View Full Version : Playoff -V- Monaghan United

02/11/2010, 9:05 PM
So it all comes down to two legs against Monaghan. Most likely missing Prendergast, Mulroy and Houston through injury and Mitchell through suspension. Not sure if Shields has an injury. He came off against Rovers with a knock and came off at ht in Galway.

Hopefully the lads can lift themselves and get ready for battle. I'd say that there are tired legs at this stage but no more so than Monaghan. The tie is there to be won!

Many going to Monaghan for the first leg?

SupaJon
03/11/2010, 9:32 AM
Can Mitch's red card be appealled?

BrayUnknowns
03/11/2010, 10:51 AM
Shields took an elbow to the back of the head early in the first half, maybe it was a touch of concussion? Should be ok for Friday and Monday. Mitchell is 100% out of the game, can't appeal a straight red card. It will most likely mean Danny or young slots back into centre half with Webby, Graham Kelly moves into the middle of the park and possibly Touhy on the right side of midfield or he could play young Shane O'Connor at right back and Daire Doyle on the right side of midfield.

After last night, i can't see half as many going up to Monaghan.

03/11/2010, 11:50 PM
But you get to sample the famous Mondogs! You have to come visit us!

peadar1987
04/11/2010, 1:02 AM
But you get to sample the famous Mondogs! You have to come visit us!

Can you not just bring some down with you for the return leg? (You should be able to fit enough for everyone in your boot!)

04/11/2010, 1:07 AM
Ha ha. No, they disintegrate if they go out of the ground. :D

04/11/2010, 1:11 AM
I've got footage from Mexico that suggests they can survive outside of Century Homes Park..

04/11/2010, 1:22 AM
Its all lies... doctored video. You should know better than to believe everything you see on Youtube.

peadar1987
04/11/2010, 1:24 AM
Ha ha. No, they disintegrate if they go out of the ground. :D

I'm sure a big radio celebrity like you could work something out!

04/11/2010, 1:29 AM
Ha ha... but as a vegetarian, I wont! :D

SupaJon
04/11/2010, 9:02 AM
Mitchell is 100% out of the game, can't appeal a straight red card.

You sure about that?

I know across the water you can't appeal a sending off it's due to two yellows, but can appeal a straight red.

Why would it be different here?

04/11/2010, 9:45 AM
You can only appeal a straight red card in the case of mistaken identity can't you?

And lets be honest, it's the FAI, they just love being different :)

They didn't over turn Blinkhorn or Ryan's bans from the cup final so can hardly see them doing it for Mitchell even if we could appeal it.

SupaJon
04/11/2010, 9:53 AM
Yeah - wasn't sure what the options were.
I know in England if you appeal the red card, th eplayer is free to play until the appeal decision, but risks a lengthier suspension if the appeal is rejected.

Thought it may have been a way to get Mitch to play on Friday.

Is he suspended for both games, or just Friday?

04/11/2010, 9:55 AM
I would hope just Friday, but i would think that would depend on how many yellow cards he has to his name

Bray Head
04/11/2010, 11:47 AM
Yeah - wasn't sure what the options were.
I know in England if you appeal the red card, th eplayer is free to play until the appeal decision, but risks a lengthier suspension if the appeal is rejected.

Thought it may have been a way to get Mitch to play on Friday.

Is he suspended for both games, or just Friday?

I'd imagine it's just a one match automatic ban. The discipilinary committee are unlikely to sit before Monday so any additional suspension will probably come in at the start of next season.

04/11/2010, 12:21 PM
I'd imagine it's just a one match automatic ban. The discipilinary committee are unlikely to sit before Monday so any additional suspension will probably come in at the start of next season.

You are actually spot on, never thought of that.

Bray-Z
04/11/2010, 1:43 PM
Team news: "Bray Wanderers will have to plan for the Premier/First Division Play-off first leg game against Monaghan Utd. at Centuary Homes Park on Friday night without defender Adam Mitchell and Dave Webster, Mitchell following his sending off at Terryland Park and Webster getting an exra two games following his sending off in Sligo. Otherwise Pat Devlin will have the same squad to choose from as on Tuesday for the game against Galway Utd."

