View Full Version : Weekend 9th/10th Oct
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/10/2010, 8:06 PM
Quoting DundalkFM is like quoting Wikipedia, not reliable. Those lads are eejits. What the seem to commentate rarely is what is happening in reality on the pitch. The linesman (who was a lot closer to the incident) signaled for a corner for Breen's tackle, so he along with most people in the ground thought it was a good tackle. Hatswell's was a very harsh yellow card too if anything McCabe got him sent off.
Ndo was good today so would agree with that.
Edit: Extratime mentions some of the "cheating" you asked for;
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12204/2/
If that report was written by the person doing the updates at the game then it was written by a Dundalk fan
09/10/2010, 8:14 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9072073.stm
Derry City took full advantage of Monaghan's defeat in Cork as they moved four points clear at the top of the Airtricity First Division.
The Candystripes controlled the early proceedings and Shels defender Mick Coburn was sent off for a professional foul on Mark Farren on 35 minutes.
09/10/2010, 8:31 PM
If only we hadn't taken 5 points from 12 games mid-season...
Great result tonight. Ward's been a revelation the last two games. By his own admission, he couldn't score in a brothel, and now four goals in 90 minutes, with three of them superb strikes from outside the box.
A minor tussle, but beat Dundalk next week and we're one point off the Setanta Cup, I think.
Edit - also, yeah, I thought it was a Bohs peno too. Just a needlessly clumsly challenge.
White Horse
09/10/2010, 8:35 PM
A minor tussle, but beat Dundalk next week and we're one point off the Setanta Cup, I think.
Not minor to us :teeth:
We'll be there in numbers. I do hope the announcer has recovered from his bout of narcolepsy.
**FrOsTy**
09/10/2010, 8:54 PM
Happy with today's results! The playoff position is back in our own hands now and we need to grasp it! We've 3 games beat Longford and athlone and a draw will do us in tolka park!
sligored
09/10/2010, 9:03 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF642/464547.jpg
keep on believing
What can you do?
You either laugh or drink 14 pints of Bulmers
or keep on believing
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF642/464547.jpg
poster
09/10/2010, 9:36 PM
Bottle
sligo23
09/10/2010, 10:08 PM
http://i55.tinypic.com/2cqbcxe.jpg
09/10/2010, 10:22 PM
http://www.tht.ie/shows/718.jpg
Younger posters mighn't get this.
(And I'll be honest - I robbed this from the Cork forum)
hoops1
09/10/2010, 10:58 PM
As long as i beat the world record for alcohol consumption I dont care.
09/10/2010, 11:00 PM
I am not best pleased.
by Bohs and Pats fans (http://s89.photobucket.com/albums/k230/finglas_/?action=view¤t=ecstasy.mp4), for the enjoyment of everyone.
Tom Taveys yesterday around 4.50pm...
danthesaint
10/10/2010, 4:22 PM
by Bohs and Pats fans (http://s89.photobucket.com/albums/k230/finglas_/?action=view¤t=ecstasy.mp4), for the enjoyment of everyone.
Tom Taveys yesterday around 4.50pm...
good vid, now just dont fook up against galway.......it will all be wasted
10/10/2010, 5:14 PM
Joke's on you. Us Rovers fans like disappointment. That's why we go out of our way to experience it.
Darkglasses
10/10/2010, 5:23 PM
Funny mistake in the premier division table on www.loi.ie (http://www.loi.ie) right now.
good vid, now just dont fook up against galway.......it will all be wasted
if anyone can fook it up, this team can.
