View Full Version : Foot.ie Christmas Party 2010

06/11/2010, 4:04 PM
Myself and Holidaysong were discussing this last nite and I said I would start organising it.

Any suggestions for date venue etc? Who is interested in going? Does weekend or midweek work best?

Discuss my pretty ones....

06/11/2010, 4:23 PM
Midwest is certainly good for me!

Ack.. ninja edit from magicme.

06/11/2010, 4:41 PM
weekends are best. wouldn't be able to take time off midweek

poster
06/11/2010, 5:48 PM
Weekdays are best for me. Don't like weekends, too many about and I won't be in Dublin. Easier to sneak a naggin in on a weekday too.

awec
06/11/2010, 11:14 PM
I could come and woo you with my nordie accent Magicme. :D

06/11/2010, 11:38 PM
Glenavon man I presume?

07/11/2010, 12:04 AM
Oh dear am blushing awec! Swoon! :-D

18/11/2010, 10:07 PM
Bump. Thinking either Fri 10th or sat 11th mite work?

18/11/2010, 10:12 PM
I'll be there in spirit.

Unlike last year when I was there, in spirits.

18/11/2010, 10:15 PM
Bump. Thinking either Fri 10th or sat 11th mite work?
Friday is better for me, think the 11th is my work christmas do

18/11/2010, 10:33 PM
Rite so either Fri 10th or weekend after that. Charming gonna miss ya this year as I struggle to carry pints in a lift!

18/11/2010, 11:34 PM
Rite so either Fri 10th or weekend after that. Charming gonna miss ya this year as I struggle to carry pints in a lift!
actually the 17th is good for me

18/11/2010, 11:53 PM
Well does 17th suit anyone else? My sister arrives home that day so could meet her in Dublin for awhile before party.

20/11/2010, 1:57 AM
Slightly mad idea but throwing it out there....booze cruise anyone? €60 return trip and could go sat afternoon, drink cheaply in holyhead and come back drinking duty free?

Gonna cost me bout €60 for hotel anyhow.

20/11/2010, 10:29 AM
17th is fine for me (as is the 10th, 11th or 18th). Booze cruise sounds like mad craic. What kind of ferry times would we be looking at?

20/11/2010, 12:49 PM
Depends...could go just on boat around 9 and come back on the 2.20am sailing or go on earlier or fast ferry and return on the 2.20.

24/11/2010, 12:16 AM
Seems like there is no interest in a shindig this year so HS why don't you come to two door cinema club gig with tets and myself and that can be our party.:-(

24/11/2010, 9:18 AM
Think it might be sold out?

24/11/2010, 6:32 PM
have my work's christmas party on the 16th and a friend's christmas party on the 18th so I'm safely assuming the 17th is out for me I'm afraid

24/11/2010, 7:52 PM
Well Pnau cancelled so now I'm free. :(

24/11/2010, 10:13 PM
I know this might seem like a mad idea... but eh... Termonbarry?

24/11/2010, 10:33 PM
If I knew who/what/where Ternonbarry is, it may well be a runner!

24/11/2010, 10:46 PM
Here you go...
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=termonbarry&sll=53.344104,-6.267494&sspn=0.271376,0.727158&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Termonbarry,+County+Roscommon,+Ireland&ll=53.7281,-7.95702&spn=0.067231,0.181789&z=13

24/11/2010, 11:03 PM
Meh can't be bothered coz on my phone with maximum number of Windows open at mo coz working on details of booze cruise!

24/11/2010, 11:04 PM
Booze cruise pn the shannon through Termonbarry!

24/11/2010, 11:24 PM
Right there are a few options. Irish ferries do a mini cruise for €32 return but there is about 2 hours between getting to holyhead and the return journey so need to find out if we can stay on the boat during that time.

Same thing with stena only its €38 return.

Does the 11th or 18th suit people better?

25/11/2010, 12:34 AM
Why not just hire a bus with a toilet and get driven around Dublin for a few hours? You could have pints in a few pubs if you liked, head to the beach for a bit, etc.

25/11/2010, 8:32 AM
A Dublin beach in December? You crazy?

25/11/2010, 9:45 AM
A Dublin beach in December? You crazy?

The amount of alcohol consumed would surely make you feel toasty warm.

25/11/2010, 7:03 PM
In work in DĂșn Laoghaire and no amount of booze prepares you for that sort of chill. I say NEIN to that idea.

25/11/2010, 7:25 PM
Fine, you stay on the bus while the rest of us prance with mermaids.

The main idea was hire a bus and go wherever people want. Beach is optional. Bear in mind I'm saying all this as an outsider who will not be there.

25/11/2010, 7:29 PM
Oh a stirrer eh. GET HIM!

Well I did a boat trip from Portumna to Banagher last year and it was savage. I think a pub crawl in some unsuspecting village would be just the ticket.

25/11/2010, 8:54 PM
I did an overnight to Swansea years ago, before the ferry stopped, and it was one of the best sessions I ever had. Drank all the way over, drank ourselves silly in Swansea and had great craic with the locals, and drank all the way back. Rules are how to play crawls. Never pass a pub no matter how dodgy it looks, never leave a drink behind, and eat only what the pubs provide. You can't go wrong. :)

25/11/2010, 10:06 PM
And have a glass full of money. Only way to do it.

26/11/2010, 8:17 PM
yeah I took the ferry overnight to Wales one year (too drunk to remember where we landed because we just decided to do it that day and hopped on a bus with a bag of cans), fantastic laugh and genuinely one of the best holidays i ever had. we ended up heading to Reading and sleeping in a convent for 5 of the nights, coming home hammered at all hours of the morning (only two nuns staying and we had a whole wing of this massive convent to ourselves so never bothered them). Happy times

The Fly
29/11/2010, 2:19 PM
^ Did they do your laundry as well?

02/12/2010, 9:21 PM
Brilliant. POTM for Nov surely.

03/12/2010, 8:12 PM
Oh a stirrer eh. GET HIM!

Well I did a boat trip from Portumna to Banagher last year and it was savage. I think a pub crawl in some unsuspecting village would be just the ticket.

Definitely like this idea, Carrick on Shannon would be a great spot.

Dillonman
04/12/2010, 12:11 PM
You could all hit culloville on the border and take advantage of 3 quid pints, just ask Holidaysong, thats where we all stop going to Monaghan anytime for a game! Theres an all you can eat chinese restaurant at the back of the pub too.

04/12/2010, 12:46 PM
Enniskillen is the place to go. Hit whetherspoons for cheap drink, stay in motel on edge of town and buy booze for almost free in Asda.

07/12/2010, 7:57 PM
10th would be a great idea although it's the dole christmas party that night...

07/12/2010, 8:04 PM
Doesn't look like anyone can agree on anything.:-( I'm out in Dublin tomorrow night if anyone wants to meet up.

07/12/2010, 8:45 PM
I'll be in the Well (http://www.franciscanwellbrewery.com/) this weekend if any Cork Foot.ie denizens want to join me for a load of lovely locally-brewed beer.

Not sure if it'll be Friday or Saturday yet.

07/12/2010, 10:23 PM
Ah tis a shame. After my stranding in Scotland I am financially on a short short leash. Unfortunately I guess the next beer I have will be on Xmas day as I try to avoid being Mr Taxi.

Verdebianco
18/12/2010, 2:22 AM
And have a glass full of money. Only way to do it.

Prefer the wallet meself, hope yis have (had) good uns