Defence looking very bare!

04/11/2010, 2:06 PM
Webby got an extra 2 games ban ! ****ing hell, it was an extremely harsh sending off in the first place but ti give him an extra 2 game ban is disgraceful, terrible news and hard to plan now with a defence so bare of central defenders. The only options we really have there are Shane O'Connor, Danny O'Connor and Stephen Brennan, Mitchell will then be back for Monday night.

GK - Gregg
LB - Massey
RB - S. O'Connor
CB - D. O'Connor
CB - Brennan
LM - J. Kelly
RM - Doyle
CM - Dempsey
CM - G. Kelly
ST - O'Neill
ST - Shields

Subs to pick from:
Shaw
Touhy
Byrne
Kane
Tresson
Baker
Tyrrell

04/11/2010, 7:29 PM
what time is kick off tomorrow evening at? I am doing nothing so might go up and see how the old town players Danny O'Connor and Daire Doyle are getting on. I was looking back at old newspaper cuttingsfrom a year ago recently and and I saw that we could have signed Gary Shaw when Alan Gough was manager but alas it wasnt to be!

04/11/2010, 9:32 PM
Its 7.45 Marty and you are always welcome!

jan molby
04/11/2010, 11:30 PM
What type of crowd would you think will be at the match from a Monaghan point of view?. I would imagine bray will bring about 50 to 100???

jan molby
04/11/2010, 11:32 PM
Dont be surprised to see Tresson in from the start and Dan to stay in Midfield.Just a guess but I think Daz has one more goal left in the tank

05/11/2010, 10:21 AM
Dont be surprised to see Tresson in from the start and Dan to stay in Midfield.Just a guess but I think Daz has one more goal left in the tank

That would be the winning goal in the 92nd minute on Monday night ;)

05/11/2010, 11:57 AM
Not sure Jan, we had loads for the derry game so hopefully they are back tonight.

Roo, you coming up for it?

05/11/2010, 12:24 PM
Not sure Jan, we had loads for the derry game so hopefully they are back tonight.

Roo, you coming up for it?

Yeah i'll be up alright, not sure how many we will have though. Great crowd went on Tuesday to Galway but just can't see the same numbers traveling after such an inept performance.

Seagull
05/11/2010, 12:25 PM

I was just remembering a game v Monaghan back in 98 I think, a wet, miserable night in the Carlisle, standing in the shed shivering, a poor game on the pitch. Then Wanderers got a free out on the left, a long way from goal, up stepped Jody Lynch who arrowed the ball into the net, Wanderers promoted. I'd settle for something similar again (Daz maybe, can't see Jody showing up!)

05/11/2010, 12:28 PM
Richie Winter is the ref tonight...... I'm sad, very sad

05/11/2010, 12:30 PM
I was just remembering a game v Monaghan back in 98 I think, a wet, miserable night in the Carlisle, standing in the shed shivering, a poor game on the pitch. Then Wanderers got a free out on the left, a long way from goal, up stepped Jody Lynch who arrowed the ball into the net, Wanderers promoted. I'd settle for something similar again (Daz maybe, can't see Jody showing up!)

Fond memories....

Last time i was up in Monaghan we beat the 4-0 or 4-1 and got promoted, i'd settle for that :)

Dillonman
05/11/2010, 12:40 PM
Are many of ye heading to Monaghan, we where all amongst ye in Utd Park last year!lol

05/11/2010, 1:02 PM
As above - not sure how many we will have though. Great crowd went on Tuesday to Galway but just can't see the same numbers traveling after such an inept performance. We would certainly welcome you to swell our "support" tonight, interestingly enough there were Rovers fans in with us on Tuesday night too.

05/11/2010, 2:23 PM
Make sure you come say hello Roo! Will be around the press box and stands most of the time probably. Same for you Dillonman.

Dillonman
05/11/2010, 3:38 PM
Make sure you come say hello Roo! Will be around the press box and stands most of the time probably. Same for you Dillonman.

