View Full Version : The play-off

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

Captain2007
01/11/2010, 6:51 PM
Our budget at the start of the season was smaller than most First Division clubs and it got reduced during the season.

You probably did pick up more points than us in the latter part of the season but the bottom line is that we finished a long way ahead of you over the whole season.

We were only unbeaten in 3 games before that game. We were absolutely awful that night though. Worst performance of the season. Fair enough, you destroyed us that night but the time before that we won and kept a clean sheet with a full back in goals.

Have to agree with legendz I would not be a fan of current play-off system, typically stupid decision from FAI, should have been a straight shoot-out between 9th Prem and 2nd in First Div, to think Galway could be relegated after finishing so far ahead of us must be gut-wrenching, by the way we didn't have the "messiah" when you beat us with no goalkeeper.
Hopefully it will be a good game and won by the best team on the night and I hope we get a decent following from Bray .

Mr Maroon
01/11/2010, 7:23 PM
Hopefully it will be a good game and won by the best team on the night and I hope we get a decent following from Bray .

:good: I'm looking forward to it but very nervous as well. I'm going to be a bag of nerves all day tomorrow.

Ciaran W
01/11/2010, 7:50 PM
Come on cobh ! Dont let those wasters salthill back in the league, does anyone have any attendances from cobh when they were in the premier and first divisions ?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/11/2010, 8:36 PM
Did anyone notice the voice of the FAI saying what a great idea play offs are on MNS?

**FrOsTy**
01/11/2010, 8:51 PM
As a matter I interest will the playoffs be on mns next week?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/11/2010, 8:55 PM
Yeah the show is at 11.30 (I think) next Monday so that they can fit the second leg into their coverage

sligo23
01/11/2010, 9:02 PM
Come on cobh ! Dont let those wasters salthill back in the league, does anyone have any attendances from cobh when they were in the premier and first divisions ?
How are they 'wasters'?

gufcfan
01/11/2010, 9:35 PM
Any refs announced for the playoffs?

Haven't seen any for ours?

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 10:02 PM
Any refs announced for the playoffs?

Haven't seen any for ours?

Knowing the FAI, it will prob be the first eejit to volunteer that day!

peadar1987
01/11/2010, 10:03 PM
Pick me! :)

Mr Maroon
01/11/2010, 10:09 PM

Damien Hancock is that eejit.

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 10:14 PM
Damien Hancock is that eejit.

god help ye!

02/11/2010, 1:57 AM
Did anyone notice the voice of the FAI saying what a great idea play offs are on MNS?

Him being right probably cant be spotted amidst the never relegated one's insane mutterings..

02/11/2010, 9:23 AM
Our budget at the start of the season was smaller than most First Division clubs and it got reduced during the season.

You probably did pick up more points than us in the latter part of the season but the bottom line is that we finished a long way ahead of you over the whole season.

We were only unbeaten in 3 games before that game. We were absolutely awful that night though. Worst performance of the season. Fair enough, you destroyed us that night but the time before that we won and kept a clean sheet with a full back in goals.

What's a budget? We had by FAR the smallest budget in the Premier Division and i know for a fact that some of our players we not being paid for playing with us, they were doing it for free !

If we had of been treated fairly at the start of the season the same way every other team had been things would be a whole lot different so i think saying "bottom line is that we finished a long way ahead of you over the whole season." without taking into consideration what we had to deal with at the start of the season is a bit blinkered.

The games between the 2 said have been very close this season, 2nd game of the season we should have taken a point form Terryland but for some quality saves from Ryan, 2nd game of the season you beat us and we were awful, 3rd game we should have beaten you but it ended in a draw and last game we hammered you.

It will be a very tight, tense affair tonight, and i'm ****TING myself already :D

02/11/2010, 9:41 AM
What's a budget? We had by FAR the smallest budget in the Premier Division and i know for a fact that some of our players we not being paid for playing with us, they were doing it for free !
I'm not sure if you could have had a far smaller budget than us to be honest (emphasis on the "far"; I know what your start-of-season position was, but our budget this year was the same as last year).

To be honest, I've long given up believing that year after year, Galway have the smallest budget in the league and yet still manage to run out of money by June.

mediahack
02/11/2010, 9:42 AM
See that the ref for the Waterford Monaghan game is.......wait for it...........P McLaughlin...........wait for it.........from Monaghan!!!!!

Three matches on this evening and they can't find neutral refs!!!

02/11/2010, 9:45 AM
See that the ref for the Waterford Monaghan game is.......wait for it...........P McLaughlin...........wait for it.........from Monaghan!!!!!

Three matches on this evening and they can't find neutral refs!!!

I think he's actually from Burt in Donegal and is just based in Monaghan. Apparently he used to go to Derry games. Didn't stop him being given the Harps Derry game though.

madblaa
02/11/2010, 12:57 PM
WHAAAAAAATTTT???? are they for real? Am I dreaming this?!?

Mr Maroon
02/11/2010, 2:30 PM
It's been lashing it down all day here. There was a pitch inspection at 1pm and our groundsman is confident the match will go ahead.

02/11/2010, 3:00 PM

So it was smaller than Athlones, Salthills, Mervues, Wexfords, Longfords, Harps and Limericks??

Do you mean smaller than most of the First Division clubs combined??

