View Full Version : Mark Noble
25/10/2010, 10:31 AM
Have heard from a reliable source that this lad has declared. Is he worth his place on the team? I think he is a similar player to Green, only a lot better.
25/10/2010, 10:38 AM
Usual arguments aside, that is some coup. Instantly improves the midfield options.
Deckydee
25/10/2010, 10:58 AM
Any links on this? :D
Would be great if true
AlaskaFox
25/10/2010, 11:03 AM
How reliable a source? This would be a nice coup for Trap after Clark and Maguire.
Philly
25/10/2010, 11:06 AM
If true, that's great news!
McCarthy, Maguire, Gibson - three midfielders that play regularly and have their best years ahead of them.
Colbert Report
25/10/2010, 11:38 AM
Mark Noble is far better than Paul Green!
TrapAPony
25/10/2010, 1:43 PM
I'd be very happy if this news is true.
Sullivinho
25/10/2010, 2:19 PM
Very much Green's superior. He's been in the West Ham first team for a fair ol' while. Former England U21 captain who had the audacity to score two against us. ;)
I'm very surprised by this tbh, assuming it's true.
Is he worth his place on the team?
He'd walk into our current midfield.
Drumcondra 69er
25/10/2010, 3:46 PM
Would be over the moon with this, he's good strike on him as well. Would walk into the team.
Closed Account 2
25/10/2010, 4:45 PM
Does he have Irish parentage ? Not heard of him in the context of that before. Btw, he can hit a decent penalty and free kick.
25/10/2010, 5:33 PM
I'd be very surprised if this is true. He scored twice against us in Cork I think. Very good player, but this one wouldn't sit too well with me. Just instinct, not a rational argument really. Clark's "lineage" is very Irish, I think Noble's is a bit along the Andy Townsend lines.
Funny, I just met a bloke from Walkinstown in Whitstable, Kent, where I'm spending a few days. Our kids were in the local playground. His 5 year old is a good ball player and wants to play for England despite waering an Irish track suit top. I nearly put in a hard tackle on him but thought against it.
seanfhear
25/10/2010, 6:49 PM
I'd be very surprised if this is true. He scored twice against us in Cork I think. Very good player, but this one wouldn't sit too well with me. Just instinct, not a rational argument really. Clark's "lineage" is very Irish, I think Noble's is a bit along the Andy Townsend lines.
Funny, I just met a bloke from Walkinstown in Whitstable, Kent, where I'm spending a few days. Our kids were in the local playground. His 5 year old is a good ball player and wants to play for England despite waering an Irish track suit top. I nearly put in a hard tackle on him but thought against it.
Timing is everything and it is better to get those tackles in early !
Scooby Doo
25/10/2010, 7:52 PM
Have heard from a reliable source that this lad has declared. Is he worth his place on the team? I think he is a similar player to Green, only a lot better.
Very interesting if true! Drummerboy, please, a little more info! You can't leave it at that!
Noelys Guitar
25/10/2010, 8:07 PM
Bit of a surprise that if true. In a poor team at West ham he usuallys plays well. Much better player than Green or Whelan.
25/10/2010, 8:33 PM
I'd be surprised if this is true. I think he's good enough to challenge for an England place when Lampard and Gerrard retire and I'd imagine he knows it too.
Sullivinho
25/10/2010, 8:51 PM
I'd be surprised if this is true. I think he's good enough to challenge for an England place when Lampard and Gerrard retire and I'd imagine he knows it too.
Exactly what I was thinking.
Not too long ago this guy was captaining the England u21's (He's still only 23) and tipped/expected to progress to the full side. I would also have thought he'd be in the Jaime 'Fabio! Fabio!' O'Hara mold when it comes to patiently waiting.
25/10/2010, 9:04 PM
Then again I also said Duffy and Clark wouldn't declare and look where that got us. Three on the bounce might just be the making of me.
Razors left peg
25/10/2010, 9:16 PM
would be gobsmacked if this was true. I rememeber seeing pics of him in tears when England u21s were beaten in the Euros few years ago. He always came across as being very very english
Well he would be if it's just his granny who's Irish.