Will be with Holidaysong and co!

05/11/2010, 4:00 PM
Cool looking forward to seeing Holidaysong again, been almost a year since last saw him!

RahenyBohs
05/11/2010, 5:30 PM
Can see Bray winning this one

peadar1987
05/11/2010, 6:09 PM

I'll take winning the cup next season as well! :)

naoise kennedy
05/11/2010, 7:06 PM
match live on monaghan fm radio........

05/11/2010, 7:31 PM
Its 7.45 Marty and you are always welcome!
wasnt able to make it as I had a meeting to go to at six thirty and couldnt get out of it. I am listening to northern sounds commentary of it now . fingers crossed for ye.

Cabinteelygull
05/11/2010, 8:43 PM
Holy mother of God my heart was in my mouth the last few mins there!! Dissapointed Gregg will be suspended but gotta be happy with a draw! Can anyone give a match report? The second half sounded dire bar the last few minutes. I was also appalled at how biased the radion commentators were being towards the home team.............until I realised I was listening to Monaghan FM :P

naoise kennedy
05/11/2010, 8:51 PM
Holy mother of God my heart was in my mouth the last few mins there!! Dissapointed Gregg will be suspended but gotta be happy with a draw! Can anyone give a match report? The second half sounded dire bar the last few minutes. I was also appalled at how biased the radion commentators were being towards the home team.............until I realised I was listening to Monaghan FM :P

Agree,, it sounded like we were not at the game at all again tonight,, did they go out for a draw,, all in all a draw is not a bad result but loosing gregg as well.. A but ironic that kaner was in goal when we were loosing all our match(not his fault) .. gregg comes in, things change and now kaner is back in to save our season,, kaner is a good keeper but gregg has more experience..

05/11/2010, 11:16 PM
Bray were extremely lucky not to conceed at least 6+ goals tonight, i have never seen a first division side tear apart a Premier division side like it in all my days, to say we were awful is an understatement.

Same as Tuesday, started well and should have taken the lead but we then just fell apart at the seems, how Monaghan didn't score beggers belief, chance after chance they wasted.

Gregg's red card was deserved, he probably should have been sent off very early on when he looked to have dragged Hughes down, although Hughes handeled the ball to give himself an advantage of a goal scoring so it evened itself out as Hughes should have never been aloud to have that chance.

I've never been so happy with a 0-0 in all my life. I'm not looking forward to Monday and fear the worst.

Bry Boy
05/11/2010, 11:37 PM
That was one of the worst performances I have seen from bray since I have supported them,there was no pressure no urgency.
shane oneil didnt look bothered neither did shaw,I saw twice gary and shane actualy giving up to get to a ball that they could of got.
thanks to monagahn was a nice trip and hope you enjoy Bray.

06/11/2010, 12:04 AM
The positive for Bray then is you have to take your chances or regret it...

08/11/2010, 9:06 AM
We didn't have any chances, and if we play like that again we will have no chances tonight and regret it all

superjohnny
08/11/2010, 1:34 PM
have a bad feeling about this. can see MONS beating us at least 2 zip. i think we are donald ducked

Cabinteelygull
08/11/2010, 2:54 PM
My gawd i'm already depressed just reading these posts, mind you, I wasn't at the first leg so maybe I haven't been stricken with the same level of negativity :eek:

Hopefully the players will realise its now or never tonight, I would love to see them kick off the way they did against rovers-straight on the atttack, really set the standard for that night. This team CAN perform lads we've all seen it, I'm already a bag of nerves but we can still stay in this division on merit. It would be a shame to see all the good work done in the last few weeks undone in the space of seven days.

BELIEVE :ball:

Grey Boy
08/11/2010, 4:50 PM
Well it's either going to be a fantastic night or a dreadful one. Our fourth play off in 2 seasons and we're yet to win one. I think we should be slight favourites though in fairness. The momentum Monaghan had from winning going into the first leg against the negative vibe we had after losing in Galway and now it boils down to 90 minutes. I'm staying positive.