View Full Version : Ins, outs, rumours?
L.T.F.C.
09/12/2010, 9:50 PM
That is brilliant news. Fair play to Cousins. Makings of a fairly strong squad there.
Cabs88
09/12/2010, 10:42 PM
I'll have to agree with LTFC here, great news, and great to have a bit of continuity going forward.. it will make a nice change from goin out to pre season games and not having a notion who any of the players are
L.T.F.C.
10/12/2010, 1:19 AM
Exactly. Its brilliant not to have to say "Who is that *******?" for nearly the first phase of games. I also think that we somewhat have kept the better players from last year. I would have loved to have seen Glynn on that list, he is a proper goal-scorer. I don't where Skelly and Hope play, but we could do with a decent striker that will be guaranteed to hit the net a nice few times a season.
Tallanted
10/12/2010, 9:58 AM
Hope is a center half as far as I know, Skelly is a striker he scored 10 goals for athlone last season. Great to see that we have kept the best from last year and going to build on it.
10/12/2010, 10:21 AM
Happy enough with all those names on that list, except Chris Deans. He's a camel.
10/12/2010, 5:45 PM
Great list of players , except for Oladele hes far too inconsistent apart from that delighted and like said above it will be nice to go to preseason games and say theres so and so not who the hell is he.
14/12/2010, 4:15 PM
cant say too much on this 1 yet but i can say weve resigned another of last seasons rovers loanees and he told me that weve signed a big c*nt 6'5 goalkkeper and hes an international he couldnt tell me who he was but he said id be surprised so anybody want to take a guess , i said it to one of my mates today and he said what is was thinking .....could it be alan mannus?
14/12/2010, 4:29 PM
Er..no. The first choice keeper of the league winners can do a good deal better than us.
14/12/2010, 4:30 PM
could it be alan mannus?Not being smart but are you for real? You think it's possible Alan Mannus has joined ye? Seriously? :rolleyes:
14/12/2010, 4:32 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_kl2GKlgG_Xc/SOse7AGa5qI/AAAAAAAAAgo/HrGCN8Sy5U8/s400/facepalm.jpg
14/12/2010, 6:11 PM
Not being smart but are you for real? You think it's possible Alan Mannus has joined ye? Seriously? :rolleyes:
No i know mannus is joining us im just saying hes the only 1 who comes to mind within the loi so this new fella must be from abroad
Town Legend
14/12/2010, 6:34 PM
No i know mannus is joining us im just saying hes the only 1 who comes to mind within the loi so this new fella must be from abroad
You know Mannus is joining us? Well personally I don't think he is! Anyways I did hear today that we have/are in process of signing a keeper. Not sure if he played international but hopefully he'll be a No. 1
L.T.F.C.
14/12/2010, 9:18 PM
cant say too much on this 1 yet but i can say weve resigned another of last seasons rovers loanees and he told me that weve signed a big c*nt 6'5 goalkkeper and hes an international he couldnt tell me who he was but he said id be surprised so anybody want to take a guess , i said it to one of my mates today and he said what is was thinking .....could it be alan mannus?
Lloris?
14/12/2010, 10:07 PM
Isn't that should say :)
14/12/2010, 10:15 PM
Lloris?
Shay Given, he's not 6' 5" but still, a possibility.
14/12/2010, 11:47 PM
http://www.pajamadeen.com/images/at-the-crease-hockey-goalie-ken-danby-canada.jpg
Town Legend
14/12/2010, 11:48 PM
Would it be the young Arsenal keeper Wojciech Szczęsny that we're getting on loan? 6' 5'' and one cap for Poland??????? He had a warm up game for Arsenal there last night in preperation for the new League of Ireland season.
Joe Dixon
15/12/2010, 7:31 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alvin_Rouse
check out his height!
Shay Given, he's not 6' 5" but still, a possibility.
Peter Schmeichel, out of retirement - FACT.
Edit - Can't be Schmeichel, he's only 6ft 4.
15/12/2010, 4:08 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alvin_Rouse
check out his height!
Oh thats not very exciting , hope hes good
15/12/2010, 6:10 PM
Mightn't be him at all but it'll be that level of player. He's an ok keeper from what I can remember but his wiki says he's gone home to Barbados. Maybe we'd be flying him in and out for matches.
L.T.F.C.
15/12/2010, 7:32 PM
Mightn't be him at all but it'll be that level of player. He's an ok keeper from what I can remember but his wiki says he's gone home to Barbados. Maybe we'd be flying him in and out for matches.
with our massive budget and all...
15/12/2010, 7:42 PM
I shouldn't really say this, but I've heard the Qatari Royal family are looking to raise their profile in Ireland and in particular the lucrative Midlands market...
seand
16/12/2010, 12:05 AM
Marty, empty some junk out of your PM inbox!
apologies for hijacking the thread...
16/12/2010, 11:35 PM
Paddy Collins is signing from Athlone according to Ash on the Transfers forum. Think he was with Bohs before Athlone, young defender it seems.
He was with Bohs U20 before joining us. Ironically his 1st time in an Athlone Town squad was the away game in Flancare. He's on a footy scholarship in DCU.
Former club captain ... but then again, last season nearly everyone got a go of the armband!!!!
L.T.F.C.
17/12/2010, 9:38 AM
He was with Bohs U20 before joining us. Ironically his 1st time in an Athlone Town squad was the away game in Flancare. He's on a footy scholarship in DCU.