25/10/2010, 10:20 PM
Would be very surprised if this is true as well but lets just wait and see.
I know what your saying Stutts and normally id agree with you. But are his links any less tenable than Greens?
CraftyToePoke
26/10/2010, 12:42 AM
I'd also be surprised if this one were true, and its a tricky one if it is, he was the fulcrum of Englands midfield at under 21 level until recently and although there was an awareness of him qualifying to represent us, I never got the feeling it was in any way likely that he would switch. Apart form that, he was long spoken of as a guy who would graduate to the full England side in time.
Has his career stalled to the extent that he has given up on playing for England? I'd doubt it, my feeling is its still a possibility, so therefore, why switch now? And as usual in these cases, would we want him if thats the only motivation to switch? Unless of course his green roots were far stronger than revealed up to now, but in those circumstances, why not declare earlier?
Does anyone know how exactly he qualifies for us? Thats key for me here, if there turns out to be substance to this.
But in purely footballing terms, he would go straight in our 11, never mind our squad, a lovely footballer, and reassuring in a way if Trap is agressively pursuing these options, as it means he doesnt want to see a guy as plainly willing but outclassed at the level as Green has been any more than we do, I'd hope.
DannyInvincible
26/10/2010, 1:42 AM
would be gobsmacked if this was true. I rememeber seeing pics of him in tears when England u21s were beaten in the Euros few years ago. He always came across as being very very english
Being English wouldn't necessarily cancel out any Irish ancestry he might also have.
ArdeeBhoy
26/10/2010, 1:48 AM
Would be surprised if he's eligible and amazed if he declared, based purely on my W.Ham mate who's 'rank' Ingerland but knows his stuff.
According to a link on Wikipedia, he is eligible, based on a report in the Lancs Evening Post last year....along with Preston's Andy Lonergan and two fellows by the name of Nolan & O'Hara!!
Paddy Garcia
26/10/2010, 9:05 AM
Well Lonergan was in an Irish underage squad, so there is a reasonable chance he is eligible.
TrapAPony
26/10/2010, 12:24 PM
drummerboy, what's your source? :confused:
26/10/2010, 12:46 PM
drummerboy, what's your source? :confused:
I can't tell you who it was, but trust me its very reliable
CraftyToePoke
26/10/2010, 12:54 PM
I appreciate that, but is there any more detail you could provide without compromising the source? for example, the reasoning behind the switch? When this was instigted and when we may expect to see something official? Who pursued who, I mean did Noble make first contact ?
also, how exactly does he qualify?
Scooby Doo
26/10/2010, 1:03 PM
So given your confidence in your source DB, do you reckon that we might hear some news in the coming days/weeks? Or do you think that its still at bit up in the air? Cheers.
26/10/2010, 1:12 PM
That second part made me laugh stutts, is the first part a result of the second part in this case?
26/10/2010, 2:50 PM
So given your confidence in your source DB, do you reckon that we might hear some news in the coming days/weeks? Or do you think that its still at bit up in the air? Cheers.
Not sure why it hasn't already been announced unless they are waiting for the next squad announcement.
26/10/2010, 2:52 PM
I know, but at least Green hadn't been a regular star performer for another country. In fairness to Green, he was very close to his Irish grandfather who I believe was instrumental in getting him involved with us.
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 3:02 PM
Not sure why it hasn't already been announced unless they are waiting for the next squad announcement.
Paperwork sorted and everything? Fair play to your source but I don't think I'll fully believe this until it's officially announced.
ArdeeBhoy
26/10/2010, 3:05 PM
As I said above, merits a sentence on Wikipedia. Whatever that means.
rebelmusic
26/10/2010, 3:26 PM
http://www.lep.co.uk/sport/football/lonergan_could_play_for_republic_1_93761
As I said above, merits a sentence on Wikipedia. Whatever that means.
surely that is the reliable source Drummerboy is talking about. ;)
FarBeag
26/10/2010, 7:37 PM
http://www.kumb.com/story.php?id=124939
CraftyToePoke
26/10/2010, 7:58 PM
http://www.kumb.com/story.php?id=124939
Easy now, easy now..
when this appeared on here earlier today, I registered on that site and asked the happy hammers if they knew about it, and what they thought of it.
thread here http://www.kumb.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=126459
now an article appears on the same site written on the same day ??!! it even uses the Mark O'Noble quip one of the aforementioned happy hammers used in a classic piece of cheeky cocnkey banterage.
so this is how easy it is to start rumours? interesting.
who should we do next?
