View Full Version : Playoff V Galway 2nd Nov
Bry Boy
04/11/2010, 8:29 PM
Totally agree lowflyingseagull,the behaivior is not acceptable but god we are no bohs or rovers.
04/11/2010, 10:28 PM
"One thing Galway have to take a lot of blame for on the night was their stewarding, i even had my own problems with them. But to let a group of already visibly drunk young lads out of the ground at half time to go down to the off licence and then let them back in topped up with booze is absolutely moronic."
That is just utter rubbish .The nearest Off Licence is Tesco and which is over 20 minutes walk from the ground so your telling me those lads went off for forty minutes.Never ever had problems with Bray Supporters in Galway Until this season but there are 12 young guns who fancy themselves as green street heroes and were shaping up to kids when we allowed them over for food and this was the main reason we decided to keep ye back for a meagre 3 minutes.
I have been stewarding in Terryland for over 20 years and that is the first time we have had a fan from any club try to attack the Ref after a game and believe me if we hadnt stopped him Bray would be in huge trouble now.We were totally mystified by the way the players went for the ref at the end as your own fans said the ref had nothing to do with Bray losing the game.
jan molby
04/11/2010, 11:26 PM
It's mad really, of all the posts put on this issue no one has apologised to Galway yet for our collective behaviour. Well I will then.
On behalf of all the Bray fans that travelled to Galway may I take this opportunity to say sorry for the behaviour of all us involved on the night. I hope Galway go on to have a good season in 2011 as there is no doubt your facilities are definitely Premier Division class and some of your players are definitely going places. Hopefully our Childish behaviour as a group did not mar what I am sure was a great night for all involved in Galway Utd.:)Take care and hopefully see your club again soon.
jan molby
04/11/2010, 11:51 PM
well said Roo69
"One thing Galway have to take a lot of blame for on the night was their stewarding, i even had my own problems with them. But to let a group of already visibly drunk young lads out of the ground at half time to go down to the off licence and then let them back in topped up with booze is absolutely moronic."
That is just utter rubbish .The nearest Off Licence is Tesco and which is over 20 minutes walk from the ground so your telling me those lads went off for forty minutes.Never ever had problems with Bray Supporters in Galway Until this season but there are 12 young guns who fancy themselves as green street heroes and were shaping up to kids when we allowed them over for food and this was the main reason we decided to keep ye back for a meagre 3 minutes.
I have been stewarding in Terryland for over 20 years and that is the first time we have had a fan from any club try to attack the Ref after a game and believe me if we hadnt stopped him Bray would be in huge trouble now.We were totally mystified by the way the players went for the ref at the end as your own fans said the ref had nothing to do with Bray losing the game.
I agree with EVERYTHING you said bar "That is just utter rubbish", it happened. I've no need to lie about something like that. They were aloud out of the ground at half time and came back with a fresh stash of booze. Most of your stewards were fine, no problems at all but there were a few with stinking attitudes, especially the 2 English (i think) who were on the half way line in the old stand
Anyway, fair play on winning, fully deserved. Hopefully we meet in the Premier again next season
peadar1987
05/11/2010, 6:59 PM
Might I suggest that they'd stashed some drink close by so they wouldn't have to bring it into the ground, or go to an offo?
The "Bray" supporters who went on to the pitch are at fault end of. The Galway stewards are in no way at fault. People from Bray are quick enough to blame other clubs supporters when they are involved in things so accept it and stop looking for scape goats. As for this senior supporters club member he should be banned and never let set foot in the club again. What an example he is setting. No doubts he will be let away with it because he know's the people that know.
10/11/2010, 10:58 AM
The "Bray" supporters who went on to the pitch are at fault end of. The Galway stewards are in no way at fault. People from Bray are quick enough to blame other clubs supporters when they are involved in things so accept it and stop looking for scape goats. As for this senior supporters club member he should be banned and never let set foot in the club again. What an example he is setting. No doubts he will be let away with it because he know's the people that know.
100% not Galway's fault, it was the 2 moron's who jumped the wall. There was a SC meeting about it last night AFAIK and from what i heard the story of a SC member "hitting" fans was blown way over the top. It was a case of trying to stop lads jumping the wall by trying to hold them back, something which he should not have had to do in the first place but i fully agree in putting no blame on Galway what so ever.
I am probably going ott but it just angers me all this when all the talk should be of what the team have done to stay in the league.
10/11/2010, 11:19 AM
No i dont think your post about it not being Galway's fault is over the top, as I've said it was 100% the lads fault who jumped the wall and as i sated in previous posts that if it did turn out to be true about a SC member assaulting people then the necessary steps should have been taken, but from what I've heard it was blown way out of proportion.
SSwanderer
10/11/2010, 6:47 PM
I've been a Bray fan since 1993 and hav been goin to games every season up until middle of last season when i had to relocate for work so i only got to 6 games this season. I hate missing games but i try to get up as much as i can,.. Anyway...In all my years supporting Bray i've never heard of any of our fans running onto pitches and goin after refs. It's a disgrace and very embarrassing and when i saw the highlights on MNS the other night i couldn't believe what i was seeing. That type of **** has no place in the Club and whether these lads realise it or not, this type of thing discourages parents from bringing their kids to games in future. BWFC used to be a family ground. Lets get those days back and cut out the 'Wannabe Hooligan' element. For the sake of the Great club we all love.