10/10/2010, 5:57 PM
1-1 result in Bray v Drogheda. Drogs as good as gone now - 6 points adrift with two games to go, and a much worse goal difference.
legendz
10/10/2010, 7:34 PM
Form Table (Last 6 weeks)
................ Pld Pts Avg
1 Bohemians 7 15 2.1
2 Sligo Rovers 7 14 2.0
3 Bray Wanderers 7 12 1.7
4 Dundalk 7 12 1.7
5 UCD 5 8 1.6
6 Sporting Fingal FC 6 9 1.5
7 Shamrock Rovers 7 9 1.3
8 St Patricks Athletic 7 5 0.7
9 Galway United 5 2 0.4
10 Drogheda United 6 1 0.2
Form Table (Last 6 weeks)
................ Pld Pts Avg
1 Shelbourne 5 15 3.0
2 Cork City FORAS 6 15 2.5
3 Monaghan United 5 12 2.4
4 Waterford United 5 10 2.0
5 Limerick 37 FC 6 10 1.7
6 Wexford Youths 6 8 1.3
7 Derry City 5 6 1.2
8 Mervue United 6 4 0.7
9 Finn Harps 5 3 0.6
10 Longford Town 5 2 0.4
11 Athlone Town 5 2 0.4
12 Salthill Devon 5 1 0.2
10/10/2010, 7:50 PM
That's missing today's game and yesterday evening's games.
Fivesilver
11/10/2010, 5:08 PM
Funny mistake in the premier division table on www.loi.ie (http://www.loi.ie) right now.
I think the funniest thing about that site is "BE A REAL FAN - TEXTS AND EMAIL NEWSLETTERS - SIGN UP NOW" without any irony intended.
I'd have thought "BE A REAL FAN - PUT DOWN THAT PINT, TURN OFF THE TELLY AND GO TO A BLOODY GAME" might have been more like it.
Monaghan lead Salthill 1-0 approaching HT
11/10/2010, 7:42 PM
Sorry meant to come in here and update a little but kinda forgot! Thanks Mr A.
Candystripe
11/10/2010, 8:24 PM
2-0. Phew.
Are you worried that we could win it against you's in two weeks? :)
11/10/2010, 8:24 PM
Yeah Alan Byrne from a corner. Whooohooo
Candystripe
11/10/2010, 8:34 PM
3-0 now
11/10/2010, 8:38 PM
Darragh "Rabbit" Hanaphy with the 3rd goal. He is such a great young lad, he is our supersub. As soon as he comes on he changes the game and scores or sets up goals. Pity he didnt manage it on Sat but hey, he cant do it every time!
11/10/2010, 8:40 PM
FT Salthill 0-3 Monaghan United
Candystripe
11/10/2010, 8:41 PM
Was Clancy sent off?
11/10/2010, 8:42 PM
Are you worried that we could win it against you's in two weeks? :)
If ye don't beat us in 2 weeks then there is something severely wrong in Muckersville. 11 defeats from 15 away games this season is not exactly a record to be proud of.
11/10/2010, 8:45 PM
Yes Clancy was sent off for 2nd yellow.
11/10/2010, 9:06 PM
Just watching MNS tonight, you have to say it's Bohs title signed sealed and delivered by now.
To win a league you need to be good but also lucky and in the past 2 games Bohs have had so much luck it's ridiculous.
1- They were peppered in the second half against Rovers and luck coupled with superb defending won them the 3 points.
2- Bohs v Pats - Never a penalty, Bennion saved it but it fell to Raf who smashed it in.
3- Rovers should have buried Fingal but ended up losing 2-1 with 2 crazy errors in the last few minutes.
Fair played to Bohs, they may have had the rub of the green of late but they have taken their chances.
White Horse
11/10/2010, 9:54 PM
Just watching MNS tonight, you have to say it's Bohs title signed sealed and delivered by now.
To win a league you need to be good but also lucky and in the past 2 games Bohs have had so much luck it's ridiculous.
1- They were peppered in the second half against Rovers and luck coupled with superb defending won them the 3 points.
2- Bohs v Pats - Never a penalty, Bennion saved it but it fell to Raf who smashed it in.
3- Rovers should have buried Fingal but ended up losing 2-1 with 2 crazy errors in the last few minutes.
Fair played to Bohs, they may have had the rub of the green of late but they have taken their chances.
For some reason, Neale Fenn and karma come to mind.
PartySaint
11/10/2010, 10:43 PM
Galway to throw a spanner in the works and get a draw in 2 weeks against Bohs, I'm taking bets now
we've also had a lot of bad luck over the season. It evens itself out over the course of a season.