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 8:07 PM
thread here http://www.kumb.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=126459
Them lads seem as surprised as the rest of us.
'Lord Monkey Basket'? :D
CraftyToePoke
26/10/2010, 8:17 PM
'Lord Monkey Basket'? :D
yes ........ Lord Monkey Basket
does that ammuse you? make you smile?
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 8:22 PM
yes ........ Lord Monkey Basket
does that ammuse you? make you smile?
Aye, briefly :)
I'd feel damn terrible if there's some tragic story behind it though..
IsMiseSean
26/10/2010, 10:12 PM
Good addition if it's true...
cornflakes
26/10/2010, 10:49 PM
Came across this arsenal thread discussing noble playing for Ireland.
http://onlinegooner.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=26228&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
Rebel gooner is a complete tool
ArdeeBhoy
26/10/2010, 11:05 PM
So the grandparents, fair enough. FIFA might actually have done us a favour on this for once??
If they're eligible I'd take anyone, even 'Agent' Rooney. And yes, I know he isn't!
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 11:16 PM
Rebel gooner is a complete tool
How long before YouTube notice he's gone and mount a search..
Supreme feet
27/10/2010, 3:54 AM
I love the way they (and some WUMs around here) claim Ireland are 'relying on' English players. Our current full-strength team has three (St. Ledger, Kilbane, Lawrence), all of whom could be replaced with Irish-born players (Kelly/Coleman, Ward, Hunt) without weakening the side. Our first-choice team in 2002 had Kilbane, Holland and Breen. Not exactly indispensable. To quote Jack Charlton, the English-born players can 'make up the balance of what we lack', and give us a few extra options. Our best players, and the lion's share of our squads have been Irish-born/raised since the Charlton years.
BTW, I'm not convinced about Noble declaring. Nor would I be too comfortable about it, especially given the players emerging in central midfield. I'm very excited about McCarthy, Clifford, Meyler and Maguire, and I'd prefer to see them given a shot. Just think his lineage is a bit too tenuous, and he's a bit old to be declaring now.
IsMiseSean
27/10/2010, 1:54 PM
he's a bit old to be declaring now.
I dont think he is, 23 is probably on the limit I reckon. Anyone under 24 with good connections should be considered
I dont want to see us calling up players at 27/28/29 ie Paul Green, Caleb Folan etc. It makes me wonder why these players didn't express a desire to play for us when they were 21/22.
TrapAPony
27/10/2010, 2:18 PM
Just think his lineage is a bit too tenuous, and he's a bit old to be declaring now.
I dont want to see us calling up players at 27/28/29 ie Paul Green, Caleb Folan etc. It makes me wonder why these players didn't express a desire to play for us when they were 21/22.
John Aldridge declared for us at 28 with only a great grandmother from Athlone as his Irish connection. Nobody had any problems with him.
ArdeeBhoy
27/10/2010, 2:42 PM
I did. He was mainly sh*t for Ireland, regardless of his exact heritage!
rubbish. He ran himself into the ground (out to the corners chasing long balls) for JC in a system that ignored all his best traits as a poacher. PLUS, his record speaks for itself.
boovidge
27/10/2010, 4:03 PM
Anyone read this book (http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=hz_plDdH3r4C&printsec=frontcover&dq=Sport+and+national+identity+in+the+post-war+world++By+Adrian+Smith,+Dilwyn+Porter&source=bl&ots=3TMHWoEGGd&sig=c16QGEnO-y0gwzDBNJyThXmUHHg&hl=en&ei=z0zITL-ABc6OjAf734w6&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBcQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q&f=false)? I just stumbled across it - really interesting. From page 92 onwards.