View Full Version : Ireland Team of The Decade?
IsMiseSean
22/10/2010, 3:34 PM
After watching the 02WC game against Spain yesterday on ESPN Classic, it got me thinking about how good we were during the qualifying and in the WC itself.
With everything that's happen since from Brian Kerr's reign, the Stan fiasco:o, Steven what's his name:rolleyes:, Trap's appointment and the Paris incident:mad:. So just for some fun lads who would you consider to be in your team of the decade?
peadar1987
22/10/2010, 4:10 PM
Given
Carr....Cunningham....Dunne....Staunton
Ireland....Keane....Holland....Duff
Keane....Quinn
Any team that doesn't contain Kieth Fahey and Kevin nolan isn't worth discussing IMO. Terry Dixon too
dr_peepee
22/10/2010, 5:12 PM
Given
Carr....Cunningham....Dunne....Staunton
Ireland....Keane....Holland....Duff
Keane....Quinn
Ha!! Jayzuz.... Kilbane plays every game of the decade and ye can't find room for him.
22/10/2010, 5:21 PM
-----------------------Given-----------------------
Carr-------Cunningham-----Dunne----------Killer
McAteer---Roy Keane------Kinsella----------Duff
----------Kevin Doyle----Robbie Keane----------
The Fly
22/10/2010, 5:30 PM
Any team that doesn't contain Kieth Fahey and Kevin nolan isn't worth discussing IMO. Terry Dixon too
...with Joseph Lapira as super-sub!
Junior
22/10/2010, 7:48 PM
Out of interest how many games did Roy play in that decade? - Undoubtedly one of the greatest players to wear the green but in the decade how much did he feature, likewise with Kinsella, McAteer etc...
WexCar
22/10/2010, 11:20 PM
Out of interest how many games did Roy play in that decade? - Undoubtedly one of the greatest players to wear the green but in the decade how much did he feature, likewise with Kinsella, McAteer etc...
Well Keane did get us to the 2002 WC, imo the part he played in qualifying merits inclusion in the team of the decade, especially considering the closest we've come to qualifying since was the French game last year.
Edit: Roy played 10 games in that campaign & joint top scorer with Harte with 4 goals.
http://www.soccer-ireland.com/irish-qualifying-campaigns/world-cup-2002-appearances.htm
ArdeeBhoy
23/10/2010, 1:10 AM
Why Fahey???
And Dixon?
Finally, Nolan was eligible....I blame the parents!
Colbert Report
23/10/2010, 1:52 AM
Breen
Breen Breen Breen Breen
Breen Breen
Sullivinho
23/10/2010, 2:01 AM
Breen
Breen Breen Breen Breen
Breen Breen
You're dreaming.
AlaskaFox
23/10/2010, 9:24 AM
Finnan------Cunningham-----Dunne----------Harte
Duff---------Carsley------Holland----------Kilbane
-------------Doyle-------Keane----------
24/10/2010, 6:28 PM
You're dreaming.
we all are
backstothewall
24/10/2010, 10:39 PM
Finnan----------O'Shea-------Dunne----------Harte
McAteer---------Keane-------Kilbane----------Duff
---------------Quinn----------Keane--------------
25/10/2010, 3:47 PM
Apart from Josh who was too young, all those players were on the pitch against Holland 2001.
seanfhear
25/10/2010, 7:41 PM
Did Mick McCarthy fall out with Denis Irwin. I have never been fully satisfied with why Denis stopped playing for Ireland. I am not sure if he had played during that period but he should have been playing (Why not ? ? ?)
There is a bit of a similiarity between Steve Finnan and Denis Irwin's Irish careers. I don't believe that we got the best out of their abilities for whatever reasons. Finnans later years were blighted somewhat by injuries but did we get enough out of Denis Irwin considering the player he was for utd. Just my own musings ! Feel free to give me both barrels if posters dis-agree. I ain't scared to be wrong but am not afraid of debate either.
DannyInvincible
26/10/2010, 1:55 AM
Irwin stopped playing for us in 1999, when he would have been 33/34. Was he a first-team regular for United between then and until he moved to Wolves? He did play with us at the 1994 World Cup in the US as well, of course. Not that I'm necessarily disagreeing with you, seanfhear, because a tally of 56 caps in the nine years he spent playing for us seems rather light for such a good player in comparison to the likes of Kenny Cunningham who won 72 in the nine years he played for us between 1996 and 2005.
