:50 AM
A lot of the squad would be on amateur contracts I'd imagine. Credit to Tony Cousins he's got a decent squad together on very small money.
L.T.F.C.
12/03/2011, 10:42 AM
I think George Bell is heading off to America to some college from what I've heard and was only involved in pre-season games.
He signed an amateur contract
A bluffin'.
Town Legend
14/03/2011, 12:45 AM
A bluffin'.
???????????????????
ltfc_2004
09/06/2011, 2:46 PM
well getting closer to the summer transfer window ? anyone coming or going in the next few weeks ?
09/06/2011, 4:59 PM
I'm almost certain we will sign a LB as cover and I'm sure wel have a few junior league players coming in so far Athlone, Waterford and Cork have all tapped into that market, some real good players out there, just look at Jack Morley for example he came from Crumlin, wasnt even getting in their 1st team.
TheBoss
10/06/2011, 3:50 PM
I believe that Longford have signed a centre forward called Jean Biansumba, born in Congo and has played with Ireland U-15s, previously at Nottingham Forest Youth and Shepshed Dynamo in English lower league and was on trial with Cork City during pre-season.
10/06/2011, 5:05 PM
Saw someone that I think was him sat with the players at the first Finn Harps game. There was talk of him coming in earlier in the season but he must be only eligible now.
11/06/2011, 11:47 AM
If thats true it would be a great signing as it gives us cover for Don and Ozzie because i wouldnt call the roches out and out strikers same goes for Oledele.
17/06/2011, 1:53 PM
Talking to a cork fan he says hes crap, fast but crap
01/07/2011, 5:15 PM
Heard we signed 4 new players any truth in this?
You were after a striker that played last season with St Francis in the LSL
01/07/2011, 7:18 PM
Any idea of the name?
01/07/2011, 7:25 PM
There's an Alan McGreal on the bench tonight according to extratime. Could be this chap, he's from Dublin.
http://www.soccerships.com/index.php/en/stipendium/erfahrungsbericht
02/07/2011, 9:47 AM
Sounds decent but not so sure if the standard he played in would be great.
Tallanted
02/07/2011, 10:30 AM
Was with Crumlin Utd last apparently, didnt see enough of him last night, whizzed a free kick over the bar that was about it.
02/07/2011, 11:49 AM
If hes anything like Morley we should be happy.
02/07/2011, 12:27 PM
Was with Crumlin Utd last apparently, didnt see enough of him last night, whizzed a free kick over the bar that was about it.
Yeah he played for them against Pats in the cup it seems. Appears to be the same Alan McGreal from the US college soccer link above.
http://www.sportsfile.com/id/522772/
02/07/2011, 6:26 PM
heard last night that we are also in for James Keddy the transfer would have went through only that the deadline was against us. Wasnt he with Crumlin too?
Todays mail it says that we signed a Jeff Hunt on loan .Im not sure where we got him from?
Tallanted
02/07/2011, 7:54 PM
Jeff flood that should have read not hunt, centre half from rovers
Tallanted
02/07/2011, 7:56 PM
And Keddy is managin Bluebell, cant see him comin into play for us
02/07/2011, 8:53 PM
Jeff Flood is Anto Flood's younger brother apparently. Turned down Athlone at the start of the season.
http://extratime.ie/squads/players/3/11111638/