View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers-Dublin City - my ratings

01/05/2004, 2:54 PM
Robbie Horgan: 4.5
One derives no pleasure from pointing out the decline (hopefully temporary) of an all-time great, but at the moment Robbie is, frankly, a liability. Dropped more than he caught, almost gave away two goals and needs a rest.

Barry Burke: 8
Growing into the full-back role and beginning to look solid. Stephen Grant tormented him a bit when he came on, but Barry stuck to the task and came out on top.

Wes Byrne: 8
Far, far better than recent games. Got stuck in defensively and surged forward on numerous occasions, linking up nicely with Foy. Should have scored at least once, though.

Ben Whelehan: 8
Both centre-halves dealt with rough treatment from the ref and Elbows Molloy without ever losing their composure. Commanding in the air and strong on the ground.

Derek Griffin: 8
During another brave and composed performance, Derek displayed a previously unguessed-at willingness and ability to set up and join in attacks.

Cathal O'Conor: 8.5
Some excellent work on the ball, Cottsy's eye for a killer pass (coupled with his relentless work-rate) may bring him to the attention of many bigger clubs. Let's hope that doesn't happen for some time.

Keith Foy: 8
Did well down the left, but even better when pushing on to support O'Neill as a support striker, but should have scored twice in the second half. Commitment and skill represents a winning equation.

Paul Crowley: 8.5
Pulled the strings for City in midfield, and cut the Hoops' strings to equal effect. Another one who should have scored, though. The pick of City's ex-Rovers contingent.

Jason Colwell: 7.5
Nice to hear his time at Rovers celebrated in song by the home fans early in the game. Did his job well, in a performance that was almost error-free.

Terry Gleeson: 7.5
I've had my doubts about him in the past, but he proved me wrong last night. Wide repertoire of passes coupled with steely determination. Shame he was forced off early after some hefty challenges from the Rovers midfield.

Gary O'Neill: 9.5 - Man of the Match
No comment, as I've run out of superlatives.

SUBS:

Dom Tierney: 6
Didn't do anything wrong in his eighteen minutes on the field. Rovers' PA announcer called him "Don Tiernan" at half-time, and "Den Tierney" when he came on.

Dave McGill: 4
Very, very unprofessional to do what he did, when he did. Sent off almost as soon as he came on for a high, two-footed challenged in which (in fairness) he won the ball, but could have broken Doyle's leg if he hadn't.

Philly Hughes: 7
Carried on where Gary O'Neill had left off for the last few minutes.

Maynard
01/05/2004, 7:26 PM
Yep I'd agree with most of that. I'd be very surprised if Horgie is in goal on Monday night, and in fairness Kennedy deserves a run out. If BK has a good night on Monday he could well find himself between the sticks against Cork.
That said I think Robbie will bounce back. Form temporary, class permanent etc

Thought Weso had a very poor start to the game, just seemed a bit slow, but came into very well after that and was solid.
Barry Burke did great, especially after picking up a booking, he kept his cool and still managed to tackle hard.

All in all it was good to keep a clean sheet, but would still be a bit anxious about our inability to finish in front of goal. Foy's chance early in the 2nd half stands out, put too often (not just last night) the final shot is scuffed or hit harmlessly wide.
The most important thing though was not to lose, and to keep the momentum going after the win against Bohs, so well done to all the lads.

03/05/2004, 4:55 PM
Jaysis lads

How can you award any keeper 4.5 when they concede nothing?
Ok perhaps he had a below par game, but he conceded no goals and lest you forget you collected a valuable League point. 4 points out of 6 is not exactly a bad return from your last 2 games. Keep it up and stay in the Premier.

We'll be joining you as soon as possible :D

P.S. Robbie Horgan is a legend. He was rumoured to be joining us at one point before he signed for ye.

Maynard
03/05/2004, 6:11 PM
As I thought BK was in goal tonight against Pats. Unfortunately couldn't make it (exams start tomorrow) but by all accounts we had a great second half and turned the game around to win 3-1. Glad to see the momentum continuing, lets hope it helps us to get something out of Thursdays game.

Also very happy to see Philly Hughes bag his first goals for us :)

03/05/2004, 6:17 PM
Jaysis lads

How can you award any keeper 4.5 when they concede nothing?
Ok perhaps he had a below par game, but he conceded no goals and lest you forget you collected a valuable League point. 4 points out of 6 is not exactly a bad return from your last 2 games. Keep it up and stay in the Premier.

We'll be joining you as soon as possible :D

P.S. Robbie Horgan is a legend. He was rumoured to be joining us at one point before he signed for ye.
Firstly Robbie IS a legend, he's club captain and we're delighted to have him. But with our defence playing superbly against Rovers, it was only Robbie's shakiness that threatened to deprive us of a point (and we should have had all three.) It really was a very poor display, he dropped practically everything that came his way and had to be bailed out by defenders on several occasions. But he is still a legend, just having a bogey time currently. Brendan Kennedy was brilliant today (despite conceding a goal!) and must be first choice for the Cork City game on Thursday.

Hope we do coincide in the Premier next season, UCD are one of the great oddities (I mean that in a good way) of European football and a sound bunch. :)

03/05/2004, 8:11 PM
Brendan Kennedy - is he that Cherry Orchard goalkeeper from a few years back - think he was Mark Kennedy's brother? Or did he play for Moyle Park College?

03/05/2004, 8:41 PM
Brendan Kennedy is a former Shamrock Rovers reserve goalkeeper who used to play for Cherry Orchard and is also Mark Kennedy's brother.

Mark sponsored him last year at Dublin City according to a copy of the program I saw .

04/05/2004, 11:25 AM
Robbie Horgan ... was rumoured to be joining us at one point before he signed for ye.
No thanks.

04/05/2004, 11:30 AM
Brendan Kennedy is a former Shamrock Rovers reserve goalkeeper who used to play for Cherry Orchard and is also Mark Kennedy's brother.

Mark sponsored him last year at Dublin City according to a copy of the program I saw .
Aye, that's him. Mark's sponsored him this season as well, let's hope one of the brothers stays in a Premier Division.

FACT OF THE DAY: Brendan once scored an FAI Cup goal for Cherry Orchard.

Another one of those, same time tomorrow...