Hibs4Ever
26/10/2010, 7:25 AM
Given
Finnan - Cunningham - Dunne - Staunton
Duff - Keane - Holland - Kilbane
Keane - Quinn
SUBS:
Alan Kelly
Gary Breen
Gary Kelly
Ian Harte
Mark Kinsella
Jason McAteer
Kevin Doyle
Sullivinho
26/10/2010, 1:19 PM
Did Mick McCarthy fall out with Denis Irwin. I have never been fully satisfied with why Denis stopped playing for Ireland. I am not sure if he had played during that period but he should have been playing (Why not ? ? ?)
They fell out alright. Denis perceived a comment from Mick as derogatory but the latter claimed it was all a misunderstanding. Here's a memorable exchange between the two superheroes:
"McCarthy asked me to go out and prove myself on the pitch. After being a professional footballer all my life I didn't take to that too kindly."
"I never said that," he says. "If I told him to go and prove me wrong that is a very different thing than telling him to go out and prove himself. I think that is quite OK."
And for a lil' light relief, this peach of an edit from Denis' Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denis_Irwin) page:
"The 22 September edition of The Irish Independent named Dennis Irwin as Ireland's 3rd best footballer ever behind Roy Keane and Caleb Folan"
There is a bit of a similiarity between Steve Finnan and Denis Irwin's Irish careers. I don't believe that we got the best out of their abilities for whatever reasons. Finnans later years were blighted somewhat by injuries but did we get enough out of Denis Irwin considering the player he was for utd. Just my own musings ! Feel free to give me both barrels if posters dis-agree. I ain't scared to be wrong but am not afraid of debate either.
You could add Carr to that list too, unfortunately.
26/10/2010, 2:50 PM
Funny that our only top 4 performer over the whole decade is oshea, and he is only in 1 posters team of the decade!! Are we really that good?! :D
seanfhear
26/10/2010, 5:29 PM
Irwin stopped playing for us in 1999, when he would have been 33/34. Was he a first-team regular for United between then and until he moved to Wolves? He did play with us at the 1994 World Cup in the US as well, of course. Not that I'm necessarily disagreeing with you, seanfhear, because a tally of 56 caps in the nine years he spent playing for us seems rather light for such a good player in comparison to the likes of Kenny Cunningham who won 72 in the nine years he played for us between 1996 and 2005.
I did'nt realise he was that old then. I would liked to have had him playing for us at the 2002 world cup especially as Ian Harte was going throug a bit of a crisis (loss of form) but it was'nt to be
seanfhear
26/10/2010, 5:34 PM
You could add Carr to that list too, unfortunately.
In fairness Carr's decline was down to a serious injury that prevented him being the player he was prior to the injury
SilkCut
27/10/2010, 2:55 AM
Funny that our only top 4 performer over the whole decade is oshea, and he is only in 1 posters team of the decade!! Are we really that good?! :D
Steve Finnan was at a top 4 club for half the decade!!
Murfinator
27/10/2010, 11:52 AM
Given
Finnan - Dunne - O'Shea - Harte
Duff - Keane - Andy Reid - Kilbane
Keane - Doyle
Bench: Kiely, Staunton, Cunningham, Holland, McAteer, Morrison, Quinn
27/10/2010, 12:39 PM
Given
Finnan - Dunne - O'Shea - Harte
Duff - Keane - Andy Reid - Kilbane
Keane - Doyle
Bench: Kiely, Staunton, Cunningham, Holland, McAteer, Morrison, Quinn
hand on heart, how many good games did he actually have for us??
Wolfie
27/10/2010, 12:45 PM
hand on heart, how many good games did he actually have for us??
Indeed. Reid has become over-rated and his absence perpetuates his inflated reputation.
There sometimes appears to be a perception put forward that he'd single handedly life the side to world beaters.
Theres only so long you can live off unfulfilled potential, including league football.
Given
Finnan - JOSH - Dunne - Staunton
McAteer - Keane - S Reid - Duff
Keane - Quinn
Just some comments:
Harte probably deserves to be in there for his performances in the WC2002 campaign (joint top scorer iirc). But his defensive frailities overall and lack of pace see Stan in there instead.