Former club captain ... but then again, last season nearly everyone got a go of the armband!!!!
Is he any addition?
Aye, he done well enough with us.
Having said that though I cant recall too many players who left us, went straight to ye and improved any. Little Jinksy was our player of the season before moving across and going into obscurity. Caz looked like he could be a great player and now he's back playing GAA as far as I know. Jay done well with us, played with ye and then moved back to the Sligo bench.
I'm still raging that the lads, and possibly a few more from what I'm told, have moved from us to ye (anywhere else would be acceptable ;)) but at the moment we are looking more and more like a mickey mouse outfit so cant blame players for trying to sort out a few bob for next year while the horror/comedy continues over here.
17/12/2010, 10:14 AM
McCartney was decent with us too to be fair. Alan Gough wouldn't have done much to improve anyone when he was here. I believe he's available if ye're still looking for a manager though!
17/12/2010, 2:17 PM
Paddy Collins is defo moving over was talking to michael lee and he said we had signed one of his former bohs underage teammates so has to be him.
19/12/2010, 5:37 PM
i heard that news about the new goalie last nite and all i heard that he was american! i heard he used to play for derry city a few yrs back. did alvin rouse ever play for derry or who was the black goalie that derry city had a few seasons back??
Tallanted
19/12/2010, 6:18 PM
i heard that news about the new goalie last nite and all i heard that he was american! i heard he used to play for derry city a few yrs back. did alvin rouse ever play for derry or who was the black goalie that derry city had a few seasons back??
That's Russell Payne, he has retired from playing and is in management abroad now, it's not him
19/12/2010, 10:39 PM
Only America keeper I can think of is konopka but last I heard he was on trial in Poland
last I heard he was on trial in Poland
Great, more negative publicity...
gufc2000
23/12/2010, 9:51 AM
Lads I thought I read somewhere on this forum, could have been in the 'Retained Squads' section but have ye let go of Lester and Glynn?
Can't believe Cousins would get rid of his two of his 'favourites'
23/12/2010, 11:09 AM
Looks that way alright. Glynn was injured most of last season so that might have something to do with it. Lester was decent for the most part but was, I'd imagine, one of our higher earners so we'll see who he can bring in to replace him.
23/12/2010, 11:10 AM
Hi gufc mate but yes it's true Lester and Glynn are gone.
08/01/2011, 8:30 PM
Alvin Rouse, Paddy Collins and Craig Walsh confirmed. Good work from Cousins again, the squad is taking shape nicely.
http://ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=a906646d-4a11-454d-99c3-92c7c0f7fc0e
08/01/2011, 8:50 PM
Can't wait 4 the new season now really good squad put together
08/01/2011, 10:10 PM
Im delighted that Craig Walsh is stayin.. I assume that Alvin Rouse has come back from Barbados I know he was with Dungannon Swifts the season before last.. Paddy Collins we have discussed him already I dont think he made too many first team appearances for Athlone last season. I assume thats the end of the signings goin by the article ..
for the first time in age Im very optimistic...
08/01/2011, 11:07 PM
So at present the squad is
GK
Rouse
Conlon
DF
O'Reilly
Lee
Deans
Hope
Collins
MF
Hyland
Salmon
Mooney
Brady
Walsh
A Roche
Oladele
FW
Skelly
Cowan
L Roche
Not bad though we may need another defender and possibly another striker in an ideal world. May have to rely on a couple of younger lads though if the budget is used or close to it.
09/01/2011, 10:55 AM
I agree Longfordian I think we need 1 more defender just to be safe and another striker wouldnt do any harm
09/01/2011, 11:23 AM
Just heard a rumor that we are meant to be signing Daniel Reilly apparently hes left Athlone and is signing for Longford
09/01/2011, 11:45 AM
A young striker I think isn't he? Could be a useful signing if it's true.
Tallanted
09/01/2011, 5:51 PM
Hyland and salmon can both play at the back, i would imagine that hyland might play more at the back than in the middle of the park, squad is looking decent all the same
09/01/2011, 8:29 PM
Can salmon play back there? Never seen him play there before I don't think
Tallanted
09/01/2011, 10:16 PM
Can salmon play back there? Never seen him play there before I don't think
He played right full up in salthill, the 2 craig's played in midfield that night
10/01/2011, 1:13 AM
Just heard a rumor that we are meant to be signing Daniel Reilly apparently hes left Athlone and is signing for Longford
im sure the athlone lads have a fair idea of him.. I for one have never heard of him before..
10/01/2011, 4:36 PM
Was just talking to Daniel Reilly on facebook he told me hes been offered a trial and all going well he will hopefully be offered a contract he said he dosnt know whats going on at Athlone at the minute so has to start looking for a new club. I know a small bit on him hes a striker and considered a promising young prospect and he made 4 apperances for Athlone seniors last year scoring 1 goal
I then happened to come across an interview somebody did with him on youtube and it said he was athlones under 20's top scorer last season il post a link to the interview now i found it very interesting , he also said craig walsh and austin skelly were the 2 best players he had played with so thats a good sign for us.
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1263789891266&oid=150619081620261&comments&ref=mf
Town Legend
10/01/2011, 6:55 PM
http://www.facebook.com/video/video....omments&ref=mf (http://www.facebook.com/video/video....omments&ref=mf)
I'm laughing my head off looking at that interview!! The young lad hasn't a clue on how to ask the questions and Daniel Reilly is wandering off on his answers! Hilarious stuff altogether!