As Party Saint points out Galway, our bogey team this season, could easily beat us again. It aint over yet.
That's not really luck, that's Rovers screwing themselves over at both ends of the park. If their strikers had taken even one of their many chances there never would have been as much pressure on their defence at the end.
Sean South
12/10/2010, 10:29 AM
As long as i beat the world record for alcohol consumption I dont care.
You will be doing well to beat Mick O'Neill
poster
12/10/2010, 12:48 PM
That doesn't change the fact that Sligo players dive a lot this year and Sligo fans think their team is a lot better than they really are.
You are bitter. Ouch!
I think MNS cleared up the fouls, 3 clear fouls.
Louth4sam
12/10/2010, 12:54 PM
You must have been watching a different MNS from me. First one was a definite foul and yellow card. Second one was a harsh free never mind booking. The peno was never a peno as Breen clearly won the ball.
And what's with you lot using the word "bitter" now? Copying the big boys from Tallaght again?
Rasputin
12/10/2010, 12:59 PM
You must have been watching a different MNS from me. First one was a definite foul and yellow card. Second one was a harsh free never mind booking. The peno was never a peno as Breen clearly won the ball.
And what's with you lot using the word "bitter" now? Copying the big boys from Tallaght again?
Stop embaressing yourself.
Dundalk were hard done by, happy now?
You are bitter. Ouch!
I think MNS cleared up the fouls, 3 clear fouls.
2nd yellow looked very harsh though.
poster
No, we went to town on that one. It's now ours.
Hatswell's two yellows were yellows. Both times Gary went by him and he tripped him. It was just unfortunate that it was two of his first three or four tackles. Could have happened any stage of the game. McCabe was also caught for the penalty, even though the Dundalk player touches the ball, he still trips McCabe.
12/10/2010, 1:07 PM
You must have been watching a different MNS from me. First one was a definite foul and yellow card. Second one was a harsh free never mind booking. The peno was never a peno as Breen clearly won the ball.MNS even said it was a foul, maybe harsh yellow but definite foul. Besides, Dundalk players were targetting McCabe in the hope he'd lose the head again like he did last time in Dundalk, the 2nd yellow for Hatswell wasn't his 2nd foul on McCabe...MNS doesn't show that.
Louth4sam
12/10/2010, 1:10 PM
even though the Dundalk player touches the ball, he still trips McCabe.
Do you know the rules of football?
Louth4sam
12/10/2010, 1:14 PM
MNS even said it was a foul, maybe harsh yellow but definite foul. Besides, Dundalk players were targetting McCabe in the hope he'd lose the head again like he did last time in Dundalk, the 2nd yellow for Hatswell wasn't his 2nd foul on McCabe...MNS doesn't show that.
Maybe it was the instruction to target him I don't know. Isn't it also possible that Cook told your players to go down easily in the hope that we'd get a man sent off like we did a couple of hundred times last season.
Which rule are you referring to?
poster
12/10/2010, 1:22 PM
No, is this not the Sligo/Louth game?
FFS, he takes the ball as well but doesn't get enough on it to merit it not being a penalty.
poster
12/10/2010, 1:23 PM
Cook told your players to go down easily in the hope that we'd get a man sent off like we did a couple of hundred times last season.
Not when Seanie's not around!
White Horse
12/10/2010, 2:11 PM
MNS even said it was a foul, maybe harsh yellow but definite foul. Besides, Dundalk players were targetting McCabe in the hope he'd lose the head again like he did last time in Dundalk, the 2nd yellow for Hatswell wasn't his 2nd foul on McCabe...MNS doesn't show that.
There was no "targeting" of McCabe. He was getting a lot of possession and attacking the full back. What do you expect defenders to do? Stand back a let him run past them. No. You expect them to tackle for the ball.
To be honest, the footage from MNS was was unclear. It was hard to see if the second yellow card was a foul or not. However, even if it was a foul (and McCabe did seem to go down after getting past Hatswell), it wasn't a yellow card.
At least MNS cleared up the penalty. It was a superb tackle, a clean strike on the ball.