Doyle and Quinn is another tough one, but feel that Quinn had a very better partnership with Keane, he was stronger in the air and more likely to score goals. A notable shout for Morrison there as well.
Cunningham very close to getting in there as well, but I think in the last 4-5 years JOSH has been a top performer for us so deserves the nod.
The real issues are over who gets the second CM place and the RM position. I have S Reid there as I believe in the few performances he had for us, he was top notch, but unfortunately injury prevented much further. So he is in there on potential i suppose rather than performance. Kinsella/Holland and maybe even Kilbane the other contenders.
Right midfield, well McAteer is the obvious option, but we havent really had a stand out top RM. Its weird how many countries struggle to get strong left footed players but we are the opposite in recent times.
DeLorean
27/10/2010, 2:51 PM
GIVEN!!!!!!!!
CARR!!!!!! DUNNE!!!!!!!! CUNNINGHAM!!!!!! O'SHEA!!!!!!!
FINNAN!!!!!!!! ROY KEANE!!!!!! KINSELLA!!!!!! DUFF!!!!!!!!
QUINN!!!!!!!! ROBBIE KEANE!!!!!!!!!
Note: I think my use of bold and caps, together with my overuse of exclamation marks, gives this team a far more dynamic look.
27/10/2010, 2:57 PM
Steve Finnan was at a top 4 club for half the decade!!
yep sorry good point, funny out of sight out of mind!! :D
Junior
27/10/2010, 3:06 PM
Decent enough side elroy,
Over the decade, I wonder what % of the time JOSH been utilised as a CB though? Anyone any idea roughly how many times he's featured as a CB for us?
danonion
27/10/2010, 6:36 PM
* Shay Given,
* Stephen Carr,
* Andy O'Brien,
* Kenny Cunningham,
* John O'Shea,
* Steve Finnan,
* Roy Keane,
* Kevin Kilbane,
* Robbie Keane,
* Damien Duff,
* Clinton Morrison (Andy Reid, 41)
The Ireland team of the decade played in Paris on Saturday October 9, 2004. A manful performance away from home against the team that went on to win the World Cup.
Beaten in the final you mean. Solid team alright. Arguably O'Brien and Kilbane were the only weak points in the team but were greatly assisted by strong partners i.e. Cunningham and Keane respectively. Morrison was playing very well at the time as well. JOSH's effort hitting the post iirc, heartbreaking.
danonion
27/10/2010, 7:51 PM
Yikes thats a glaring football error!
KK definately was weak link but he had a brilliant game alongside Keane in the engine room of that team. I don't know if I'd call O'Brien a weak link. Except for the Cyprus performance, I think he was solid in pretty much all of his performances for Ireland. Stalwarts like John O'Shea and Dunne had some bad games in the green shirt although they have set a remarkably high standard over the last couple of years.
DeLorean
28/10/2010, 8:58 AM
JOSH's effort hitting the post iirc, heartbreaking.
Think it just went wide
28/10/2010, 9:01 AM
---------Given---------
O'Shea---Cunningham--Dunne---Harte
Finnan--Keane---Holland---Duff
-----------Keane---Doyle---------
28/10/2010, 9:05 AM
Ha!! Jayzuz.... Kilbane plays every game of the decade and ye can't find room for him.
I can see your point but he's played 3 positions for us in those 10 years and I just think I had better options than him in all 3 positions
28/10/2010, 9:56 AM
* Shay Given,
* Stephen Carr,
* Andy O'Brien,
* Kenny Cunningham,
* John O'Shea,
* Steve Finnan,
* Roy Keane,
* Kevin Kilbane,
* Robbie Keane,
* Damien Duff,
* Clinton Morrison (Andy Reid, 41)
The Ireland team of the decade played in Paris on Saturday October 9, 2004. A manful performance away from home against the team that went on to win the World Cup.
France won the world cup 2 years after that?! Really? There might be some italians who disagree with that.
28/10/2010, 9:57 AM
Beaten in the final you mean. Solid team alright. Arguably O'Brien and Kilbane were the only weak points in the team but were greatly assisted by strong partners i.e. Cunningham and Keane respectively. Morrison was playing very well at the time as well. JOSH's effort hitting the post iirc, heartbreaking.
He didnt hit the post he hit it wide, opened his foot out and hit it sweetly but terrible aiming. Funny he went onto say he wouldn't do that again against the french last time out and he did nearly the exact same!!!