02/11/2010, 3:03 PM

They were bleak enough at times in the First Division. Generally had a solid 2-300 if memory serves though

Strawberry
02/11/2010, 3:06 PM
It's been lashing it down all day here. There was a pitch inspection at 1pm and our groundsman is confident the match will go ahead.

I plan on going to this tonight. I wouldn't be surprised if it's called off though, the weather is awful.

02/11/2010, 5:50 PM
Im going for Waterford over Mons (8/11-pp)
Cobh over Salthill
and a draw in the Galw-Bray game (maybe Bray might sneak it in end)

02/11/2010, 5:53 PM
What's the odds on a Mons penalty more interestingly..

Aaron
02/11/2010, 8:37 PM
Monaghan v Bray Wanderers Final

Hope Mons go up!!!

02/11/2010, 8:42 PM
Im going for Waterford over Mons (8/11-pp)
Cobh over Salthill
and a draw in the Galw-Bray game (maybe Bray might sneak it in end)

I was close!! LOL
Jeez how bad were Shels then!!!

noby
02/11/2010, 10:35 PM
Fair play Mons. Any criticism of the referee shouldn't take from the fact that we were second best all night, and were beaten by two good goals (and one soft one).

Best of luck against Bray.

legendz
02/11/2010, 10:43 PM
Fair play to Galway and Monaghan. I thought the games would've gone the other way. I'll leave of predictions for the final! I'd like to see Monaghan make it though.

monsexile
04/11/2010, 8:00 AM
Any news on TV coverage for this? I remember TG4 showing the second leg at least live last year.

04/11/2010, 8:22 AM
Any news on TV coverage for this? I remember TG4 showing the second leg at least live last year.

Neither game is being shown live on TV, extended highlights on MNS at 11pm on Monday night from what i'm hearing

monsexile
04/11/2010, 9:56 AM
Roo, do you know if any local radio in the Bray area will be providing commentary on Friday? (Am only flying home for the second leg)

Dillonman
04/11/2010, 12:30 PM
Roo, do you know if any local radio in the Bray area will be providing commentary on Friday? (Am only flying home for the second leg)

Is the first leg not in Monaghan tomorrow? SHould you not be looking for a local Monaghan station?

04/11/2010, 12:52 PM

Our local station do not cover games live but do give regular updates live from the ground - EastCoast.FM

I'd ask the same if any stations in Monaghan are covering it on Radio as i'm not to sure if i can get off work in time yet.... How long would it take? Hour and a half?

04/11/2010, 1:43 PM
Depends where you're starting from and when you leave. There's motorway almost all the way. I know I've gotten out to Athlone from UCD in about 1 hr 45 mins; similar to Monaghan I'd say.

peadar1987
04/11/2010, 2:09 PM
Accoring to Google Maps, you should allow 1 hr, 50 mins from the Carlisle to Gortakeegan. Or 1 day 5 hrs if you decide to walk!

04/11/2010, 2:17 PM
Ah I'm sure we can push the speed limit a little bit, was back in Bray by 12ish on Tuesday :)

passerrby
04/11/2010, 2:44 PM
once you hit the airport its about 1hr 20minsand i dont mean flying

Bry Boy
04/11/2010, 8:40 PM
what are the mondogs ? ha , geting a little hungry :L

04/11/2010, 9:11 PM
2nd best food in the Airtricity League apparently after Burdocks in Dalymount.

bullit
04/11/2010, 9:47 PM
2nd best food in the Airtricity League apparently after Burdocks in Dalymount.
Ahh but yee always run out of Mon dogs when Dundalk "fatboys" are there or does Philly get first refusal:confused:

Bry Boy
04/11/2010, 9:52 PM
looking foward to this now :L

bullit
04/11/2010, 10:36 PM
Paddy Powers cant split them for tomorrow nights game:

Monaghan Utd 6/4 Draw 11/5 Bray Wanderers 6/4

Monkey on a Draw for me.

04/11/2010, 10:38 PM
I hope you win your bet. Hope its a 0-0 though.

peadar1987
05/11/2010, 12:16 AM
I hope you win your bet. Hope its a 0-0 though.

Are they using away goals as a separator?

05/11/2010, 9:04 AM
Away goals don't count in the play-off. Didn't when we were last in it anyway.

05/11/2010, 12:25 PM
Oh I thought the did Stu. Not so bad.

Dillonman
05/11/2010, 12:30 PM
So who alls heading to Monaghan tonight?

05/11/2010, 2:28 PM
Me...well since I live in Gortakeegan am already here! :D

05/11/2010, 3:14 PM
A great piece on the Mons website today Reasons why Monaghan will lose and reasons why they wont (http://http://www.monaghanunited.com/page2.htm) By Adrian Harte. Made me chuckle and almost chuck up with nervous all in one go!

historynut
05/11/2010, 4:28 PM
Go Mons go !!!
Wishing you all the best for the week-end, did state early season had an inkling you were going to have a good season. Obviously and don't take offence you by your own standards have had an exceptional season, but don't let it end there. PLEASE GO FOR IT AND DO IT !!! If it was deemed to be your season then not your fault Div 1 was given Derry & Cork this year, so to push Derry as you did was exceptional re your norm. So lets not be the bridesmaid this is your year DO IT !
And as they said in some film "Believe and they will come" so heres to traffic jams heading west from the town centre.
GO MONS GO !!